Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 901 to 920 of 2523

Dr A. Gallego
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 15/04/2014
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

We spent a week in the Owl Cottage in Fort Augustus and it was very pleasant. It is a nice wee cottage with all we needed, in a quiet but central location in the village, and clean and in nice condition. The weather was quite variable (but there is nothing you can do about it!) but didn't get in the way of what we wanted to do. One (minor) negative point: the hot water tank is very small (20 l) so hot water usage needs to be planned in advance.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Dr Gallego, thank you for your email and feedback. We are unsure as to the comment about the hot water tank, the boiler is an oil-fired combination type and heats water instantaneously. We can only assume that the water was ran so slowly and hot, that the anti-scald thermostat operated. In theory, the hot water would flow in the cottage until the entire 12,000 litre fuel oil tank ran out.
Judy & Steve
Reviewed Tigh A Chreagan on 15/04/2014
And awarded it

Tigh A Chreagan

Jane Hogg
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 8 - Robertson - Abbey on 14/04/2014
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 8 - Robertson - Abbey

We had a wonderful time. As soon as we arrived we had someone take us to our lodge and show us all the workings. Lodge was very well placed, right on the river and so close to all amenities. The Abbey was beautiful but we didn't have time to spend there. We had our dog and went lots of walks. The Boathouse restuarant served nice food but we thought the Mediterranean feel wasn't quite what one would want on the banks of Loch Ness! Our cottage was perfect, extremely comfortable, cosy, loved it

Stephanie Mcbride
Reviewed Cuilfail on 14/04/2014
And awarded it


Great cottage nice furnishings and very clean and tidy! We were happy to receive a welcome gift of shortbread and wine on arrival and found the location perfect for a quiet break with lovely walks in the doorstep and easy access to the rest of the area by car. Our only issue was the fencing was minimal and we were unable to leave our dogs in the garden due to other dogs on the property next door. However we would definitely return lovely cottage and gorgeous surroundings

Peter Benson
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 02/04/2014
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Wonderful! At the top of Skye, looking out over Harris & Lewis, if it's peace & quiet you are after, this is the cottage for you. Located some 30m back from the road, and with very little passing traffic, the cottage benefits from fantastic views, & wonderful sunsets. The cottage was surrounded by sheep. Just across the road is a pebble beach, which I'm sure is great in summer. The cottage is warm, comfortable and well equipped. The Aga was a doodle to use. We will be back

Tim Callaghan
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 01/04/2014
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Myself and five friends spent a week here and had a fantastic time. The house is very well furnished with stunning views from nearly every window. It's location is great as well as there as its situation up the hill means a number of walks begin nearby, while Drumnadrochit is a short walk away down the hill. If you come by car and manage to do a big food shop on your way up or in Inverness this is absolutely the most perfect place to relax and get away from it all.

Reviewed Fhaireag on 01/04/2014
And awarded it


Fhaireag is, without doubt, the best dog-friendly holiday accommodation we have ever stayed in. We first visited in October 2013, returned in January and have rebooked already for May and October this year. Location, equipment, comfort - all are excellent. Only one thing lets it down for me personally - the beds, particularly the single beds. If the beds were changed/updated, Fhaireag would be perfection itself.

CJ & Debbie Warren
Reviewed The Granary on 01/04/2014
And awarded it

The Granary

Second stay at The Granary. March weather was a bit cool, but this cottage is warm and comfortable. With a long journey from California, the blackout shades in the bedrooms were most conducive to getting some good sleep. Everything you need is here for a quiet, restful stay.

Mark Griffiths
Reviewed Upper Folds on 30/03/2014
And awarded it

Upper Folds

If you want secluded luxury with beautiful scenery off the beaten track, then Upper Folds is for you. With underfloor heating, wood burning fire and walks straight from the front door, what more could you wish for. Do not book this cottage if you are looking for local shops, pubs and other human company, the only neighbours you will have are sheep , deer, hares, and numerous birds......Fantastic.

Julia Bateman
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 29/03/2014
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

Wonderful. Amazing luxury yet maintained a rustic romantic charm. Highly recommend. Attention to detail and quality throughout.

Gary & Diane Thompson
Reviewed Kinloch Damph Lodge on 29/03/2014
And awarded it

Kinloch Damph Lodge

Had a great week at Kinloch Damph. The area is amazing and the house was very comfortable and well equipped. Look forward to returning soon.

Angela Spangenberg
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 29/03/2014
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Lovley Cottage, nice and friendly owner. And a great view!

Jane Jewsbury
Reviewed Wee Dunollie on 26/03/2014
And awarded it

Wee Dunollie

Reviewed Swallow Byre on 19/03/2014
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

The cottage was great and the owner was really kind and helpful!

Kathy Fraser
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 09/03/2014
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

A really lovely cottage. Well deserving it's STB 4* rating. We visit pet friendly cottages several times a year and this is the best we've been to. Although its decor and furniture are to a very high standard, it still manages to be a relaxed, cosy place with a superbly equipped kitchen and great fenced in garden which Mac our springer loved. Cawdor Tavern very good indeed. We will return and recommend to others.

Kate Clark
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 05/03/2014
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

Had a fabulous week at this gorgeous cute cottage. A very warm welcome with lemon cupcakes, fresh flowers and a chilled bottle of white wine awaiting us. Made use of the gorgeous woodburner and had cosy evenings in, as well as a couple of trips to the Inn at Cawdor for some great food. The two dogs loved the big safe garden, and it was so peaceful and relaxing.

Jonathan Trigg
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 05/03/2014
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

This place is a dream come true. After spending three nights here I simply cannot think of a more perfect place to come to get a way from it all. The location is thrilling - austere and dramatic in the very best way - and the house itself is a gem. I will be returning often - since my need to get away from it all is quite pronounced. The owners are very friendly and sensitive and their excellent taste is evident both in the simplicity of the renovation and the detail of the interior features.

Mark & Jenifer
Reviewed Glenara on 05/03/2014
And awarded it


My Wife and I stayed for a week in late Feb. The cottage is in the small village of Fort Augustus, close to the modern locks and canal, friendly pubs and restaurants are nothing more than a 10 minute walk. The cottage is ideal for two, with only a small room upstairs, the fire was well stocked with coal which made for cosy evenings and the cottage stayed warm even in February! Everything we needed was at hand, Robin the owner was very helpful and the cottage was clean and tidy.

Reviewed Cattle Shed on 04/03/2014
And awarded it

Cattle Shed

We had a lovely three night stay in the Cattle Shed and would highly recommend it. Amazing location with great views (particularly the sunrises). The cottage is cosy and well equipped with everything you need. Thanks for a great stay!

Shona Anderson
Reviewed Upper Folds on 03/03/2014
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We returned for our second visit to Upperfolds. It truly is a 5+ star cottage. The location is stunning, a tranquil haven away from the fast paced life we lead, a place to recharge your batteries. Well done Richard and Leigh Anne your high standards of service and your eye to detail ensure your customers are made to feel welcome in a beautiful home from home, so much so we have already booked our third visit.