Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1481 to 1500 of 2523

The Camerons
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 07/02/2012
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Poulary Cottage is very comfortable and well-equipped, and in a stunning remote location. The photographs don't quite do it justice. We stayed for 2 weeks in Jan/Feb and were nice and cosy. There are plenty of walks from the cottage, through pine forests, along the river, and up into the hills - you can even reach a Munro from the cottage. Great for wildlife, too. We saw pine martens, deer, and owls in the grounds - and a nocturnal wild pig! We'll definitely be back!

Mr&Mrs Ashmore
Reviewed Aros Beag on 05/02/2012
And awarded it

Aros Beag

spent a lovely five nights at the cottage, pity it was not any longer.Very special hide away clean and cosy and everything the brochure says it is. We had some lovely walks right from the cottage door. Very romantic no matter what age you are. Jim and Diane the owners are very welcoming but not intrusive we only saw them when we arrived and again when we sadly had to leave. A little bit of heaven on earth, we will be back.

Michele Yasmin Morphitis
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 16/01/2012
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

I almost don't want to post a review as if people go here they will just keep coming back and the place will be booked forever... It was stunning - panoramic views, so well-appointed, warm even in winter, with such a friendly and helpful host/owner, riding close by (I would highly recommend even a beginner trying to ride at Borlum)close to Castle Urquhart and Loch Ness, decent convenience stores in Drumnadrochit (and a great Highland gift shop) and half an hour from lovely Inverness. Unbeatable.

Reviewed Aros Beag on 16/01/2012
And awarded it

Aros Beag

we had such a lovely time at the cottage, really cosy-the underfloor heating makes it very comfortable and we liked the attention to detail - the bath is big enough for two! the hamper on arrival is a lovely gesture and the owners very helpful - we will hopefully return again soon!

Donna Lumsden
Reviewed Mealishal on 11/01/2012
And awarded it


Stan Beaton
Reviewed Chapel House on 09/01/2012
And awarded it

Chapel House

Iain & April Ponton
Reviewed The Granary on 08/01/2012
And awarded it

The Granary

We had a lovely stay. The house is very comfortable and clean. All the little extra touches like the Christmas tree, milk, butter, and wine in fridge were so thoughtful. It was a great way to spend New Year's week.

Jules & Nathan Hutchinson
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 06/01/2012
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

We have been to Marnie's Croft many times over the past 8 years. Totally love going to stay there, and hope to for many more years. Even with a 4x4, we still struggled too get up and down the hill. However this did not spoil our holiday at all, but gave us a little more excercise. Only thing I would love to change, is the dog policy, as we have 2 dogs and they would love it there. Could never tire of looking at the view, and watching for the deer in the woods. If you have never been, you must go.

Mr Stewart
Reviewed Drovers on 02/01/2012
And awarded it


No complaints even when we got stuck for an extra hour due to the snow as this allowed us to meet the owners personally. Nothing but praise for the property, quality of finishing's, room sizes and layout. Have already made temporary plans to return and have sung the praises to many friends too. An absolute joy for my wife and I to have almost all our family with us at the New Year, magical.

Debbie & Julian
Reviewed Old Stables on 02/01/2012
And awarded it

Old Stables

An amazing house which is equipped for everything you may need or require for a very comfortable holiday house. Trips to Inverness on the rainy days then walking in Glen Affric on the better ones.

David Barrett
Reviewed Station Cottage on 02/01/2012
And awarded it

Station Cottage

24/12/11-28/12/11 David We had a great time. Very cosy and set in beautiful surroundings. Plenty of walks for the dog, and safe areas to run. The local butcher has fantastic veggie sausages!

30/12/2011 Martin & Sue Fisher
Reviewed Cameron's Cottage on 29/12/2011
And awarded it

Cameron's Cottage

We have just had the privilege of being the very first guests and what a fantastic time we had. The property and location can only be described as 5 star. Sympathetically renovated to an exceptionally high standard, the cottage wants for nothing. You can be assured of a warm welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Plenty of walks in and around the area whether it be to see the beautiful Falls of Foyers or off the beaton track through the many surrounding forests and all on the doorstep!

Reviewed Mealishal on 06/12/2011
And awarded it


Tim + Deborah Martin
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 01/12/2011
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Simply glorious. Cottage is abundantly well-provided, only a few yards from the outstanding Applecross Inn and in a staggeringly beautiful setting. Two aspects made our stay so memorable - doggy heaven for our two cocker spaniels, from Bonios on arrival to beach and hillside walks; and the weather in November - dry, warm and clear. A must to return, to enjoy the solitude and grandeur of the area.

Donald & Margaret Miller
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 29/11/2011
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Stayed end October 2011. Our first stay in a log home and this is the best we have seen. Beautifully furnished and fully equipped. Really is just 10 minutes walk from the village with just one short steepish hill en route, and lots of nice walks close by. Dogs loved it. One word of warning look out for the woodburner. On our first night after an hour we had to open the french doors and windows to let the heat out. We then limited ourselves to 3 logs at once. Boathouse Restaurant was lovely.

Paula McDowall
Reviewed Barn Cottage on 29/11/2011
And awarded it

Barn Cottage

Mr & Mrs Preece
Reviewed Balmachree on 25/11/2011
And awarded it


our long weekend break at Balmachree was excellent, the cottage was very nice/clean and comfortable in a very quiet area, our 2 dogs loved the freedom in the large garden, the pub served excellent food and was very welcoming. The only issue was the wood burner that must have had a blockage in the flue as it filled the living room with smoke.

John Audrey Stanier
Reviewed Charleston on 23/11/2011
And awarded it


our second visit this year this cottage has set a standard that no other we have used over many years can come close to if you want peace, great views, walks from the door, and a 5 star rated cottage look no farther we leave it again with a tear in our eye but we will return as soon as possible.

Anna Blackwood
Reviewed Christies on 20/11/2011
And awarded it


Christies is a lovely cosy cottage in Scourie, which is a good base for exploring the stunning North West. We had fantastic weather in November which ment no excuses for not getting out there and doing lots of walking and exploring this fantastic area.

Reviewed Stac Polly on 15/11/2011
And awarded it

Stac Polly

We have just returned from a truly wonderful weekend away at Achultibuie. Stac Polly is definately 5 star with every mod con available, hot tub, sauna, surround sound music system, WiFi etc. We had good weather, big blue skies and glorious sunsets not what we expected in November. The views over the Summer Isles from the large windows in the lounge are just stunning. The hot tub was a firm favourite, as was the sauna, great time was had by us all and we hope to return next year. We highly recommend Stac Polly and would like to thank the owners who have made this a very special place, well done!