Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1141 to 1160 of 2459


Lin Sanderson
Reviewed Kinloch Damph Lodge on 07/01/2013
And awarded it

Kinloch Damph Lodge

Kinloch Damph is a great lodge with plenty of room for 10 people provided 4 share a large bedroom with double bed and bunk beds. The lounge is comfortable and has a wood/coal fire, the dining area is great for space and views and the kitchen is homely and has a wood burning stove. A stag visits the property most days, brave as it is a shooting lodge but great to see him! The track to the property is a mile long and quite good although some potholes so care is needed if you arrive in the dark.

Calum Robert Gordon MacKenzie
Reviewed Curlew Cottage on 07/01/2013
And awarded it

Curlew Cottage

Cath
Reviewed Kinloch Damph Lodge on 07/01/2013
And awarded it

Kinloch Damph Lodge

Had a really great New Year staying here 2012/13. It's very wilderness, with views of mountains and a loch and a tame deer that visits evey so often. Very comfortable and cosy rooms with electric heating and coal fires. Quiet, relaxing and everything you'd need. Only thing is it is a hunting, shooting, fishing lodge so if you're squeamish about a deer storage cold room in the garage it might not be ideal!

Angela Rumble
Reviewed Christies on 07/01/2013
And awarded it

Christies

We spent New Year 2012/2013 staying a Christies. A lovely cozy cottage (once it warmed up!), well appointed, well equipped, fantastic views, small sandy beach within a walk through the garden and adjoining field. That time of year, most places are closed for the season, so go prepared (!), which we did and enjoyed having little to do other than walk, relax and marvel at the scenery. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and would recommend the cottage.

D Garrison
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 07/01/2013
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

This lovely cottage is in a beautiful setting in Glendale with great access to some magnificent sights on Skye. The accommodations are superb and exactly true to the pictures. The underfloor heating is a real treat in the winter and the mud room off the back is very convenient for cleaning off after a muddy hike. With a kitchen and dining area, it's also great for those who love to cook a meal while socializing. Super peaceful and definitely will return.

Trevor Brawn
Reviewed Kinloch Damph Lodge on 04/01/2013
And awarded it

Kinloch Damph Lodge

Great place to stay, wonderful surroundings. Good electric heating, coal fire in lounge, wood-burning stove in large kitchen. All fuel laid on. Conservatory set up as a dining room. There was a power cut on the 29th of December, but after a few hours everything came back on. NOTE: the road to the Lodge is more than 7.5 miles after Lochcarron. The barn in the directions is clearly visible, even at night. There is a roadside sign with the lodge name. The access road is tarmaced.

Gail Irvine
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 04/01/2013
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We stayed here for 4 nights from 28/12/12 to 01/01/13, The cottage was lovely and clean on arrival and had all the mod cons we required for our stay. It nice and warm for our arrival and the heating kept it at a lovely temperture the whole time, my husband also had the coal fire going and it was very very cosy. The setting of the cottage is just perfect, and the surrounding area stunning, even in the mist of winter it was lovely. We would love to return here for another stay.

Sue Robinson
Reviewed Charleston on 03/01/2013
And awarded it

Charleston

We had a fantastic stay at Charleston, a superb well equipped bungalow with great views. Would highly recommend.

Mary-Ellen
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 03/01/2013
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We LOVED our time at Stableman's Lodge. The owner's live adjacent to the property, but always respected our privacy and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed over the Xmas week and enjoyed all the festive touches inside and outside the cottage. There were 2 sledges outside the back door which we made good use of when we went to the Cairngorms. The property is very central but at the same time has a rural outlook. We would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Cheryl Smith
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 29/12/2012
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Bayside was everything we'd hoped it would be - cosy; spectacular views out to sea; well equipped kitchen; open fire; comfy beds; amazing outside space and most of all - dog friendly. There are so many beautiful cottages we want to go to but can't because they don't take dogs, so finding Bayside was fantastic. We will definitely go back soon.

Steven, Barbara & Emily Donaldson
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 07/12/2012
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

An amazing property with the most stunning view. Each morning was spent watching the sun rise over the snow-capped Five Sisters of Kintail. Great location with good access to the Isle of Skye, the lovely Glenelg road, Loch Cluanie and even up toward Torridon if you fancy. Excellent for dog owners with a fully enclosed garden and a good skelp of land for the outdoor dog to roam around. Handy path from just outside the property up a hill with lovely views. Can't wait to return.

Carol & Hugh McLelland
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 29/11/2012
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

An excellent place to unwind and recharge! Very well designed cottage with stunning views no matter the weather. Ideal location for wildlife spotting and exhilarating walking.

Jonny Murty
Reviewed Upper Folds on 27/11/2012
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This cottage is amazing. We arrived in the dark and drove down a fairly long, fairly rough landrover track through a river ford and through some woods. Once we finally made it to the cottage the whole property suddenly lit up as we went through the gates (proximity lights). The wood burning stove was on for our arrival and there was a bottle of wine waiting. In the morning we were met by 360 degree views of rolling hills/mountains. We will definitely return to this cottage.

Wendy Bithell
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 23/11/2012
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

27/10/12 Wendy, Stewart Bithell (Max the dog) We love this cottage its so cosy, love the log burner, cooking on the stanley, its ideal for visiting many places, October is beautiful time to visit, the autumnal colours are spectacular, scenery is breathtaking, with snow capped mountains, deer in the garden, watching the birds and enjoying nightly visits from the pine marten, we love just relaxing and soaking it all up :) we wouldnt go anywhere else! already booked for next year, plus the property now has wifi.

Nicki Strachan
Reviewed Wee Dunollie on 23/11/2012
And awarded it

Wee Dunollie

Karen Queen
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 21/11/2012
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Had a fantastic holiday at Swallow Byre. Lovely cottage; well appointed, warm and cosy. A bonus was the wood burner! Although it was November, we were never cold. We enjoyed it so much, we extended our stay. A perfect cottage in a perfect location.

Tracey Tinsley
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 20/11/2012
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Superb property. Very well appointed, warm, comfortable and with stunning views. Highly recommended. A definite "get away from it all" holiday.

Pamela Fraser
Reviewed Roundhouse on 19/11/2012
And awarded it

Roundhouse

Andrew
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 19/11/2012
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

Had a fantastic weeks holiday at Red Kite Log Cabin, just outside of Inverness. The location was fantastic for touring the beautiful Scottish Highlands.

Hannah Langdana
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 19/11/2012
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! An amazing cottage in an excellent location.