Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 20 of 2523

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 2523 reviews from guests, of which 100% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


SAM BEEDELL
Reviewed Cuilfail on 09/12/2016
And awarded it

Cuilfail

If you are looking for real escape - then this is the place to go - amazing scenery, wildlife and walks and a great place to relax and unwind in the evening with everything you would need from the accommodation for a great stay We had a great time and would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to really experience Scotland at its best

Stuart Cockerham
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 02/12/2016
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Carn Loch Cottage is a very comfortable and well equipped holiday cottage in a quiet and peaceful setting. The views from the front windows are spectacular, especially when the distant mountains are covered in snow. Although the cottage is in a quiet, isolated location, it is only 20 minutes or so from Inverness, the A9 trunk road and Fort Augustus is also easily accessible. The only problem we had was that despite all the water being very hot in the kitchen sink and washbasins, the bath water was only hand warm, and we had to boil kettles and pans in order to get it to temperature. That having been said the property is lovely and warm throughout, the underfloor heating is effective and the wood burner is a welcome source of additional heat when the temperature outside is low. We will definitely stay there again and that is the acid test for any property.

Gus MacLeod
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

Stayed a week at The Shed in November with six friends. We all thought the house was exceptional both as architecture but importantly as a beautiful space to occupy. It sits beautifully within the landscape and offers mesmerisingly lovely views out over the sea to the inner isles and the Cuillin. Highly recommended.

Ian Bonner-Evans
Reviewed Upper Folds on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We enjoyed a wonderful few days in Upper Folds. The cottage is set in a beautiful, remote location yet is also accessible to places of interest if you want to tour the area. The owners clearly spend a lot of time and effort in making Upper Folds a comfortable, clean, cozy, welcoming place to stay, with all that you could want from a holiday cottage - and more! We would thoroughly recommend this cottage to anyone who wants a "get away from it all" holiday experience.

Maria & Steve
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Absolute paradise for 7 days we absolutely loved it, The cottage was better then better it was spotlessly clean, everything you needed was in this cottage, we are definitely going back next year,The views where breath taking, we wanted a quite peaceful week away and we got more then that, we actually fell in love with the place, 10/10 for the cottage, and 10/10 to Brian & Hannah at wilderness cottages for sorting everything out for us, we have a life time of amazing memories after our 7 days away. Many many thanks see you next year x

Lindsay Price
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

Amazing stay at the cottage!! It was exactly as pictured but the view was even more amazing in person. We stayed for 2 weeks and we were SO sad to leave. Will definitely be coming back! Favorite thing was the local flock of sheep and herd of cows. Also a castle ruin super close that we walked to and the locals were very nice to help us with directions :)

Carols
Reviewed Fhaireag on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Wonderful house, fantastic scenery, best place to relax and unwind, love the limited phone signal cos work can't encroach on my break. An upgraded Sky package for those wet and windy nights by the fire would make the house unbeatable. Dogs loved the garden but not the sharp stones to get to the undergrowth

Benjamin & Cherry
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

Annual guests to The Bothy and as usual didn't disappoint. perfect setting with the most perfect weather all week.

Elizabeth Little
Reviewed Silver Birch Lodge on 22/11/2016
And awarded it

Silver Birch Lodge

Thank you for providing such a warm and welcoming temporary home for us at the Lodge!! We were extremely comfortable and enjoyed the attractive setting and all the little touches of luxury provided - a truly personalised holiday/honeymoon! We would be delighted to come back.

Chris & Kirsty
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 20/11/2016
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Excellent property and location for the ultimate relaxing breaks. Breath taking views, wildlife and ever changing weather to cast your eyes upon, let alone the chance to view aurora in the night skies.

John Gibson
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 18/11/2016
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Wonderful place. Highly recommended. Unlike many cottages, the Tree House is modern, beautifully designed and finished to a very high spec throughout. It has a well stocked kitchen, an efficient log burner, a nice TV and speakers to plug your phone into, a massive couch to lounge on. It is altogether extremely comfortable. We visited in November, and it rained most days, but we were happy to be tucked up cosy and warm inside. The location on a tiny little road is also very secluded and quiet. Skye is, of course, beautiful.

Peter Woolverton
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 17/11/2016
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Hill Cottage is perfect if you crave isolation, utter peace and quiet, rugged scenery and nil light pollution. It's not so good if you are a TV addict and/or you cannot survive without your mobile phone. Administrative aspects faultless.

Laura Durling
Reviewed Upper Folds on 17/11/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

2nd visit. The cottage had been recently painted. Spotlessly clean. Great walks and wonderful weather. Perfect break for us.

BARRY
Reviewed Wildwood on 15/11/2016
And awarded it

Wildwood

We rented Wildwood at Fort Augustus for a week and had the best time, our holiday started on 5th November and it was very mild. The wildlife there is amazing. Deer, pine martins, badger and so many birds. We were feeding them 2 pints of seed per day not including fat balls and suet. The property was spotless and there is everything there to make your stay so comfortable. We wish we booked 2 weeks now. If you book this property you won't regret it.

Jane Fletcher
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 15/11/2016
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Leachachan Barn looks gorgeous on the website, and doesn't disappoint in real life. It is very well equipped, was spotless on arrival, and is a great base for exploring the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our week,and our two Westies loved relaxing in front of the excellent wood burning stove.

Roger & Patricia Scott
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 15/11/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

The cottage was extremely well equipped - everything possible in the kitchen from bread maker to food processor! The cottage was very cosy! The bedding was lovely and warm! The welcome pack was a lovely touch as was leaving the fire laid and ready to light. Would readily recommend the cottage!

Mr F Townley
Reviewed Station Cottage on 15/11/2016
And awarded it

Station Cottage

A wonderful week in the cottage, there is nothing else you need for a relaxing and peaceful time. The cottage is well appointed and cosy with the log burner. We will return again in the summer/ autumn. Highly recommended.

Susan H
Reviewed Giusaichean on 14/11/2016
And awarded it

Giusaichean

This was our third visit to Giusaichean and I am sure we will be back. The setting is beautiful and the garden is perfect for dogs - lots of places to explore and fully secure. The log burner in the lounge gives off lots of heat and satisfied my husbands need to make fire!

One Week Holiday
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 13/11/2016
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

We very much enjoyed our holiday at Leachahan Barn. It is very clean, tidy and has all the amenities you could wish for. Fantastic views from the windows across the Loch. The Barn is ideally suited for trips to Skye (via Glen Elg in the Summer months is a real treat!), or to the nearby Lochs and Glens. Otherwise plenty of easy and interesting walks just from the front door ( ie the ruined Broch at Totaig).

Christine Entwistle
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 13/11/2016
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

The cottage was delightful, well equipped and very clean. It was wonderful returning home to the warmth and cosiness, at this time of year after a bracing walk in the beautiful, stunning countryside and coastal scenery. The dogs enjoyed lying in front of the wood burning stove or the aga and just fell asleep. The beds were comfortable and at this time of year it was just what the doctor ordered. The beaches nearby were beautiful and not to be missed.