Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2751 to 2523 of 2523


Matt & Family
Reviewed Laracks on 16/09/2007
And awarded it

Laracks

Peter, Karen & Family
Reviewed Laracks on 16/09/2007
And awarded it

Laracks

Sheila White
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 16/09/2007
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

A superb cottage in a superb quiet setting. The cottage was immaculately presented with a log-burning stove ready to light and a lovely welcome pack- and wine chilling in the fridge! We had mixed weather but enjoyed the Jacobite Steam train journey to Mallaig and many varied walks. We saw red deer (a hind) in the garden and several stags nearby. The cottage was very well equipped and beds were very comfortable. We felt able to really ’chill out’ and as we drove home, we were really envious of the next lot of guests moving in !

Rachel
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 05/09/2007
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

we really enjoyed our stay at Bayside Cottage ? it was great being so near the wonderfully welcoming Applecross Inn and the delicious food they served. Going over the pass of the cattle was daunting especially if you meet a camper van at the summit! But we had to get used to it otherwise we wouldn?t have ventured far from the cottage. Not that you needed to ? I?ve lost count of the number of times I?ve said ?wow? (kids got fed up with me for saying this) at the scenery and stunning views. We saw dolphins at nearby Shieldieg, red deer on the mountainse and enjoyed our seal trip from Plockton. The weather was typically Scottish but we did have two glorious days where we fitted in as much as possible. A truly mystical experience in the best scenery the British Isles has to offer, in my humble opinion.

Steve Jones & Family
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 24/08/2007
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

’I must confess, when you draw back the curtains at Maries Croft and admire the stunning views across the loch, you suddenly appreciate the relaxation and calmness your normal ever day life has been craving for!!! My family and I enjoyed a two week stay at the cottage and as there were four adults, three children and the family dog in our party, the cottage offered ample quality space.
Although the feeling of relaxation may slowly diminish over time, our memories of such a stunning location will definitely remain with us’.

Mandy Ashpool
Reviewed Log House on 21/08/2007
And awarded it

Log House

The Log House was without doubt the best self-catering accommodation we have stayed in within the UK. It was very well equipped, comfortable and in the most beautiful of areas. The house itself was like something from a fairytale ! Mr Lee the owner made us feel very welcome.

Neil Constable
Reviewed Homewood on 21/08/2007
And awarded it

Homewood

Deborah, Stew & Family
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 21/08/2007
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

We are now home after a fantastic week at burnside cottage. We are feeling a bit glum and the dogs are sulking,? no more daily beach walks? that they loved so much & the freedom in the garden, we miss the beautiful cottage, it felt just like home, it was perfect, Liz left some wounderful homely touches that made us feel really welcome. The peaceful suroundings were perfect, we visited places every day, their was so much to see and do. We have had a lovely quality family holdiay. Thank you very much.

Jones Family
Reviewed Fairhaven on 11/08/2007
And awarded it

Fairhaven

Merial Munro
Reviewed Gardeners Cottage on 06/08/2007
And awarded it

Gardeners Cottage

Frank, Caroline & Jack
Reviewed Cnoc Eoghainn on 25/07/2007
And awarded it

Cnoc Eoghainn

Hemant Misra
Reviewed Moat House 6 - Abbey on 04/07/2007
And awarded it

Moat House 6 - Abbey

Derek & Diane
Reviewed Homewood on 01/06/2007
And awarded it

Homewood

Shirley & Ray
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 30/05/2007
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Bayside Cottage was warm and welcoming. The owners were very thoughtful and left a complimentary tray, Milk ,Shortbread and Perkin biscuits, Wine and Fresh flowers.
It was very well equipped, comfortable and clean and in a wonderful place. Applecross inn and the Potting shed were excellent places to eat ( Our favourite was the potting shed)
The flower tunnel was a good place for snacks, the Hot Chocolate was especially good!!

There are lots of lovely walks where we were fortunate enough to see Deer, Seals and luckily THREE otters.

We will certainly recommend you, and return to you if we are looking for self catering.

John Haddock & Frank Turner
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 29/05/2007
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Thank you for the use of Ceol na Mara, the whole package was absolutely great the cottage itself was excellent very comfortable and the situation was stunning.
We both enjoyed our walking/cycling expeditions and did three Munros plus Bienn Bhan.I certainly hope to return and will recomend Wilderness Cottages to my friends.

Sharon & Jason Shields
Reviewed Callakille on 29/05/2007
And awarded it

Callakille

Gill Burnett
Reviewed Log House on 26/05/2007
And awarded it

Log House

We have just returned from our week at the Log House, Fort Augustus a real log cabin in a fantastic location with plenty of forest walks on the doorstep. Deer in the ’front garden’ woodpeckers and pine marten in the surrounding forest and a monster in the nearby loch. What more could you ask for?! I highly recommend a stay in this unique cabin.

