Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1961 to 1980 of 2523

Carol Silvester
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 01/11/2009
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Great cottage, beautifully modernised with a tradtional feel. Quiet location close to the town and canal. Garden not enclosed.

Sharon, Darren, Clyde & Libby (dogs)
Reviewed Charleston on 01/11/2009
And awarded it


A wonderful cottage, very spacious and well equipped with all the home comforts you could wish for. An ideal place for wildlife spotting and walking the dogs, or to just sit back relax and enjoy the fantastic views. No need to see ’Autumn Watch’ on the telly, just stay here and see the wildlife up close in your own private piece of the Highlands! This is one place we will definately be returning to, (Clyde & Libby give it the paws up!) Thankyou to Mr & Mrs Hepburn and Wilderness Cottages for a great holiday.

Peter-Jan Hagedoorn
Reviewed Mountain View on 01/11/2009
And awarded it

Mountain View

Sarah Pimlott
Reviewed Challtuinn on 30/10/2009
And awarded it


Dawn & Martin Dypka
Reviewed Sheaig Croft on 29/10/2009
And awarded it

Sheaig Croft

Jane & Rob Jackson
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 29/10/2009
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We have just returned from an autumnal week at The Smiddy near Beauly. Our first visit to the Highlands and we loved it! The Smiddy was stunning and very cosy - the wood burner and very comfy bed were our favourites. It was beautifully clean and tidy and absolutely our sort of place. Also a great base for exploring the area - we went to Glen Affric, Nairn beach and Dornoch for example. In fact the only thing that could have been improved on was the size of the bath towels - but such a small thing!

Reviewed Glenara on 28/10/2009
And awarded it


Lovely location
great kitchen, bathroom
good dinning sitting area seperate to main sittingroom is a very good idea
could do with some more crockery and cutlery
lovely views over river
good to watch birds at the feeder just infront of the large picture window
could have had bigger bath towels
need to watcb tight driveway, is no good for cars with a small turning circle!
overall a lovely cottage and we had a great week.

Duncan & Nicky Monypenny
Reviewed Monastery 17 - Abbey on 28/10/2009
And awarded it

Monastery 17 - Abbey

Number 17 is a fantastic two bedroom apartment on the top floor of the abbey, the view from the bathroom, the largest window in the building on the top floor as we could tell, is spectacular and looks staright across Loch Ness. We had a wonderful week and would more than recommend the Monastery or Fort Augustus to anyone. It is so well placed for lots of sight seeing or you can just ?chill out? in the pubs of Fort Augustus and watch the boats go through the lochs.

We would also like to say a special thanks to Corinne at Wilderness who was fantastic during the process and made everything so easy!

John Mcglynn
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 27/10/2009
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

If you want to get away from everything, or anyone and like to just chill out with fantastic surroundings. Loch Carron has a small shop which sells just about anything you need with very friendly staff who go out of there way to make sure you have everything you need. The locals are also friendly and do not make you feel like an outsider.

John Malone
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 27/10/2009
And awarded it


John Mc Farlane
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 26/10/2009
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Matt Youngs
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 26/10/2009
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

We had a lovely week at Littlepark Cottage. Arriving to find the fire all set and ready for lighting was great. The cottage was clean, tidy and very well equipted. Having an easy walk to the hills and Loch Treig was also great. We look forward to returning in the futre and will be recommending the cottage to freinds and family.

Matt, Dale and Hannah Youngs

Angela Strachan
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 26/10/2009
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

"What a lovely cottage! So much thought and effort has gone in to everything... From the welcome card, home-baked cake and bottle of wine on our arrival, to the maps, leaflets and games. It was so homely that you couldn’t fail to relax immediately! The cottage makes amazing use of the space, and is really cosy and warm. The garden is well-sized and ideal for dogs. The kitchen and all rooms are so well equipped, nothing had been forgotten. I was very very impressed, and will definitely recommend the cottage and Wilderness Cottages to my friends. Thank you!"

William & Julie
Reviewed Charleston on 24/10/2009
And awarded it


We visit the Stratherrick area 4/5 times each year. This has been our first stay at Charleston. The views from the cottage are spectacular, however Charleston is badly let down by its inferior furnishings, especially the beds. The mattresses are very uncomfortable and thin. For this reason we would not choose to return to Charleston again. Wilderness Cottages can confirm that replacement mattresses have been arranged and will be in place this week.

Hannah & Chris
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 21/10/2009
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

What a fantastic find! This cottage is ideal for a couple and the pictures really dont do it justice. The cottage is based in a nice quiet area with a small village within walking distance. The location is great as its central to many great areas, including the stunning west coast. The cottage is very clean and well maintained, we felt like the first people to be staying there.

Louisa & Jonathan Scully
Reviewed Fuaran Cottage on 16/10/2009
And awarded it

Fuaran Cottage

Barbara & Douglas
Reviewed Admiral Napier House on 14/10/2009
And awarded it

Admiral Napier House

Paul,yvonne & Milly
Reviewed The Haven on 14/10/2009
And awarded it

The Haven

had a great week cottage was brilliant a perfect location,quiet and peaceful with a river 2 minutes walk from the cottage the dog loved it.we were just 20 minutes from inverness we done 1200 miles in the week we were there we even seen the dolphins at fortrose

Sue Boydell
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 13/10/2009
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

We loved Owl Cottage and its location on a quiet lane with hardly any traffic, but only a short walk into Fort Augustus. We had fabulous sunny weather and the cottage was a great base for site seeing, walking and relaxing.

Rob Miller
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 12/10/2009
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

Cool site.