Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1051 to 1100 of 2523


Gordon Humber
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 28/04/2015
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

Suffice to say that Stoer Lodge is one of the best little get away from it all places I have had the pleasure to stay in. Lovely house, lovely little beach, and absolutely stunning scenery. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to get away from the rat race for a bit

John Hammell
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 26/04/2015
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We had a wonderful stay, with the cottage being ideal - an amazing view, excellent weather and a very comfortable place to stay. Our dogs enjoyed the beach and local walks.

Jenny Beaumont
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 25/04/2015
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

We've just returned home from a wonderful week in Katie's Cottage. Very well equipped cottage which had everything we needed. Beautiful location and next to the Red Roof Cafe too! Really appreciated the wine, eggs and dog biscuits provided by the owners. It's always a delight to find cottages likes these which will accept two dogs. Great to have the secure garden and useful utility area for the dogs too. The only downside is that the lighting in the bathroom was not good.

Thomas Waugh
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 23/04/2015
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We have just returned from the cottage. Location is idyllic, cottage is lovely has all you need and is very comfortable indeed. The log fire and sun room were especially nice and inviting (My wife says the kitchen was top to, never found the kitchen myself like). The lock keeper is especially friendly and enjoys a good bleether (chat). We have already enquired about returning next year which I think says it all. Highly recommended

Carolyn Galloway
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 22/04/2015
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Bayside Cottage is a cosy home from home with the added benefit of a coal/log fire. It has everything you could wish for a relaxing break in a truly wonderful setting. The decking at the waters edge is the perfect place to watch the sunset with a glass of vino. The Applecross Inn, just yards away, serves delicious food. Fantastic scenery. The drive over the pass is breathtaking and a challenge for the cycle enthusiast.

Carol
Reviewed Fhaireag on 22/04/2015
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Fantastic location for a great house! Definitely a home from home. Dogs loved the garden, often disappearing to investigate. Deer at fence line at some point everyday, fortunately dogs weren't loose in garden at the time. House has everything you need, it's far enough away from the A9 to give you the true wilderness feeling but close enough to give great access to all the points we wanted to see. Watch the road to Fort Augustus it's not suitable for dogs that get the least bit travel sick!

Julie
Reviewed Mealishal on 22/04/2015
And awarded it

Mealishal

Jo Jones & Family
Reviewed Charleston on 21/04/2015
And awarded it

Charleston

Fantastic place to stay...the house is so well equipped and the owners thoughtful welcome pack and attention to detail is amazing! The views are wonderful and our whole holiday was totally relaxing. We cannot wait to return. The best place we have stayed in Scotland!

Nathalie, Paul & Laura
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 21/04/2015
And awarded it
Ruth Adams
Reviewed Giusaichean on 18/04/2015
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Clare
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 14/04/2015
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

We loved Oak Cottage! Absolutely everything we could have needed was catered for, including a surprise welcome basket which was a lovely touch. The cottage is even lovelier than the pictures suggest, particularly this time of year with all the daffodils in bloom. Our wee 11-month old loved the underfloor heating - as did we, especially given the unexpected chilly weather and April snow showers! We all enjoyed watching the ducks on the pond and the birds in the garden. Highly recommended!

Andrea
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 14/04/2015
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

I loved every minute of my stay at Ardoch Bothy. The views are to die for and the bothy itself is a delight. Everything so thoughtfully done - it was cosy, comfortable and inspiring. I can't wait to go back.

Craig Young
Reviewed Ardrannach on 14/04/2015
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Nice comfy cottage, stunning views. Only a 20 minute walk to Portree. A couple of nice walks straight from the cottage door.would recommend

J. Charnley
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 14/04/2015
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

This is a fantastic cottage in a spectacular setting. It is immaculately clean and full of everything you could possibly need. The owners have thought of absolutely everything and the cottage feels like a much loved home. A super comfortable bed ensures a great night's sleep after a day of walking, going on one of the excellent boat trips from Elgol, or simply enjoying the views from the garden seating. We were very sad to leave and can't wait to return.

Fergus Macmillan
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 14/04/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

This is a new cottage which was very comfortable and well presented with lovely views. It sits on a deserted stretch of coastline with an abundance of birdlife, and other wildlife, around the area. The owners who live close by were very friendly to us. It was a perfect place for a relaxing break, and we also enjoyed exploring the Rhins of Galloway, which has some real treats in store for those who look. We did a lot of walking and have returned feeling much healthier.

Jo & Ian Lloyd
Reviewed Coach House on 13/04/2015
And awarded it

Coach House

Gloria
Reviewed Mealishal on 13/04/2015
And awarded it

Mealishal

Brian Murdoch
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 13/04/2015
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Love this cottage and the beautiful scenery surrounding it. Have been coming here for many years now and will continue for many more.

Tracy Strachan
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 13/04/2015
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Beautifully appointed large cottage fully equipped. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Stunning location and views with an abundance of great walks. The owners even thought of treats for the dogs along with beds and water bowls!