Phil Bancroft & Jude Lorrain-Smith
Reviewed Fuaran Cottage on 21/05/2007
And awarded it

Fuaran Cottage

Peter Fidler
Reviewed Croc Latt on 20/05/2007
And awarded it

Croc Latt

Sue & Al Sadler
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 13/05/2007
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

I. Weir
Reviewed Cuilfail on 13/05/2007
And awarded it

Cuilfail

We have spent a week trout fishing each year for many years and have not had accomodation which came remotely close to Cuilfail Cottage. The cottage had all we could have wished for and then some. Numerous trout lochs within a few miles (I would recommend Loch Knockie - boat available from Knockie Estate on the lochside). Only downside was the Whitebridge Hotel which we thought was very unwelcoming. We all agreed we would consider returning to Cuilfail Cottage but would give the Whitebridge Hotel a wide berth.

Steve ,Alison, Ben & Sam Wheatcroft
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 09/05/2007
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Our first time here and were enthralled. We wanted a ’get-away-from-it-all’ holiday and could not have wished for more. The scenery in this part of the world almost makes you weep with joy at its rugged beauty. Winding single track roads, brooding mountains and beautiful lochans set amongst some of the oldest rock formations on earth. The view from the dining kitchen window was unsurpassed. The opportunity to sunbathe on desereted beaches in an unusually sunny late April was an unexpected bonus. Memories of the view from the top of Stac Pollaidh in glorious April sunshine will last forever.
We were reluctant to leave and will definitely return!

Chris & Brenda
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 06/05/2007
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Ewart McSkimming
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 03/05/2007
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

If you want a relaxing holiday this is the place to choose!
Beautiful cottage in a quiet area of Fort Augustus. Lots of places to explore, we walked 21 miles in three days!
Highly recommended.

Sue & Steve Allsop
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 03/05/2007
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

We stayed at Hill Cottage in mid April. The weather was unusually mild for spring in Scotland, only rained on one day. The cottage was wonderful, really warm and cosy with everything in it you could possibly need. The location was amazing, peace and quiet was the understatement. The scenery and wildlife were awe-inspiring, some days we saw more deer than people!! Fantastic walks in the area, Faraid Head..Sandwood Bay...Scouriemore..Smoo Cave, to name but a few. On non-walking days we drove down the coast road to Ullapool, and round the entire North Coast. This area of Scotland has to be seen to be believed, it is totally amazing. Don’t take our word for it, go and see!!

The Rooney Family
Reviewed Ballindalloch on 01/05/2007
And awarded it

Ballindalloch

Jean Wade
Reviewed Ballindalloch on 17/04/2007
And awarded it

Ballindalloch

Erminia E Marcello
Reviewed Kilmartin Estate Cottage on 12/04/2007
And awarded it

Kilmartin Estate Cottage

fantastic experience for us and for the kids.
the cottage atmosphere was delicious and the views are great
the kids were staying all the time outside looking for deers , rabbits, foxes etc..
the place and the cottage are gorgious.
thank you

John & Andrea
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 11/04/2007
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Chirs & Iris McDonald
Reviewed Giusaichean on 09/04/2007
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Phil & Annette Janman
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 08/04/2007
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We had a wonderful stay at The Old Smiddy, it was a real relaxing break even though we had the week in March when the snow came down! It was lovely chilling out in the evenings with a bottle of wine in front of the log fire. Excellent base for days out to see so many lovely glens, lochs and all the wildlife. We would thouroughly recommend The Old Smiddy to any couple whether you are on honeymoon or just want to get away and enjoy eachothers company, we did! Thanks Gordon & Corinne at Wilderness Cottages for your brilliant and helpful service and Pat Gardiner for the lovely welcome you gave us. We hope to come and stay again. Phil & Nettz, Nottingham

Tony Cooper
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 04/04/2007
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Wow... we were only there for 5 days although we had it booked for the week. It was so lovely, it was a shame we couldn’t stay the remaining couple of days. We stayed mid March and were the lucky so-and-so’s who got the heavy snow. WONDERFUL. Waking up to find the whole place under a blanket of snow - a walk down to the Loch and throwing snowballs - couldn’t have written the script better myself. The cottage was delightful - 3 double rooms (one twin) for 3 couples, all with en suite, it was perfect for the six of us. The kitchen Aga cooker and Lounge wood burning stove made it so cosy in the cold evenings, perfect with a bottle of wine (or two). Ideal location for access for Inverness to the north, Fort William & Ben Nevis to the south and lots more in-between. The local hotel and pub resturants were all lovely and value for money and we were made to feel welcome just about everywhere. Make sure you try the corkscrew... if you have the nerve. Doing it in a seven-seater was not the easiest drive, but we made it.. much to the amusement of a few local highland coo’s. Loch Ness was lovely and I thoroughly recommend a boat trip from The Clansman Hotel down to Urquart Castle and back. All in all a fantastic few days and one that I would seriously consider doing again. Didn’t see Nessie though... perhaps it was a bit too cold for her!

