Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2341 to 2360 of 2459


Sean Gosling
Reviewed Log House on 12/06/2006
And awarded it

Log House

The log house is set in fantastic quiet relaxing suroundings with brilliant veiws and wonderful wildlife.
The log house its self is a lovely spacious well equiped place that is kept to a high standard which we will visit again in the future.

Colin Armstrong
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 11/06/2006
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

We have just returned from a week at Creag Iolaire cottage and I will say that this is a special, very special place.
When we walked into the main room after a 6 hr drive, it totally took our breath away and we felt as fresh as daisys again. Our children loved it and we all had one of, if not the best holidays that we’ve ever had.
Who needs to go abroad when you have scenery and landscapes like this.
Thank you for an excellent holiday and we will be trying to return next year.

Kathleen Wells
Reviewed Fairhaven on 06/06/2006
And awarded it

Fairhaven

Phil Callan
Reviewed Barn Cottage on 30/05/2006
And awarded it

Barn Cottage

John & Vanessa Broughton
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 30/05/2006
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Roger & Jan From The Forest Of Dean
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 14/05/2006
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Graham, Elaine & Children
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 25/04/2006
And awarded it

Half-seventeen

Clare & Gavin Rees
Reviewed Coach House on 19/04/2006
And awarded it

Coach House

The Yates Family
Reviewed Giusaichean on 18/04/2006
And awarded it

Giusaichean

We have just returned from this wonderful cottage. The photos on the website do not do it justice! Very warm, well equipped and extremely comfortable. Our two dogs absolutely loved the garden and the wildlife. We would love to return again soon.

Sarah & Robert
Reviewed Woodend Cottage on 11/04/2006
And awarded it

Woodend Cottage

Peter & Liz Redpath
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 11/04/2006
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

We had a wonderful week staying in Hill Cottage despite a week full of weather of every description - sun, snow, hail, sleat, rain and very strong winds! The cottage was warm, cosy and very well equipped, providing us with a lovely refuge when we returned wet and wind-swept from walking in the spectacular countryside.

The view from the cottage is absolutely awe-inspirig - over the week we were there, we watched the snowline descend on Foinaven, across Loch Laxford, and the waves crash against the rocks.

We would really recommend: Sandwood Bay; the walk along the north bank of the River Laxford from Laxford Bridge; the Bone Caves at Inchnadamph; and exploring the area around the cottage and Tarbet. We found that the drive to Durness was more impressive than Durness itself but, to be fair, it was dreadful weather when we got there and nowhere was open!

For anyone with even a passing interest, the geology of the area is fantastic. As geology graduates ourselves (many years ago now!), we were really excited to dredge up those old familiar terms of Lewisian Gneiss, Laxfordian Schist, the Moine Thrust Zone and Scourie Dykes! We finally understood what they had been talking about at university and embarrassed the children with our enthusiasm!

We would like to return at some point, but would choose to visit a little later in the season when the weather is likely to be less wild, and places have opened, i.e. Handa Island and the various restaurants.

Mike Fraser/ Margaret Anderson
Reviewed Sheaig Croft on 09/04/2006
And awarded it

Sheaig Croft

Marie & Stephen Smith
Reviewed Giusaichean on 02/04/2006
And awarded it

Giusaichean

24th March - 1st April 2006
We have just returned from a lovely week in Giusaichean, a true home from home in a beautiful part of Scotland. The cottage is well equipped, warm and welcoming - and more than adequately dog proofed for our 3 labs. The views are just stunning, the wildlife abundent and the location so peaceful. Never before have we left a holiday feeling as if we are leaving home - but this time we have left our hearts in Glen Mor and cannot wait to return. We would also like to say how it is a pleasure to stay in a cottage where the owners care enough about the environment to encourage recycling, use of environmentally friendly products and continued feeding of the garden birds. Thank you and hope to return very soon

Shan Maclennan
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 19/03/2006
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We first stayed at Bayside Cottage in late May. It was an idyllic refuge from our frantic city life in central London. Our children spent happy hours playing with an otter on the stony beach just outside the cottage front door, watching seals sunbathing a mile down the coast, playing in the soft sand and glittering rock pools of another beach a mile or two in the other direction and waiting for the dormant volcano completely recognisable on the syline of Rassay, opposite, to erupt. My son wants to ’look for more seals’, when we return this year, and he ’wants to look for sharks through the window of the tiny bedroom’ which he and his sister take turns to sleep in.

When we weren’t enjoying our childrens’ simple pleasure in this breathtaking and completely unspoiled natural landscape, we were all happy together in the renowned Applecross Inn, eating giant prawns and fantastic chips, or in the very pleasant cafe at Applecross House.

We also went on a very happy day trip to Plockton.

I cannot wait to get back to Bayside Cottage - which is so comfortable and a real home from home - to enjoy its peace and tranquillity, and to marvel at its fabulous surroundings. If we did not live so very far away we would visit much more regularly than the annual trip we have promised ourselves.

Mr & Mrs. Farrington
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 28/02/2006
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

Just come back from a week in the cottage. Cannot fault the fantastic views of Loch Ness but you need a four wheel drive to get up the track before you reach it! Cottage is lovely but the heating is questionable especially when you have no logs as promised for the woodburner on your first night! Dogs loved the wondeful enclosed garden and the nearby walks. The closest pub/restaurant was actually about a mile and a half away, not exactly a short walk as stated on the website!

Margery & Norman Watson
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 28/02/2006
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

The cleanest and best equiped cottage we have stayed in and we have been in a few. Excellent for the dogs with well marked walks in easy reach. Central for most places in that area, ideal for birdwatchers.
Will definately be going back.

Steve Roberts
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 18/02/2006
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

I have to say I’m biased, as this is a part of the the UK that I’m totally overwhelmed by. I have cycled most of Scotland and the Islands and have found this spot to be a perfect location to stop, relax and to recharge batteries. The locals are friendly and the Pub/Hotel is just along the road, so no need to cook (Tip - The Applecross Hotel bar can be very busy at weekends & in the summer. The entire menu is available as acarryout). If you are lucky, Otters, Whales & Dolphins can be seen, all from the lounge, as the sea laps feet from the front door. It’s easy with the views/ surroundings to forget the accomadation. The cottage is fitted out to a high level & I can’t wait to get back there.

Rob & Jacqueline
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 12/02/2006
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

This cottage turned out to be exactly what we were looking for, a fantastic retreat. This part of Scotland in early february, was superb. If it’s peace and quiet, stunning scenery and wildlife you’re after, you can hardly go wrong by choosing Hill Cottage.

Shakera Jinnah
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 10/01/2006
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

This was an absolutely exquisite holiday! The cottage is much lovelier than it looks on the site, the views are spectacular and the surrounding areas are beautiful. There is nothing more the owners could have equipped the cottage with - they have really thought of everything. Definitely worth visiting again, in summer, although it made a lovely Christmas break too!

Andrea Newham
Reviewed Coach House on 07/01/2006
And awarded it

Coach House