Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2301 to 2320 of 2523


Graham & Rosie Clarke
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 04/05/2008
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We had a fantastic honeymoon at The Old Smiddy and we would highly recommend it for a romantic getaway for two. We loved nothing better than coming back after a long days sight-seeing, lighting the log-burner and settling down with a nice glass of wine. The quality of the accommodation is really great (possibly the comfiest bed in the world?) and if you’re looking for something just that little bit more special, this is the place for you. It’s fantastically situated for just about anything you’d want to do in the area. Whilst there, we visited Inverness, Glen Affric, took a Loch Ness cruise to Castle Urquart, had a brilliant scenic train journey to Plockton (and back) and drove through lovely scenery to Ullapool, which was one of the highlights of the trip. We really can’t recommend it enough.

Joh & Susan Laing
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 01/05/2008
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We had a magic time in the cottage. Lovely walks and scenery right on the doorstep. Ideal base for Isle of Skye, Inverness and a few of the whisky distilleries.
We awakened to quite a heavy snow fall on our first morning which set the scene for a fantastic week.
A bottle of wine and tea/coffee and shortie welcomed us to the cottage; nice touch.
Highly recommended.

Jonathan Cleaver
Reviewed Kilmartin Estate Cottage on 22/04/2008
And awarded it

Kilmartin Estate Cottage

Total isolation! Just what was needed. Quiet, peaceful, relaxing and as the website suggests very much in the wilderness. The deer at dusk were mesmerising - absolutely beautiful. Buzzards sat on the wall outside the window, owls hooted in the trees, birds I’ve never seen before flew past - the wildlife was fantastic. The cottage was very comfortable and suitably modern. Glen Affric, about 10 miles away, is probably the most wonderful place I’ve ever visited - the walk around the lochs among the caledonian pines at the foot of the mountains is sensational. The memorial cairn at Corrimony is likewise a very atmospheric place. Even Drumnadrochit, more on the tourist trail, is a lovely, quiet and unspoilt villlage. I’d recommend the area to anyone who wants to get away from it all for a while and yet still be able to visit educational (Culloden) and scenic places world-renowned.

Julie Jupe
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 22/04/2008
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

The cottage is just perfect. It is full of those useful things you have at home - such as hot water bottles, thermos flasks and a breadmaker. It has stunning views, and at night if you leave your window open you can hear the sea gently lapping against the shore. Our children loved it, and felt at home very quickly.

The Gordon Family
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 21/04/2008
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

This is the most wonderful immaculate cottage, set right by the Caledonian Canal it is so perfectly peaceful and relaxing. We had to best week here and the surrounding area has many great place to visit.

Mrs Margaret Gibb
Reviewed Gate House on 18/04/2008
And awarded it

Gate House

stayed at this lovely house in April 2008 although it snowed for most of the week it was very warm and very comfortable,we really relaxed with my son and duaghter -in-law and all our grandchildren,the house is very spacious and has loads of room for everyone,we will definitely be back.

Paul Daivs
Reviewed Log House on 12/04/2008
And awarded it

Log House

Excellent Location Very peaceful. The log House was very well Equipt .We had the most Restful holiday we can remenber. We will cetainly stay here again next time we visit Scotland.

The Macleans
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 08/04/2008
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Had a brilliant week in Owl Cottage. The log fire was great, the kids made toast over it! The weather was kind to us, the snow on the mountain tops was fantastic. Ideal location, within easy walking distance of Fort Augustus.
The cottage was lovely and very well equipped with lots of DVDs, books etc.

Andrew & Leesa Brickell
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 08/04/2008
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

We stayed in this fanastic and remote croft from the 29th March to the 5th April. It’s thoroughly recommended with great beaches, walking, bars and seafood nearby. At the end of a week, you’ll wish you’d booked it for longer.

