Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2201 to 2220 of 2523


Joan & Phil Watt
Reviewed Moat House 1 - Abbey on 27/10/2008
And awarded it

Moat House 1 - Abbey

We stayed four nights in this lovely apartment at the Abbey. The setting could not be more picturesque. There was plenty of space for ourselves and our granddaughter. We were very impressed with the standard of decor, the facilities and the spaciousness of the apartment. There were lovely touches, such as the bottle of wine, fresh flowers and shortbread waiting for us on our arrival. We had good weather and made trips to Inverness, Castle Urquhart and the Highland Wildlife Park at Kingussie. Fort Augustus was great, too. There always seemed to be something happening at the locks on the canal and there were good places to eat in the village.
Definitely worth a return visit.

Kenny Darroch
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 26/10/2008
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

My wife Val, our border collie Ted and I have just returned from a terrific week’s break at The Old Smiddy. The weather was varied but we managed to time it just right to avoid the rain when we were out and about - returning to the cosy cottage and spending peaceful nights with the log burner crackling in the background. The cottage is a great base to visit the many sights and attractions in the highlands and we spent our week being lazy in and around the cottage, reading, listening to music and walking with Ted. I can recommend The Old Smiddy to young and old as can be seen by the varied positive comments in the visitors book. We will return to The Old Smiddy and will remember with fondness our well earned break there.

Kevin & Maria
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 26/10/2008
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Irene Brown
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 26/10/2008
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We stayed here with 4 friends to do the Loch Ness run. The croft was absolutely gorgeous and the views were fantastic. The cleanliness was second to none and this was a true bonus and quite rare. Every thing was as described in the brochure also a rarety. We all felt quite priviledged to be allowed to stay there as if this were my house i would not be renting it out.
Hopeful to return in 2009 to do the run again and to stay in this wonderful croft.

Terry, Ingrid & Dogs!
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 26/10/2008
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

We recently returned from our second stay at Rowan Ridge (this one being our Honeymoon!) and again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The cottage is correctly rated at 4 stars. It really is a home from home with all the amenities you need and expect. It is very clean, warm, cosy and comfortable.
It is in a wonderful location, set on a farm with coloured walks that cater for all ages and abilities.
It is also the perfect base for those wanting to explore the area, being close to Loch Ness, Inverness, Findhorn etc. (Would recommend a trip to Foyers Falls & Findhorn Bay).
All in all we had a great time and for early October, the weather was kind to us too.
We have already recommended this location to friends so would have no hesitation in recommending to visitors to the Wilderness Cottages website.

Lisa & Steve
Reviewed Curlew Croft on 26/10/2008
And awarded it

Curlew Croft

Hilary & Barry
Reviewed The Granary on 20/10/2008
And awarded it

The Granary

This place does not disappoint. The quality and attention to detail is a credit to the owners. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back.

Carol Metcalfe
Reviewed Raven Wing 11 - The Kintail Apartment on 13/10/2008
And awarded it

Raven Wing 11 - The Kintail Apartment

The Lockwoods
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 12/10/2008
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Got back yesterday from a brilliant week in Owl Cottage. Ideally situated, spotlessly clean and well equipped, it felt more like a home than a holiday cottage. Beautiful scenery in all directions from fort Augustus and even though the weather was a bit Scottish, the scenery still managed to look impressive. Our little dog was doing impressions of Nessie by swimming in the loch every morning.
Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this cottage.

Lara Tagg
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 09/10/2008
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Lorna
Reviewed Giusaichean on 08/10/2008
And awarded it

Giusaichean

We stayed at Giusaichean in February/March 2007 and felt we would love to go back again. Due a a family wedding we had to go later in September than previous years, but were certainly not disappointed as we had lovely weather, saw loads of red squirrels and enjoyed pure peace and relaxation. This cottage is very homely and comfortable, and you feel at home as soon as you step inside. Our dogs thought they were in paradise with the large garden to explore and cosy evenings by the log fire, although we didn’t really need to light it much.
The only problem now is which cottage to choose for next year, as we have also stayed at Marnie’s Croft, very different but equally good.
Booking a holiday with Wilderness is like contacting old friends, always helpful and efficient.

Valerie
Reviewed Wildwood on 08/10/2008
And awarded it

Wildwood

Beautiful log house in the most idyllic setting. Upon my arrival I could not help but notice how clean and well equipped the house was. It caters for everything and everyone. Enjoyed fantastic walks with our dog and saw some spectacular scenery, especially on the south side of Loch Ness. Scotland is a beautiful place but staying in Wildwood made it truely special!

Eileen & Keith Willis
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 07/10/2008
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

We’ve just returned home after a lovey week at Littlepark cottage. The cottage is lovely, a real home from home, although our arrival was marred by the fact no one was expecting us and the cottage had no electricity on, no heating or water. The caretaker Sue and her hubby were brilliant! and came to our rescue within 5 mins of ringing them and we soon had the fire going and the place cosy.
Loads of peace and quiet, no phone signal! hooray.
The dogs loved curling up in front of the fire and we loved watching the birds on the bird table. The highlight of the week was seeing a pinemarten visit the garden and enjoying the jam sandwiches that we left on the bird table.
The other highlight was the 8.30 sleeper train ’tooting’ every night as he passed (the line is adjacent to the cottage, but the trains are very few and far between).
The road down to the cottage is steep, but posed no problems.
We would definately go back to Littlepark and would recommend it to anyone. The owner rang us mid week to make sure we were ok and it was with heavy hearts we left on Saturday and look forward to going back.

David Robbie
Reviewed Raven Wing 11 - The Kintail Apartment on 06/10/2008
And awarded it

Raven Wing 11 - The Kintail Apartment

Caroline Barnes
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 06/10/2008
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Marnies croft is simply idyllic. The setting high above Urquhart Castle looking down Loch Ness is breath-taking, even though the first drive to the house was a touch scary!! This was our first stay on this side of the loch as we wanted to explore Glen Affric, and it proved an ideal base.
The house itself is very comfortable with a beautiful kitchen,and lovely views from every window.
Our dog loved the garden and early morning walks from the front door up the hill.
We had a wonderful week and can’t wait to return.

Brian Ewart
Reviewed Fairhaven on 04/10/2008
And awarded it

Fairhaven

Lisa & Ruairidh Anderson
Reviewed Foyers Lodge on 01/10/2008
And awarded it

Foyers Lodge

Ray
Reviewed Wildwood on 30/09/2008
And awarded it

Wildwood

Brilliant log house in super surroundings making a truly excellent holiday. Now has blackout curtains in main bedroom.
Very well equipped, we didn’t want for anything. Make sure you feed Marty the pine martin - he loves sweet food like bread and jam / honey. Climbed Ben Nevis, travelled the steam train to Mallaig and done plenty of walking through the surrounding forest and by the canal. Absolutely brilliant whitewater kayaking - the best in this country. Will definitely be coming again! Ray from Sussex 6th-13th September 08

PIERRE DU TOIT & FAMILY
Reviewed Moat House 5 - Abbey on 30/09/2008
And awarded it

Moat House 5 - Abbey

Adrian & Brenda Depear
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 29/09/2008
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

we have only returned a few days past, and already missing Achintraid, the views are spectacular, walks fantastic, and people wonderful, accommodation very comfortable providing all amenities needed for a relaxing stress free holiday.
Hosts John and Sally meet and greet you with a smile always stop and chat, and make you feel so welcome.
we will be returning next year 09 for the third year running.