Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 21 to 40 of 2459


Lisa Eaden
Reviewed Kimberley House on 06/09/2016
And awarded it

Kimberley House

Kimberley House was the most amazing space in the perfect location. Everything in the cottage was superb quality and the owner was very helpful. The views from the living room window across Findhorn Bay were stunning. We hope to return to Findhorn and to Kimberley House next year - it's a long journey from Yorkshire but so worth it!

Graham & Sarah Woodcock
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 06/09/2016
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

The perfect holiday cottage with a fantastic enclosed garden which our dogs loved exploring. A very welcome bottle of wine waiting for us after a long drive up from Essex. All mod cons provided, everything you could possibly need for a comfortable and relaxing holiday. Couldn't have asked for more, really didn't want to leave.

Sarah B
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 06/09/2016
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

We had a fantastic week at Creag nah Iolaire! The owner, Duncan, met us on arrival and gave a very friendly and thorough briefing on the facilities/locality. The cottage is absolutely gorgeous and the views are just wonderful - I could never tire of eating breakfast looking out over the Loch, whatever the weather. The decor & furniture were all lovely and we felt very much at home for our stay. We visited lots of local and not so local places and found that Drumnadrochit is a good base from which to explore much of the Highlands - in particular we love the drive around to Foyers to visit the Falls, The Lovat Arms in Fort Augustus for a fantastic meal and of course the Isle of Skye which is a fair journey but worth the drive as it's so beautiful. Previous reviews have mentioned the driveway to the cottage being steep - which it is - but it presented no problems for our cars (neither of which are 4x4) as long as we kept in 1st gear and took it slowly. Once you've done it once it becomes much easier! The only thing I think could be improved is the water pressure to the bath upstairs, which is currently very slow indeed and makes running a bath quite a long affair! Overall one of the best cottages we've ever stayed in, highly recommended.

Julie, Andy, Lizzi, Vicki & Elwood
Reviewed Sunnyhill Croft on 30/08/2016
And awarded it

Sunnyhill Croft

We stayed at Sunnyhill Croft from 13th to 20th August and had a wonderful week. We found the property to be extremely comfortable and the views from the large picture window in the lounge are truly breath-taking. Sunnyhill can be found a couple of miles down a lane past Gairloch, the drive down this road is beautiful with views of the sea and mountains. We have never been to Scotland and were overcome by the hospitality and friendliness. We found Sunnyhill Croft a good base to explore the Highlands, the nearby beaches at Big Sand and Gairloch are exceptional and very dog friendly. We liked everything about this property and its setting and will definitely be coming back next year.

James & Sylvaine Mackie
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 30/08/2016
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

We had a lovely stay in Tor Fionn. There was a warm welcome on arrival (oatcakes, jam, tea and milk) and all the arrangements (address, key etc.) were as agreed with Wilderness Cottages. The cottage is cosy, comfortable and well-equipped. The views from all the windows across Loch Carron are superb both during sunshine and when it rains. Shop/post office are in walking distance and Tor Fionn provides an excellent base for exploring Wester Ross. We did walking both in Loch Carron itself and munro walking (slightly further afield) and had a very nice visit to the Applecross peninsula. A great stay in a really nice cottage.

Julie, Andy, Lizzi, Vicki & Elwood
Reviewed Charleston on 30/08/2016
And awarded it

Charleston

We stayed at Charleston from 20th to 27th August and had the most wonderful and relaxing week. The house is beautiful and much bigger than we thought it would be, it has every amenity and the owners even left a welcome pack to help us settle in. The property is on top of a hill, at the end of a long track. The views are breath-taking and it is extremely peaceful and quiet. We managed to see lots of wildlife, including deer and several large birds of prey. The house is also surrounded by fields and the local cows seemed to fall in love with our Labrador, coming to the fence to see him. We cannot recommend this property highly enough, and will definitely be returning next year.

NEIL WHITE
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 28/08/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

we had a great time at seascape. superb cottage,v.clean.very nice friendly owners who give us wine and jam as a welcoming gift. v.thoughtful after our long journey from essex.i would certainly recommend this cottage. please note,owners live right next to cottage,a point which seems to have missed in the photos.

Sheila A
Reviewed Loch Cottage on 24/08/2016
And awarded it

Loch Cottage

We had a fantastic time at Loch Cottage. The setting was beautiful overlooking the loch and hillside. We spent evenings in the garden watching the moon come up and the fireflies on the loch. The cottage has everything you need and is very comfortable, only 5 minutes or so to both Aviemore and Boat of Garten. There are loads of lovely walks close by so no need to go far if you don't want to. The lovely owners posted some clothes I left by mistake, which was really nice of them. We had a great time and would highly recommend a visit.

