Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2101 to 2120 of 2523

Lesley & Roy Maxim
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 07/04/2009
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

For the past thirteen years we have taken an annual holiday in the Highlands, always in self catering accommodation. To us, this was the most perfect holiday home we have rented in that time. Set in beautiful surroundings, the Log Cottage was immaculately clean, very cosy and comfortable, with everything you could possibly need. If only the weather had been kinder to us, we would have loved to have been able to use the outside space and the decked Veranda.

The Log Cottage is remote but that is part of its charm and our reason for chosing it in the first place. The 3 mile single track road to Fersit is, in itself a lovely drive, with a river, a glorious loch and beautiful woodland to enjoy on the way. Just be prepared for the last quarter mile being bumpy as the road is unmade. However it is definately worth it. If you need a peaceful and relaxing holiday, it doesn’t get better than this. We were delighted to see our first Pine Marten, and also spotted Deer on several occasions.

Fersit Log Cottage is a very special place and it was hard for us to leave but we are looking forward to next year, when we will return and no doubt each year thereafter (just so long as it stays the same).

Ed & Peggy MacLeod
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 07/04/2009
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We brought another couple to Scotland with us this year to share the beauty of the country. They fell in love with Scotland as much as we did our first visit. The warm cozy feeling experienced at Hill Head Croft made it difficult to venture out on our daily trips. We so looked forward to returning there every night. It gave us the chance to spend valuable time together that’s not possible when staying in hotels or B&B’s. There was every comfort and convenience of home. The four of us loved the cottage and would definitely stay there again. We all agreed that we would love to live there permanently. Thank you for the wonderful opportunity to enjoy Hill Head Croft.

Kim Osborne/Williams
Reviewed Moat House 1 - Abbey on 18/03/2009
And awarded it

Moat House 1 - Abbey

Had a fantastic relaxing break at The Abbey 27 Feb - 4 March 2009. Apartment was fab with everything you would need to make it home from home. Plenty of hot water and a kitchen full of equipment it was just just as the brochure described with no hidden nasty surprises. We arrived a little later than planned but Mrs Canning the housekeeper was more than helpfull and in no rush to settle us in and run off. In fact after she had gone I discovered that we had been left fresh milk, shortbread biscuits and a bottle of wine welcoming us to the apartment. The booking procedure was easy and Corrine was great at explaining about the accomodation and the area. I would have no hesitation in recomending this apartment to anyone.

Bob,Heather,Kevin & Julie
Reviewed Balmachree on 18/03/2009
And awarded it


Thank you so much. Our 3rd year in the Highlands (always in February), where all our cottages have been lovely but this could well have been the best! We arrived after very heavy snow falls. When our car got stuck in the drifts on the drive, a local man cheerfully pulled us out and the hotel minded our car until it cleared. Everyone was so friendly. The house was superb - and the views were stunning. Frozen lochs are truely a site to see! A perfect base for touring. We are coming back to Wildeness Cottages and will try another one, though it was tempting to return here!

Steph, Phil & Damie
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 16/03/2009
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Fionna & Girls
Reviewed Jersey - The Dairy on 15/03/2009
And awarded it

Jersey - The Dairy

Kate & Dave
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 15/03/2009
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

John Webster & Rachel Hastie
Reviewed The Granary on 14/03/2009
And awarded it

The Granary

I’ve stayed in quite a few holiday cottages around Drumnadrochit over the years but this is by far the best one we have stayed in! very friendly owners, quiet location and beautifully clean! a credit to the owners.

We are both still missing being at the Granary and each day we say we wish we were still there! hopefully we will stay again because we found it so perfect. and i will definitely be using wilderness cottages again, thank you to all concerned for the perfect escape.

David & Suzanne Moncrieff
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 06/03/2009
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

We had lovely time at Owl.It has to be the warmest,cosiest cottage we have stayed at to date with a great location just above Fort Augustus.It’s up a narrow,quiet,lane with an old church a stone’s throw from the front door from where you can get a panaoramic view over the Fort Augustus.The woodland walks are fantastic and fairly easy eaven for casual walkers & our springer spaniel Cody was in dog heaven for the entire week.Like other Wilderness cottages that we have stayed in,I would recommend Owl to anyone looking for a cosy break in a great location in excellent accomodation which is real value for money.
David Moncrieff

Tina & Colin Hughes
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 05/03/2009
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Sharon & Ken Jones
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 03/03/2009
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

we stayed at Hillhead Croft from 24th January 2009 to celebrate our honeymoon. we had a wonderful time and can highly recommend Hillhead Croft as a perfect base to explore all of the shores of Loch Ness, the mountain hikes and forest walks in the snow! we really enjoyed ourselves and loved the cottage with all of its superb character and attention to detail. Just lovely! Thankyou!

Karen & Jonathan Short
Reviewed Lianachan on 24/02/2009
And awarded it


Wayne & Gina Holland
Reviewed Sheaig Croft on 23/02/2009
And awarded it

Sheaig Croft

Reviewed Bothan Beag on 20/02/2009
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

The Cornelius & Jenkins Families
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 19/02/2009
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We had a glorious week at the Old Lock Keeper’s cottage over our Thanksgiving holiday at the end of November! The cottage was beautiful, clean, well appointed, and just far enough off the beaten path, everything we could ask for and more! It was cozy and welcoming, just perfect! Our days were spent exploring the Highlands and Loch Ness, and evenings were spent in front of the open fire, playing board games and drinking Isle of Skye porter. Our dog loved the fenced garden and the long walks to Ft. Augustus. The weather was great most days with a bit of snow toward the end of the week. Overall a most pleasant visit and we’d love to come back, but sadly, our time in the UK has come to an end. We cannot recommend the Old Lock Keeper’s cottage enough! Thank you for a wonderful holiday!

Kindest regards,

Angie, John, Michael, Nikki & Alex
Reviewed Charleston on 15/02/2009
And awarded it


What a wonderful week in the deep snow. We have stayed at this cottage at least 6 times - it is perfect for groups as there is room for everyone to have their own space. The view is beautiful. Many thanks to Donny, the neighbour who towed our two cars up the long drive or we would have been snowed out. Thanks also to Corinne for her help and the cottage owner who came out with the snow plough to dig us out! We have stayed in a number of cottages now, but this one is the best.

Lisa & Mark Cole
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 11/02/2009
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Just returned from a blissful visit to The Smiddy. We had quite a bit of snow which made the log fire in the cottage all the more welcoming, but it didn’t stop us getting out and about walking every day.
The cottage is very well appointed and has the most comfy bed you will ever sleep in! Location is perfect too as it’s not as remote as some cottages.But the peace and quiet is heaven if you want to escape your busy life in the town/city. We can’t wait to come back again!
Thank you Dave and Patt

Sue Ranson
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 02/02/2009
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

My family spent a glorious week at Hill Head Croft in July 2008. What a wonderfully cosy and inviting cottage with all the home comforts you could wish for. The area surrounding the cottage is amazing. if you like walking this is the place for you with forest trails right from the door in nearby Inverfarigaig forest. We decided to have a pleasant hour’s walk there and got hopelessly but gloriously lost. We eventually returned back to the cottage many hours later after lunch at nearby Foyers to fortify us for the way was then that we realised we had waliked 10 miles!! A super week.

Dorothy & Gerry McGovern
Reviewed Croc Latt on 01/02/2009
And awarded it

Croc Latt

Reviewed Fuaran Cottage on 17/01/2009
And awarded it

Fuaran Cottage