Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 241 to 260 of 2523


Mrs Donaldson
Reviewed Log House on 29/06/2016
And awarded it

Log House

This was my families third time to this amazing log cabin. It's set in a fantastic location in the woods with some beautiful walks with amazing views of the River Oich right outside your door. The Cabin has everything you need & is a lovely short walk into Fort Augustus itself. Cannot say how much we love this place & can guarantee we will be back a fourth time.

Jeff MacGregor
Reviewed Eilean Mor on 28/06/2016
And awarded it

Eilean Mor

Martin Wilson
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 25/06/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

This cosy cottage has all you need, some ceilings are a little low upstairs but you soon learn to duck. Well equipped, great position, lovely deck to enjoy morning coffee and Gin & Tonic at sunset (which is really quite late in the summer).

Chris
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 25/06/2016
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

Wonderful cottage in a lovely setting. Wouldn't hesitate to book again if heading back to the vicinity.

Paul Broadbent
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 24/06/2016
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

As usual everything was just right even the weather. This is our 5th visit and we are never disappointed. Just one small point. As we are an all male group it would be preferable to have another twin bedded room.

Susan McCrum
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 23/06/2016
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

We spent the most relaxing week in Leachachan Barn. When you open the shutters and look out at the view, it is magnificent! The barn comes fully equipped for every thing you would need. Our dog just loved it, spacious and secure garden for him to play in. We will definitely come back again. We saw the most amazing colours of skies at night from blue, red and orange. Great seeing Eilean Donan Castle from the barn. A little gripe we had was the TV was upstairs and we are both football fans, the Euro 2016 was on and it meant we both had to go upstairs to watch it. We would have liked a TV downstairs but apart from that would definitely recommend it.

Mr Paul Deans
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 23/06/2016
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

Lovely property which more than matched the online description and documentation provided by wilderness cottages. It a great location for visiting the Highlands of Scotland. We will definitely be returning to Burnside Cottage.

Nicky & Jon
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

This cottage is lovely simply one of the best we have stayed in, very well equipped with everything you need. The fridge and freezer is big enough for you weekly shopping, which you will need due to the distance of the shops, but it's not a problem. This is because the views and surrounding certainly make up for it. We saw on two occassions three red deers in the garden, regular visit from a woodpecker and loads of birds. We also saw golden eagles. We did go out a few days and went walking, in the amazing surroundings. We will be back next year but for 2 weeks next time. Thank you so much for a brilliant holiday.

M O'Connor
Reviewed The Orchids on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

The Orchids

We had an amazing time staying at the Orchids. It is a very very comfortable and well furnished house with lots of facilities for a wonderful self catering holiday. The kitchen is very well equipped for people who like cooking and there is local shell fish from Carbost and meat from Orbost farm , not to mention great bread from the Skye Bakery in Portree. The local shop in Dunvegan was great too. The views from the house are exceptional , perfect for photography, with seals and lots of birdlife, we loved the sheep too. The Loch was very busy with some very large yachts and ships appearing , including the 3rd largest yacht in the world, the EOS, and a ship called the Serenissima, which apparently does cruises around Scotland. The local area is stunning as is the rest of Skye, This was our first visit and we will be back and would happily stay in the Orchids again, assuming its not sold and still available to rent !!! Our only small issue was the lack of anything other than a small dustpan to sweep up from a large dining and kitchen area.

Vicky, Lucy & Ali
Reviewed Sixgeary on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

Sixgeary

We stayed at Sixgeary in Skye. A wonderful property with spectacular views. It was spotlessy clean and on arrival we were welcomed with a bottle of wine, fresh eggs and biscuits. We met the people who look after the property (Richard & Fiona) and they were very welcoming and informative. This property is quite remote but thats why we chose it. We absolutely loved it, thanks !

David Hebson
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

Views to die for . Owners could not do enough for us. Greeted with home made scones , only negative was having to leave. Would highly recommend to all family andfriends

Alexandra Hay
Reviewed Holly Cottage on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

Holly Cottage

What an amazing stay at holly cottage! We would highly recommend a stay here! Ideally located for Inverness and all surrounding areas!

