Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 81 to 100 of 2523


Judith Gledhill
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 04/10/2016
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Great house, rural location but close enough to Portree for shops etc, comfortably warm and very well equipped. Would stay again.

Dorothy
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 04/10/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We've stayed at Bayside Cottage six times now, in all seasons. It's cosy, comfortable and exceptionally well-equipped, not that we cook, as the Applecross Inn just along the street, and the Potting Shed in the Walled Garden serve wonderful locally sourced food. On a clear day the views across to Raasay and Skye are magical, and there are some lovely walks on the peninsula, ranging from short strolls to more strenuous hikes. Or you can just sit in the porch or on the little terrace and watch the tide!

Catherine
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 04/10/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

A fantastic property that is extremely comfortable and well-equipped. It is perfectly situated to explore around Loch Ness. Our dogs and us had a great holiday. We would love to go back again. The little extras left by our hosts made us feel welcomed.

Rachel Browning
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 04/10/2016
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

Probably the best house we have stayed in - well equipped, clean and everything you could need. There was even a home-made cake on arrival! The scenery is beautiful, especially Glen Affric and Glen Cannich, where we enjoyed several walks. There is plenty of wildlife in the area - red squirrels at Tomich, lots of birds in the garden including a woodpecker, and herons on the water in front of the cottage. A badger visited the garden on several nights, although we only saw the mess it left behind. At night with the clear sky we could see the milky way above the house and we even saw shooting stars. A lovely quiet location which we would recommend to anyone.

Malcolm Carrington
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 04/10/2016
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

Excellent Log Cabin with all the facilities you need for a great holiday. Ideally situated for easy access to all the North of Scotland has to offer. Very friendly owners who took time to welcome us and talk to us during our week. Would love to stay there again!!

Emma Hickey
Reviewed Cuilfail on 04/10/2016
And awarded it

Cuilfail

This was a fantastic property in a beautiful location. The cottage was very well kept in plenty of garden and a gated drive. There were some lovely places to walk the dogs and close to the Whitebridge hotel. A bit of a hilly drive from Fort Augustus (35 mins) and about (45 mins) to Inverness. Local village of Foyers was beautiful and just a 3 mile walk from the cottage. Waterfalls and coffee shop well worth a visit. Will definitely be back

JM Kay
Reviewed Kimberley House on 04/10/2016
And awarded it

Kimberley House

Excellent apartment with stunning views of Findhorn Bay.Tastefully decorated to a very high standard and at the same time you were able to relax and soak up all that Findhorn is. Definitely will return.

Nancy Little
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 04/10/2016
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

Our recent break at Taffs Barn was made all the more pleasurable by the how it was presented. It was one of the best we have stayed in. Clean, comfortable, everything you required, great views & the welcome pack of scones teabags milk jam & cream was greatly appreciated. We have already booked for next year & can,t wait to return, hopefully with better weather, but nothing deterred us from venturing out .

David & Linda Hudson
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 04/10/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Remote but not too remote, placed in a beautiful setting - picture postcard scenes. This homely cottage was ideal for us with a large lounge, well equipped kitchen, bathroom and two bedrooms - with an outside area to sit when the weather is fine. Surrounded by wonderful Scottish countryside the cottage is idea for trips to Applecross, Lake Carron - and the local fish restaurant and cafe renowned for its fresh seafood. We thoroughly enjoyed living there.

Richard Flyde
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 03/10/2016
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We had a fantastic stay at Fersit Log Cottage, it has lovely peaceful surroundings and is great for local walks. The local wildlife often came to visit us whilst we were there; the kids loved watching the deer in the garden whilst they had their breakfast. The cottage has everything you need for a relaxing stay, even the weather was good whilst we were there which meant BBQs and lots of games with the kids in the garden. Our boys were devastated to leave the cottage on our last morning as they had such a wonderful stay and didn't want to go home!

Robin S
Reviewed Solas on 03/10/2016
And awarded it

Solas

Mr & Mrs Gould
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 02/10/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Great place to relax and enjoy the solitude. Really peaceful and fantastic views to the sea and even across to Ireland. Wildlife is in abundance ( watch the seals from the lounge window ) and fishing is just a walk down the field or a short car ride to Loch Ryan. Dogs welcome and plenty of space for them to have a good walk and many walks available for the humans. The accommodation itself was first class, everything you need plus clean and tidy. Hosts Jane and Chav were very welcoming and so obliging.

David Mason
Reviewed South Lodge on 30/09/2016
And awarded it

South Lodge

3rd time booking through Wilderness Cottages and every time was an excellent experience. South lodge is a very comfortable and we'll equipped cottage. Only downside is the 8 mile single track road leading to and from it. There is plenty to do, including ferry trips to Islet and Jura. Perfect too if you have dogs as the garden is large and secure. We really enjoyed our 7 night stay at south lodge.

Francis Leach, & 4 Others &Batney.
Reviewed Moll House on 30/09/2016
And awarded it

Moll House

I can say that all of us had a really enjoyable time at Moll House. The accomadatation was really excellent, well equipped and warm. No need for fire etc, despite weather not being warm. It was at times wet and windy, but even this merely made the views across the lock more interesting. Lots of interesting wild life to be seen nearby and further afield. 50 years since last I was on Skye and despite more houses and people, the island retains its charm and beauty. Can recommend Moll house and the Island to any one looking for interesting place to visit. Frank Leach.

James Colin Ashton
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 3 - Riverside - Abbey on 30/09/2016
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 3 - Riverside - Abbey

The cottage was excellent in most respects. However it needs a wardrobe in the downstairs bedroom as there is no other hanging space. Also we had no broadband all week and for anyone relying on this it could be a problem. There were one or two other minor irritations but these did not spoil the overall experience.

Jane Parfitt
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 30/09/2016
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

A perfect place to stay, off the beaten track and within an area of stunning beauty and interest. Great for walkers and lovers of wildlife and the outdoors. The cottage is well equipped and warm, in fact this is the second time we've stayed here and hope to return next year. it has a Rayburn- we are converted!

Bryan Duchart
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 30/09/2016
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

What an absolute delight. Everything needed was there and was first class. Clean, comfortable, homely, cosy, dog friendly - we will be back for sure.

Jean Studd
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

What a lovely little cottage this is really close to the seaside which, whatever the weather, is beautiful and rugged. The cottage was very welcoming and warm as were the hosts. The wheelchair accessiblity in the cottage was very good although the shower not particularly built for a wheelchair. Our dogs were made most welcome and we were able to park our little trailer right outside the house which doubled up as a dog kennel (for our muddy alsation) when we weren't using it to transport my husbands electric scooter around. The lanes and local tracks were great for exploring by mobility scooter and we could even get it on to the beach - great!

Robert
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Cottage is in a brilliant location, with walks from the front door, although could do with more information about walks from the cottage ( rights to roam). Twin beds in main bedroom very comfortable. Could do with a visitors book to learn what others have done, places they found to walk, shop, eat etc, and places to avoid. One week not enough to do the things we wanted. Hope to return again one day.

Dorothy
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

This was the sixth time we've stayed here, so we know and love it well. Great location on the shore, I could (and do) happily pass the time sitting in the little porch reading and watching the tides. Lovely walks from the cottage, which is cosy and comfortable. But Applecross is getting busier, and losing some of it's charm.