Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 20 of 2523

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page but if you wish to read through all our reviews they are listed below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 2523 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place for you to view. Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.

Anthony & Elizabeth
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 23/10/2016
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

Best place we have ever stayed at! Warm, clean, cosy, well equipped with an enormous comfortable bed. Best of all, great views across Loch Kishorn towards the Cullin of Skye.

Peter Sumpter
Reviewed Rhundunan on 23/10/2016
And awarded it


Excellent property that is well equipped. Very highly recommended.

Ian Wilson
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 23/10/2016
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

Absolutely fantastic cottage plenty of room with views to kill for, Dog loved it and collapsed every night on her bed. I will be definitely be coming back, 1 slight negative I had to change bedding on arrival other than that 10/10.

Catriona & John
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 20/10/2016
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

The cottage was really lovely: very clean and very well-equipped. We really appreciated the little extras, like the shortbread,butter, milk, teabags and jam on arrival, and the washing up liquid, hand soap and toilet roll! It is well-located with lovely views over the loch and within an easy walk of the excellent local Spar shop. We had a lovely 3 nights there and just wish it could have been longer.

Reviewed The Mill on 20/10/2016
And awarded it

The Mill

A lovely stay. What a spectacular view! The Mill was a very easy place to stay with our 19 month old. She loved seeing the cows right outside the window. We thought the location was great and the amenities at the property made it a real home away from home. The wifi was patchy, but the setting made it worth it. I liked the additional touches like the shortbread biscuits and Tomintoul whiskey that was left for us to try. There were a few dog hairs around from the previous guest, but otherwise the property was left clean and tidy.

Mark Alexander
Reviewed Tigh na H-Eilde on 20/10/2016
And awarded it

Tigh na H-Eilde

We stayed at Shirley and Allan's lodge near Invergarry and had a fantastic time. Due to a road accident ahead of us along the way we were delayed in arriving by 5hrs but this didn't phase Shirley one bit! A lovely warm welcome to a lovely warm lodge. One of the best holidays we've ever had!

Sheila Grant
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 19/10/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Bayside cottage was well equipped and met all our needs ,,, the tray ready prepared with a cup of tea was welcoming ,,, as was the vase of flowers Apple cross is a wonderful peaceful location .. thank you for a wonderful week ,,, not forgetting the coal fire at night was a treat .... x

Brian Welsh
Reviewed Charleston on 19/10/2016
And awarded it


Excellent spacious accommodation, idyllic quite location, good walks along general wade road in both directions local Loch Ness good walk round about 12 miles. Dogs love the spacious grounds kitchen and conservatory hard flooring suitable for pets.Welcome pack a great touch. All round excellent holiday

Ella & Mark
Reviewed River Cottage on 19/10/2016
And awarded it

River Cottage

We stayed at River Cottage for a week and thought it was the perfect base for us to explore places in the Highlands of Scotland. We could not have asked for more - location, comfort, warmth, amenities, facilities - all perfect.

Reviewed Moll Cottage on 19/10/2016
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Great little cottage away from it all with good facilities and beautiful views to Raasay. Be aware that the single track road to the cottage is poorly maintained by the local council. Perfect place for couples looking for relaxation and quiet alongside access to the many walks and sites across Skye.

William O'Brien
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

If you are looking for the perfect cosy log cabin in a stunning completely secluded location equipped to the highest standards, look no further!

Will Jeffels
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

What a fabulous Island Skye is! Katie's cottage was just perfect. Great location, with wonderful views of Glendale valley. The cottage was very well equipped, very clean, and very cosy. It has a very good kitchen for a small cottage. The log burner works well and the underfloor heating keep it it comfortably warm. The mattresses are good quality which contributes to a very restful stay. Will look to go back soon if possible.

Paul Mitchell
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Splendid setting. Very comfortable, well equipped. Cosy cottage.

Chris & Lorna Thomas
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

What a lovely cottage and we couldn't have asked for better hosts. Chaz and Jane were warm and welcoming and full of information. They were always the same but also respected our privacy. Cracker their Lurcher was a delight. Wonderful weather for our 2 weeks with some spectacular sunsets over the sea and N. Ireland. A treat to be able to see the Milky Way. A great place for buzzards and kestrels. A flock of Lapwings on the way to Portpatrick was a bonus. We saw the wild goats just down the coast but failed to see the deer. All in all a magical secluded place.

Anne Malcolm & Elsie Plus Jess The Dog
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

Fabulous cottage in great location comfortable furnishings well equiped kitchen more like a family home then a holiday cottage enclosed garden for jess

Kay Craig
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Cedar Cottage is a lovely cottage in a beautiful forest setting. It is furnished and decorated to an extremely high standard. There are very thoughtful welcome touches and lots of information on areas of local interest & instructions for all the appliances. We were very impressed & would like to return.

Reviewed Wee Dram on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Wee Dram

We had a smashing time at the Wee Dram., a perfect retreat for a most relaxing holiday. The location and views are wonderful

Phil & Lesley
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Wonderfully peaceful location. Comfortable cosy cottage, with a view to die for!!

Jane, Kevin & Ross McDonald
Reviewed Ardrannach on 18/10/2016
And awarded it


Please see previous review for 10th Sept - 1st October as we stayed for 4 weeks.

Caroline, Yogi, Diesel & Mr McHenry
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

We had the most wonderful time at Shore Cottage, the property is very well equipped and has excellent access to the beach. Our three dogs had a fantastic time running on the beach and thoroughly enjoyed the heat from the wood burner in the conservatory at the end of the day. A most relaxing holiday and we can't wait to return, we've already booked again for next year.