Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 381 to 400 of 2523


Keith Mendelson
Reviewed Old Stables on 24/02/2016
And awarded it

Old Stables

A wonderful house set in a very quiet remote tranquil location three miles from Cannick. Ticked all the boxes for our visit, had a wonderful time.

Richard G
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 24/02/2016
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Nice clean wooden lodge in the centre of Grantown on Spey, with easy access. We were there to go skiing, as from Grantown you can get to either the Lecht or the Cairngorm slopes at Aviemore. The lodge itself was great, with good cooking facilities, comfortable beds and a very good wood burning stove. Only issue was that all the beds are in one room, which we were aware of when we booked - perhaps some curtains or screens to provide a bit more privacy?

Lou & Paul
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 21/02/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Shore Cottage is a real 'get away from it' location. A slightly bumpy track that needs careful navigation but safely passable in a VW Golf leads to the cosy cottage that is spacious, clean, well equipped and welcoming. A short stroll is the beach which is rocky opposite the cottage and leads to open flat sands to the north. Every day we were down on the beach looking in rockpools, collecting driftwood and just admiring the views. Our evenings were spent in either the conservatory with multifuel stove, big table and bench seating looking at the twinkling light of Ireland or the comfortable living room with big open fire and sofa. We only saw about 10 other people (at a distance) all week. It is, quite simply, perfect if you want absolute peace and quiet. Beaware that there is no phone signal here (landline for emergency calls is in cottage) so you can leave the 21st century behind.

Mike Hammond
Reviewed Lilybank on 11/02/2016
And awarded it

Lilybank

Had a lovely time at Lilybank Cottage, its in a great location by the river lovely and quiet but still only a couple minutes walks from the shop and centre of Fort Augustus. A lovely cottage which is clean and well equipped with everything we needed to have a relaxing break. Would happily return and recommend it to friends and family as a base to explore the beautiful Scottish Highlands.

Helen Hodson
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 11/02/2016
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

What a beautiful place to stay. Everything you could possibly need 5* cleanliness. A very warm welcome by the owners. Views of the surrounding area second to none. Didn't really want to leave.

Richard
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 10/02/2016
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Stablemate lodge was an excellent and comfortable cottage for 2 or a family group happy to sare the open plan upper floor. With the very effective insulation and woodburner it was one of the warmest and economic cottages we have stayed in in the area. Facilities in Grantown are good. Well equipped kitChen.

Ausra Kennedy
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 07/02/2016
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

What a beautiful house in an amazing location! We spend 5 days there and wished we stayed longer. As we had a baby and a toddler with us, we weren't able to do much walking and exploring. But the house offered everything we would have wanted so we enjoyed staying in, with the wood burner going , watching the sea and admiring the most fantastic views! Beds were very comfortable we slept very well! Don't worry about bringing any board games-plenty at the house and great variaty. Would recommend to everyone wishing to holiday in Skye! AMAZING!

Martyn
Reviewed Don Cottage on 05/02/2016
And awarded it

Don Cottage

We enjoyed our few days away at Don Cottage. The instructions on finding the cottage we followed to the letter as it was dark when we arrived and they were absolutely spot on--it really is nice to get a good set of directions at the end of a tiring journey! Lovely collection of basic essentials and luxury goodies waiting for us on the kitchen table--inc whiskey- and all I had to do was to put a match to the prepared fire. Don Cottage was spotless on our arrival and looking around it is apparent that the owners have enjoyed putting this holiday cottage together. Once we got home in the evening we were more than happy to relax in front of the fire and watch TV and prepare some food--haggis of course on Burns Night. We have a couple of suggestions for making this lovely cottage even more appealing--perhaps a larger TV and a few brighter LED lights mixed in to help with reading and in the kitchen for meal preparation? Eyes going dim is an affliction that makes us older people complain that writing is getting smaller and smaller!! If you stay at Don Cottage you will be warm and comfortable and will be located in a beautiful part of the world and be free to explore it at your leisure! Many thanks

Peter Brown
Reviewed Achbeag on 05/02/2016
And awarded it

Achbeag

Great property in a Great location. Everything you need from a holiday cottage - nice comfortable living space, decent size bedrooms, well fitted kitchen and nice bathrooms made this a great location to explore this fantastic area. The Applecross Pass was a particular highlight -went over that road on a number of occasions - well worth the effort. The beach close by at Big Sands was also well worth a visit. The whole area was waiting to be explored and didn't disappoint - I would recommend the area and this property in particular. Thanks for the great holiday.

