Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 301 to 320 of 2459


Malcolm Douglas
Reviewed River Cottage on 07/12/2015
And awarded it

River Cottage

A great week in a wonderful part of the world. River Cottage was all that we hoped for, warm and comfortable with everything we needed and in a great location. Beautiful walks every day with Homer our Black Lab who by the end of the week was exhausted but in a happy way. And although it was November the weather was good to us as well.

Bill Archibald
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 30/11/2015
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Lovely, clean and well planned cottage with amazing views that change by the hour. Very cosy with underfloor heating and a cracking log burner. Very impressed!

Joan & Geoff
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 30/11/2015
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Pine Lodge is accessed via a very steep short track. In the trees above Loch Kishorn, with views across the water to the spectacular pass to Applecross. Spotlessly clean, comfortably furnished and warm. Small but perfectly formed. If the local Pine Marten had been any friendlier it would have joined us on the settee watching Eastenders! We would happily return.

Michael Cooper
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 30/11/2015
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

We saw Leachachan Barn on line when we were looking for somewhere to go on Honeymoon and came across the barn it looked perfect both in facilities and location. When we arrived we were blown away it was as described but so much more. We spent the last week completely chilled out enjoying the Wood burning stove and comfy couches whilst the rain sleat snow and sunshine went about its daily business providing hourly changes in the view. The bottle of Whiskey was a lovely touch and went down well!! We can't recommend the barn highly enough and will be back for sure. You made our honeymoon perfect. Thankyou Michael & Lynne and Wee Kodi

Abe Ahmed
Reviewed Don Cottage on 30/11/2015
And awarded it

Don Cottage

My wife and I were very pleased with our stay here. The cottage exceeded our expectations! If you want to stay in a quiet, self-catering cottage with plenty of space, this offers amazing facilities for an outstanding price.

Kay Walker
Reviewed Franks on 25/11/2015
And awarded it

Franks

Allison Green
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 24/11/2015
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

After our 4th visit to the Barn we have returned home refreshed and relaxed from such a lovely stay. We never tire of the view over Loch Duich and the 5 Sisters, from the comfort of the living room and the wood burner. A very special place to stay.

Rachael
Reviewed Callakille on 23/11/2015
And awarded it

Callakille

Callakille was everything we expected and more. A beautiful spot on the coast in the middle of the inspiring landscape of North West Scotland our cosy cottage was the perfect hideaway. The kitchen was well equipped, the bathroom sizeable and warm with the bonus of underfloor heating and unspoilt views to the Isle of Raasay and Skye from the rolltop bath. The local village of Applecross 8 miles away was quiet in November and we enjoyed a few beers and good food in the friendly local pub. We would highly recommend this place.

Jean & David Parkin
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 22/11/2015
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Lovely welcoming cottage. Fantastic views from window and patio. Very well equipped and very comfortable bed. Rocky shoreline just feet away from the door with a beach when tide out. Seals seen every day and an otter on the rocks one morning. Felt very privileged to see a sea eagle one day when having coffee sat outside. Good walks for our two dogs. Was plenty to see scenic wise and awe inspiring comes to mind. We had some groceries delivered from the Spar shop in Lochcarron which were all put away in the fridge when we arrived, excellent service. We had amazing weather but we would have enjoyed it whatever. Ideal holiday if like us you value a cottage in a peaceful location with scenery and wildlife on your doorstep.

James Bell
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 22/11/2015
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Simply stunning location and the house is excellent inside and out. Very well equipped and presented. Ideal base for a Landscape Photographer exploring the area like myself.

