Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 481 to 500 of 2523

Connie Wallace
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 09/09/2015
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

The cottage was exactly as described in the description and a few reviewers pointed out other aspects of the cottage, i.e. it is 0.4 mile off the paved road down a somewhat potholed gravel driveway, but we managed it just fine in a sedan. The seclusion is very much a part of the cottage's charm. The water is somewhat "peaty" so if that offends you, take bottled water to drink. The cottage is in a wonderful setting and there are several hiking & biking destinations that start right there at the front door. It was very comfortable and cozy and a fire in the wood stove in the sitting room was very nice at night.

Pam & Bob Kent
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Bayside Cottage on the Applecross Peninsula is a wonderful little cottage. All you could need and the kitchen has everything you would need in a kitchen. Even the dogs felt welcome with a 'Boneo' each and water bowl. The beach is too rocky for your dog in front of the cottage but only 4 miles away is the best beach any dog would love . For me personally the lounge furniture is not very comfortable though is in keeping with the cottage .

Reviewed Holly Cottage on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Holly Cottage

Nice cottage, very clean and tidy. Warm welcome from the owner. Equipement & furniture are of quality, everything look as new. Very well situated. We spent a nice week there, touring in Northern Highland.

Reviewed Macrae Croft on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Macrae Croft

Lovely house with spectacular views and pet-friendly. Had some great walks - despite the weather. Would definitely recommend!

Reviewed Upper Folds on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Upper Folds

What a wonderful find!! Beautiful cottage in the most peaceful and stunning setting.All of the small gestures on arrival like the milk and wine, the fire ready to light and the heating on made us feel very welcome, our dogs had a great time in the garden and we now feel recharged and rested after a few days....will definitely be back, we couldn't have asked for more

Gill & John
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

A fabulous house in a fabulous location.

Helen M Bale
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

Oak Cottage is a marvellous holiday cottage with everything suppied. Comfortable and warm with lovely views and wildlife. We would recommend it to all holiday makers wishing to have a lovely holiday in Scotland.....we shall return!

Karen, David, Jessica (5) & Jack The Cocker Spanie
Reviewed South Lodge on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

South Lodge

South Lodge is in a beautiful location, if a little out of the way but that is what attracted us to it. There is everything you need in the cottage and it was a fantastic base to come back to after a days exploring. There are a few walks from the doorstep, one to a beautiful beach which we had all to ourselves for the day. The cottage wasn't immaculately clean when we arrived - we ended up having to push the hoover round, but the bedding and towels were spotless. The grass had been cut and strimmed the day we arrived which looked pretty but the grass ended up being walked into the cottage and ended up everywhere! We had an issue with the smoke / CO2 alarm but this was quickly resolved with an email to the owners and a new one was delivered the following day, along with a bird table for the garden - a brilliant addition! On the whole, the cottage is lovely, comfortable and was more than adequate for what we needed - a brilliant week was had by all! We were even blessed with Scottish sunshine for the majority of the week!!

Bron & Jenn
Reviewed Don Cottage on 07/09/2015
And awarded it

Don Cottage

We really enjoyed our stay at Don Cottage. The location was superb, the house comfortable and the gifts on arrival were really appreciated. Thank you.

Kim & John Winter
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 06/09/2015
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

What can we say about Marnie's Croft - it really was an amazing place to stay! We stayed as a family of four with our dog, the views over Loch Ness and Urqhuart Castle are truly amazing and to see the sun rise over the Loch in the mornings is truly memorable. The croft is extremely clean, and well maintained, the kitchen has a very good supply of utensils and we were glad to have a washing machine and tumble dryer to use as well. Heating was night storage heaters and we also used the wood burner with lots of wood and an axe supplied! The bedrooms are comfortable and it was lovely to have two bathrooms.We spent a wonderful week here and explored all of the Highlands - we would thoroughly recommend Marnie's Croft to anyone looking to stay somewhere truly special with beautiful gardens and we even saw the deer! Would love to come again.

