Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 20 of 2481

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page but if you wish to read through all our reviews they are listed below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 2481 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place for you to view. Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


Jane Parfitt
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 30/09/2016
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

A perfect place to stay, off the beaten track and within an area of stunning beauty and interest. Great for walkers and lovers of wildlife and the outdoors. The cottage is well equipped and warm, in fact this is the second time we've stayed here and hope to return next year. it has a Rayburn- we are converted!

Bryan Duchart
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 30/09/2016
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

What an absolute delight. Everything needed was there and was first class. Clean, comfortable, homely, cosy, dog friendly - we will be back for sure.

Jean Studd
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

What a lovely little cottage this is really close to the seaside which, whatever the weather, is beautiful and rugged. The cottage was very welcoming and warm as were the hosts. The wheelchair accessiblity in the cottage was very good although the shower not particularly built for a wheelchair. Our dogs were made most welcome and we were able to park our little trailer right outside the house which doubled up as a dog kennel (for our muddy alsation) when we weren't using it to transport my husbands electric scooter around. The lanes and local tracks were great for exploring by mobility scooter and we could even get it on to the beach - great!

Robert
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Cottage is in a brilliant location, with walks from the front door, although could do with more information about walks from the cottage ( rights to roam). Twin beds in main bedroom very comfortable. Could do with a visitors book to learn what others have done, places they found to walk, shop, eat etc, and places to avoid. One week not enough to do the things we wanted. Hope to return again one day.

Dorothy
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

This was the sixth time we've stayed here, so we know and love it well. Great location on the shore, I could (and do) happily pass the time sitting in the little porch reading and watching the tides. Lovely walks from the cottage, which is cosy and comfortable. But Applecross is getting busier, and losing some of it's charm.

Lululo
Reviewed Moll House on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Moll House

Moll House is in the most perfect position on the shore and only one other cottage in view. Stunning views from all the rooms.

Carole
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

A great cosy cottage and we loved the access to the loch side. It felt like our own private bay. Good base for visiting Skye, Plockton etc. My only minor criticisms are the track leading to the cottage is a bit over grown and scratched the side of the car and a few more basics in the kitchen would be good. There was a rolling pin which seemed impractical in a holiday let yet no plastic containers for packed lunches. We loved the holiday , big comfy beds, great location and the best view from a shower I have ever had ! Hope to return soon.

Pauline
Reviewed Cuilfail on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Cuilfail

We really enjoyed staying at Cuilfail but the time went far too quickly, the house was well equipped, comfortable and ideally situated for travelling around. We certainly would like to return in the future but would like to make a longer booking. The dogs certainly enjoyed their visit and came home very tired but happy.

Janet Cooper
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

We were very pleased with our stay at Tor Fionn The tea oatcakes etc left as a welcome was appreciated. The cottage is very well equipped and we had everything we needed including a lovely view.

Alan & Sarah
Reviewed Fhaireag on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Fhaireag was an amazing house in a stunning location! It truly was a relaxing fortnight and we will be back!

Fiona Howarth
Reviewed Kilmaluag Bay Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Kilmaluag Bay Cottage

Kilmaluag Cottage was everything we could have hoped for - beautifully positioned by the water's edge, comfortable furniture and bedding, high standard of fittings and owners who were extremely helpful. Overall, a great experience and would highly recommend.

David Mair
Reviewed Macrae Croft on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Macrae Croft

A fantastic house in a stunning location. Macrae Croft is a true home-from-home with every need provided for. But it's the location that lifts it to another level: just to sit and watch the scenery changing moment by moment as the weather comes in is wonderful. The owner is very helpful and on hand if needed. A definite 5 stars here!

Nigel Kendall
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

This was our 4th visit to shore cottage since 2011 all I can say is its a real gem of a find beautiful quiet location our two elderly dogs love it and so do we. Not sure when but we will be back again one day if not then its a place we will never forget.

Brian Thomson
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

This immaculate cottage is in the perfect location on Skye for various outdoor pursuits or just chillin'. Would gladly recommend this cottage to all.

Tracy Birchall
Reviewed Station Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Station Cottage

We had a lovely stay at Station Cottage, Nethy Bridge, accommodation was welcoming, cosy and well equipped - garden was ideal for our dogs. The area is stunning and we are planning to return next year as we could not fit everything in and we will have no hesitation stopping at Station Cottage again. Thank you for a fab time!

Graham & Rachel
Reviewed Rowan Lodge - Roshven on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Rowan Lodge - Roshven

Perfect hideaway in a beautiful part of Scotland. Quiet, peaceful, a short walk to the beach. A visit from the Pine Martin every night was a delight too. The Lodge had everything we needed, comfy beds, cozy living area and a dinning room where you can watch the pine martin every night. He really likes Peanut Butter sandwiches.

Adrian & Sue T.
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

Well equipped property in great secluded location. Some great walking nearby and lots of opportunities to view wildlife.

Angela & Alfie
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 28/09/2016
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

Absolutely amazing, lovely house, fantastic views, warm and cosy. House fully equipped with everything that you need. Large garden for dogs all fully secure. Great location for art and crafts shops. If you are looking for peace and quite this is perfect. Loved it so much we booked again and can't wait to go back.

Dave, Sandra & Barley
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 25/09/2016
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We've stayed in many cottages in Scotland and we reckon this is perhaps the best we've stayed at. This was our home for two weeks and from the moment you drop your bags and shut the door you're immersed in the atmosphere and history of this beautiful house. Immaculately furnished, spacious yet cosy and filled with a sense of calm and tranquillity that could only arise from owners who love the place. And Jenny makes it all seem effortless, the house is maintained to the highest standards totally in keeping with the history and tradition of the old laundry house. It's a brilliant place to explore Glen Affric and beyond. You can walk, or cycle, or go for a run on silent, fragrant forest paths that draw you on past eerie, broken mansions and waterfalls, watch the clouds slowly envelope the massive fir trees, count the bats flitting silently around the house on moonlit nights, take midnight walks up the many forest trails looking for nocturnal wildlife, or swim in crystal clear lochs. We loved this house! We loved the area! Thanks to the lovely Jenny for cakes, veg and local information.

Steve & Sue
Reviewed The Orchids on 24/09/2016
And awarded it

The Orchids

The Orchids is a beautiful house with stunning views on to Loch Dunvegan where you can watch otters and seals fishing. We had a great time exploring Skye, very peaceful location in which to stay. Would recommend staying at the Orchids would love to return sometime.