Steve Martin
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 23/08/2016
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Carn Loch is a lovely clean and well presented house this was our second time at Carn Loch each time we have enjoyed ourselves.We even had an Osprey circling overhead one morning.very peaceful and quiet location

Sandra,mark,keiran,Zoe Hennessey & Skye,golden R
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 21/08/2016
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We couldn't have chose a better location for ouranniversary 30th wedding anniversary than feed it log cottage,it was beautiful, made good use of the jacuzzi bath after all the lovely long walks we did,the scenery is stunning,we loved watching the deer in the garden, our Goldie Skye loved the garden,it was massive and he loved running around in it. The log fire is lovely and had many a cosy night with a bottle of wine,fantastic. Thank you Graham and Lynne for the lovely prosecco and cookies they were very welcome,hope to be back again in this lovely cottage,maybe next year. Didn't want to go home,enjoyed it so much.

The Van Capps
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 21/08/2016
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

We have had a really wonderful stay at the Mill. The owners gave us such a warm welcome. The cottage was very clean, well equipped (so much thought to all attentiveness for a holliday stay) The view stunning, fireplace and 'the library' awesome. The rooms were very nice and our time in the cottage was so serene and peaceful,to have no Wi-Fi was actually very nice. This cottage is a true holiday blessing, Thank you so much !

ChrisA
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 20/08/2016
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Lovely cottage clean and with everything we needed beautiful area with breath taking views over loch ness, Thank you

Sue Collis
Reviewed Crossroads Cottage on 19/08/2016
And awarded it

Crossroads Cottage

This cottage has been beautifully renovated. It is very well equipped with everything you might need in the kitchen. The bed is very comfortable. Even though we were there in August, we couldn't resist using the wood burner on the occasional rainy evening and it was very cosy. However, the cottage is very warm without using the fire. We found the location to be perfect for local forest walks, bike rides and we enjoyed our visits to the Loch Ness exhibition and Urquhart Castle. We would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone.

Andrew Purcell
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 17/08/2016
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Swallow Byre was perfect in every way! A wonderful welcome from Jane, spacious accommodation, huge comfortable bed and everything we could wish for. Great location for exploring The Assynt.

Karen & Gary
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 17/08/2016
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

Despite the wet weather we spent an enjoyable week at Woodside Lodge, which is comfy and well equipped. The views (when we could see them) of the Applecross mountains and Lochcarron were stunning. It is also a good base for exploring further afield to Plockton, Torridon, Skye and Shieldaig. The only thing we found detrimental was the steep and rutted road up to the Lodge which had been made worse because of the rain but we don't have a 4 wheel drive vehicle which would have been better. The owners were very friendly and it was nice to have free range eggs from them.

Aidan Desmond
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 17/08/2016
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

This is a beautiful cottage in a beautiful part of the world. There is everything you need in the cottage and it is an ideal base from which you can go out and explore. We would certainly stay again. Highly recommended.

Mick Macve
Reviewed An Airidh on 17/08/2016
And awarded it

An Airidh

The cottage is lovely. The rooms were tastefully decorated, the bed was very comfortable, the wifi worked well, the temperature inside the cottage was just right and the kitchen was well appointed. The other comments on the website about the wet room are not, with respect, accurate: it is great, easy to use and the water does not go all over the room; it was very good. The cottage is located in a beautiful area with outstanding views all around. Dunvegan is excellent for cake (!) and is only 15 minutes away. If only it had stopped raining, the holiday would have been perfect. We will have to come back next year! Thank you for all the nice little touches.

Catherine A
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 17/08/2016
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

Very pleasant cottage - immaculately clean, attractive and well equipped. Very friendly and helpful owners, who live in a nearby village and are therefore available if needed. We had appalling weather (torrential rain and high winds) but were very cosy and comfy...take books and games rather than relying on television, which is 'patchy' in bad weather. Dogs are not allowed upstairs, so if your dog is used to going upstairs it is worth taking a fold up barrier to remind them not to scoot up! The Three Chimneys is only 10 mins away and is superb and the Coral Beach is 30 mins away and well worth a visit. Don't underestimate the local shop at the end of the road...it is the best stocked corner shop ever and could save you from making long journeys to Portree for provisions! All in all we had a pleasant and relaxing break in Katie's Cottage.

George & Chery Carson
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 16/08/2016
And awarded it

Seabank Cottage

We have been to Seabank Cottage 3 times and plan to be back in the future. Even when the weather isn't great (as last week) it is lovely to sit and watch the changes in the sea, the sky and hills from the kitchen window. To see the sea lap against the building. In the evening it is ideal to light a fire and chill out in the living room. A new walk in show has been installed since we were last in the cottage in 2013 and that is lovely and refreshing first thing in the morning or when you come back from a walk. The Lochcarron area is wonderful and Seabank Cottage is an excellent base for a holiday in the village.

Sam & Sophie
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 16/08/2016
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

The accommodation was first class and absolutely beautiful. 2 mins walk from town which had most of the usual amenities needed and 20 mins from Aviemore. We had a brilliant break and would recommend to anyone. Hosts were also very welcoming to our needs.