Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 781 to 800 of 2523

Michelle Anslow
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 16/08/2014
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We loved Stablemans Lodge. Six of us stayed for a week in August and had the most amazing time. The delightful lodge only added to our experience. Perfectly positioned between the town and countryside, the lodge was homely and was equipped with everything we needed. The owners live next door and were very nice and never intrusive. It comfortably housed 6 of us. We made use of the beautiful wood burner in the evenings. Would recommend this Lodge as an ideal base for exploring the Highlands.

Di Bulter
Reviewed An Airidh on 15/08/2014
And awarded it

An Airidh

This cottage is well situated and nicely appointed with just about everything one could wish for. One can see that a great deal of thought has gone into making this a great place to stay. The rooms are all very comfortable and the views are lovely. The welcome basket was very thoughtful and much appreciated. The only very minor points are rather tepid hot water in the shower (the wet room can be mopped down with the mop provided!) and no tongs in the kitchen for cooking!

Peter Hird & Beth Gwynne
Reviewed Giusaichean on 14/08/2014
And awarded it


We had a blissful break in this charming home. The views, gardens, wildlife, local walks were all wonderful. The house was warm, comfortable and sparkling clean. We couldn't have asked for more.

Viv Wight
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 14/08/2014
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

An excellent property, seemed small from the outside but lots of space inside and an excellent garden for all kinds of games. Very clean, bright and lots of lovely little extras which made the holiday very special.

Reviewed Don Cottage on 11/08/2014
And awarded it

Don Cottage

An excellent location with fantastic views. The cottage is very comfortable with nice furnishings, perfect for exploring Loch Ness.

Craig Civil
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 10/08/2014
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Location, location, location. Taigh Druim is in a fabulous location. Get the good weather and the views to the Cuillins are the best. Get the bad weather and you can be cosy inside and look out of one of three great views which, when we were there, each had different weather going on. Elgol is a lovely place to be.

Ute Viell
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 09/08/2014
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We spent two weeks in this lovely and cosy cottage with our friends and three children. Everything was very fine and clean, we found everything we needed. Especially we loved the excellent equipped kitchen and the log fire, which we lit nearly every evening. And of course the sun room, which invites to sit and look over the canal. We enjoyed the silence in this remote property. Upstairs it is a little bit narrow, but if you are under 1,80 m it is okay. We will come back for sure!

Anne Turton
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 07/08/2014
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

A delightful cottage with everything you could possibly need. Excellent location, perfect for exploring the Trotternish peninsular - the Quiraing is a must. We highly recommend Tigh Nighean Barn.

Pippa McKean
Reviewed Woodpecker Pad on 06/08/2014
And awarded it

Woodpecker Pad

We were actually upgraded from woodpecker pad to nearby Cathies Cottage, presumably because previous guest wanted to extend their stay in woodpecker pad- and I can understand why. It is a truly stunning location. It was nice to have somewhere really live up to the claim of being dog friendly. Ther is and extensive network of beautiful walks within the grounds . Cottage itself was large, tasteful and comfortable. We all had plenty of space to enjoy indoors and out.

Paul Kirkwood
Reviewed Christies on 05/08/2014
And awarded it


The location is brilliant. You are no more than an hour from Durness (for Cape Wrath), Ullapool and the starts of walks up Suilven and Stac Pollaidh and to Sandwood Bay. The cottage is very peaceful, cosy and well appointed with a stunning view over the bay and village from the garden. Just a desperate pity there's no seat from which to sit and enjoy it! Odd that there was no visitors' book either. Soft, comfortable beds and friendly neighbour.

Martyn West
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 03/08/2014
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Arrive via a little used coastal road to a great cottage in a great location, just a few steps from the sea. Very well equipped with everything you'd need. The weather on Skye was outstanding which certainly helped but, good weather or bad, this is a lovely place. We saw lots of wildlife from the cottage - Red Deer, Buzzards, Otters, Seals etc. The only small downside was the settee - not very comfortable. Overall though, a great place

Brigitte Müller
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 03/08/2014
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

The 5 of us spent 2 beautiful weeks in a house with stunning view on the sea and the small islands just off the coast. The house itself very comfortable and well equipped with room and space for good an bad weather - in July 2014 just 2 or 3 days of fog, rain and wind to make the difference to the days of mediterranean climate! Marvellous hikes in the surroudings possible or just relax on the terrace, reading a good book and letting your eye wander over the water or a boat leaving or coming in.

Reviewed Don Cottage on 02/08/2014
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Good well equipped clean cottage in a good central area. Lovely view from front but whole cottage was rather dark - would benefit greatly from shrub clearing/tree lopping!

Regina & Andreas Cama
Reviewed Kenaclacher Steading on 01/08/2014
And awarded it

Kenaclacher Steading

Julia Ranger
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 01/08/2014
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

Katies cottage is fantastic, beautifully decorated throughout,very clean, tidy and everything you could need and may have forgotten supplied ie tin foil, cooking oil, very thoughtfull. Plenty of wonderfull places to visit in the area, stunning views, great local shop(alladins cave) an abundance of tea and craft shops...we loved it, would happily return.

Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 01/08/2014
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

A fantastic cottage with amazing sea views. Spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished with all home comforts, great for kids and dogs with a small beach 2 mins walk away. We saw lots of local wildlife including a group of seals just off the beach! Lovely owners who took great care of us; they were very helpful with great knowledge of the area. Loads of interesting places to visit locally, all within a short drive. A lovely place for a very relaxing holiday - we would highly recommend it.

Yvonne Wattam
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 01/08/2014
And awarded it
Reviewed Aros nan Aisling on 31/07/2014
And awarded it

Aros nan Aisling

We had a lovely week here.....The house was very well furnished and comfortable with beautiful views out to sea. Lots of scenic walks near the house down to the coastline and up to Stoer Lighthouse. There was lots to do for all ages including sea kayaking, visiting Handa Island to see the Puffins, enjoying some excellent seafood in local restaurants and just exploring the stunning coastline extending up to Durness, with all the islands, inlets and lochs.

Marcel & Family From Switzerland
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 31/07/2014
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Beautiful house, great and quiet location. It was a perfect start into our holidays to get away from everydays stress. Well the nice weather we enjoyed during the whole week was probably helping out a bit here. Who said it always rains in Scotland?

Craig & Mel
Reviewed The Bothy on 31/07/2014
And awarded it

The Bothy

Just returned home from a week in this delightful cottage and have to say we had a wonderful time, it is set in beautiful gardens (which the dog loved). The kitchen has every utensil you could think of, the beds are large and so so comfortable, such a peaceful and relaxing week a great place to stay