Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2121 to 2140 of 2459


Damon Mitchell
Reviewed Mealishal on 25/08/2008
And awarded it

Mealishal

Lena Mills
Reviewed Charleston on 25/08/2008
And awarded it

Charleston

This is the best self catering cottage that we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The ever changing views from every window were breathtaking. The sheep and the cows in the fields next to the cottage, along with the occasional visit from the deer, wild Hares and birds were a welcome addition to the the views. We wanted a ’get away from it all’ experience and Charleston certainly gave us just that.
Charleston is a credit to its owners who have gone far beyond the needs of a holiday cottage. The beautifull fresh flowers in every room, the complimentary bottle of wine and the Scottish Shortbread biscuits. These along with all the other extras made this holiday extra special.
Any regrets ? yes, just one and that is that we couldn’t stay longer.

Caroline Joe James Rosie & Harry Klement
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 25/08/2008
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Wow!!! if you are looking for the wow factor then this Croft certainly has it. Fantastic ever changing views across the loch to greet you each day. Tranquility and peace. Great walks close to the croft and an exellent base for accessing other areas. Even our three teenagers said this was a brilliant place. The croft was VERY comfortable and spacious, very well equipped with cosy beds (thank you). Great local horse riding, friendly staff at the farm.
Our family is looking forward to a return visit.

Linda Doctor
Reviewed Don Cottage on 25/08/2008
And awarded it

Don Cottage

we spent a week in this cottage, and it felt like home from the moment we entered. A lovely clean modern cottage set in beautiful surroundings, every need catered for and more....
(even the dog didnt want to leave) .......looking forward to returning next year. Linda Doctor

Mairi
Reviewed Lomond Castle on 18/08/2008
And awarded it

Lomond Castle

Jackie & Rob Sewell
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 17/08/2008
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Corinne
Reviewed Lomond Castle on 17/08/2008
And awarded it

Lomond Castle

Allan McGee & Rosanne Deas & Tye The Dog.
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 17/08/2008
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Absolutely superb! Such a warm welcome awaited us on our arrival with chilled wine, fresh flowers and even biscuits for the dog. The cottage was truly charming with evey possible amenity provided - not a thing was missing. Immaculately clean and tidy with towels and linen included. For a small cottage it is deceptively spacious with plenty room to spread out. The cottage is positioned in the very heart of Applecross surrounded by breathtaking scenery and panoramic views which take in the Cuillin Mountains. The front porch and benches outside provide an ideal viewing point for observing the local wildlife and taking in the magnificent sunsets. The location of the cottage is excellent for those who enjoy walking, wildlife and outdoor activities; at the same time providing a peaceful break. Quiet but not too remote, the village has a local Inn which is always busy serving a top class menu. Very friendly neighbours and a warm welcome from all the locals. Without doubt, Bayside Cottage can be very highly recommended, and we will be sure to return.

Paul
Reviewed Wildwood on 17/08/2008
And awarded it

Wildwood

A very nice spot full of lovely walks. The cabin is very well equipped. I was very surprised to see three Pine Martins helping themselves to food that we had set out.

David Allan
Reviewed Giusaichean on 16/08/2008
And awarded it

Giusaichean

We absolutely loved this cottage, the lounge area is fantastic with the large glass gable end. The bird feeder on the tree opposite which is visited constantly is great if you like bird photography, you’ll get woodpeckers, finches, robins etc. I got some nice buzzard shots while walking back to the cottage from the walks at Inverfarigaig and with Loch Ruthven not far away there’s Slovanian Grebe’s and Ospreys if your really lucky. Our dogs loved the freedom of the garden and we loved not having to worry about them.
A small tip for anyone staying here in the summer, leave the windows closed in the bedrooms, bring a fan. I spent ages hoovering up midges that ’moved in’ to our bedroom overnight. That said we have already booked up another cottage for this year in the Loch Ness area and will definately be back to Giusaichean Cottage in the future.

Alan & Jan Foreman & Family
Reviewed Charleston on 14/08/2008
And awarded it

Charleston

Certainly the best-equipped cottage we have stayed at in over 20 years of self-catering holidays, and such a spacious proprty. Even my teenage boys were impressed and want to come here again next year. The views from just about every window were breath-taking and the red-deer coming into the garden to munch on the grass was something special. Even the mixed weather couldn’t spoil such a splendid property. This was our first experience of Wilderness Cottages, and will not be our last !

Karen & Jonathan Short
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 12/08/2008
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

A super week in a great cottage and location. Once again we have been treated well with the weather and had plenty of walks and opportunities for wildlife spotting. Although you don’t need to travel for this. Within the first 24 hours of our stay we spotted 20 different species of birds from the house. Also had fun watching the vole in the garden. Thank you again, John and Dorothy, for such a warm welcome. We are sorry to be leaving but look forward to our next visit.

Pam & Graham Firth
Reviewed Callakille on 12/08/2008
And awarded it

Callakille

John & Jackie Cowell
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 11/08/2008
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

One of the best cottages we have ever stayed in, well equipped and the "hosts" were so helpful. We?ll be back! Thanks a million!
John & Jackie Cowell, Lincolnshire

David Curley
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 10/08/2008
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

Sally and John, they think of everything, it was a home from home but with stunning scenery, very unusual visitors to the garden, Pine Martins, Buzzard Wrens, siskins the list goes on, The sea food cabin at Kishorn is very good, Oh, nearly forgot to mention Sally?s free range eggs are loverly !!

Mary Atkinson
Reviewed Wildwood on 07/08/2008
And awarded it

Wildwood

Wonderfully QUIET place with beautiful walks from the front door. Can pick up the Great Glen Way by going to Fort Augustus. I would agree with the comment of the previous reviewer re. curtains. Really need to change the upstairs bedrooms window dressing - the velux has NO blind. I have veluxes at home, and couldn’t function without blinds. This is a problem in the single room when it stays light in the summer until midnight - never really gets dark. Other than that though, a fantastic house, spotlessly clean. Corinne at Wilderness Cottages very helpful and efficient.

Peaceful holiday - recommended.

Bill Westbrook
Reviewed Homewood on 06/08/2008
And awarded it

Homewood

John Oakhill
Reviewed Barn Cottage on 05/08/2008
And awarded it

Barn Cottage

P Russell
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 05/08/2008
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

Lovely well equipped apartment on the shores of loch Ness with great views, ongoing building work was not intrusive and the complex will be even better when complete. Just a 2 minute walk to Fort Augustus where there are a number of good places to eat.

Hanni & Kevin Gossage
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 04/08/2008
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

We had a lovely week! The cottage is fantastic and well located to see all the beauty Scotland has to offer!
My mum loved it. We will come back and bring Barney(our Jack Russell). Thanks again.