Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1361 to 1380 of 2459


Nicola Bandler
Reviewed Macrae Croft on 20/05/2012
And awarded it

Macrae Croft

We have just returned from the most amazing 2 weeks staying at Macrae Croft. We could not have hoped for better. The accomodation was superb and the views totally amazing. Mrs Macrae could not have been nicer or more helpful and we were sorry to leave. A brilliant place to stay.

John & Elaine Lord
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 17/05/2012
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

What a wonderful two weeks we had at this lovely remote cosy cottage.The cottage is well equipped and the stanley range was a joy to cook on. This was a great location for the dogs, really secure and there are fantastic walks straight out of the garden accross the river into the pine forests and mountains. The views were spectacular and changed every day, we were also very lucky with the weather. Our two German Shepherds did not want to leave neither did we!! We will certainly be visiting again

Jo Edwards
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 16/05/2012
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Delightful location on Culochy Lock. Great fun watching boats go through. Lock Keeper and his dog very friendly. Kids (both under 4) had a great time. Cottage pleasant, lovely sun room and open fire in lounge with fuel provided - nice touch. Stairs very narrow, steep and winding and difficult to get bags and suitcases up and down. Kitchen/diner good and well equipped but cooker not user friendly. Had plumbing problem and owners quickly responded - well handled.

Helen Shanks
Reviewed Macrae Croft on 16/05/2012
And awarded it

Macrae Croft

Stunning property with glorious views over Loch Gairloch towards the ever changing picture of the Torridon mountains. Who needs TV?. The property is of an excellent standard. Very cosy and warm. Lovely finishing touches in every room. Would love to visit again.

Harrie Lerman
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 16/05/2012
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

What a lucky find both in the friendliness and service from Wilderness Cottages and the great Torvaig Cottage on the Isle of Skye near Portree. it suited our needs completely with the added bonus of being in a superb location. Everything we needed was provided and Andrew, the owner of the cottage, was extremely generous with his knowledge, peat, and coal. There was a friendly welcome, too, of flowers, bread and milk waiting for us. Torvaig Cottage is a place we look forward to returning.

Kirsty McKay
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 16/05/2012
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We've had another blissful fortnight at this cosy, comfortable cottage. It feels like coming home and it's always a wrench to leave! Everything you could need is provided, as well as the warm welcome of tea, coffee, biscuits and wine - and a ready-to-light real fire! There are lots of great walks and day trips you can do from here, but with it's beautiful scenary, great food at the Inn and Walled Gardens, and a range of birds to watch from your window, you don't actually need to go anywhere!

Kim Massey
Reviewed Giusaichean on 15/05/2012
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Our third time back to this lovely cottage. The weather wasn't as kind as it has been on previous visits but we had a lovely time. The woodpecker visited the nuts most days. We were also honoured by a couple of visits from a red squirrel - so adorable - and also the pine marten walked through one evening. A great place to chill out. Very dog friendly.

Kim Massey
Reviewed Charleston on 15/05/2012
And awarded it

Charleston

We had a lovely time at this cottage. We had great weather most of the time and the view down over the loch was fantastic. We (Chris and myself, and our three labs Wispa, Ben and Bonnie) felt at home in no time. A five star cottage definitely.

Karen Coleman
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 13/05/2012
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

Well equipped but for the want of an iron, beautiful location, very quiet except for cuckoos, deer, sea eagles, golden eagles and the very brazen sheep. Cottage was dog tolerable rather than 'friendly' floors very slippy/uneven inside cottage and main gate's bars were too wide apart to allow dogs to roam freely. Had fab weather 22 degress first week in May not at all like the Skye we had packed for ..!

Jane Waterhouse
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 13/05/2012
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Beautifully converted barn with huge picture windows that make the most of the spectacular view of the Five Sisters of Kintail. Very clean and comfortable but lack of microwave and having fridge, freezer and dishwasher in utility area rather than in the kitchen made things a little awkward. Open plan living would possibly be a problem for families as tv in extension to upstairs bedroom. Overall, well equipped, beautifully appointed and perfectly located for scenery and walks. Would recommend.

Carole Couper
Reviewed Don Cottage on 13/05/2012
And awarded it

Don Cottage

We had a wonderful time at the cottage, which was very nicely decorated and comfortable. A lot of attention to detail and little touches made a big difference. We would highly recommend the cottage and there is also so much to do in the area...Great value for the money!

J Reynolds
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 11/05/2012
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Loved this place so much! Warm and cosy cottage which has beautiful stonework inside and out. Great for coming home to from a day outside as its well equipped and tastefully decorated. The wood burner stove was also an added bonus. Views and surroundings are all amazing and lots of wildlife on the go. This was our first trip to the area and we were very sad to leave but will definitely be booking again!

Anne
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 09/05/2012
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

Loved staying here. It's very cosy and extremely comfortable.Everything is of the highest standard, perfectly clean and well-maintained. The underfoor heating was brilliant over a chilly weekend.It's one of 4 cottages all close together, which isn't mentioned on the website. The welcome basket was much appreciated. Wish we could have stayed longer than just a weekend!

Rakesh Pande
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 09/05/2012
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Great place to stay.. lovely wooden cottage with a stream flowing by.. The picture on the website does not do justice to the beauty and tranquility of this cottage.. The bed linen and everything else was shining clean.. Hear the birds and the water as you soak in sunshine

Fiona
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 07/05/2012
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

Beautiful setting, close enough to Portree for convenience, but far enough away for perfect peace. Well located for touring all of Skye by car. The cottage has everything you need.

Mark Price
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 03/05/2012
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

This is the second time that our group has stayed here and we're already planning the third!Fantastic cottage, couldn't ask for better!

Miss June Jackson
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 02/05/2012
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

Burnside of Geddes was such a splendid cottage; very clean with lovely extras supplied including Sticky Toffee Pudding! Clive and Liz were most helpful too. We enjoyed the area visiting the Black Isle and sighting Seals and Dolphins, even though it was raining. Lots of wildlife nearby and we were visited by a Woodpecker, pheasants and many birds. We will definitely recommend this to our friends and hope to return next year.

Tina Cottis
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 02/05/2012
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Hill Head Croft was a great place to stay. Fantastic views and walks right from the door. Very comfortable, well equipped and the log burner and Aga provided extra cosiness with a mixed bag of weather in April. Enclosed garden fab for the dogs, and we all enjoyed finding the secret beach. We explored a lot of the Highlands and the Isle of Skye and saw wild deer, red kites, goats and lots of my favourite Highland Cattle. Missed out on seeing the elusive red squirrel ... but we'll be back!

Dr Catherine Tucker
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 02/05/2012
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

We stayed for a week in Beech Lodge at Kirkhill. We received a very warm welcome from Donnie the owner. We were greeted with home baked scones and jam, there were fresh flowers and fruit. It is a lovely modern, immaculate lodge, It was cosy and very comfortable. Excellent walk in shower in main shower room, and also an en suite shower Amazing views of Ben Wyvis from the deck. They have thought of everything in this cottage! A car is absolutely essential here. Would definitely go back again.

Peter MacLeod
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 02/05/2012
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Stayed at The Coltsfoots Fort Augustus South Loch Ness for 3 nights. Accommodation is 1st Class with everything you would require. The log-burner was superb and the logs well stocked. Excellent location and very relaxing. Our Labradoodle Murphy also had a ball!!. Owners are extremely friendly. Would definitely book The Coltsfoots in future.