Mike & Anne
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 02/04/2007
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We have just returned from a week at Bayside cottage Applecross and apart from having wonderful weather it was the one of the best prepared cottages we have ever stayed in , you wanted for absolutely nothing . My parents joined us for part of the week and had never visited scotland before and are complete converts . The village of Applecross is full to the brim of welcoming locals who make you feel as if you have lived there all your lives, Judith at the pub continues to provide wonderful food , the Bealach nam ba is as ever stunning . we will be coming back.

Andrew & Lindsay
Reviewed Homewood on 28/03/2007
And awarded it

Homewood

Barry & Amy
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 12/03/2007
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Grand Designs on a small scale ! Truthfully, we could easily live in the Smiddy, excellent layout and very cosy, everything you could want was provided, even the weather was kind to us in March! A wonderful location to explore the north, Inverness and the surrounding area, with plenty of walks locally and further afield. It was the first time we have used Wilderness Cottages and i have to say the service was second to none. I would have no hesitation in recommending them and the Old Smiddy, many thanks. Barry and Amy North Wales

Jim & Wendy Flynn
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 04/03/2007
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

The Pollard Family
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 01/03/2007
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

a beautiful spacious cottage with stunning views over loch ness, we had some wonderful peaceful walks in the forest behind the croft and a lovely walk down to loch ness, the view of urquat castle at night was amazing thank you the children didnt want to leave

Pam Thompson
Reviewed Hillview Cottage on 24/02/2007
And awarded it

Hillview Cottage

Neil & Trina Smith
Reviewed Hillview Cottage on 21/02/2007
And awarded it

Hillview Cottage

Mark & Tracy Patterson
Reviewed Hillview Cottage on 21/02/2007
And awarded it

Hillview Cottage

Mrs Aslin
Reviewed Log House on 17/02/2007
And awarded it

Log House

We stayed early Feb, Had an excelant holiday. The Log House is like a chololate box lid, something out of a fairy tale... Kids loved staying here, local walks were great, overlooking the Glen. Highly recommended - Will come back.

Susan Parr
Reviewed Lianachan on 13/02/2007
And awarded it

Lianachan

Donna Davies
Reviewed Charleston on 16/01/2007
And awarded it

Charleston

We arrived at Charleston in the dark, and once we had packed away our Tesco shopping (which we had delivered to the cottage) we settled down with a glass of mulled wine, looking forward to two weeks, Christmas & New Year in a beautiful cottage.
The next day was cold, bright & frosty and we stepped outside to see where we were and Wow! what a view. The surrounding area was equally impressive with walks for Poppy the westie, whichever way we decided to walk that day.
We all agreed this was the best house we had ever stayed in (this being our 8th) so spacious & clean.
Decorated beautifuly for Christmas, with a present under the tree for Jack and even a doggy biscuit for Poppy!
We would certainly book again and can highly recommend the service offered by Wilderness Cottages.

Mr & Mrs Andrews
Reviewed Homewood on 29/12/2006
And awarded it

Homewood

Grant Mundell
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 22/12/2006
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

We booked Pine LOdge for October 14-27, 2006 for our honeymoon accommodation. Wow! What a peaceful and stunning location. Very private. The lodge is very well located for exploring North and South on the West coast of Scotland. AND you can see Skye! Go for it. . .you will love it without any regrets!

We found the online booking service and subsequent communication excellent. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Our only suggestion would be to improve the quality of the double bed mattress.

David & Michelle
Reviewed Coach House on 12/12/2006
And awarded it

Coach House

Stuart Cockerham
Reviewed Charleston on 12/11/2006
And awarded it

Charleston

This was our 10th Scottish Cottage holiday, and our 7th with Wilderness. This cottage was without a doubt the best we have stayed in, it was warm, comfortable and very well equipped - a pleasure to come home to after a November day walking the dogs. The view over Loch Mhor was breathtaking and changed by the minute, and there was nothing to disturb the peace and quiet - even the sheep and the cows added to the feeling of tranquility. We will definitely be having another holiday here.

Tracy & Andrew Law
Reviewed Homewood on 12/11/2006
And awarded it

Homewood

Andrew & Vicki
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 06/11/2006
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Meurig, Juliet, Ines & Finn McMillan
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 05/11/2006
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

A lovely, homely cottage in a beautiful setting. A recommendation from Corinne as we wanted fires, views and the West Coast. The children loved going onto the beach in their pyjamas and wellies, at 9 in the morning. We could sit in the warmth of the lounge and watch through the huge picture window, very civilised! We saw seals, otters, red deer of course and a couple of eagles in the vicinity. We also had snow - superb. The cottage had every facility required for a very comfortable stay. the only thing I was missing was a hair dryer, and then of course we found one.
In all it is a lovely cottage, very well equipped, and a great place to stay if you want remoteness, scenery, wildlife, and a good base for touring the West Coast.