Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2001 to 2020 of 2523


McLeod Family
Reviewed Don Cottage on 12/11/2009
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Having recently spent another fantastic week at Don Cottage we thought it was time we shared our views with others. It was our 5th visit and gets better each time. The cottage is fantastic, spotless clean, lovely homely rooms with coal fire in living room and large spaceous bedrooms/kitchen. Ideal for children as our kids have always had a great time there. Centrally positioned for Inverness, if weather not too good with Cinema, Swimming, Skating & Supermarket etc + lots of eating places. Gairloch, Lossiemouth are just a few fantastic beaches closeby which are a great day out for the family.
And forest walks just a stones through away. Local hotels/pub allow children and also have outdoor seating so on a lovely day a nice walk into Drumnadrochit for a nice lunch is also great. The cottage also has lots of literature on where to go and this time we visited Landmark at Aviemore and kids had a fantastic time, not one for people scared of heights!!!. Pony trecking is also great and again kids just loved it. We are now planning returning next year probably for 2 x 1 week breaks.

Fernrigg
Reviewed Don Cottage on 10/11/2009
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Don’t bother writting a review as it won’t be published, just look at the dates between thoose that up there now!
It’s a great cottage but don’t have any great expectations about Drum!!

Stuart & Gloria Cockerham
Reviewed Old Smiddy Kilfinan on 08/11/2009
And awarded it

Old Smiddy Kilfinan

Sue Sales
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 07/11/2009
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Jennifer Giddings
Reviewed Allt-Na-Crich on 06/11/2009
And awarded it

Allt-Na-Crich

Catherine Herring
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 05/11/2009
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Mike and I spent 2 wonderful weeks in September at Hill cottage and loved ever minute. the Cottage was everything we had read about and much more. The facilities were really up to standard .We especially like sitiing and spending hours just being mesmerized by the beautiful and ever changing views out of the large window.Hiking paths were plenty and near.If you go don’t miss Sandman bay ,breath taking. like being on a huge deserted beach in the Carribean.WE would return again espcially for the peace of such an isolated spot.

Carol Silvester
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 01/11/2009
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Great cottage, beautifully modernised with a tradtional feel. Quiet location close to the town and canal. Garden not enclosed.

Sharon, Darren, Clyde & Libby (dogs)
Reviewed Charleston on 01/11/2009
And awarded it

Charleston

A wonderful cottage, very spacious and well equipped with all the home comforts you could wish for. An ideal place for wildlife spotting and walking the dogs, or to just sit back relax and enjoy the fantastic views. No need to see ’Autumn Watch’ on the telly, just stay here and see the wildlife up close in your own private piece of the Highlands! This is one place we will definately be returning to, (Clyde & Libby give it the paws up!) Thankyou to Mr & Mrs Hepburn and Wilderness Cottages for a great holiday.

Peter-Jan Hagedoorn
Reviewed Mountain View on 01/11/2009
And awarded it

Mountain View

Sarah Pimlott
Reviewed Challtuinn on 30/10/2009
And awarded it

Challtuinn

Dawn & Martin Dypka
Reviewed Sheaig Croft on 29/10/2009
And awarded it

Sheaig Croft

Jane & Rob Jackson
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 29/10/2009
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We have just returned from an autumnal week at The Smiddy near Beauly. Our first visit to the Highlands and we loved it! The Smiddy was stunning and very cosy - the wood burner and very comfy bed were our favourites. It was beautifully clean and tidy and absolutely our sort of place. Also a great base for exploring the area - we went to Glen Affric, Nairn beach and Dornoch for example. In fact the only thing that could have been improved on was the size of the bath towels - but such a small thing!

Diane
Reviewed Glenara on 28/10/2009
And awarded it

Glenara

Lovely location
great kitchen, bathroom
good dinning sitting area seperate to main sittingroom is a very good idea
could do with some more crockery and cutlery
lovely views over river
good to watch birds at the feeder just infront of the large picture window
could have had bigger bath towels
need to watcb tight driveway, is no good for cars with a small turning circle!
overall a lovely cottage and we had a great week.

Duncan & Nicky Monypenny
Reviewed Monastery 17 - Abbey on 28/10/2009
And awarded it

Monastery 17 - Abbey

Number 17 is a fantastic two bedroom apartment on the top floor of the abbey, the view from the bathroom, the largest window in the building on the top floor as we could tell, is spectacular and looks staright across Loch Ness. We had a wonderful week and would more than recommend the Monastery or Fort Augustus to anyone. It is so well placed for lots of sight seeing or you can just ?chill out? in the pubs of Fort Augustus and watch the boats go through the lochs.

We would also like to say a special thanks to Corinne at Wilderness who was fantastic during the process and made everything so easy!

John Mcglynn
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 27/10/2009
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

If you want to get away from everything, or anyone and like to just chill out with fantastic surroundings. Loch Carron has a small shop which sells just about anything you need with very friendly staff who go out of there way to make sure you have everything you need. The locals are also friendly and do not make you feel like an outsider.

John Malone
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 27/10/2009
And awarded it

Half-seventeen

John Mc Farlane
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 26/10/2009
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Matt Youngs
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 26/10/2009
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

We had a lovely week at Littlepark Cottage. Arriving to find the fire all set and ready for lighting was great. The cottage was clean, tidy and very well equipted. Having an easy walk to the hills and Loch Treig was also great. We look forward to returning in the futre and will be recommending the cottage to freinds and family.

Matt, Dale and Hannah Youngs
Aberdeenshire

Angela Strachan
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 26/10/2009
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

"What a lovely cottage! So much thought and effort has gone in to everything... From the welcome card, home-baked cake and bottle of wine on our arrival, to the maps, leaflets and games. It was so homely that you couldn’t fail to relax immediately! The cottage makes amazing use of the space, and is really cosy and warm. The garden is well-sized and ideal for dogs. The kitchen and all rooms are so well equipped, nothing had been forgotten. I was very very impressed, and will definitely recommend the cottage and Wilderness Cottages to my friends. Thank you!"

William & Julie
Reviewed Charleston on 24/10/2009
And awarded it

Charleston

We visit the Stratherrick area 4/5 times each year. This has been our first stay at Charleston. The views from the cottage are spectacular, however Charleston is badly let down by its inferior furnishings, especially the beds. The mattresses are very uncomfortable and thin. For this reason we would not choose to return to Charleston again. Wilderness Cottages can confirm that replacement mattresses have been arranged and will be in place this week.