John Hartshorn
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 13/04/2015
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

A fantastic property - possibly one of the best views there is, and with a wonderful deck overlooking the loch, harbour, and into the Cuillin. It's well equipped, super clean, everything works. There are great walks from the front door (Camasunary is a must, as is the Spar Cave). Elgol has a good little shop and a fantastic coffee shop. Wilderness Cottages are also very efficient, and the information pack was excellent. I thoroughly recommend both this cottage, and also Wilderness Cottage.

Mrs Heather Waugh
Reviewed Rowan Lodge - Beauly on 13/04/2015
And awarded it

Rowan Lodge - Beauly

Holly
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 11/04/2015
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

Great cabin in an absolutely beautiful location. We stayed for five days before Easter and it was a wonderfully refreshing break away from Edinburgh.

L Wilson
Reviewed Drumfad Cottage on 09/04/2015
And awarded it

Drumfad Cottage

This is a lovely cottage in an ideal location for exploring the local area. It is furnished to a high standard and has everything you need for a self catering holiday. The garden is very spacious and fully enclosed so was ideal for our dog. Cons: There is wifi, but it is an extension of the owners wifi so it was a bit intermittent. The property is adjoined to the Drumfad Barn and there is a connecting door between the two properties at the lounge area, so noise carries.

Gabi
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 08/04/2015
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Very tasteful renovated cottage. Everything seems to be thought through. On our arrival we also found milk in the fridge, tea, coffee and some nice shortbread. It is in the countryside so you need a car. Next shops about 5 mile away. Good access to Glen Afric (about 1 hours drive).

Mrs Gillian Deller
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 08/04/2015
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

We all loved this cottage. It was perfectly clean and beautifully decorated, with a lovely homely feel. The garden was perfect for our dog, who loved going out and running around. We appreciated the welcome pack which included some treats for our dog as well as a bottle of wine, sweets and biscuits for us. The situation of the cottage was lovely and would be perfect in the summer although a car was definitely necessary, as the nearest shops were in Nairn about 3-4 miles away. We will return!

Mr A O Wilcock
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 08/04/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

28th March-4th April 2015. Excellent facilities and location. Weather was not good (snow, hail, rain, gale force winds !!) but didn't stop us from visiting Mull of Galloway, Port Patrick, Logan Gardens etc etc. All easily reached on quiet roads. Property was/is very comfortable, very warm (much needed for us) and peaceful. Directions were also excellent. Ideal for birdwatching and walking. Would love to return during the spring (warmer?) months to witness the wild flowers.Thank you.

J Franks
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 07/04/2015
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

This is an incredible place to stay, both in terms of the location and the stylish property that has been developed to sit so beautifully within the landscape. Warm, well equipped and with stunning views it is an oasis of calm, and a lovely home to return to. It's easy to explore the northern parts of Skye from White-Tail Croft and after windy and wet days (always with some sunshine!) a sauna is a fabulous bonus too. Great memories of a wonderful holiday, in no small part thanks to this croft.

Neville Poole
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 05/04/2015
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Fantastic week. Holiday home well met expectations, lovely open plan living with exceptional views. It was well worth the long drive and will definitely return at some time in the future

Mark & Jackie Stevens & Family
Reviewed The Bell on 03/04/2015
And awarded it

The Bell

Wendy Gray
Reviewed Upper Folds on 03/04/2015
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Beautiful cottage, very comfortable and warm, loved the remoteness. Wildlife was entertaining, especially the "boxing hares".

Eric & Helel Russell
Reviewed Tigh na H-Eilde on 01/04/2015
And awarded it

Tigh na H-Eilde

Lauren
Reviewed Cattle Shed on 01/04/2015
And awarded it

Cattle Shed

What an amazing week we had!! Amazing weather(!), fantastic accommodation, all done to a high spec with a welcomed log burner for those cold nights. Stunning views on the doorstep. Very remote and rural but that's exactly what we were after. The dog thoroughly enjoyed the countryside. We were even able to bag three Munroes in a day - recommend Sgor Gaoith to Meall Buidhe to Geal-Charn; a good days hike! Will definitely be returning!

Ian Green
Reviewed Upper Folds on 30/03/2015
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Just returned from a great week in the cottage, great landscape all around ideal for anyone that likes wildlife. It's in a great location we only saw two people across the valley from us all week, great place for the night sky as on a clear night you could see so many stars. Walks from the door are good, all in all a great week in a great location.

Eric@Helen Russell
Reviewed Tigh na H-Eilde on 27/03/2015
And awarded it

Tigh na H-Eilde

Mrs Brenda Lacey
Reviewed Sealight on 26/03/2015
And awarded it

Sealight

Beautiful house with every mod con in a stunning setting, hills still had snow, peaceful and quiet, just right for a lazy week away from work. Weather was sunny and warm and we didn't have a coat on all week, considering it was 14th - 21st March that was amazing. Highly recommended.

