Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 401 to 420 of 2459


David Mason
Reviewed The Bothy on 14/09/2015
And awarded it

The Bothy

Had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay at the Bothy. Everything you need day to day is at hand.

Carol S
Reviewed The Mill on 14/09/2015
And awarded it

The Mill

We stayed in The Grain Store in 2014 and loved it so much we returned this year, although with a 2nd dog we needed the extra space of The Mill this time. These are excellent 'home from home' properties with commanding views down the glen. The wifi is a bit ropey so not suitable for taking any work away with you, so that's another thing in favour of staying here. Double bed could be doing with upgrading but it didn't affect sleep so not a big deal. There isn't an enclosed garden area to let dogs roam but a training line attached to sturdy fence post sorted that. Weather was fantastic again this year too letting us enjoy the peace and quiet outdoors as much as possible. Great walks in the area for dog lovers.

Henk Wesselink
Reviewed Upper Folds on 14/09/2015
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Amazing location & beautiful cottage with a fabulous Rayburn to cook on and stay warm. Had an amazing relaxing time away! Thank you again!

Michael Clark
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 14/09/2015
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

We used Braehead Steading as a location base while filming in the area. We all fell in love with the place and were really happy with the rooms and facilities. The dining table was well used by cast and crew, seating up to 8 people, it made a big difference to meetings and the great meals prepared in the kitchen. Very enjoyable stay - highly recommended.

Silke Goetzmann
Reviewed Don Cottage on 12/09/2015
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Don Cottage is a beautiful and cosy holiday home. Sitting in front of the house, a cup of coffee with me and enjoying the marvellous landscape was my favorite start of day. Thanks for the lovely welcome present. We have enjoyed the holidays at Don Cottage and we would return tomorrow if it would be possible ;-) The only criticism or perhaps I should say the only suggestion for the ad : " Walking distance " is a very relative term . ;-)

Paul & Jacqui
Reviewed The Orchids on 12/09/2015
And awarded it

The Orchids

This property offers everything you could want or need for a holiday in Skye, the scenery is quite special and it is very peaceful. You wouldn't be disappointed. For us a it was a lovely place to spend our 30th Wedding Anniversary. Thank you Linda.

The Menneer Family
Reviewed Sixgeary on 11/09/2015
And awarded it

Sixgeary

What a fabulous property! We couldn't have wished for any more - apart from having another week's stay here! Everything was spotlessly clean on arrival and we had everything we could possibly need. The view was spectacular, even on a rainy day. Plenty to see and do nearby, but remote enough to escape from everything.

Mike & Julie Whitehead
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 10/09/2015
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Had a great week at Fersit log cottage. Very clean and tidy on arrival . wonderful views all around , and so peaceful. Deer,barn owl and red squirrel visited the garden regularly. wot a wonderful place . hope to go back one day.

Heather & Tony Carpenter
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 10/09/2015
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Swallow Byre has everything to make a most enjoyable and relaxing holiday. The location, the facilities and the friendliness extended to us by Jane was outstanding. We would happily recommend Swallow Byre to anyone who wants a most restful break.

Matthew
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 09/09/2015
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Sadly we were not blessed with the weather the week we stayed but the views and the property more than made up for that. It was a great lodge that provided a good mix of luxury and isolation. Skye is a beautiful island and if we choose to come again we would definitely stay here. Thank you for a memorable honeymoon.

Geoff Gowers
Reviewed The Bell on 09/09/2015
And awarded it

The Bell

We had a great time in the Bell - George made us quite welcome, and cake especially so after a long journey. Wet or dry, it was a good base for the highlands. House is equipped with all facilities for families on the go, though don't expect wifi or good phone signal ! Beware Daughters' will grab the upper floor with master bedroom and bathroom. Boys then shared the ground floor bedrooms. No midges when we were there - grounds delightful, including the garden bus ! Eggs from down the road tasty - note there are no 'local' pubs or restaurants - this is at least a good 10 min drive away from it all. Highly recommended

KaOlLi
Reviewed Skye Woodhouse on 09/09/2015
And awarded it

Skye Woodhouse

pros: Very attractive setting if you like to sleep in excellent beds in a contemporary building, enjoy great scenic views and silence. We did so very much. As being located in a remote setting, a vehicle is necessary. cons: nothing important. House would need a refurbishing (painting, fix some screws etc), but everything is working fine.

Connie Wallace
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 09/09/2015
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

The cottage was exactly as described in the description and a few reviewers pointed out other aspects of the cottage, i.e. it is 0.4 mile off the paved road down a somewhat potholed gravel driveway, but we managed it just fine in a sedan. The seclusion is very much a part of the cottage's charm. The water is somewhat "peaty" so if that offends you, take bottled water to drink. The cottage is in a wonderful setting and there are several hiking & biking destinations that start right there at the front door. It was very comfortable and cozy and a fire in the wood stove in the sitting room was very nice at night.

Pam & Bob Kent
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Bayside Cottage on the Applecross Peninsula is a wonderful little cottage. All you could need and the kitchen has everything you would need in a kitchen. Even the dogs felt welcome with a 'Boneo' each and water bowl. The beach is too rocky for your dog in front of the cottage but only 4 miles away is the best beach any dog would love . For me personally the lounge furniture is not very comfortable though is in keeping with the cottage .

Alexandre
Reviewed Holly Cottage on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Holly Cottage

Nice cottage, very clean and tidy. Warm welcome from the owner. Equipement & furniture are of quality, everything look as new. Very well situated. We spent a nice week there, touring in Northern Highland.

Andrea
Reviewed Macrae Croft on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Macrae Croft

Lovely house with spectacular views and pet-friendly. Had some great walks - despite the weather. Would definitely recommend!

Debra
Reviewed Upper Folds on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Upper Folds

What a wonderful find!! Beautiful cottage in the most peaceful and stunning setting.All of the small gestures on arrival like the milk and wine, the fire ready to light and the heating on made us feel very welcome, our dogs had a great time in the garden and we now feel recharged and rested after a few days....will definitely be back, we couldn't have asked for more

Gill & John
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

A fabulous house in a fabulous location.

Helen M Bale
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

Oak Cottage is a marvellous holiday cottage with everything suppied. Comfortable and warm with lovely views and wildlife. We would recommend it to all holiday makers wishing to have a lovely holiday in Scotland.....we shall return!

Karen, David, Jessica (5) & Jack The Cocker Spanie
Reviewed South Lodge on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

South Lodge

South Lodge is in a beautiful location, if a little out of the way but that is what attracted us to it. There is everything you need in the cottage and it was a fantastic base to come back to after a days exploring. There are a few walks from the doorstep, one to a beautiful beach which we had all to ourselves for the day. The cottage wasn't immaculately clean when we arrived - we ended up having to push the hoover round, but the bedding and towels were spotless. The grass had been cut and strimmed the day we arrived which looked pretty but the grass ended up being walked into the cottage and ended up everywhere! We had an issue with the smoke / CO2 alarm but this was quickly resolved with an email to the owners and a new one was delivered the following day, along with a bird table for the garden - a brilliant addition! On the whole, the cottage is lovely, comfortable and was more than adequate for what we needed - a brilliant week was had by all! We were even blessed with Scottish sunshine for the majority of the week!!