Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2101 to 2120 of 2523


The Lloyd Family
Reviewed Lomond Castle on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Lomond Castle

The Langley Family
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Kimberlin
Reviewed Kilmartin Estate Cottage on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Kilmartin Estate Cottage

We stayed in the secluded Kilmartin Cottage for 4 nights in June 2009.

Once in Drumnadrochit, the drive was pretty much a straight shot up to the turn-off for the house. The road is rather steep, and bumpy doesn’t really adequately describe the driving conditions, but it all made for part of the adventure. There was a small grocery store in town so we were able to make use of the ample kitchen to cook some of our own meals.

The cottage caretaker had everything available for us when we arrived including a huge bouquet of fresh flowers for the table. We loved the house and the grounds. Not only was the cottage more affordable than most rooms in town, but the extra space for our family of five was brilliant! The kids were able to explore every evening and we woke to deer grazing on the lawn. It was the most relaxing vacation we’ve had.




Steve & Katie
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Nothing but praise for Poulary Cottage. Had a wonderful week there in July. The cottage really is out in the wilderness, about 7 miles off the main road. Brilliant views out of the dining room window across the valley and my wife certainly enjoyed the bird table in the garden which attracted all sorts. Cottage is spacious and has all the amenities you need. The seperate games room is a nice touch and is nice to unwind in there after a day of exploring.
Good location as a base as well as you are well within distance of various sites of interest - Glengarry, Fort William, Ben Nevis, Inverness, Cairngorns, Skye and many more. We even made the trip up to John O’Groats which took a good 4 hours! Can recommend the Invergarry Hotel for a good meal and a great atmosphere.
If you’re looking for a nice quiet cottage with stunning views and scenery then this is the one for you.

Jo Patrick
Reviewed Log House on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Log House

We had a lovely week at the start of July, even the rain didn’t spoil our time away. 2 boys under 5 had the best time watching boats going up and down the locks and jumping in waterfalls. The Log Cabin was a real treat and provided much excitement for little boys. Lots to do in the vicinity, and the peace and quiet was a real tonic.. Will definitely be using the Cottages again.

Julie & Tim Barnett
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Edward
Reviewed Callakille on 27/07/2009
And awarded it

Callakille

Kate Robinson
Reviewed Admiral Napier House on 27/07/2009
And awarded it

Admiral Napier House

John & Jacquie Moyse
Reviewed Timber House on 26/07/2009
And awarded it

Timber House

Timber house is an amazing design. It is so light and clean with very good quality apppliances and comfortable beds and bright modern decor.

We found Timber House beautifully placed just above and over looking the end of a loch where there were lovely views over the water. The little town of Dunvegan was not too far to drive and had some good little shops for our daily needs. There were many interesting cliffs and beaches to walk and explore.

All the administrative arrangements were straight forward.

We hope we shall be able to come back for another visit.

Colin Campbell
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 26/07/2009
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

This is our second stay and was every bit as good as the first time. The cottage is comfortable and well appointed with great views of lochs and hills. We weren’t short of things to do both in the immediate area and further afield to Lochinver and Durness. Helped by good weather most of the time. Again enjoyed eating at the Shore Restaurant at Tarbet after a day on Handa Island.

Andy & Lynda Tuttle
Reviewed Moat House 6 - Abbey on 26/07/2009
And awarded it

Moat House 6 - Abbey

John & Jennifer Edwards
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 22/07/2009
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

cottage was great with everything we needed and more. Very clean and well equiped Owners left some very thoughtful welcoming gifts for both us and the dogs which started our holiday off very well! The views were magnificent and listening to the sea at night - wonderful. been visiting Applecross for 15 years, its special to us and very much look forward to our next visit and using bayside again. Thanks again a great relaxing holiday.

Sue Crump
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 22/07/2009
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Absolutely fabulous cottage in fantastic location, could have stayed there forever. 1 week of sunshine also helped. Hope to return.

Laura Wemyss
Reviewed Mealishal on 12/07/2009
And awarded it

Mealishal

Dick & Jan
Reviewed Log House on 11/07/2009
And awarded it

Log House

The Log House is the perfect place to stay if you want peace and tranquillity, it is well equipped with everything you need. Fort Augustus is a great place to eat out and close enough from the Log House to walk to. Great walks from the doorstep and wildlife in abundance. We were lucky enough to have daily visits from the robin and saw the pine marten 3 nights on the trot! Would highly recommend.

Keith Brown
Reviewed Timber House on 09/07/2009
And awarded it

Timber House

My partner and I had a wonderful one-week stay in Timber House in May 2009. The house itself is very smart and well-equipped, and the location in Skinidin on Skye is lovely with views over the loch toward Dunvegan and the surrounding countryside. The location is convenient to all activities and sightseeing in northern Skye but a little out of the way for southern Skye attractions, although it is still quite easy to get to the Cuillins. In short, we highly recommend the Timber House for a peaceful and comfortable Skye holiday.

Marj Hawkins
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 07/07/2009
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Three of us had a wonderful week here in early June. The cottage was welcoming and had everything we needed. The open fire was a real bonus. The views were so beautiful, especially the sunset on our last evening. Applecross is a special place. Everywhere you looked was amazing. We saw deer, seals and an otter swimmming. I would love to come back! I live in a beautiful part of Wales, but the view from the waters’ edge outside the cottage will stay with me always.
Marj-Pembrokeshire

Wendy & David Pink
Reviewed Curlew Croft on 05/07/2009
And awarded it

Curlew Croft

Ian & Christine Davison
Reviewed Old Smiddy Kilfinan on 02/07/2009
And awarded it

Old Smiddy Kilfinan

Gavin & Kay Bone
Reviewed Woodpecker Pad on 30/06/2009
And awarded it

Woodpecker Pad

We have stayed at Wilderness Cottages many times but this was our first stay at Woodpecker Pad.
The cottage is modern and very well equipped. For us, with our two Newfoundlands Nevis and Cuillin, the setting of Woodpecker Pad was perfect, with easy walks at the doorstep.
We had an excellent week and will not hesitate to come back to Woodpecker Pad.
Many thanks.