Grzegorz (Greg) Wroblewski
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 18/11/2015
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

It's a beautiful Cottage, fully equipped kitchen, fireplace, garden with BBQ and storage shed. In the Forest with with trails right next to the Cottage, our Dog was in heaven. The distillery is right on the way to the closest shops are in Forres 10 minutes by Car (Tesco, gas station etc ). About 15 minutes ride to Findhorn to the beach, there are sail boats, kayaks available for rent. Few restaurants with amazing Seafood!!! Our family bought the fishing license and had fun catching Crabs from the pier. Fort George is about 20 minutes by car and Inverness 35 minutes drive. I was very relaxing time at Cedar Cottage. We recommend to those guests that would like to spend some genuine time with their Family. Thank you, Greg

Brian & Steph
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 17/11/2015
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

We had an excellent stay at Poulary Cottage. The cottage itself is well built, comfortable and is well equipped with everything you need for a stay - the owners really have thought of everything! It is worth bringing as much as you can as the nearest shop is 15 miles away (23 miles to a better stocked one) however, we ended up going for drives out on a few of the days and picked up any extras we needed on the way back. Tons of interesting wildlife regularly visits the garden (although we didn't get to see the pinemarten, we will be bringing fat balls next time!) and there are always lots of red deer in and around the house and the gardens. The dog loved the secure garden and the forest that makes up part of the property's land, in fact the whole area is perfect for well-behaved dogs. There are loads of walks right on the doorstep, from gentle low level walks to several munroes and the scenery all around is simply spectacular. We took the drive to Kinloch Hourn and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone, though not the faint hearted and that applies to driver and passenger! It is 15 miles down the single track road and the last couple of miles are a bit challenging but it is well worth it. No need for a 4x4 but a strong engine is a must and take your time. The day after we got home, we booked to go back the same time next year. If you are looking for a get away from it all type holiday in a beautiful setting, you cannot go far wrong with this place.

H Sander
Reviewed Moll House on 17/11/2015
And awarded it

Moll House

Lovely large clean and warm property, comfy sitting room. Kitchen well equipped . Caretaker phoned us to make sure we were alright during storm Abigail. Fantastic views The only niggles were the kitchen sink is extremely slow running, boiling water didn't help, so needs looking at, also mattress in master bedroom one half of it seems to have gone flat quite uncomfortable, we ended up sleeping in different rooms as mattress in other room was also quite flimsy. Not hard things to put right.

Mr & Mrs Anthony Malocco
Reviewed Glen View on 17/11/2015
And awarded it

Glen View

Nick Park
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 16/11/2015
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

October 2015. Hill cottage was very well appointed, it had everything you could wish for in a wilderness cottage, a well appointed kitchen with all the essentials required, a warm comfortable lounge and a nice bathroom and shower. The view from the conservatory over the loch to the mountains beyond was wonderful. After a long day hiking the washroom was great, a place to clean off boots and wash walking gear. If you like being in a peaceful and remote place this is one for you ! Ps If you need to stay in touch there is a GPRS Vodaphone signal in the conservatory.

Barry & Debi Thomas
Reviewed Charleston on 16/11/2015
And awarded it

Charleston

Excellent property, very well equipped. Felt at home immediately, lovely warm and relaxed feeling to the house. Garden excellent for our 2 dogs. Everything lovely and clean and the welcome basket, flowers and all the little extras a wonderful touch. Really didn't want to leave.

Heather & Viv
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 16/11/2015
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Wonderful cottage in the most fabulous location. Hill Head Croft is a real home from home. Cosy and comfortable equipped with everything you can think of for a self catering break. Would have loved to stay longer and were both a bit grumpy about leaving. It's definitely somewhere we would like to return to soon. Definitely recommend to anyone who likes comfort, fresh air and spectacular scenery.

Mr N Mrs Randall
Reviewed Askival on 16/11/2015
And awarded it

Askival

Askival is set in the most amazing remote location and is as described in the brochure ! We found it warm n clean ! Yes it's a bit tired in places and could do with some updating but we enjoyed our stay ! Despite being caught up in Abigail !

Sue,david
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 16/11/2015
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Have stayed at Pine Lodge on many occasions it's amazing. Sally and John are brilliant they do an amazing job to make sure you have a brilliant stay. I would definitely recommend it to everyone.

C Cruickshank
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 16/11/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

What a wonderful week , Seascape Cottage is an idyllic retreat , the hosts are very welcoming and your every need is catered for . The weather was very good for the time of year, very windy but that just made the sea view all the more spectacular. All this can be seen from the very cosy cottage . Shame the week ended I would have stayed longer. Can't wait to book another week .