Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 21 to 40 of 2523


Tove & Pip Knight
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 12/11/2016
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

My Border Collie, Pip, and I spent a few lovely days in Woodside Lodge in October. The weather was brilliant and the views spectacular. The cottage was the best appointed self catering cottage I have ever been to. It was warm, well equipped and the fenced in garden area was brilliant. We toured around the area, but next time (and there will be a next time) we will allow a bit more time to spend a bit more 'chill-out' time in the cottage. I would highly recommend it.

Sally Herbert
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 11/11/2016
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

I cannot recommend Plodda Falls Lodge highly enough. My husband and I had a wonderful stay in October 2016. The lodge exceeded our expectations, which had been extremely high! It was a characterful house, extremely cosy and comfortable, set in beautiful surroundings. The double bed was divine and the wood burning stove extremely efficient. Jenny was helpful and friendly, she made us feel very welcome, told us to contact her if there was anything or any information we needed and popped to see us twice to make sure we were okay (unfortunately we missed her on both occasions!). She had made a delicious apple and blackberry cake for our arrival. There was wealth of information on what to do in the surrounding areas at the lodge, plus old photos and historical information about the lodge and estate. WiFi was excellent but there was no mobile signal, there was a landline for local calls. We enjoyed the lodge as a couple but it is perfect for families and dogs and would make an excellent Christmas/New Year retreat. The lodge is located down a long drive which needs to be taken carefully and is remote (as advised in the pre-booking information). This suited us as it was just what we were looking for but prospective hirers do need to be aware of this. Plodda Falls are a short walk through the forest which backs onto the lodge and are well worth seeing. We also explored nearby Glen Affric, which must be one of the most beautiful places in Scotland, and Loch Ness and its surrounding areas. There was a wealth of local walks detailed in the information at the lodge. All in all we had one of our best holidays at Plodda Falls Lodge and can see why people go back there time and time again.

Stephen & Susan
Reviewed Upper Folds on 11/11/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This is a perfect cottage, absolutely spotlessly clean, warm cozy and welcoming. It is very tastefully furnished and so comfortable, we felt relaxed and chilled out from the moment we arrived. The lovely thoughtful touches of fresh flowers, wine etc are the icing on the cake, all the bases and much more are covered here. The surroundings are stunning, when we return to the area we will look no further and definitely rebook. Thanks for a wonderful week.

Colin & Lynn
Reviewed Skye Woodhouse on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Skye Woodhouse

Fabulous - House was excellent and great location. The house has everything you need and is great for relaxing with wonderful views. There's so many great things to do on Skye but make sure you get some fresh seafood like Scallops from Sconser. We'll be back.

Hayley Walton
Reviewed Charleston on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Charleston

This was our 4th visit to Charleston, the second time this year! We absolutely love the peace and quiet, fantastic views and the home comforts the cottage has to offer. The owners have provided everything you need for your stay and the cottage itself is immaculate. When the guest book is full of people visiting for their second, third, fourth and more times that speaks for itself!! We will definitely be back, just hope we can get in as it books up fast...

Andrew & Family
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

A lovely location and wonderful accommodation for our stay in the Highlands. A warm and friendly welcome, many thanks.

Debby & Marc
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Absolutely beautiful cottage...peaceful comfortable and has everything you need. Perfect location. we will definitely be booking again

Richie
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

An amazing place to stay and this was our fourth visit there. Tranquil, high quality accommodation that's makes you instantly relaxed. Always great service from Wilderness Cottages and we can't wait for our next stay.

Kayley Holden
Reviewed Sealight on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Sealight

We had the most wonderful honeymoon at Sealight. We arrived at the end of October, staying for a week and unfortunately, this is the out of season period where most places are closed. However, Sealight has everything you could possibly need to have a lovely, chilled, warmly stay. From books to every kitchen utensil you can think of and even jigsaw puzzles/games, we were never bored! The log burner was our favourite part of the house and we loved having the fire burning every night whilst watching a movie! We came home very relaxed and refreshed. Exactly what we needed! We are hoping to come back for Christmas next year.

