Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 481 to 500 of 2523


Steve & Sandra Huxtable, Belper, Derbyshire.
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 28/09/2015
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

An excellent cottage for chilling out. Superb location with great walks straight from the door. Nice touch of a welcome pack from the owners, Graham & Lynne. Very comfortable with everything you need. Log burner with enough wood for a whole week. 1st for us. Lots of wildlife on your doorstep including Deer, Owls, Buzzards, Red Squirrels and a variety of other birds. Well recommended if you want a quiet week away from the norm.

Rob Jefferson
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 28/09/2015
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Really relaxing break in a fantastic home. It's really well situated to be off the beaten track but not too far from civilisation (Portree) for you to get shopping or go out for a meal. Given that's it's nearly in the centre of the island it means you can use it as a good base for exploring. The house itself is really modern and super warm - the log burner does a cracking job of heating the place up very quickly as do the other heaters. It had all the equipment you need for a comfortable stay. Beds were comfy and the clever layout of the house with its separate bedrooms and bathrooms would mean kids and parents could have their privacy but never be too far away. The wifi was great for streaming TV or films on wet days and cold nights when you just wanted to snuggle up by the fire. Only minor niggles were a lack of dishcloths and a dishwasher that was empty of both salt and rinse aid upon arrival with no supplies to top it up with. Little things in the grand scheme of things but a tad disappointing nonetheless. Overall, we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay in a very clean, modern and comfortable home. We'd have no hesitation in recommending this place to friends and family and would happily return.

Robert & Linda
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 27/09/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Highly recommended. This is a very nicely appointed and well kept cottage in an idyllic location. With fantastic views out to sea and just a short walk to quiet bays on a rugged coastline it's a wonderful place for a peaceful holiday.

Carol Pascall
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 27/09/2015
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Fabulous place, great setting had everything you could possibly want or need, brilliant place to go back to after being out all day to chill out and relax, we loved it. Our dog's Skye & Ollie loved it too and for us just to let them out and know they were safe and secure in the massive fenced garden was great. The midges were a bit of a pain at this time of year but it didn't spoil things. We highly recommend Fersit Lodge if you want peace and quiet with gorgeous views with lovely walks.

Mark Peacock
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 25/09/2015
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

lodge very well placed and equipped ensuring a comfortable base from which to explore the area. Owner, Donnie very accomodating and helpful. A very pleasant stay.. Many thanks

Kathy B.
Reviewed Giusaichean on 23/09/2015
And awarded it

Giusaichean

We absolutely loved staying at Giusaichean! It felt like a home away from home. It has everything you need to enjoy a comfortable, relaxing stay. The location is peaceful and beautiful, and it is perfect as a base for taking day trips of your choice. We were there for 2 weeks and truly hated to leave. We were lucky enough to see the pine martens on several evenings, too! Lovely, lovely home.

Sue Beale
Reviewed Glenara on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Glenara

We had a fantastic week staying at Glenara which is a warm, comfortable, well positioned cottage down a tiny lane, opposite the top of the locks. The front room has an open fire and overlooks the lane towards the locks. The back room has a ceiling to floor window which made the room feel very light, with an amazing elevated view of the well-kept big garden, trees and the river. Both rooms have a TV. Well equipped kitchen and easy to use cooker and microwave. The main bedroom is downstairs, with single bedroom upstairs. Very comfortable double bed. We absolutely loved Glenara which was perfectly located away from any traffic but has everything a short walk away. Fort Augustus is a bustling little place with good pubs, chip shop, gift shops and lots of boats to watch as they travel through the locks into Loch Ness which is a 10 minute walk away. The view of Loch Ness as you're walking towards it from the bridge in Fort Augustus is stunning. The owner Rob was very friendly too, he met us on arrival and showed us around which after a very long car journey, was appreciated. We were also lucky with the weather - sunshine every day!

Jane Parfitt
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

An excellent place to stay. definitely in the wilderness but not too remote. we could see the stars at night and loved watching the light from the Stoer lighthouse swing round in the distance. a stunning location in Assynt and a perfect base to come back to after active days walking the mountains and sea cliffs, beaches, lochs and woodlands nearby. it was beautifully decorated and well equipped and had a log burner too. we particularly loved cooking with the Rayburn, never done this before but it cooked things so much better than with a conventional cooker. we can thoroughly recommend it on every level.

Ishbel Orrh
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

What a week we had at Stoer Lodge! All the family gathered for a rare get together and were thrilled when we saw our home for the week, so comfortable and welcoming, with every possible need supplied for our stay. Huge sitting room, with large table for family meals and a log burner to gather round at night. However, hardly required, as we chose possibly the best week in Assynt this summer. Wall to wall blue skies, with the temperature climbing to 23 degrees at one point. And the lodge was a perfect base for all the beautiful beaches, walks and Munro bagging the family enjoyed. Will be back!

Fred & Shirley Patterson
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Plodda Falls Cottage is set in a lovely location lots of birds and wildlife ,the cottage has everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. The owner Jenny is lovely and nothing is a bother. My wife and I certainly enjoyed our stay and we will return again. Thanks again Jenny for an enjoyable stay.

Gwen & Ray
Reviewed Askival on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Askival

Fantastic family house in a wonderful setting. Amazing views from every window, not many places where you can see a pod of dolphins from your bedroom window! Lovely walks straight from the house, some quite boggy so take your wellies. The place could do with a bit of TLC, but overall it is a truly wonderful, comfortable home. Worth going just for the views, day and night (the stars), and the chance of seeing lots of wildlife (seal and otter in the bay too!). Already planning to book for next year, only wish there was a discount for couples who only use one of the three big bedrooms!

Cath McGhee
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

A very well equipped house in a brilliant spot. There is so much to see and do in the area one week was really not long enough.

Cath McGhee
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

A roomy house with a wonderful view in a superb location. We saw sea eagles most days and if like us you go to Skye regularly, so are not doing the Skye tour, there are so many local walks to do - you don't need to get into your car much after the long journey to get there.

Gillian Thompson
Reviewed Sealight on 21/09/2015
And awarded it

Sealight

Lovely house, very well appointed and perfectly situated overlooking loch sunart. Lots of lovely walks nearby and easy access to Mull. We had Pine Martens on the decking every night! Great sightings, highly recommend.

Mr I Sim
Reviewed An Airidh on 21/09/2015
And awarded it

An Airidh

We had an excellent 2 weeks in this well equipped, comfortable cottage. The standard of this accommodation is exceptionally high. The cottage is well situated with stunning views. If it's not 5 star rating, it should be!

Liz Yule
Reviewed Solas on 21/09/2015
And awarded it

Solas

Graham Venning
Reviewed Solas on 19/09/2015
And awarded it

Solas

Sheila Capewell
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 18/09/2015
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We loved the cottage. You can't beat the location. My grandparents lived on Shore Street just four houses from Bayside so for me it was like reliving my childhood except the road is now much busier than 35 years ago. The road would be a problem with young kids. The cottage was warm and cosy and had everything we needed including a highchair and cot for our one year old grandson. The welcome tray of tea and biscuits and a bottle of wine in the fridge are a lovely touch. The deck on the shore is great. We had fabulous weather so we sat out on it eating and drinking. Great meals at the Applecross Inn and the Walled Garden as always. We'll be back.

Austin
Reviewed The Granary on 18/09/2015
And awarded it

The Granary

Very nice place to stay - comfortable, quiet, well-equipped, and within walking distance of the village. Highly recommended.

James H
Reviewed Rhundunan on 17/09/2015
And awarded it

Rhundunan

One word: Superb. Excellent in every way.