Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 41 to 60 of 2523


Andrew & Family
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

A lovely location and wonderful accommodation for our stay in the Highlands. A warm and friendly welcome, many thanks.

Debby & Marc
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Absolutely beautiful cottage...peaceful comfortable and has everything you need. Perfect location. we will definitely be booking again

Richie
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

An amazing place to stay and this was our fourth visit there. Tranquil, high quality accommodation that's makes you instantly relaxed. Always great service from Wilderness Cottages and we can't wait for our next stay.

Kayley Holden
Reviewed Sealight on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Sealight

We had the most wonderful honeymoon at Sealight. We arrived at the end of October, staying for a week and unfortunately, this is the out of season period where most places are closed. However, Sealight has everything you could possibly need to have a lovely, chilled, warmly stay. From books to every kitchen utensil you can think of and even jigsaw puzzles/games, we were never bored! The log burner was our favourite part of the house and we loved having the fire burning every night whilst watching a movie! We came home very relaxed and refreshed. Exactly what we needed! We are hoping to come back for Christmas next year.

Alan & Alison
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 06/11/2016
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Swallow Byre was the perfect place for a chill and unwind. Perfect for a couple sharing, excellent facilities and very cosy - the woodburner stove was great but rarely used as the place was so warm. No phone signal and no wifi took about a day to get used to then you remember what life used to be like! Read a couple of books in the total peace of the evenings. Jane was very friendly and helpful. The Byre is well placed for walking and cycling from the door or further afield. We will be back.

Liz Twelves
Reviewed Wishing Well Cottage on 06/11/2016
And awarded it

Wishing Well Cottage

The house is in a stunning setting and within a good distance of Portree. The prearrival information was good which made getting there pretty easy. The property is modern, very clean and of a high standard. It offers a great base for Skye. We were fortunate to have some sunshine which made this beautiful place even more special. We hire holiday cottages a lot and there were some mainly small things that would make a big difference to us. The first is a big thing - for a property in this price range, a good quality king size bed with a good mattress is a must, and high quality bedding. Secondly, we like to watch films when we are away, in fact we bought some specifically for our trip, so a TV that is proportionate to the size of the room and a DVD player are also important to us. Finally, and a small thing, some basic provisions for arrival seem to be quite common in holiday properties now - milk, bread and butter maybe, and often a bottle of wine to welcome you. I hope this feedback is useful.

The Milner Family
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 04/11/2016
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Wonderful cottage full of charm although the property probably is looking a little tired in places but has everything needed for a self catering accommodation. Great location and ideal for exploring the area. Great walks to be had. We would recommend

Fiona Mackenzie
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 01/11/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

We had a very relaxing break at shore cottage with our two labradors, cottage was very warm and homely and the beach at the end of the garden was fabulous. The only negatives were that the tv was very old and that the bathroom is in need of upgrading but that would not stop us from returning! Oh and the bush that obscures the view on the decking needs to go!

Gary & Bernie
Reviewed Ardrannach on 01/11/2016
And awarded it

Ardrannach

This property and location was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back. The property is ideally situated for walking and is in a very peaceful location with tremendous views of Skye.

Michelle Bennett
Reviewed Giusaichean on 29/10/2016
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Lovely week relaxing the highlands, this cottage is lovely, I have been coming her for 13 years on and off. I used to bring my children to spend Christmas. It is great for dogs and really feels homely, log fire is a real treat if you don't have one at home and there is lots to see and do. Dores inn is nice, food ok but service could be better, which was a real shame. Beautiful glass blowing shop in fort Augustus you can watch the lady making glass ornaments, of course I had to bring home a little glass Nessie, some pretty little shops there also selling nice souvenirs to take home. I believe that the owners are coming back to live in this cottage soon, so it won't be available, so if you can get a break here before I would highly recommend. I still love the highlands and will be looking at alternative places to bring my dogs and grandchildren in the future.