Alan & Alison
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 06/11/2016
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Swallow Byre was the perfect place for a chill and unwind. Perfect for a couple sharing, excellent facilities and very cosy - the woodburner stove was great but rarely used as the place was so warm. No phone signal and no wifi took about a day to get used to then you remember what life used to be like! Read a couple of books in the total peace of the evenings. Jane was very friendly and helpful. The Byre is well placed for walking and cycling from the door or further afield. We will be back.

Liz Twelves
Reviewed Wishing Well Cottage on 06/11/2016
And awarded it

Wishing Well Cottage

The house is in a stunning setting and within a good distance of Portree. The prearrival information was good which made getting there pretty easy. The property is modern, very clean and of a high standard. It offers a great base for Skye. We were fortunate to have some sunshine which made this beautiful place even more special. We hire holiday cottages a lot and there were some mainly small things that would make a big difference to us. The first is a big thing - for a property in this price range, a good quality king size bed with a good mattress is a must, and high quality bedding. Secondly, we like to watch films when we are away, in fact we bought some specifically for our trip, so a TV that is proportionate to the size of the room and a DVD player are also important to us. Finally, and a small thing, some basic provisions for arrival seem to be quite common in holiday properties now - milk, bread and butter maybe, and often a bottle of wine to welcome you. I hope this feedback is useful.

The Milner Family
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 04/11/2016
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Wonderful cottage full of charm although the property probably is looking a little tired in places but has everything needed for a self catering accommodation. Great location and ideal for exploring the area. Great walks to be had. We would recommend

Fiona Mackenzie
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 01/11/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

We had a very relaxing break at shore cottage with our two labradors, cottage was very warm and homely and the beach at the end of the garden was fabulous. The only negatives were that the tv was very old and that the bathroom is in need of upgrading but that would not stop us from returning! Oh and the bush that obscures the view on the decking needs to go!

Gary & Bernie
Reviewed Ardrannach on 01/11/2016
And awarded it

Ardrannach

This property and location was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back. The property is ideally situated for walking and is in a very peaceful location with tremendous views of Skye.

Michelle Bennett
Reviewed Giusaichean on 29/10/2016
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Lovely week relaxing the highlands, this cottage is lovely, I have been coming her for 13 years on and off. I used to bring my children to spend Christmas. It is great for dogs and really feels homely, log fire is a real treat if you don't have one at home and there is lots to see and do. Dores inn is nice, food ok but service could be better, which was a real shame. Beautiful glass blowing shop in fort Augustus you can watch the lady making glass ornaments, of course I had to bring home a little glass Nessie, some pretty little shops there also selling nice souvenirs to take home. I believe that the owners are coming back to live in this cottage soon, so it won't be available, so if you can get a break here before I would highly recommend. I still love the highlands and will be looking at alternative places to bring my dogs and grandchildren in the future.

Lauren
Reviewed Timber House on 28/10/2016
And awarded it

Timber House

We really enjoyed our time at Timber House. The views from every room are amazing. We loved the wood burner and waking up to sheep in the front yard. The kitchen was well equipped. Highly recommended. Future guests may want to know that mobile service in the area comes and goes, though the internet worked well. The house is in a remote area and is therefore extremely quiet, though the wind and rain can be quite loud in the main bedroom, so bring ear plugs if that will keep you awake. We hope to come again!

Steve & Jacqui Johnstone
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 28/10/2016
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Had a wonderful relaxing week here in October. The resident pine martin did not disappoint and visited us every second night around 9pm. What a beautiful creature and one of the main reasons we booked. Got some great photographs. Pine lodge is compact yet comfortable and has everything you need. Wi-Fi is fantastic considering the location. The road up to the lodge is a bit steep and rough but this is quickly forgotten once you are there. Location is very quiet and peaceful and a great place to escape. The views over the loch and mountains are simply breathtaking. Would highly recommend pine lodge and hope to visit again very soon.

William Foy
Reviewed Don Cottage on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Cottage very well equiped and cosy would recommend it to friends and family!

Chris & Wendy Jennings
Reviewed Don Cottage on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Lovely cottage hideaway.

Lorna (Skye)
Reviewed Erchless Cottage on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Erchless Cottage

We loved Erchless Cottage. It was cosy and spacious and an ideal base for walking and exploring the beautiful surrounding countryside. Alison and Greg couldn't have been more helpful, welcoming and friendly.