Christian & Pascale, France
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 06/09/2015
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

We had a very pleasant stay in Beech Lodge. The cottage is very comfortable and includes everything we need ! It is very quiet and the landscape is beautiful. The owner is very friendly ! Scotland and Beech Lodge are fantastic !

Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 8 - Robertson - Abbey on 04/09/2015
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 8 - Robertson - Abbey

I visited this cottage and stayed there for 3 nights with my friend and family. It was really an wonderful experience and I loved every moment of the stay. The cottage was clean and tidy. Kitchen was very good and well equipped. The swimming pool was awesome. Bathrooms and bedrooms were very also clean and linens /towels were fresh and nice. Cottage was fantastically located near Loch Ness and the stream behind the cottage was pleasure to watch. I wish to visit the cottage again and will recommend all to go there.

Richard Flyde
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 03/09/2015
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

We had a fantastic stay at The Coltsfoots and were made to feel immediately welcome on our arrival - the wine and shortbread was greatly appreciated! The location is fantastic for exploring the Highlands and we certainly made the most of the sunshine during the first days of our visit, even squeezing in a barbecue using the facilities provided. The cabin has everything you need, including a wood burning fire which we used towards the end of our stay as the nights grew a little colder. Everything in the cabin is well apportioned; the bedrooms are large and comfortable with excellent showering facilities. The living area has comfy sofas and we had plenty of choice of DVDs to keep the kids happy in the evenings. The kids loved the outdoor area, playing football, cricket and fishing in the stream. We couldn't have wished for a better location - the village is only a five minute walk with a couple of nice pubs offering local real ales and food. We would highly recommend to anyone wanting to explore the Highlands. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Reviewed Franks on 02/09/2015
And awarded it


Vesna & Andi
Reviewed Callakille on 02/09/2015
And awarded it


Absolutely beautiful cottage. Very stylish interior, everything fits perfectly together and gives you a warm welcome. As you can only hear the wind, the sheep and the ocean. we found it very relaxing! We enjoyed every minute here und plan to come back soon! :-)

Nelly & Derek
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 01/09/2015
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

What a fabulous place, equipped with everything you could need and more. Owner only a phone all away if needed and supplier of best eggs you ever had!!!!!. Drive is a bit steep but it takes you to a nicely secluded spot over looking some fantastic scenery and birds and wild life in the garden so no need to move for entertainment if you did not want to. Would recommend for everybody.

John, Julie & Ben Reay
Reviewed The Orchids on 01/09/2015
And awarded it

The Orchids

The Orchids is a beautiful cottage set in an idyllic location. The cottage is spacious and comfortable with a well equipped kitchen containing modern appliances and high quality equipment. Overlooking Loch Dunvegan and only a short walk from the jetty, the cottage enjoys outstanding views of Dunvegan Castle and the Cuillin mountains in the distance. An ideal location to relax and unwind from the stresses of life, yet close to Dunevgan which has an array of shops and restaurants,

Julie Martin
Reviewed Holly Cottage on 01/09/2015
And awarded it

Holly Cottage

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Holly Cottage, it is clean, spacious, comfortable, beautifully furnished and we received a warm welcome by the lovely owners. We found the area a good base from which to explore the Highlands and would recommend Holly Cottage to friends and family.

Sue Robinson
Reviewed Kimberley House on 01/09/2015
And awarded it

Kimberley House

Wonderful accommodation. We have been visiting Findhorn for many years and stayed in many holiday lets - this is the best by miles . We have already rebooked for 2 weeks next year. Many thanks to Loraine for bring the perfect host.

Steve & Heather Lawrence (Kent)
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 01/09/2015
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

A fantastic place to get away from it all and a good central base to see most of the Highlands. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you would expect from your own home comforts. It is is very well presented, clean and very warm if you choose to light the log fire. If you are planning to eat in, then the nearest large supermarket is in Fort William so this needs to be taken into consideration. Fort Augustus has a reasonable Londis store and a very good Butchers and chip shop. The surrounding pubs offer a wide range of food and drink to accommodate everyone's taste. I would highly recommend the cottage to anyone who wishes to have a relaxing, get away from it all holiday. A return visit is being planned