Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 261 to 280 of 2523

Rebecca F
Reviewed Sixgeary on 04/05/2016
And awarded it


We very much enjoyed our stay at Sixgeary. We chose Skye for our honeymoon, as we wanted to visit somewhere relaxing and far away from our usual busy lives. Our stay at Sixgeary helped achieve this, due to its location looking out over Loch Snizort. The views across the water towards the Trotterrnish peninsula and the Outer Hebrides are amazing, and the loudest noise is the wind and the sound of the nearby grazing sheep! The cottage itself is decorated and fitted out to an extremely high standard, with all the comforts you would want (i.e. wood burning stove, underfloor heating etc). Given it was our honeymoon, we were left a bottle of champagne, some chocolates and biscuits and local eggs, which was a lovely touch. We would definitely choose to stay at Sixgeary if/when we go back to Skye.

Mr & Mrs W
Reviewed Upper Folds on 04/05/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We had a wonderful stay at Upper Folds. It really was a break away from it all. The scenery was stunning as was the cottage. The cottage was warm and easy to use given it was off grid. It snowed every day and the wind howled, but we were really comfortable with the under floor heating and the wood burning stove, which also gave the place that homely cosy feel (unlike the poor sheep lambing in the surrounding fields!). Everything about the cottage was quality, from the lovely plump towels, the crisp white bed linen to the lovely decor. The place was spotlessly clean too. We would definitely recommend Upper Folds and would love to return one day.

Andy R
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 04/05/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

5 years since we last stayed at Bayside...why did we leave it so long? It was like coming home, cottage perfect...couldn't wish for anything more. The owners are so generous with all the added touches. Applecross holds such a special place in our hearts.

Lynn Herriot
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 04/05/2016
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Lovely place to stay, great location ,everything we needed was there! Lovely walks close by. Maggie our dog loved watching the sheep from the decking .

Ray & Gwen
Reviewed Askival on 29/04/2016
And awarded it


Another wonderful week in fabulous Askival. Really lucky with the weather, colder than September, but came back with tanned faces. Cottage really clean and tidy, thank you (very nice to meet the owners on arrival). You'd be very hard pressed to find better views from a cottage anywhere. Wonderful sightings of wildlife too, especially of two otters from the rocks just across from the cottage!! Already looking to book again.

Reviewed Balmachree on 29/04/2016
And awarded it


A very comfortable house in a nice location absolutly !!! We loved the house, both in terms of its location and its facilities. With 4 children and 4 adults, we had more than enough space. As a starting point to explore the land that Balmachree is ideally suited. We will gladly come again !! We would love to come back!

Reviewed Cuilfail on 28/04/2016
And awarded it


As someone else said, the photographs don't really do the house justice, and it had everything that we needed, with lovely views. But I would say the best thing about the house is its location. There are very nice walks nearby, and having the excellent hotel and pub right next door is a fantastic bonus. We had a lovely time, despite quite a bit of rain.

Reviewed Beech Lodge on 26/04/2016
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

We stayed at Beech Lodge outside Inverness for a week. As a family of 4 the lodge was a good base for use for lazy mornings and going out and about in the afternoons. It has a small garden, but wonderful woods across the way that you can go geocaching in. Kitchen is well stocked with pots, dishes etc. Also has a dishwasher and washer machine. We had a friendly welcome from the owner Donnie and homemade scones as well. God location for Inverness, Nairn, Black Isle and Loch Ness to name a few.

Michele Morphitis
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 25/04/2016
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Absolutely stunning. Beautiful inside and outside. Lovely location.

Reviewed Glenara on 24/04/2016
And awarded it


What an excellent holiday we had, Bob the owner could not have been more helpful. The heating went off one afternoon, (due to no fault of the owner) he went out of his way to make sure we were warm enough and got the heating repaired the same day, actually repaired at 8pm. The cottage was really comfortable and had everything you could wish, we didn't want to leave. Would definitely recommend this cottage if you want a peaceful, enjoyable holiday.

Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 24/04/2016
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

My second stay at the Bothy! Absolutely love it. The most fabulous views and very beautifully designed inside. Luxurious and perfect if you need to escape.

Steve & Ruth Cran
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 24/04/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Enjoyable stay ,everything we needed and a lovely location, only fault the single beds a bit uncomfortable .

John & Lucy
Reviewed Callakille on 23/04/2016
And awarded it


Calakille is a lovely cottage in a stunning location, totally away from it all. It was beautifully decorated, incredibly peaceful and had the most beautiful views out to sea.

Wendy, Stewart & Max
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 23/04/2016
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

We first stayed at Poulary in October 2008, this is our 10th visit to this wonderful cottage. We come back every year sometimes twice if we are lucky! We cannot fault the comfortable cottage, its like home from home :) We love the log burner and love cooking on the Stanley. The view from the dining room window is stunning! it changes constantly, we enjoy watching the mist rise and fall on the mountains, the snow on top of the mountains and how the sun lights up the mountains casting shadows so the view constantly changes. The wildlife is amazing, from watching the pine-marten at dawn and dusk, the Deer in the garden and the very busy bird table. You don't even have to leave the cottage as there are plenty of walks around the cottage and into the forest across the river at the bottom of the garden. The drive along the road to Kinloch Hourn is breathtaking, rugged landscapes, mountains, lochs, deer and highland cattle. We love this place and cant wait to be back in the summer. Heaven on earth, a Gem in the Highlands. LOVE IT!

Bothy Bob Does Scourie
Reviewed Christies on 22/04/2016
And awarded it


Lovely, cosy, gorgeously scenic cottage overlooking the bay at Scourie. Incomparable location with views of Ben Stack and Arkle. Cottage still maintains its authentic heritage but with a hint of luxury with all mod cons and comfort. Excellent base for adults, kids and pets to explore the surrounding area. The kind of place you want to keep to yourself but also too good not to share!

Lisa Dawson
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 21/04/2016
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We had a lovely week at Fersit Lodge. I wanted a week of quiet and certainly found it. The lodge was finished to a high standard, the weather was very kind to us and the sun shone for most of the week enabling us to sit out and enjoy the view. We had our dog with us, I enjoyed being able to take him on lots of walks from the house rather than having to drive. A couple of suggestions, information about dog walks would be helpful and the opportunity to have groceries delivered. The owners were very nice, checking we had settled in and everything was ok.

Chris & Susan
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 21/04/2016
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

We had a lovely week here in this perfect cosy cottage, everything we needed to hand in the most idyllic surroundings

John G
Reviewed Aros Beag on 21/04/2016
And awarded it

Aros Beag

Wonderful location and cottage. Would definitly book again.

Jim W. (Aberdeenshire)
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 21/04/2016
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

Very relaxing. Lovely scenery. Lodge was great, a proper home from home. Donnie (lodge owner) always at hand, never needed though, and could not have been nicer.

Catherine Inwood
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

What a lovely cottage! For once, the reality was much, much better than the photos. Large, light rooms with plenty of space for wet coats and muddy boots; a well-laid out kitchen and world-class views over Loch Ness and Urquart Castle. The drive up is steep and rutted but it's worth it!