Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2181 to 2200 of 2523

Mr & Mrs Whigham
Reviewed Lianachan on 11/09/2008
And awarded it


Sarah Chattaway
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 08/09/2008
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Very beautiful, cosy, well equipped cottage in fantastic location. Ideal for exploring the area and relaxing afterwards. Variety of walks nearby including to secret beach. Fantastic beaches further afield too, [white sand, turquoise water.] Kayaking lessons available in Applecross Bay all helped to keep children happy despite changeable weather. Great food locally too, Applecross Inn, Walled Garden and Kishorn Seafood Bar. Didn’t want to leave and hope to return soon!

Vicki Goodwin
Reviewed Lianachan on 05/09/2008
And awarded it


David Kelly
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 04/09/2008
And awarded it


Mortimer Family
Reviewed Timber House on 01/09/2008
And awarded it

Timber House

We had a wonderful time at the Timber House at Skinidin. The house was immaculate, really comfortable, with lovely bed linen on made beds which was fantastic, and the housekeeper had left us a bottle of wine, biscuits and fruit which were very much appreciated. We have rented many cottages over the years and this was definately the best we have found.

Karen Evans
Reviewed Moat House 5 - Abbey on 31/08/2008
And awarded it

Moat House 5 - Abbey

Stephen Risker
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 31/08/2008
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

What a fantastic cottage, it had everything we needed for a relaxing two weeks away, plenty of walks right on our doorstep to keep the dogs happy.
Would consider using Wilderness Cottages again the website is easy to use and found the cottage to be just like the description, anyone considering a holiday in the Highlands would not go far wrong renting from this website especially if the have four legged friends.

Sarah Farmer
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 28/08/2008
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We have just returned from a fantastic week at Bayside Cottage- the best holiday we have had for a few years. The standard of accommodation was outstanding and excellent value. I was anxious about how my ’urban’ offspring (particularly the teenager) would adapt to such a remote and unspoilt area, but they were totally charmed by the beauty of the sunsets, loved racing down the large dune at Sand Beach, kayaking and rock climbing with the Sea and Mountain Guides, eating delicious pizza in the Flower Tunnel Cafe, and watching the local raft race. On the dull days we took a trip from Plockton to see the seal colony and visited the Eilean Donan Castle. When it was really wet We made homemade bread, cosied up to watch TV and played board games. My daughter commented that it was easier to make new friends as there were so few children around everyone was really friendly. Would really love to come again.

Mrs Jean Gregory
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 27/08/2008
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

We had a fantastic week here, the lodge is surrounded by so much beautiful scenery and wildlife.It was such a tranquill place to unwind and relax.The lodge was very clean, with all the appliances you would use at home. The added bonus was we could take our dog. We had so much pleasure watching all the little birds, the mice and of course the star The Pine Martin. Hopefully we will all be going back next year.

Alex Baird
Reviewed Fuaran Cottage on 26/08/2008
And awarded it

Fuaran Cottage

Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 26/08/2008
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Lovely immaculate cottage and very comfortable. Mixed weather but thankfully no midges. Wish you had pointed out that the last part of the road is like a cart track and wish we had a 4x4! Had we known just how rough it was would have chosen a different cottage.
The steam train ride from Fort William to Mallaig was the highlight of our holiday. Stunning views and no driving that day just relaxed.
The owners of Fersit Log Cottage and Wilderness Cottages would like to say in response to this comment that the cottage has been booked by over 70 clients and this is the first time we have received any negative feedback regarding the road. The road is not tarmac, but if driven with care is suitable for cars, a 4x4 is not necessary.

Damon Mitchell
Reviewed Mealishal on 25/08/2008
And awarded it


Lena Mills
Reviewed Charleston on 25/08/2008
And awarded it


This is the best self catering cottage that we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The ever changing views from every window were breathtaking. The sheep and the cows in the fields next to the cottage, along with the occasional visit from the deer, wild Hares and birds were a welcome addition to the the views. We wanted a ’get away from it all’ experience and Charleston certainly gave us just that.
Charleston is a credit to its owners who have gone far beyond the needs of a holiday cottage. The beautifull fresh flowers in every room, the complimentary bottle of wine and the Scottish Shortbread biscuits. These along with all the other extras made this holiday extra special.
Any regrets ? yes, just one and that is that we couldn’t stay longer.

Caroline Joe James Rosie & Harry Klement
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 25/08/2008
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Wow!!! if you are looking for the wow factor then this Croft certainly has it. Fantastic ever changing views across the loch to greet you each day. Tranquility and peace. Great walks close to the croft and an exellent base for accessing other areas. Even our three teenagers said this was a brilliant place. The croft was VERY comfortable and spacious, very well equipped with cosy beds (thank you). Great local horse riding, friendly staff at the farm.
Our family is looking forward to a return visit.

Linda Doctor
Reviewed Don Cottage on 25/08/2008
And awarded it

Don Cottage

we spent a week in this cottage, and it felt like home from the moment we entered. A lovely clean modern cottage set in beautiful surroundings, every need catered for and more....
(even the dog didnt want to leave) .......looking forward to returning next year. Linda Doctor

Reviewed Lomond Castle on 18/08/2008
And awarded it

Lomond Castle

Jackie & Rob Sewell
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 17/08/2008
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Reviewed Lomond Castle on 17/08/2008
And awarded it

Lomond Castle

Allan McGee & Rosanne Deas & Tye The Dog.
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 17/08/2008
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Absolutely superb! Such a warm welcome awaited us on our arrival with chilled wine, fresh flowers and even biscuits for the dog. The cottage was truly charming with evey possible amenity provided - not a thing was missing. Immaculately clean and tidy with towels and linen included. For a small cottage it is deceptively spacious with plenty room to spread out. The cottage is positioned in the very heart of Applecross surrounded by breathtaking scenery and panoramic views which take in the Cuillin Mountains. The front porch and benches outside provide an ideal viewing point for observing the local wildlife and taking in the magnificent sunsets. The location of the cottage is excellent for those who enjoy walking, wildlife and outdoor activities; at the same time providing a peaceful break. Quiet but not too remote, the village has a local Inn which is always busy serving a top class menu. Very friendly neighbours and a warm welcome from all the locals. Without doubt, Bayside Cottage can be very highly recommended, and we will be sure to return.

Reviewed Wildwood on 17/08/2008
And awarded it


A very nice spot full of lovely walks. The cabin is very well equipped. I was very surprised to see three Pine Martins helping themselves to food that we had set out.