A.Smith
Reviewed Tigh na H-Eilde on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

Tigh na H-Eilde

Lovely out of the way place ....good accommodation and the deer coming up and feeding the pine marten in the evening was a bonus ....pity the sun did not shine much but that did not stop us getting out and about.....

Kate B
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

What can I say - except WOW! The house is stunning, the location is stunning. Watching seals from the house is amazing. Probably the best place I have ever stayed - so we will be back!

Pauline Drew
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

Shellach Cottage

The cottage was lovely and had everything needed for a very comfortable stay. The only negative comments I have are regarding the garden. It is not secure and straight onto a very busy road due to being on the North 500 run circuit. It meant walking the dogs around with their leads on. Also there was a stream running through the back which took up a lot of the garden and I could not use the washing line as it was up a steep bank. Apart from that it was a wonderful location.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mrs Drew, Thank you for your feedback and review. Just to confirm Shellach Cottage is located on Church Street in Lochcarron, a quiet road which leads eventually to a dead end at Ardaneaskan. The North Coast 500 route does pass through Lochcarron, however this road is not part of the route.
Ucilla Wilson
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 21/06/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

This is a remarkable log cabin both for location and for the cabin its self. The location is just above the town of Fort Augustus and is literally a 7 min walk into town (I timed it). The cabin is set within the 6 acre grounds of Thistle Dhu Bed & Breakfast which means the owners are at hand should you require anything but at the same time isolated from them. The cabin is fully equipped with every conceivable gadget you would require. The bedrooms are a very good size as are the ensuites. Large kitchen and an extremely cosy living room with log burner which heats the place in minutes and additional electric heaters should they be required. There is a selection of books, games and dvds and a 37" TV with freeview. For guests arriving there are tea bags, coffee, sugar, milk, wine and biscuits. Outside there is a good grass area and stream for dogs and children to play but do remember your midge repellent and some tick repellent for your dogs. Fort Augustus is a lovely town with some very good restuarants, pubs and gift shops and there is a well stocked provision store located at the garage. Cruises on Loch Ness can be booked from the departure point in the centre of the town and there is beautiful scenery close to hand. Our highlight was visiting the Isle of Skye, calling in at Eileen Donan castle on route. It takes approx 1.15min to reach the Skye bridge but do leave time to visit the castle, its beautiful ! Managed to visit half the island's beauty spots, therefore will need to return to see the rest and guess where we will stay ! A big thank you to Gordon, who is a lovely person, and I can assure you we will meet again !

Achim Hoelscher
Reviewed Aros Beag on 20/06/2016
And awarded it

Aros Beag

The house was perfect for us and all was in a very good condition. Many thanks for the warm welcome. We will come back.

Vicky Honour
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 20/06/2016
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

Our family of 5 had a fantastic time at Port Elgol cottage, the views are stunning and spent the evenings barbequing and watching the sunset over the Cuillin Ridge. The weather was perfect all the week we were there and the Isle of Skye was so picturesque we took loads of photos. The cottage had everything you could possibly need, the decor and comfy beds made us feel right at home and we so sad to leave. Will definitely be staying there again!!

Anne & Neil
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 19/06/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

If you like home comforts, peace and quiet, good views and considerate owners this is the cottage for you. We had a really lovely week here enjoying almost deserted coastal walks, bird watching and visiting beautiful gardens. It was good to know the owners were close by in case of any emergency because there is no wifi or mobile reception but we appreciated the silence and read more books. We finished the rhubarb and ginger jam. It was delicious.

Kate Howell
Reviewed Rhundunan on 19/06/2016
And awarded it

Rhundunan

Wonderful stay, great value for money and we had a lovely time. The house is very well equipped with a full kitchen, and has stunning views. Added bonus of The Three Chimneys restaurant being at the bottom of the driveway. Would definitely recommend staying here.