Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1941 to 1960 of 2459


Pete & Maxine
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 28/08/2009
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We have stayed at Ceol na Mara twice now and absolutely love this little cottage. The view over the loch changes everytime you look out the window - simpy wonderful. The cottage is well equipped and is a real home from home - we can highly recommend this cottage and will be returning.

MRS S DAVIS
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 28/08/2009
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

8/8/09 until 22/8/09 Our second visit to this fabulous cosy remote cottage set in the mountains and lochs. Never seen such a busy bird table with so many different birds including the woodpecker (fascinating)and in the evening two pine martins visit,they steal the fat balls and nuts from the birdtable and even look through the patio window. They love date and walnut cake or a scone with jam on it.In October last year we had the Deer right outside but not in August this time.A great place to relax and get away from it all. Lots of great walks through the forest and to Loch Loyne. We did the walk along the road to nowhere and we conquered the mountain in front of the cottage 535ft what an achievement at our age. The games room with its football game and dart board is ideal on a rainy day when you just want to chill out with a wee dram and the shortbread. Went to Oban, Applecross, Lossiemouth, Fort William and Inverness all within easy reach.

Rob & Linda
Reviewed The Bakehouse on 27/08/2009
And awarded it

The Bakehouse

Tim & Marcelle
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 27/08/2009
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Our second visit to the cottage. The last time Christmas 2007. The standard of accomadation remains very high and we could see the property has been very well maintained. The location remains very inspriational.
We can’t help feeling we’re going back one day.
Thanks

Anabel Sala
Reviewed Coach House on 27/08/2009
And awarded it

Coach House

Family R├╝senberg
Reviewed Ard Carden Lodge on 27/08/2009
And awarded it

Ard Carden Lodge

Patrick Family
Reviewed Old Stables on 27/08/2009
And awarded it

Old Stables

We had a great holiday at Old Stables. The conversion of a former stable into this wonderful spacious and relaxing accomadation suitable, as in our case for three generations -from 21yrs thro to 81yrs. The house was spotlessly clean and extremely well equipped. We have enjoyed two holidays with Wilderness Cottages and both houses have provided the same excellent standard of accomodation.

Craig Rides
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 26/08/2009
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Thank you once again for a truly wonderful holiday! This is my second time back to Loch Ness (previously 9 years ago) & didn’t think I could surpass my previous visit. I have to say though that the accomodation was absolutely outstanding !! Location was excellent with wonderful views to the Loch & also the woodland (located nr Foyers Falls) Rooms were spacious (the master bedroom in particular) In fact I couldn’t fault the cottage at all & flicking through the guest book in the reception room it is apparent that all previous guests agree ! Superb location as a base to explore. I would most definitely recommend Hill Head Croft & will certainly hope to stay here again.

Robert Blackmore
Reviewed Sheaig Croft on 26/08/2009
And awarded it

Sheaig Croft

Suzanne
Reviewed Osprey on 26/08/2009
And awarded it

Osprey

The Graham Family &
Reviewed Wildwood on 26/08/2009
And awarded it

Wildwood

We are not from far away, but with our disabled son it was a beautiful setting and a change of senery, the peace and quiet the other 3 boys enjoyed their holiday the stunning walks on our door step which our spaniel Rooney really enjoyed. Our late night visitor the Pinemartin who came every night, the fox in the wood and the deer. We took a cruise on the Loch which was lovely but no sign of the Monster . Maybe next time. The house was marvelous on arrival with the little extras as well, milk in the fridge, and the shortbread, which disappeared quick. Many thanks for our holiday break, and hope to do it again soon, Thanks Lorna Donald,Gordon, Myles, Grant and Scott and Rooney

Family Lange, Germany
Reviewed Moat House 6 - Abbey on 26/08/2009
And awarded it

Moat House 6 - Abbey

Barbara Laing
Reviewed Jersey - The Dairy on 25/08/2009
And awarded it

Jersey - The Dairy

’The Bithells’ & Max The Dog.
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 24/08/2009
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

After a fab week in October we returned in August. We had another wonderful 2 weeks, cosy cottage spectacular scenery and lots of wonderful walks right on the doorstep. We visited many places during our stay, shin falls, Chia-aig falls, Dores beach, Fort Willliam, Inverness, Lossiemouth, Dornoch Firth (to watch the seals), Nairn, Fort Augustus, Beauly, Oban, Invermorriston and Applecross ( a hair-raising drive through ’The pass of the cattle’, 2053 feet above sea level, not for the faint hearted or nervous driver -or passenger for that matter!) we also made our annual pilgramage to Moniac Castle for our wines and preserves.
The bird table was always a flurry of activity one day we counted 40 plus birds including a woodpecker. (they are very greedy indeed)
But not as greedy as the resident pine-martens!, we were lucky to be visited every night at dusk where they feasted on scones with marmalade or peanut butter!, they also stole the fat ball nightly from the bird table, one night they even stole all the peanuts, feeder as well (we found it 2 days later hidden in the bushes!) I was lucky enough to get video footage using nightshot on my video camera of their antics.
We also had some lovely walks around the cottage, in the forest, along the road and followed the old drovers road to skye (by Tomdoun Church) it now stops dead at Loch Loyne, we also spotted 5 stags on this walk. Our dog Max loves this cottage, the only downfall was the MIDGES!. A fab cottage, fantastic location

Kathy Smith
Reviewed Balmachree on 22/08/2009
And awarded it

Balmachree

Lovely, practical and comfortable house with everything you need, in a fantastic setting ... mountains, lochs, streams and so much wildlife ... friendly locals at the Whitebridge Hotel, fantastic walk to Foyers, and well placed for trips all over the Highlands. We will definitely stay here again next time we go away as a large family group. Only slightly negative comment I can make is that the website doesn’t inform you that the house is in a close with 2 other homes, not a problem for us, but its not as isolated as the photos would suggest, however there is a lot of space between the houses therefore still very private and the stream at the bottom of the garden is an absolute treat. Fantastic holiday that sadly went by far too quickly.

Jane Howard
Reviewed Allt-Na-Crich on 22/08/2009
And awarded it

Allt-Na-Crich

Morag Williams
Reviewed Allt-Na-Crich on 20/08/2009
And awarded it

Allt-Na-Crich

Denise & Phillip Parker
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 18/08/2009
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

lovely cottage beautiful views the country side was beautiful our granddaughter thoroughly enjoyed her self it was magic to see 4 stags standing by the stream we will definetly be back

C Rutherford
Reviewed Burnside Lodge on 17/08/2009
And awarded it

Burnside Lodge

Dave,Teresa,Emily & Molly Barber
Reviewed Tigh A Chreagan on 16/08/2009
And awarded it

Tigh A Chreagan