Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 941 to 960 of 2523

Marina Scott
Reviewed Moll House on 14/01/2014
And awarded it

Moll House

Excellent, warm cosy and very well equipped. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying in this property

Reviewed Glenara on 13/01/2014
And awarded it


The cottage is really spacious, feels very homely the coal fire was well received and used.Having the canal at the front of the property and the river at the bottom of the rear garden makes thisan excellent location. Fort Augustus and the Canal are great for exploring on foot. By car the Moray Firth, Skye Road, Road to Nowhere, Inverness and Fort William are all easily reached. The shower is "fun" but doesn't detract from the overall quality.

Michael Lord
Reviewed Crossroads Cottage on 11/01/2014
And awarded it

Crossroads Cottage

This cottage is extremely well equipped and comfortable for two people. The bed is the most comfortable one we have had at many other cottages we have stayed in in both the UK and France. The cosy log burning fire is a delight in winter and the underfloor heating keeps the whole house comfortably warm. The position of the cottage is perfect with the pub/bistro only 100m away. We had an idyllic holiday over the new year of 2013/14.

D Garrison
Reviewed An Acail on 09/01/2014
And awarded it

An Acail

Nigel Voaden
Reviewed Silver Birch Lodge on 09/01/2014
And awarded it

Silver Birch Lodge

We had an excellent stay at Silver Birch Lodge for Hogmanay 2013-2014. The lodge is well appointed with lovely views and is wonderfully secluded without being too remote. Inside it is beautifully clean and we especially enjoyed the finishing touches of solid fuel burner, surround sound throughout and whirlpool bath. The owners had decorated the lodge for Christmas and thoughtfully left a few welcoming gifts for us. We loved our stay and would seriously consider returning in the future.

Reviewed Timber House on 07/01/2014
And awarded it

Timber House

The reviews we read before booking are totally true! A most fabulous bolt hole in a truly beautiful location. Timberhouse is very well equiped; the kitchen inventory was particularly impressive. With no restaurants open it was great to have everything needed to cook a festive feast. The weather threw it's worst at us; a little worrying to see the floor to ceiling glass bowing in the wind!! But Timberhouse kept us warm & snug.

Gail & Bobby Irvine
Reviewed Mealishal on 06/01/2014
And awarded it


Janet E Vickers
Reviewed Upper Folds on 04/01/2014
And awarded it

Upper Folds

I have recently returned from my third visit this year to Upper Folds. What a wonderful place to spend Christmas. On our arrival my husband and I were greeted by a beautifully decorated Christmas tree underneath which we found a gift, kindly left by the owners Richard and Leigh-Anne. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them, which only goes to reinforce my opinion that this property is worth a 5star+. Cannot wait to return again in 2014.

Karen Silcock
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 02/01/2014
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We have just returned after a week in Ceol na Mara. Despite the poor weather we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The facilities are topnotch with the addition of the coal fire in the lounge a real treat. The views from the lounge window are spectacular and it was fascinating watching the waves rolling up on the beach during the gales. Fortunately they did not reach the house! We certainly hope to return during the summer and enjoy the area in better weather.

Lorraine Knight
Reviewed Toberaie on 01/01/2014
And awarded it


Beautiful, cosy cottage in a remote location. Surrounded by wildlife and mountains. It snowed for the first few days of our stay and the landscape transformed into a white wonderland. Close to the Cairngorms for skiing it was a great place for a family to stay. Beds comfy and the fires very welcoming. Would recommend a 4 wheel drive to access the property if snowing in winter. Our Christmas was made special by staying at Toberaie.

Jennifer Anderson
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 31/12/2013
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

We had a warm welcome on arrival from the landlord,who had decorated the house beautifully for Christmas and turned the heating on, it was very welcoming. The house was spotless, spacious, well equipped and in a fantastic location. It didn't take long to feel at home and to wish we had booked an extra week. We would thoroughly recommend this house, which felt more like a luxurious home than a holiday cottage.

Alistair Morris
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 19/12/2013
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Great place to stay and relax. Lovely redevelopment of this barn. Even if the weather is not the best this is the best place to stay and watch it all through the big windows. Well appointed property with everything your need and more

Jeff P.
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 18/12/2013
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

Awesome location and neat as a pin with all the modern conveniences. Located in Kishorn only few minutes drive from Loch Carron. The cottage is extremely peaceful with a great view of the water. I wish I hadn't been so busy with work to have time to enjoy it during daylight hours!

Nigel Hyde
Reviewed Christies on 18/12/2013
And awarded it


This property was really easy to locate, it was in a beautiful area of Scotland, and worth the drive even though it took us 10hrs. It was clean on arrival and the fire was lit immediately and warmed the room up really quickly. The view out was stunning and at night the blackness made the night sky a site to behold. We really wanted to see the northern lights but on this occasion it wasn't to be, may be next time. I would recommend this to anyone who loves peace and quiet because it delivers.

Ellie Downes
Reviewed Wee Dunollie on 03/12/2013
And awarded it

Wee Dunollie

Catriona Black
Reviewed Ness Bank on 03/12/2013
And awarded it

Ness Bank

Graham & Rachel
Reviewed Giusaichean on 02/12/2013
And awarded it


We absolutely loved this cottage - it was very well equipped, very comfortable, and very quiet and peaceful. It was a great base for exploring and walking in the local area. We loved the surrounding scenery. The birds in the garden were plentiful and fascinating. We were lucky with the weather, we were there in early September. It felt like a real home from home, and we hope to return.

Diane Matthams
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 01/12/2013
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Stayed at the house between 13th to 16th Nov. It is a truly wonderful property with just the best view, the pictures don't do it justice. A great location to see the aurora (sadly not this time) and explore the island. The weather is changeable, however, this didn't detract at all from the enjoyment of our stay as the house is warm and cosy. Well equipped and spotlessly clean. We would highly recommend this place and hope to stay again soon.

Richard Flyde
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 27/11/2013
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We had a fantastic week at the Lodge in August. It's a great location to explore the Cairngorms and local area. On our first morning, we took the kids for a walk in the local woods and saw Red deer and Capercaillie within an hour of being out! The lodge has a feel of a remote location but is on the edge of Grantown which has good local shops and a few pubs. We were fortunate to have a couple of nice evenings so were able to relax on the balcony and have BBQs. We will definitely be back!

John Stanier
Reviewed Charleston on 26/11/2013
And awarded it


Our 3rd visit and it gets better and better. New furniture sky tv and now with broadband which worked perfectly on our old laptop. Perfect peace with the best views to be had in scotland even a garage for the car. We recommend this cottage as a 5 star home only problem we have is leaving at the end of our stay. Forgot to mention the welcome pack and the flowers on our arrival first class as was the service from wilderness cottages.