Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 501 to 520 of 2459


Christine Horton
Reviewed Whitestone on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Whitestone

Whitestone is a very comfortable house with everything you need for a nice relaxed holiday. Lovely well equipped kitchen/dining room, cosy sitting room with wood/coal burning stove, T.V. etc., comfortable settees. We bought coal and kindling wood and lit a fire every evening, weather was dry but cool. Modern bathroom with shower over bath. Beds comfortable. Outside is a small garden and sunny court yard, a pine marten came visiting one evening. We enjoyed the holiday and visited nearby castles, also RSPB reserve at Loch Garten, saw the ospreys. Ballindalloch castle just up the road was lovely, beautiful house and gardens and river walk. Would recommend Whitestone.

Julie O
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

The cottage was very comfortable and had everything we needed -apart from a pair of scissors in the kitchen. Although it was generally clean it could do with a repaint & the bathroom could do with updating. Otherwise we had a lovely stay.

Connie
Reviewed Jura on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Jura

Charming cottage, friendly neighbours and stunning views, but the roads are not for the faint-hearted. If you like it remote and are a fearless driver, this is a great place to stay.

WILLIAM WATTERS
Reviewed Balmachree on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Balmachree

The accommodation at Balmachree, Whitebridge was an excellent choice for visiting the Loch Ness area, near to Foyers and Fort Augustus, the house was a large 4 double bedroom property and suitable for our three generational family holiday and our four legged friends (3) two large and one small and can highly recommend this cottage to anyone wishing a holiday in "the wilderness" of the Highlands of Scotland.

The MacDonald Clan
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

Can't recommend this location and indeed this apartment highly enough!! We arrived in the afternoon, parking couldn't have been close enough and we were given a friendly guided tour of the site before being shown up to the apartment. The apartment itself was immaculate, light and airy with great views across the grounds to the hills. There were plenty of board games for us to play with, well equipped kitchen, even wine, milk, biscuits and tea and coffee ready for us to use! The grounds and other facilities are amazing - but book in advance for the pool - and the billiard room was stunning. We couldn't have stayed anywhere better and all agree that this was our best holiday ever! Even managed a trip to Skye, easily within a day's drive. So thank you for a wonderful apartment, and to anyone else, don't hesitate to book!

Steven Johnstone
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 09/08/2015
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We had a lovely week in a beautiful, peaceful location. The cottage had everything we needed for a comfortable and relaxing stay. It is extremely dog friendly with our dog, Harris, needing a rest when we got home from all the terrific walks we enjoyed right from the doorstep, Harris loved snoozing in front of the log burner in the afternoon after a long morning walk and so did we! The garden is great for dogs and would be fantastic for children too. There were lots of things to do in the local area and slightly further afield especially if you like wildlife and the outdoors. Jenny was a great hostess, ensuring we were settled in well and was very generous with her local knowledge of the estate which enhanced our stay. We will be recommending the cottage to our friends and family and will be back in the future.

Stuart Robinson
Reviewed Coach House on 09/08/2015
And awarded it

Coach House

Jackie Warren
Reviewed Sealight on 06/08/2015
And awarded it

Sealight

Just........WOW. A FABULOUS holiday home, with all the trappings you could POSSIBLY want for a luxurious stay in a peaceful and beautiful area of Scotland. Kitchen had just about everything imaginable (AND some!), living areas were to die for (my favourite 'bit' was the sun room; my other half just loved the reading area on the mezzanine) and the beds were comfy and warm ( a little TOO warm, we found....... beautifully luxurious duvets!). This would NOT be the place for anyone seeking 'nightlife' - but it was perfect for us as a 50-something couple, looking to 'get away from it all' and treat ourselves to a little luxury. LOADS of room for parking car(s); lockable area for bikes; decking area across the full width of the back of the house, overlooking the loch and hills on the far side. I literally can't find anything to fault (unless there's a miracle cure for midges.......they DID mean that it was tricky to have windows open or sit outside in the evening - but we accepted this would be a problem in deciding to book here in the first place!) Thank you to the owners for sharing their holiday home with us - we had a wonderful holiday and would LOVE to come back! (LOADS of pics taken - but no facility to upload them here)

Ali & Alan Willis
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 23/07/2015
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Had a wonderful week in the cottage. Its spotlessly clean & comfortable. Views spectacular. Bird table had lots of visitors and fat balls were "stolen" each night we suppose by the pine martens. We did some low level walks and hubby did 3 munro's. Also biked the "road to nowhere", views awesome! Audrey was amazing and went out of her way to make our stay lovely. I even had a glass of bubbly at her cottage, what a lovely lady! Note:Be sure to buy some "Smidge the midge" as midge's are nasty!

Shelley Hudson
Reviewed Franks on 22/07/2015
And awarded it

Franks

Mrs Hazel Wright
Reviewed Franks on 21/07/2015
And awarded it

Franks

Mark Jackson Duxbury
Reviewed Laracks on 20/07/2015
And awarded it

Laracks

Samantha Brown
Reviewed Glen View on 19/07/2015
And awarded it

Glen View

Steve Baker
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 19/07/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Just returned from a wonderful week at Seascape. We were met on arrival by the owners who were very helpful. The cottage was lovely, clean, and had everything we could think of - particularly for my nonagenarian mother. Wonderful view across to Northern Ireland with ferries passing at regular intervals! Highly recommended.

Bell
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 12/07/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

An excellent cottage, very well appointed ,set in quiet countryside with stunning coastal views. Very helpful, discreet hosts. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Carol Mulraney
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 11/07/2015
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Just back from a wonderful week at Cullochy Lock. The cottage was lovely, clean, and had everything we could think of (apart from binoculars - take a pair!). The rooms were clean and all was in good repair. The lock keeper and the locals were friendly, and always happy to have a wee blether. The local area is very interesting and there is lots to do for all ages. My kids spent a lot of time getting wet!

Craig Backham
Reviewed Giusaichean on 30/06/2015
And awarded it

Giusaichean

What can be said that previous reviewers haven't already written? A totally relaxing getaway in the peaceful environment that is south Loch Ness. Walking trails, nature and plenty of opportunity to unwind and appreciate your surroundings. Giusaichean is well appointed and ideally suited to holidays in such surrounding's. Views from the cathedral window on the local wildlife can easily absorb, and if you are as lucky as we were in seeing the pine marten every day there is an added excitement

Ian & Anna Gillespie
Reviewed Mealishal on 27/06/2015
And awarded it

Mealishal

Elizabeth & George
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 24/06/2015
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

The comfort of Cluny Croft was particularly welcome as we arrived on a chilly wet afternoon. The log fire and cosy sofas were well used during a week of uncertain weather. The spacious and well-equipped kitchen, like the living room, has good views over the garden to the Spey valley. Wildlife watching with breakfast! The location allows for longer expeditions into the Cairngorms, but also many enjoyable walks in the lower glens. A cottage we'll return to.

Trish
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 20/06/2015
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

We stayed here in early June and were given a very warm welcome by Donnie who greeted us with homemade scones and jam - a lovely treat! There are insufficient superlatives for this cottage -it was spotlessly clean, very well-furnished, fully equipped and every little detail was catered for, which helped in making it a very relaxing holiday. Beech Lodge is privately positioned with wonderful views and in an excellent location for exploring the Highlands in all directions. Don't wait, book now!