Mr & Mrs Nicol
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 28/10/2016
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Moll Cottage was easy to find, very warm and in an incredibly private and scenic location. Use northern access road: southern approach in bad repair (30 mins to drive 3 miles) so access from further junction takes half the time! Comfy bed but needs new pillows. Nice to have liners. Lots of local info and some DVD's. Basic condiments provided, but only a tiny prep area if cooking. One of the two ceiling lights, the cooker hood light and under unit lights not working: should have been spotted before our arrival. No spare bulbs provided - we did not want to wait around for manager to call during our stay. As others have noted - suite is really uncomfortable because, bizarrely, all its rear cushions have been removed. The property does need quite a thorough cleaning: lots of mould - on window frames and surrounds, floor and wall at end of lounge & inside the shower. Lots of greasy, dirty pots, cutlery, utensils/dirty tea towels and apron. Grubby everywhere: chair backs, bedhead and end, picture glass and even the bottom of the wardrobe mirrors and their runner recesses. Toilet brush & holder awful. No bathroom mirror or shaver point. Bins have stickers stating "collection contract expired" so were not emptied. Lovely location but quality of cleaning/lack of attention reduced rating.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mr & Mrs Nicol, thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Moll Cottage, we do as a small company appreciate all the reviews we receive. We are disappointed that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations, we do provide in the event of any problems a contact number for the local caretaker and our office is open until 7pm during the week and until 6pm at the weekends, along with an out of hours answering service. We have checked with the caretaker and our own records and see that no problems were reported by you. Due to the location, the owner has provided a telephone in the cottage for emergency and local calls. The caretaker does live within a few miles and could easily have come and rectified any issues that you had. The first we became aware of any problems was when this review was received on the 28th October, which is late considering you stayed for the week 15th to the 22nd October. However in the circumstances we have, as a goodwill gesture made a partial refund to cover you for any inconvenience caused.
Lauren
Reviewed Timber House on 28/10/2016
And awarded it

Timber House

We really enjoyed our time at Timber House. The views from every room are amazing. We loved the wood burner and waking up to sheep in the front yard. The kitchen was well equipped. Highly recommended. Future guests may want to know that mobile service in the area comes and goes, though the internet worked well. The house is in a remote area and is therefore extremely quiet, though the wind and rain can be quite loud in the main bedroom, so bring ear plugs if that will keep you awake. We hope to come again!

Steve & Jacqui Johnstone
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 28/10/2016
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Had a wonderful relaxing week here in October. The resident pine martin did not disappoint and visited us every second night around 9pm. What a beautiful creature and one of the main reasons we booked. Got some great photographs. Pine lodge is compact yet comfortable and has everything you need. Wi-Fi is fantastic considering the location. The road up to the lodge is a bit steep and rough but this is quickly forgotten once you are there. Location is very quiet and peaceful and a great place to escape. The views over the loch and mountains are simply breathtaking. Would highly recommend pine lodge and hope to visit again very soon.

William Foy
Reviewed Don Cottage on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Cottage very well equiped and cosy would recommend it to friends and family!

Chris & Wendy Jennings
Reviewed Don Cottage on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Lovely cottage hideaway.

Lorna (Skye)
Reviewed Erchless Cottage on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Erchless Cottage

We loved Erchless Cottage. It was cosy and spacious and an ideal base for walking and exploring the beautiful surrounding countryside. Alison and Greg couldn't have been more helpful, welcoming and friendly.

Lynda James
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Poulary Cottage is extremely well equipped and in a lovely location. It's very warm and cosy and the double bed is one of the most comfortable we've slept in. It really is away from it all and it's quite a drive back up the valley if you want to get out and about sightseeing. One piece of advice I wish we'd had is that the nearest decent shop is in Fort Augustus at the filling station and there's a butcher there too. Take bird food if you want to see a busy bird table and the Pine Marten only came during the night when we were there but we had a camera trap so got footage on that? The Stanley range cooker takes a bit of getting used to.

Shona B
Reviewed Dunollie on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Dunollie

One of the best properties we have stayed at through Wilderness - the attention to detail was fabulous, e.g. local produce on arrival, toiletries provided. Everything in the kitchen was new, clean and of a high standard. Great location and very comfortable throughout. The only concern was the access road - very narrow with a drop to the stream which could be tricky for larger vehicles and in the dark.

Simpson's
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

We stayed at Beach Lodge for a week from 15th to 22nd October. It was perfect! A beautiful house tucked away in the bay with a huge expanse of sandy beach and not a soul in sight. We had a lovely sunny break taking in the sights of the Rhins and on the one day of rain were happy to sit indoors relaxing and only venturing as far as the beach for a walk with the dogs. A lovely restful week in a lovely location!

Carole Binns
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

We had a fabulous stay at Shore Cottage. It has an amazing location the garden and beach were perfect for our Staffy. The cottage was lovely and warm on arrival and very clean. We loved the conservatory with the log burner although the weather was exceptional and we even sat out on the decking and read in the sunshine! We have stayed in three Wilderness cottages so far and have never been disappointed, but I think this is our favourite. A big bonus was the lovely clean beach. Many thanks to whoever has cleaned it because we have stayed nearby before and the beach was littered with rubbish but this time it was lovely. Had a great time many thanks.