Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2421 to 2440 of 2523


Richey & Joyce
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 26/06/2006
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Wonderful stay in a wonderful property.
Many many thanks to Mr & Mrs Gardiner for allowing us to book and stay.
Beautiful place with everything you need. The wood finish is fantastic in the ’Smid’, and all the facilities (kitchen, shower rooms) were more than first class.
Lots to do and see around Inverness and Beauly, and the tasting session at the Winery was fine too.
How depressing it was for us to leave.

Thanks again to Mr & Mrs Gardiner, Corinne, and all the wondeful people of Inverness and Beauly.


Richey & Joyce.

Peter & Sandy Palmer/Justie
Reviewed Charleston on 25/06/2006
And awarded it

Charleston

Excellent clean and spacious accommodation, views fantastic,
owners very friendly and helpful. Good mix of walks available from the property.and the local Loch Mhor very handy for swimming.

The Flakes
Reviewed Coach House on 25/06/2006
And awarded it

Coach House

Bob, Joyce & Becca Ray
Reviewed Cnoc Eoghainn on 21/06/2006
And awarded it

Cnoc Eoghainn

Gudrun, Axel, Sebastian & J?rgen From Germany
Reviewed Sheaig Croft on 14/06/2006
And awarded it

Sheaig Croft

Emma Lea
Reviewed Charleston on 13/06/2006
And awarded it

Charleston

Fantastic cottage in a stunning location - the view from the lounge and conservatory was spectacular. The cottage was furnished to a very high standard and was extremely comfortable. Lovely and peaceful with no close neighbours! Would definitely visit again.

Andrew Gilks
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 12/06/2006
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

Excellent booking arrangements led to our best ever self-catering holiday. The cottage was well equipped and its location was perfect for us as keen dog-owning walkers.

Sean Gosling
Reviewed Log House on 12/06/2006
And awarded it

Log House

The log house is set in fantastic quiet relaxing suroundings with brilliant veiws and wonderful wildlife.
The log house its self is a lovely spacious well equiped place that is kept to a high standard which we will visit again in the future.

Colin Armstrong
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 11/06/2006
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

We have just returned from a week at Creag Iolaire cottage and I will say that this is a special, very special place.
When we walked into the main room after a 6 hr drive, it totally took our breath away and we felt as fresh as daisys again. Our children loved it and we all had one of, if not the best holidays that we’ve ever had.
Who needs to go abroad when you have scenery and landscapes like this.
Thank you for an excellent holiday and we will be trying to return next year.

Kathleen Wells
Reviewed Fairhaven on 06/06/2006
And awarded it

Fairhaven

Phil Callan
Reviewed Barn Cottage on 30/05/2006
And awarded it

Barn Cottage

John & Vanessa Broughton
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 30/05/2006
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Roger & Jan From The Forest Of Dean
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 14/05/2006
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Graham, Elaine & Children
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 25/04/2006
And awarded it

Half-seventeen

Clare & Gavin Rees
Reviewed Coach House on 19/04/2006
And awarded it

Coach House

The Yates Family
Reviewed Giusaichean on 18/04/2006
And awarded it

Giusaichean

We have just returned from this wonderful cottage. The photos on the website do not do it justice! Very warm, well equipped and extremely comfortable. Our two dogs absolutely loved the garden and the wildlife. We would love to return again soon.

Sarah & Robert
Reviewed Woodend Cottage on 11/04/2006
And awarded it

Woodend Cottage

Peter & Liz Redpath
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 11/04/2006
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

We had a wonderful week staying in Hill Cottage despite a week full of weather of every description - sun, snow, hail, sleat, rain and very strong winds! The cottage was warm, cosy and very well equipped, providing us with a lovely refuge when we returned wet and wind-swept from walking in the spectacular countryside.

The view from the cottage is absolutely awe-inspirig - over the week we were there, we watched the snowline descend on Foinaven, across Loch Laxford, and the waves crash against the rocks.

We would really recommend: Sandwood Bay; the walk along the north bank of the River Laxford from Laxford Bridge; the Bone Caves at Inchnadamph; and exploring the area around the cottage and Tarbet. We found that the drive to Durness was more impressive than Durness itself but, to be fair, it was dreadful weather when we got there and nowhere was open!

For anyone with even a passing interest, the geology of the area is fantastic. As geology graduates ourselves (many years ago now!), we were really excited to dredge up those old familiar terms of Lewisian Gneiss, Laxfordian Schist, the Moine Thrust Zone and Scourie Dykes! We finally understood what they had been talking about at university and embarrassed the children with our enthusiasm!

We would like to return at some point, but would choose to visit a little later in the season when the weather is likely to be less wild, and places have opened, i.e. Handa Island and the various restaurants.

Mike Fraser/ Margaret Anderson
Reviewed Sheaig Croft on 09/04/2006
And awarded it

Sheaig Croft

Marie & Stephen Smith
Reviewed Giusaichean on 02/04/2006
And awarded it

Giusaichean

24th March - 1st April 2006
We have just returned from a lovely week in Giusaichean, a true home from home in a beautiful part of Scotland. The cottage is well equipped, warm and welcoming - and more than adequately dog proofed for our 3 labs. The views are just stunning, the wildlife abundent and the location so peaceful. Never before have we left a holiday feeling as if we are leaving home - but this time we have left our hearts in Glen Mor and cannot wait to return. We would also like to say how it is a pleasure to stay in a cottage where the owners care enough about the environment to encourage recycling, use of environmentally friendly products and continued feeding of the garden birds. Thank you and hope to return very soon