Steph Horne
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 21/03/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

If you want peace and quiet, stunning views and a well appointed cottage then Seascape is for you. A delicious welcome gift of homemade jam and a bottle of wine greeted us after we'd had a tour with the owners. A lot of care has been taken to ensure the cottage is comfortable and the under floor heating will keep you snuggly warm. There is no Wi-Fi or phone signal but that wasn't a problem for us. We will definitely return.

Ross Clephane
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 19/03/2015
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

What a fantastic place to stay. White-tail Croft has all you need and more for a weekend in Skye. We were incredibly lucky with the weather and this likely put Skye in its best light but White-Tail Croft took full advantage of it. The views are incredible and the large glass windows allowed us to sit in the warm lodge and look out over the vista. The property is very clean, spacious, incredibly well equipped and the welcome pack a nice extra. A bit off the beaten track but worth it.

Matthew Neilson
Reviewed Rhundunan on 17/03/2015
And awarded it

Rhundunan

One of the best holiday cottages we've stayed in, with great kitchen, relaxing and airy lounge, comfortable beds and finished off with some superb views. Great location for exploring the northern parts of Skye and a short walk to the Three Chimneys if you fancy treating yourself to a wonderful lunch or dinner.

Peter
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 17/03/2015
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

A fantastic log cabin with a great view of the mountains. The cabin was spotless and well presented, the log burner was brilliant and the road up to the cabin was not bad at all, just take it slowly as there are a few pot holes. Local walks are great. I would recommend this cabin to anybody who wants to relax.

Chris Bryant
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 16/03/2015
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

Wanted a " get away from it all " break and this place was perfect. Great attention to detail and good facilities made this cottage a cosy hideaway in a beautiful location on the trotternish peninsula. We were very lucky with the weather, having 3 continuous days of sunshine to explore nearby portree, staffin, coastal walks and hikes up on the trotternish ridge. The cottage was equiped with everything we needed for a comfortable stay, but its worth noting that there are shops or pubs close-by.

Graeme & Sheena
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 13/03/2015
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

The most amazing property, everything has been thought of. We spent 3 nights here in March weather was dramatic to say the least really did have 4 seasons in one day however sitting cosy with glass of wine and the most incredible view could not have been happier. It is perfectly remote with the advantage of only being 20 mins from Portree but if you want my advice take enough provisions so you can just enjoy the peace and quiet. Really hope to return thank you

Laura
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 10/03/2015
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

What a dream come true; views to die for, a sauna to warm you up, a fire to get cozy to and everything in perfect condition. There's almost no traffic as you're on a road with a dead-end, plenty of rabbits and eagles to view from your doorstep and trust me, the cottage is storm proof! We had our honeymoon here this beginning of March and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Don't hesitate, this cottage is the perfect get-away.

Janet Rutherford
Reviewed Kilmaluag Bay Cottage on 09/03/2015
And awarded it

Kilmaluag Bay Cottage

Just come back from a wonderful relaxing week in this gorgeous cottage. The location is fantastic and the cottage is comfortable and cosy. The owners Peter and Ria are very warm and welcoming and have thought of everything you need for a great holiday. We especially liked the wonderfully comfy bed, log burning stove and fantastic views from the deck. We would really look forward to staying here again.

Olivia Swann
Reviewed Solas on 09/03/2015
And awarded it

Solas

Nick & Danny
Reviewed Upper Folds on 09/03/2015
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Had an amazing week at Upper Folds. You will not be disappointed if you are looking for a luxurious cottage in breathtaking surroundings. The owners are so helpful if you have any problems. Highly recommended!!

Colin Woodsford
Reviewed Charleston on 02/03/2015
And awarded it

Charleston

Quite simply one of the best properties we have had the pleasure of staying in Scotland. We have been coming to the highlands for 18 years plus, and this house really felt like a home from home, extremely well equipped and warm, the views from every window are to die for, had the pleasure of many red kites flying over the house and deer passing by. All in all, great house, great location and a great holiday. Thank you

Kathy Fraser
Reviewed River Cottage on 02/03/2015
And awarded it

River Cottage

A great place to stay, warm and cosy in the snowy weather. The view from the verandah on our first morning was a beautiful snowscape with the river running by. Well equipped with comfortable furniture and a really convenient layout. Mac the Springer was made welcome by the hosts who could not have been more helpful. We will definitely try to return to visit all the places and do the walks we didn't have time for this visit.

Joao Povoa
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 28/02/2015
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

There are few places in Europe that you can be nearly isolated from the grey and boring common world, this is definitely one of those magic places! The house is very well decorated and comfortable! I think It will be very hard to find a cottage with this quality!

Julie Penson
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 27/02/2015
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

We rented this secluded home as a group including children in February. The postcode takes you to the turning before, so just make sure you drive past here until you see the junction with the Labrador farm on one side and a sign for meikle labrax on the other. The road is rickety but well worth the ride. An absolutely amazing location. The house was warm and welcoming. We walked to the lighthouse (7 miles but well worth it) We loved it as a complete getaway and will def return!!

Martin Billington
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 26/02/2015
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Wonderful location, incredible views, really well equipped cottage, very warm and comfortable, easy to find. 10/10