Pauline Maguire
Reviewed Log House on 06/04/2008
And awarded it

Log House

We have just had the most fantastic stay at the loghouse for easter break, what can i say, what a fantastic place in the most beautiful setting, set in the forest just outside fort augustus this cabin has everything, stunning scenery, warmth, character and colourful wildlife, if you didn’t wake up every morning to different little birds peeping in the windows, id be very surprised. With so many activities on the door step we will certainly be returning, it captured all our hearts...thank you scotland...

Jean Walker
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 05/04/2008
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

The Walkers & The Bairstows had a fantastic time at this warm, cosy cottage. Well done to the owners who seem to have thought of just about everything to make families feel welcome. Also many thanks to Wilderness Cottages for providing a very friendly & professional service. This fantastic cottage is in a brilliant location for accessing some of the best Scotland has to offer, the kids loved feeding the many hungry birds every morning. Fantastic weather, lots of sunshine and snow! Would recommend this cottage to anyone.

Jackie & Colin Ward
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 02/04/2008
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Isolde Doig
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 02/04/2008
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Just returned from a week in Applecross at the charming Bayside cottage. This is the most well equipped cottage that we have ever stayed at. The owners really go out of their way to make sure you have everything that you would ever need, and their small touches are really lovely (a fire made in the grate, waiting for you to light it when you arrive, tea/coffee + biscuits left out for you, fresh flowers etc). Applecross is a wonderful place to spend a week - the Inn is fantastic. Really great food at very good prices, and the Potting Shed is another lovely restaurant with great food. Highly recommended!

Shaun & Jenny Johnson & Bomber
Reviewed Giusaichean on 23/03/2008
And awarded it

Giusaichean

We had the most amazing week while staying in this beautiful cottage. the facilities were very good and the scenary was second to none. the enclosed garden meant it was safe for our dog to roam free without fear of danger. The wildlife that called daily is a must for all animal lovers. During our stay we had a woodpecker which visited daily. One word of advice though make sure that you have enough food for the birds. There is some lovely places to visit in the surronding area far to much to fit into one week. We hope to come again next year and would strongly recommend others to visit aswell.

Jenny & Jimmy
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 23/03/2008
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Chris & Sara Duckett
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 20/03/2008
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

This is a lovely, cosy hideaway. It’s rustic on the outside but modern and comfortable on the inside. Chris enjoyed the mountains on the doorstep and I enjoyed the woodburner and UKTV Gold.

The Waltons, The Haugheys, & Josh The Dog
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 17/03/2008
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

We returned on Saturday after a week at Marnie’s Croft. I can honestly say it’s the most beautiful and comfortable cottage I’ve ever stayed in, and I’m sure that pretty much sums it up for the rest of the party too. We came as a family with the age range from 3 to 63, and a great time was had by all. Breathtaking views, definately worth getting up early for! Fantastic walks on the doorstep, as well as those a short drive away. Visit the waterfall and enjoy the woodland walks at Foyers. Book in at The Clansman Hotel for dinner it’s really good! There’s loads to do and a week just didn’t seem long enough. The views seemed different every day.

Many thanks to the owners for their welcome and helpful tour of the cottage, heating system etc!

I could go on and on about this place; I’m not one for visiting the same place again but I will be back to visit Marnie’s Croft, I imagine Spring would be even more beautiful here.

Thanks again for a wonderful week.

Paul & Pauline
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 02/03/2008
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Julie & Hayley
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 24/02/2008
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Dave & Tracey Farrow
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 24/02/2008
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

we stayed in the cottage from 9th february, half term week cold but we had some sunny days, the cottage was all you could ask for, a beautiful view of the Loch, from the living room and dining area,Urquhart Castle was beautiful when lit up on the night time, the peace was wonderful and we enjoyed some walks above and behind the cottage with our dog, we hope to visit again in the summer if we can get booked.

The owners showed us how to look after the cottage and how to get the log fire going which i thought was very good, i couldnt have asked for better customer service.

all in all the best cottage holiday we’ve had, visit the Isle Of skye, if you get the chance what a wonderful place and the drive was fantastic. Inverness is good and not too far.