Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 20 of 2568

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 2568 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


Elizabeth Little
Reviewed Silver Birch Lodge on 22/11/2016
And awarded it

Silver Birch Lodge

Thank you for providing such a warm and welcoming temporary home for us at the Lodge!! We were extremely comfortable and enjoyed the attractive setting and all the little touches of luxury provided - a truly personalised holiday/honeymoon! We would be delighted to come back.

Chris & Kirsty
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 20/11/2016
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Excellent property and location for the ultimate relaxing breaks. Breath taking views, wildlife and ever changing weather to cast your eyes upon, let alone the chance to view aurora in the night skies.

John Gibson
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 18/11/2016
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Wonderful place. Highly recommended. Unlike many cottages, the Tree House is modern, beautifully designed and finished to a very high spec throughout. It has a well stocked kitchen, an efficient log burner, a nice TV and speakers to plug your phone into, a massive couch to lounge on. It is altogether extremely comfortable. We visited in November, and it rained most days, but we were happy to be tucked up cosy and warm inside. The location on a tiny little road is also very secluded and quiet. Skye is, of course, beautiful.

Peter Woolverton
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 17/11/2016
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Hill Cottage is perfect if you crave isolation, utter peace and quiet, rugged scenery and nil light pollution. It's not so good if you are a TV addict and/or you cannot survive without your mobile phone. Administrative aspects faultless.

Laura Durling
Reviewed Upper Folds on 17/11/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

2nd visit. The cottage had been recently painted. Spotlessly clean. Great walks and wonderful weather. Perfect break for us.

BARRY
Reviewed Wildwood on 15/11/2016
And awarded it

Wildwood

We rented Wildwood at Fort Augustus for a week and had the best time, our holiday started on 5th November and it was very mild. The wildlife there is amazing. Deer, pine martins, badger and so many birds. We were feeding them 2 pints of seed per day not including fat balls and suet. The property was spotless and there is everything there to make your stay so comfortable. We wish we booked 2 weeks now. If you book this property you won't regret it.

Jane Fletcher
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 15/11/2016
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Leachachan Barn looks gorgeous on the website, and doesn't disappoint in real life. It is very well equipped, was spotless on arrival, and is a great base for exploring the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our week,and our two Westies loved relaxing in front of the excellent wood burning stove.

Roger & Patricia Scott
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 15/11/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

The cottage was extremely well equipped - everything possible in the kitchen from bread maker to food processor! The cottage was very cosy! The bedding was lovely and warm! The welcome pack was a lovely touch as was leaving the fire laid and ready to light. Would readily recommend the cottage!

Mr F Townley
Reviewed Station Cottage on 15/11/2016
And awarded it

Station Cottage

A wonderful week in the cottage, there is nothing else you need for a relaxing and peaceful time. The cottage is well appointed and cosy with the log burner. We will return again in the summer/ autumn. Highly recommended.

Susan H
Reviewed Giusaichean on 14/11/2016
And awarded it

Giusaichean

This was our third visit to Giusaichean and I am sure we will be back. The setting is beautiful and the garden is perfect for dogs - lots of places to explore and fully secure. The log burner in the lounge gives off lots of heat and satisfied my husbands need to make fire!

One Week Holiday
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 13/11/2016
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

We very much enjoyed our holiday at Leachahan Barn. It is very clean, tidy and has all the amenities you could wish for. Fantastic views from the windows across the Loch. The Barn is ideally suited for trips to Skye (via Glen Elg in the Summer months is a real treat!), or to the nearby Lochs and Glens. Otherwise plenty of easy and interesting walks just from the front door ( ie the ruined Broch at Totaig).

Christine Entwistle
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 13/11/2016
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

The cottage was delightful, well equipped and very clean. It was wonderful returning home to the warmth and cosiness, at this time of year after a bracing walk in the beautiful, stunning countryside and coastal scenery. The dogs enjoyed lying in front of the wood burning stove or the aga and just fell asleep. The beds were comfortable and at this time of year it was just what the doctor ordered. The beaches nearby were beautiful and not to be missed.

Tove & Pip Knight
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 12/11/2016
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

My Border Collie, Pip, and I spent a few lovely days in Woodside Lodge in October. The weather was brilliant and the views spectacular. The cottage was the best appointed self catering cottage I have ever been to. It was warm, well equipped and the fenced in garden area was brilliant. We toured around the area, but next time (and there will be a next time) we will allow a bit more time to spend a bit more 'chill-out' time in the cottage. I would highly recommend it.

Sally Herbert
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 11/11/2016
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

I cannot recommend Plodda Falls Lodge highly enough. My husband and I had a wonderful stay in October 2016. The lodge exceeded our expectations, which had been extremely high! It was a characterful house, extremely cosy and comfortable, set in beautiful surroundings. The double bed was divine and the wood burning stove extremely efficient. Jenny was helpful and friendly, she made us feel very welcome, told us to contact her if there was anything or any information we needed and popped to see us twice to make sure we were okay (unfortunately we missed her on both occasions!). She had made a delicious apple and blackberry cake for our arrival. There was wealth of information on what to do in the surrounding areas at the lodge, plus old photos and historical information about the lodge and estate. WiFi was excellent but there was no mobile signal, there was a landline for local calls. We enjoyed the lodge as a couple but it is perfect for families and dogs and would make an excellent Christmas/New Year retreat. The lodge is located down a long drive which needs to be taken carefully and is remote (as advised in the pre-booking information). This suited us as it was just what we were looking for but prospective hirers do need to be aware of this. Plodda Falls are a short walk through the forest which backs onto the lodge and are well worth seeing. We also explored nearby Glen Affric, which must be one of the most beautiful places in Scotland, and Loch Ness and its surrounding areas. There was a wealth of local walks detailed in the information at the lodge. All in all we had one of our best holidays at Plodda Falls Lodge and can see why people go back there time and time again.

Stephen & Susan
Reviewed Upper Folds on 11/11/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This is a perfect cottage, absolutely spotlessly clean, warm cozy and welcoming. It is very tastefully furnished and so comfortable, we felt relaxed and chilled out from the moment we arrived. The lovely thoughtful touches of fresh flowers, wine etc are the icing on the cake, all the bases and much more are covered here. The surroundings are stunning, when we return to the area we will look no further and definitely rebook. Thanks for a wonderful week.

Colin & Lynn
Reviewed Skye Woodhouse on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Skye Woodhouse

Fabulous - House was excellent and great location. The house has everything you need and is great for relaxing with wonderful views. There's so many great things to do on Skye but make sure you get some fresh seafood like Scallops from Sconser. We'll be back.

Hayley Walton
Reviewed Charleston on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Charleston

This was our 4th visit to Charleston, the second time this year! We absolutely love the peace and quiet, fantastic views and the home comforts the cottage has to offer. The owners have provided everything you need for your stay and the cottage itself is immaculate. When the guest book is full of people visiting for their second, third, fourth and more times that speaks for itself!! We will definitely be back, just hope we can get in as it books up fast...

Andrew & Family
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

A lovely location and wonderful accommodation for our stay in the Highlands. A warm and friendly welcome, many thanks.

Debby & Marc
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Absolutely beautiful cottage...peaceful comfortable and has everything you need. Perfect location. we will definitely be booking again

Richie
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

An amazing place to stay and this was our fourth visit there. Tranquil, high quality accommodation that's makes you instantly relaxed. Always great service from Wilderness Cottages and we can't wait for our next stay.