Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 681 to 700 of 2459


S Winst
Reviewed Rowan Lodge - Roshven on 31/08/2014
And awarded it

Rowan Lodge - Roshven

The cottage itself is just lovely. It is, however, not a WILDERNESS cottage as there are several other houses very close to it. The other buildings are fortunately hidden by the dense woodland, so there is at least the illusion of being far from civilisation. The extensive fencing makes it impossible to just wander around freely. The wider region is wonderful for hiking, kayaking and relaxing. Electricity is charged completely via a coin-meter, so there are extra costs to be taken into account.

Alicia Masia Moreno
Reviewed The Bothy on 31/08/2014
And awarded it

The Bothy

Fantastic place

Wendy & Stewart Bithell, Max The Dog.
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 30/08/2014
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

8th visit to this gem. Extra special as it was our 40th wedding anniversary. I cannot fault Poulary, breathtaking views, abundance of wildlife {deer, pinemarten, badgers, osprey, fox} all regular visitors to the garden. The bird table always a hive of activity. Love the log burner and Stanley. Lovely cottage and enclosed garden. Ideal for walking, fishing or just relaxing. Central for visiting lots of places in highlands. Heaven on earth,so peaceful, LOVE it! back again next year, can't wait :)

Lorraine Perryman
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 30/08/2014
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Despite two weeks of solid rain we had a wonderful stay as a family of four. Setting is tranquil and the most idealic location, also a superb base to explore the Highlands.

Chris & Sue Luxford
Reviewed Charleston on 29/08/2014
And awarded it

Charleston

Anotherwonderful stay at Charleston. The house is tastefully furnished and very clean. We always come home feeling we have had a proper break. The owners go to so much trouble to think of everything you need and then some. Thats why we are returning again and again.

Paul & Sandra Wright
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 29/08/2014
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Simply the best cottage we have ever holidayed. There wasn't a single detail overlooked. In fact I think my kitchen at home is less well equipped. The cottage was in a beautiful location and so peaceful. A short 10 minute walk - downhill- into Fort Augustus. Owners on hand, very helpful but not intrusive. It was perfect for our needs. I am sure we will be back in the future

David Farquhar
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 29/08/2014
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Seascape cottage is a new build and as expected is extremely well appointed and very, very comfortable.It is warm and well equipped. We found it a very good base to explore the Rhins of Galloway and visit the many beautiful gardens and, not to be missed, the Mull of Galloway. I would recommend a trip to Portpatrick which has good restaurants especially the Fernhill Hotel. We were fortunate to have lovely weather. Chas and Jane, the owners, couldn't be more helpful.

Andrew Wright
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey on 29/08/2014
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey

Lovely purpose built holiday accommodation in a perfect location. Very spacious and well equipped. Would recommend The Boathouse and The Bothy for eating out. The swimming pool, games room and outdoor sports facilities keep the kids entertained and there are plenty of pet-friendly local walks. Can't recommend it highly enough - didn't want to leave despite the torrential rain in between the showers.

Teresa Nancarrow
Reviewed Moat House 9 - Abbey on 28/08/2014
And awarded it

Moat House 9 - Abbey

A lovely house with everything we needed. The setting was beautiful, very close to Loch Ness and the Caledonian Canel. The Boathouse restaurant in the grounds served lovely food and had wonderful views over the loch. The abbey is a beautiful building. The swimming pool was very nice and clean. There is plenty to do in the area. We had a fantastic family holiday and would recommend this property

Mark Weaver
Reviewed Whitestone on 27/08/2014
And awarded it

Whitestone

Lovely cottage in a beautiful location

Mrs Lynda Jones
Reviewed The Orchids on 27/08/2014
And awarded it

The Orchids

Panoramic views, very comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen, met the landlady Linda very lovely lady and helpful, one bad point because the wind was blowing across the house from left to right there was an odour from the septic tank. Would love to stay there again much to explore on the Island. No information about "bin" day.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mrs Jones, thank you for your review, unfortunately the gardener had accidently damaged the top of the septic tank and there was a small crack in it, and the owner had not been made aware of this. This has now been replaced so this problem is now fixed.
Sue Wells
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 27/08/2014
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Charming wooden chalet compact but well equipped. Private and lots of visiting birds in the garden plus a pine martin! Dramatic ever changing vistas across the Loch to the hills behind. Good walks. A real retreat for recharging batteries. Our dog also thought it pretty good too!

Michael Beckmann
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 26/08/2014
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We had a fabulous week in Ceol na Mara. The perfect base to get away from all the hassle which is exactly what we needed and explore the beautiful surrounding area. The views from the living room window on to he Loch Kishorn are absolutely stunning. The bungalow itself is well equipped.

Pete Nicholson
Reviewed Jura on 26/08/2014
And awarded it

Jura

Wonderfully isolated and relaxing location A view to die for Comfortable and cosy cottage Loved it

Jim Duncan
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 26/08/2014
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

The cottage is very well furnished and decorated and very comfortable - the aga is great. We had a very pleasant stay. Given its location (which is very remote - it's a long way to anywhere! - over 10 miles to buy a pack of loo rolls!) but without sea views I think it is not great value for money and we probably wouldn't go again. On this occasion we booked late and it was one of the few available - so we were grateful for it. That said - we still very much enjoyed our week there.

Martin Brett
Reviewed The Bothy on 26/08/2014
And awarded it

The Bothy

Had an excellent week. The surroundings are great and the Bothy lovely. The weather was dire but managed to walk in the forest behind the property most days between the rain. Be prepared for midges, they don't seem to bother me but went for the others in our party! The Dog (Newfoundland) loved Jasper and Whisper (resident dogs) as well as the walks in the forest.

Jane Tytheridge
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 26/08/2014
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Lovely cottage. Extremely well equipped. Spacious and lovely and clean.

Steve Bibby
Reviewed Mealishal on 26/08/2014
And awarded it

Mealishal

Ian Speirs
Reviewed Upper Folds on 26/08/2014
And awarded it

Upper Folds

What a wonderful cottage. 5 star accommodation in a fabulous location. Could not have asked for a nicer place, the wildlife was in abundance and we stepped out onto the hills. Will be back.

Ian Widdowson
Reviewed Moat House 1 - Abbey on 26/08/2014
And awarded it

Moat House 1 - Abbey

We picked this because of the flexibility of the rental dates. The pictures on the website do not do it true justice. The accomodation was superb. The staff we met really made us welcome and the whole complex did not want for anything.