Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2181 to 2200 of 2523


Natalie
Reviewed Wildwood on 18/11/2008
And awarded it

Wildwood

Beautiful log cabin in a stunning location! The cabin is extremely well equipped with nothing forgotten - the views from the lounge area upstairs are stunning. It is extremely peaceful, but with Fort Augustus conveniently just down the road for essentials or to enjoy a meal out. There are so many places to visit that you?ll never get bored, but there are also plenty of great walks straight from the doorstep which my dog absolutely loved. If you fancy a bit of skiing, the Ben Nevis range is not far away. I would highly recommend this cabin to everyone - you won?t be disappointed.

S Gooding
Reviewed MacNeills Cottage. on 17/11/2008
And awarded it

MacNeills Cottage.

Laura Magowan
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 17/11/2008
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

We had a lovely relaxing break staying here. The cottage was excellent - very cosy and welcoming. The area is fantastic.....stunning walks and drives along the coast. We loved the food at the Applecross Inn and Kishorn seafood bar. We felt relaxed and refreshed after our few days away and hope to return in the near future.

Mrs Hawkshaw
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 10/11/2008
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

I just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay this
year in your gem of a cottage. I do envy you as it is so cosy. Thanks for
letting us stay.

Susan Marshall
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 09/11/2008
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

The house is very well equipped and is ideal for a cosy ’get away from everything’ break especially the wood-burning stove. Enclosed garden great for the dog and front and back porches served well on wet days with wet clothes and muddy paws.

Near enough to Fort Augustus for shops and restaraunts and also Inverness is just a half hour drive.

The Whitebridge hotel is only a ten minute drive, has a friendly ambience and is very dog friendly.

Diana Haining
Reviewed Giusaichean on 04/11/2008
And awarded it

Giusaichean

This cottage is fantastic - extremely comfortable and cosy yet spacious too. The library has a good selection of books catering for all tastes from James Joyce to J K Rowling and the kitchen has every gadget & mod-con a Foodie could possibly need.
We loved the tranquility, the fabulous walks right on our doorstep, the abundance of local wildlife & enjoying a log fire every evening.
Giusaichean is the ideal base for touring the Highlands & we were very sad to leave after our week. We will definitely be back!

Max { The Dog}
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 03/11/2008
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

wow! great cottage, log fire to lie in front of, large garden to run and play in, all fenced and secure, would have loved to play with all the deer that came every day. Lots of lovely walks, enjoyed the forest over the brige in the snow...great fun....visited fort augustus, Beauly, Inverness, Skye, Mallaig, Fort William, Oban and Kinloch Hourn..had a great walk here at ’end of the road’ saw lots of highland cattle and deer on this trip! cant wait to come back...loved it ’WOOF, WOOF’ Mum and Dad loved it to, im going to bring them back next year......

Sue Wilson Wendy & Stewart
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 02/11/2008
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

What a fantastic weeks holiday, cosy, remote and comfortable. Breathtaking scenery, great place for a base in Invergarry. Travelled to Mallaig, Isle of Sky, Fort William, Oban, Inverness, Loch Ness, Fort Augustus, got some brilliant chutneys and wine from Monniac Castle 10 miles west of Inverness. Lots of bird species and animal life even deer in the garden of the cottage every morning. Had a heavy snowfall in October it was great. Got the photos to look at in the winter months ahead. Can’t wait to go back, Thank you Wendy for inviting us to come with you on this trip it was fab.

Richard & Alison Bond McNally
Reviewed Callakille on 29/10/2008
And awarded it

Callakille

Firth Family
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 28/10/2008
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

The Highlands never fail to impress - excellent week in Fort Augustus and round about. Very lucky with weather - cottage was well equipt and lovely and warm to return to at the end of the day.

Only negative - twin room beds a bit lumpy.

The Wynne-McHardy Family
Reviewed Balmachree on 27/10/2008
And awarded it

Balmachree

We were delighted with the house which was very spacious, clean and warm. The situation is marvellous right by a river though fenced off and a lovely garden. We were able to visit Culloden, Glen Affric and see Stags grazing at the road side!
Thoroughly recommend staying there.

Natalie Huntley
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 27/10/2008
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Joan & Phil Watt
Reviewed Moat House 1 - Abbey on 27/10/2008
And awarded it

Moat House 1 - Abbey

We stayed four nights in this lovely apartment at the Abbey. The setting could not be more picturesque. There was plenty of space for ourselves and our granddaughter. We were very impressed with the standard of decor, the facilities and the spaciousness of the apartment. There were lovely touches, such as the bottle of wine, fresh flowers and shortbread waiting for us on our arrival. We had good weather and made trips to Inverness, Castle Urquhart and the Highland Wildlife Park at Kingussie. Fort Augustus was great, too. There always seemed to be something happening at the locks on the canal and there were good places to eat in the village.
Definitely worth a return visit.

Kenny Darroch
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 26/10/2008
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

My wife Val, our border collie Ted and I have just returned from a terrific week’s break at The Old Smiddy. The weather was varied but we managed to time it just right to avoid the rain when we were out and about - returning to the cosy cottage and spending peaceful nights with the log burner crackling in the background. The cottage is a great base to visit the many sights and attractions in the highlands and we spent our week being lazy in and around the cottage, reading, listening to music and walking with Ted. I can recommend The Old Smiddy to young and old as can be seen by the varied positive comments in the visitors book. We will return to The Old Smiddy and will remember with fondness our well earned break there.

Kevin & Maria
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 26/10/2008
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Irene Brown
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 26/10/2008
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We stayed here with 4 friends to do the Loch Ness run. The croft was absolutely gorgeous and the views were fantastic. The cleanliness was second to none and this was a true bonus and quite rare. Every thing was as described in the brochure also a rarety. We all felt quite priviledged to be allowed to stay there as if this were my house i would not be renting it out.
Hopeful to return in 2009 to do the run again and to stay in this wonderful croft.

Terry, Ingrid & Dogs!
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 26/10/2008
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

We recently returned from our second stay at Rowan Ridge (this one being our Honeymoon!) and again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The cottage is correctly rated at 4 stars. It really is a home from home with all the amenities you need and expect. It is very clean, warm, cosy and comfortable.
It is in a wonderful location, set on a farm with coloured walks that cater for all ages and abilities.
It is also the perfect base for those wanting to explore the area, being close to Loch Ness, Inverness, Findhorn etc. (Would recommend a trip to Foyers Falls & Findhorn Bay).
All in all we had a great time and for early October, the weather was kind to us too.
We have already recommended this location to friends so would have no hesitation in recommending to visitors to the Wilderness Cottages website.

Lisa & Steve
Reviewed Curlew Croft on 26/10/2008
And awarded it

Curlew Croft

Hilary & Barry
Reviewed The Granary on 20/10/2008
And awarded it

The Granary

This place does not disappoint. The quality and attention to detail is a credit to the owners. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back.

Carol Metcalfe
Reviewed Raven Wing 11 - The Kintail Apartment on 13/10/2008
And awarded it

Raven Wing 11 - The Kintail Apartment