Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1921 to 1940 of 2523

John Brady
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 23/02/2010
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

The Cottage was perfect, did not want to leave. Warm clean and with all facilities required for a holiday. Highly recommended. Views of the Loch superb.

Lesley Craddock
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 22/02/2010
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

This was our 7th time with Wilderness cottages, all have surpassed excellence. The welcome was wonderful and we almost feel like locals so many people recognised us and had us around for coffee and joined us on our walks. Thank you Corrine for facilitating these little trips of peace. We are already looking for our next trip!

Helen & Dan
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 14/02/2010
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Reviewed Osprey on 14/02/2010
And awarded it


Sarah Hartley
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 06/02/2010
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

A lovely cottage, so close to the sea-loch that you can hear the waves lapping on the shore. Comfortable and well-equipped. I had a lovely relaxing week there

Sarah Olliffe
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 29/01/2010
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Craig & Clare
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 24/01/2010
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

We had a fantastic time at the cottage. Lovely walks along the secluded beach. Fresh mussels picked off the rocks and cooked on the Aga were an especially nice treat on New Years day. The wood burner did a fantastic job of keeping the cottage cosy and warm. If you like to get away from it all then Cuaig Croft will not disappoint.

Jo & Bill Walker & Jasmine
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 19/01/2010
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

We stayed at Owl Cottage 28th Dec to 4th Jan 2010. This was our third visit to this lovely cosy cottage and we are looking foward to our fourth visit. The cottage was extremely picturesque covered in all the snow. It is very handy for the local shops and pubs all of which are very helpful and friendly. Pubs are dog friendly which is a bonus for our cocker spaniel Jasmine.

Steve & Karen
Reviewed Mealishal on 07/01/2010
And awarded it


Paul Fuller
Reviewed Chapel House on 06/01/2010
And awarded it

Chapel House

Paul, Leanne, Chris, Suzie
Reviewed Curlew Croft on 05/01/2010
And awarded it

Curlew Croft

Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 04/01/2010
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

A lovely cottage, very well equipped with all the mod cons. There was plenty to do both in and around the local area. Despite sub-zero temperature and 15 inches of snow the cottage was lovely and warm, and the log burning fire particularly welcome! We are making plans to make a return visit later this year. Thanks to all at Wilderness Cottages!

Brigitte West
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 04/01/2010
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

We had a lovely stay in this spacious & beautiful house. Really gorgeous decorations. The views over Loch Ness Lake are absolutely stunning. The wood fire was just what was needed during the big chill. No quibble about the amount of wood needed - just as well as it was -12 outside! The Kitchen is very well appointed & perfect for our Xmas lunch

Lots of snow walks - a fun & a healthy way to spend the week in a magical location: local castle/ruin, a trip on a boat on the lake & walks near the house afforded wonderful views & photographic opportunities.

Ben Tayler
Reviewed Glenara on 04/01/2010
And awarded it


A really cosy cottage, we were warm even when it was -10 outside! Has both oil fired central heating and an open fire. It was well furnished and spotlessly clean. We especially enjoyed being able to walk to the local pub just across the canal. The owner is particularly friendly and helpful.

Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 04/01/2010
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Just returned from our Christmas & New Year holiday at Old lock keepers cottage.
The cottage has a warm homely feeling , the moment we stepped into it we knew we had made a great choice.
Everything about it is just right, fantastic location, clean , warm and every appliance you need.
Would return to this cottage without hesitation.

Marc & Ruud Janssen & Dennis Minkhorst
Reviewed Mountain View on 09/12/2009
And awarded it

Mountain View

Yvonne Bryce
Reviewed Charleston on 07/12/2009
And awarded it


Stayed for the weekend and it wasn’t long enough ! The house is in a beautiful position and is decorated and furnished to a very high standard. It is very homely with all you need for a relaxing break with views to die for.
Will be reccomending it to others and will hopefully be back to visit soon.

Nicola & Andy Hampshire
Reviewed Coach House on 06/12/2009
And awarded it

Coach House

Cathy Wood
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 30/11/2009
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

7-14 November. We had an absolutely wonderful time at Rowan Ridge and will definitely be back. The weather was very kind to us - no rain at all! Though very cold, the temperature only made for a crispy atmosphere when we woke up to frozen ground and snow capped distant mountains. The river running below the cottage was the only sound, apart from the birds coming for their breakfast on the well stocked feeder every morning. There are countless sights round and about (though all require a car - this is not a holiday for public transport dependents!). Castles, distilleries and (of course) Nessie Exhibits are everywhere you look, and Findhorn coast is worth a moment’s glance at sunset (which is very early this time of year so watch out if you go for an afternoon stroll! You may not be able to find your way back to the car after 4:30pm!)
The cottage itself was well kitted out (more so than our own home!) with a washer drier, dish washer, dyson vacuum cleaner and ipod docking station!
Rowan Ridge could very easily become a home away from home, and if you’ve never seen Scotland, this is the way to see it.
*Only one snag - if you are after seclusion, this may not be the place for you. The cottages at Davlourn Holidays are much closer together than the advert suggests - if you’ve forgotten to close the living room curtains before going to bed, put some clothes on before you look out the window in the morning!

Reviewed River Cottage on 28/11/2009
And awarded it

River Cottage

Very comfortable and relaxed stay in a beautifully appointed cottage - ideal for a couple