Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1501 to 1520 of 2523

Bianca Jackson
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 01/11/2011
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Graham Simpson
Reviewed Cuilfail on 01/11/2011
And awarded it


Cuifail was a great place to stay, pretty much home from home! The garden was great for our two Hungarian Vizsla pups and little boy aged 6. A good base for exploring the highlands and high spec accomodation. We hope to return next year to further enjoy Whitebridge and the surrounding area.

Jason & Lynsey Waterson
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 8 - Robertson - Abbey on 31/10/2011
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 8 - Robertson - Abbey

No 8 was only one of a few cottages which allowed dogs which was our main critera however the cottage is also very well equiped inc sky & wifi, almost like a home from home,it was very clean and everything was provided(towels,linen,wood for the fire....etc) it had everything we needed and was an excellent base for exploring the area with the dog(some very good walks only a short car journey), this cottage is highly recommended, I think we will go back next year(something we never do).

Nick Andrews
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 30/10/2011
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

An absolutely beautiful cottage in a fabulous location. I am a keen walker and this cosy cottage was perfectly situated for the mountains around Glen Sheil, Skye and Torridon. The cottage was well equipped with comfortable beds, a perfect kitchen and an unlimited supply of fire wood and coal. I will definately be booking again.

Kirsty Walker
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 28/10/2011
And awarded it


Elaine Laing
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 27/10/2011
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We were bowled over by the beautiful Lock Keeper's Cottage. The house has been renovated to a lovely standard and is in such an idyllic location. Derek the Lock Keeper is invaluable with local knowledge - he really made our holiday! The open fire was a huge draw and we got through a few packets of marshmallows during our week there! We can't recommend this property highly enough. Thank you

Madeleine Clark
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 27/10/2011
And awarded it


Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 26/10/2011
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

Huge, modern, clean, lovely views, all creature comforts, great big beds and indeed a home away from home. Such a shame there was so much to do we didn't get to enjoy the appartment more. Games room was nice and the abbey itself a lovely place to wander around in. I spent quite some time admiring the gargoyles in the courtyard. Indeed a shame that the pool wasn't finished yet (November?) But we recommend it highly and will come back.

Kelly Shenton
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 26/10/2011
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Absolutely beautiful! Lovely, well maintained cottage. Little touches like the tea, coffee, milk and biscuits on arrival are lovely. It is dog friendly but you'd never guess that dogs had previously stayed as it was so clean and not at all 'doggy'. Wonderful area - Glenn Affric is a must see and Beauly is a lovely little village shopping area. I'd definitely recommend.

John & Marie Bates
Reviewed River Cottage on 26/10/2011
And awarded it

River Cottage

We visited River Cottage at Drumnadrochit in Mid October 2011. The owners were most welcoming and helpful. Although the weather was mixed, the Cottage was easy to keep warm and a welcome cosy retreat to rest and recover from our various excursions. It was a good central location to visit very picturesque scenery (almost every where) and beaches (Dornoch or Findhorn in particular) as well as having excellent walking areas close by. There are many good places to eat nearby.

Aidan Meehan
Reviewed Woodpecker Pad on 21/10/2011
And awarded it

Woodpecker Pad

Very well equiped cottage and ideally situated to explore Inverness and surrounding area. Will return in future

Dianne & Robert Dando
Reviewed Charleston on 18/10/2011
And awarded it


15th October 2011 Just returned from our 2nd stay this year at Charleston. Best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in. Fantastic views and plenty of wildlife to view. We love this area of Scotland and look forward to returning next year.

T Bird
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 18/10/2011
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

What a fantastic apartment, equipped and decorated to a very high standard. Stunning views to wake up to over the grounds towards the caledonian canal, or to your right you have the magnificent Loch Ness. We had a great week; Fort Augustus is an ideal place to stay and Old School 10 felt like home from home. The complementary wine and shortbread went down very well. Only regret was the pool wasn't finished. Maybe next time! Highly recommended.

Susan Rowe
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 18/10/2011
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

We stayed in Taigh Druim during the second week of October. Lots of rain and strong winds but, we were also able to sit outside in the sun with a cup of coffee! Fantastic views, a wonderful property that was beautifully warm and would definitely go back.

Christine Jack
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 18/10/2011
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Enjoyed a lovely stay here. The owners were lovely and were there to help if we needed anything. Location was close enough to village but far enough away to feel secluded. The lodge itself inside and out was immaculate there has been great care and attention to detail. The bottle of milk and wine was a lovely personal touch. We had our 2 dogs with us and it's great they allow this, they could explore the wooded area around the lodge in our full view. Definitely returning for a visit nxt yr.

David Macmillan
Reviewed Achnahanat on 18/10/2011
And awarded it


Sandra Orrock
Reviewed Balmachree on 17/10/2011
And awarded it


My Son his family, my husband, myself, plus 3 dogs had a week at Balmachree. The weather was not favourable but we had a brilliant chill out week. The Cottage was clean and very well equiped. We also managed to get Tesco's to deliver food etc. which I ordered the week before online. The children and dog's loved the huge garden and the river at the bottom of the garden. We hope to be back at a later date.

Kay McCulloch
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 16/10/2011
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Bayside Cottage, Applecross..... We found this cottage to be comfortable, warm and cosy on some of the bad weather days we experienced. The kitchen and dining room were very well-equipped...I would have left a lot at home had I known what the cupboards contained. Its close proximity to the Inn was great and overall we enjoyed our stay.. The Applecross Inn's amazing menu was superb.........Excellent

Sue Watts
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 16/10/2011
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

We had a lovley week in this well equipped cottage in a very quiet and peaceful location. The fenced front garden was a great asset and peace of mind while our dogs sat and watched the sheep over the fence. Thank you to John and Dorothy for making it so comfortable and for the extra logs for the wood burner which worked a treat after some long walks in the stunning surroundings. John and Sue

Carolyn Mercer
Reviewed Charleston on 16/10/2011
And awarded it


1 - 8 October 2011: Carolyn, Ann, Chris and Dave together with 'Megan' [a Cocker] and Mason [a King Charles] An outstandingly spacious house and well kept house. The 360 degree views are stunning and the area is beautiful. We couldn't have asked for a better location and place to stay. Thank you!