Rachel & Beryl
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 04/02/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Shore Cottage was everything we hoped for - very peaceful & remote (maybe just a bit too remote, in hindsight!) - a very comfortable & well-equipped cottage in a stunning location. The track down is the only downside; it's a shame the lower section can't be concreted like the upper section; my heart was in my mouth on every journey to & from the cottage, & I think the remoteness (which has never before been an issue) was heightened by knowing I couldn't drive out once it was dark. We left a few days early because of the forecast snow & ice, which would have made the track even more treacherous. The advice that a 4x4 is needed is very wise.

Mrs Plume
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 04/02/2016
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

We had a great stay at beach lodge with the dog. Didn't see one person all week and had the beach to ourselves! Love the fact it was full of essentials when we got there. Would recommend to all. Hopefully we will return in the future. Thanks for a fantastic break.

Zoe Green
Reviewed Callakille on 19/01/2016
And awarded it

Callakille

Somewhat like the Railway Children we arrived in total darkness amid a galeforce storm. Mrs Viney had forgotten to light our fire too but we soon had the woodburner going. Wonderful week in a truely beautiful part of the world. The cottage is very well appointed and comfortable if a little nippy in the bedrooms. We are keen campers so used to cold noses but be aware there is no heating upstairs. Thank you for sharing the Applecross peninsula, we love it.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Ms Green, thank you for your review, we have spoken to the owners regarding the heating upstairs, and during the winter months additional heating in the bedrooms will now be provided.
Ruth A Hamilton
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 15/01/2016
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your beautiful cottage. What a fantastic setting. We loved watching seals while we were having breakfast and an otter!

Alaine
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 14/01/2016
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

The barn was everything we had hoped for and more - the best thing? The views! We experienced all types of weather - from sunshine to rain, to hail storms, crazy winds and even snow! Spending Christmas relaxing in the barn and walking in the local area, then coming back to sit & relax in front of the fire with views of the snow capped mountains was magical! Between oct - April most businesses shut down but it didn't bother us as we had taken enough food with us, so I am unable to comment on the local pubs and restaurants. The barn is ideally placed to explore Skye. Our dogs absolutely loved the break too, and were as sad as us to be leaving! The barn is fully equipped with everything you could ever want. We were delighted the tv was upstairs rather than in the lounge - we watched it once! We also thought the set up of having the dishwasher etc in the utility was a good idea - reducing noise and clutter in the social space! Don't hesitate, just book!!

Gary Loftus
Reviewed Log House on 12/01/2016
And awarded it

Log House

We stayed at The Log House for 1 Week, the location is absolutely perfect , very peaceful and perfect for exploring the East or West Coast . The Log House lives up to its expectations its very clean , and warm. As described its a short walk into Fort Augustus , and all the local amenities. Will definitely be back, will recommend The Log House and Wilderness Cottages to everyone !!

L.Evans
Reviewed Aros Beag on 05/01/2016
And awarded it

Aros Beag

We had a wonderful time exploring the local areas and the cottage was fantastic.

Carole & Robert Binns
Reviewed Moll House on 04/01/2016
And awarded it

Moll House

We were thrilled with Moll House. After a long drive from York we arrived to find the house beautifully warm and spotlessly clean. It was a real home from home and the Xmas tree was a nice surprise. In the morning we were greeted with a fabulous view from the kitchen window which never failed to fascinate us every day as we looked for wildlife. The location is stunning. Our dog Max soon made himself at home next to the heater in the kitchen. The garden was lovely and safe for him to play around in and the proximity and privacy of the shore led to lovely relaxing strolls every morning. Our dog is not very sociable with other dogs so all that worry was taken away. This is our second stay in a wilderness cottage and we will certainly be back. Many thanks once again.

Paul White
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 01/01/2016
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

Fantastic house, particularly the huge old school room. Amazing location, with the beach just seconds away. We wanted to get away from it all for Christmas, and this house was perfect!

Carol Weller
Reviewed Balmachree on 31/12/2015
And awarded it

Balmachree

The location is beautiful and remote. The cottage is spacious and well equipped with white goods. Unfortunately the oven has been cleaned so you cannot see the controls and the photo does not really help. Rather difficult to cook Xmas dinner. I have been to a lot of holiday homes and there has always been a welcome pack of a few teabags coffee etc. After such a long drive and not being able to get in until 4pm you do not want to drive to find a shop. I had brought a lot with me but expected this to be as I had experienced before. I would suggest perhaps an extra service where you could pay for a welcome pack. I would go again as the area is so lovely but would appreciate a more welcome.

S. Schroeder
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 31/12/2015
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

An excellent cottage on Skye with a fenced in yard for the dog, full kitchen with pots/pans/cups/kettle etc, and amazing views from the sofa or recliner seat! The inside was modern but still cozy. The telescope was a fun addition as well for both day and night. There is a small-quaint shop 5 minute drive down the road and driving to Dunvegan was easy.