Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1981 to 2000 of 2523


Craig & Clare
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 24/01/2010
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

We had a fantastic time at the cottage. Lovely walks along the secluded beach. Fresh mussels picked off the rocks and cooked on the Aga were an especially nice treat on New Years day. The wood burner did a fantastic job of keeping the cottage cosy and warm. If you like to get away from it all then Cuaig Croft will not disappoint.

Jo & Bill Walker & Jasmine
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 19/01/2010
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

We stayed at Owl Cottage 28th Dec to 4th Jan 2010. This was our third visit to this lovely cosy cottage and we are looking foward to our fourth visit. The cottage was extremely picturesque covered in all the snow. It is very handy for the local shops and pubs all of which are very helpful and friendly. Pubs are dog friendly which is a bonus for our cocker spaniel Jasmine.

Steve & Karen
Reviewed Mealishal on 07/01/2010
And awarded it

Mealishal

Paul Fuller
Reviewed Chapel House on 06/01/2010
And awarded it

Chapel House

Paul, Leanne, Chris, Suzie
Reviewed Curlew Croft on 05/01/2010
And awarded it

Curlew Croft

Christine
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 04/01/2010
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

A lovely cottage, very well equipped with all the mod cons. There was plenty to do both in and around the local area. Despite sub-zero temperature and 15 inches of snow the cottage was lovely and warm, and the log burning fire particularly welcome! We are making plans to make a return visit later this year. Thanks to all at Wilderness Cottages!

Brigitte West
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 04/01/2010
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

We had a lovely stay in this spacious & beautiful house. Really gorgeous decorations. The views over Loch Ness Lake are absolutely stunning. The wood fire was just what was needed during the big chill. No quibble about the amount of wood needed - just as well as it was -12 outside! The Kitchen is very well appointed & perfect for our Xmas lunch

Lots of snow walks - a fun & a healthy way to spend the week in a magical location: local castle/ruin, a trip on a boat on the lake & walks near the house afforded wonderful views & photographic opportunities.

Ben Tayler
Reviewed Glenara on 04/01/2010
And awarded it

Glenara

A really cosy cottage, we were warm even when it was -10 outside! Has both oil fired central heating and an open fire. It was well furnished and spotlessly clean. We especially enjoyed being able to walk to the local pub just across the canal. The owner is particularly friendly and helpful.

ALAN , MO, VARTAN, SANDRA & AILSA
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 04/01/2010
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Just returned from our Christmas & New Year holiday at Old lock keepers cottage.
WHAT A FANTASTIC COTTAGE !!
The cottage has a warm homely feeling , the moment we stepped into it we knew we had made a great choice.
Everything about it is just right, fantastic location, clean , warm and every appliance you need.
Would return to this cottage without hesitation.


Marc & Ruud Janssen & Dennis Minkhorst
Reviewed Mountain View on 09/12/2009
And awarded it

Mountain View

Yvonne Bryce
Reviewed Charleston on 07/12/2009
And awarded it

Charleston

Stayed for the weekend and it wasn’t long enough ! The house is in a beautiful position and is decorated and furnished to a very high standard. It is very homely with all you need for a relaxing break with views to die for.
Will be reccomending it to others and will hopefully be back to visit soon.

Nicola & Andy Hampshire
Reviewed Coach House on 06/12/2009
And awarded it

Coach House

Cathy Wood
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 30/11/2009
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

7-14 November. We had an absolutely wonderful time at Rowan Ridge and will definitely be back. The weather was very kind to us - no rain at all! Though very cold, the temperature only made for a crispy atmosphere when we woke up to frozen ground and snow capped distant mountains. The river running below the cottage was the only sound, apart from the birds coming for their breakfast on the well stocked feeder every morning. There are countless sights round and about (though all require a car - this is not a holiday for public transport dependents!). Castles, distilleries and (of course) Nessie Exhibits are everywhere you look, and Findhorn coast is worth a moment’s glance at sunset (which is very early this time of year so watch out if you go for an afternoon stroll! You may not be able to find your way back to the car after 4:30pm!)
The cottage itself was well kitted out (more so than our own home!) with a washer drier, dish washer, dyson vacuum cleaner and ipod docking station!
Rowan Ridge could very easily become a home away from home, and if you’ve never seen Scotland, this is the way to see it.
*Only one snag - if you are after seclusion, this may not be the place for you. The cottages at Davlourn Holidays are much closer together than the advert suggests - if you’ve forgotten to close the living room curtains before going to bed, put some clothes on before you look out the window in the morning!

Leon
Reviewed River Cottage on 28/11/2009
And awarded it

River Cottage

Very comfortable and relaxed stay in a beautifully appointed cottage - ideal for a couple

Mrs Rigby
Reviewed Balmachree on 24/11/2009
And awarded it

Balmachree

We stayed at this beautiful cottage October 09 for a week .We were 2 families - 4 adults 4 children and a dog.The pictures do not do this cottage justice- it is very clean and homely with all the amenities you could wish for. Lots of room for 2 families and very spacious. Lovely setting with 2 other cottages and the pub at the end of the road.( food was delicious !!) It is approx 8 miles from nearest amenities in Fort william. We visited Ben nevis cable car range, Loch ness, Inverness and Foyers waterfalls during our stay x Fort william is beautiful. We loved our stay here and you are close to the deers just along the road morning and evening. Definately highly reccomended x Book it You ll love it xx

Sandra & Roger Slowley
Reviewed Moat House 10 - Abbey on 24/11/2009
And awarded it

Moat House 10 - Abbey

We stayed at the Abbey in October and we really loved it. The apartment is equipped to a high standard and very comfortable and cosy. Whenever we visit Scotland we always stay in this area because it is so lovely and is a good central point for visiting lots of other places. We have often admired the Abbey so when we found we could stay there it was a real treat for us. We would highly recommend it.

Brian & Irene Greenoff
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 20/11/2009
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

If you want to get away from it all, this is the place for you. The thing that strikes you most, apart from the marvellous view over mountain and sea, is the utter and complete silence, something that is almost impossible to find these days. We stayed in November, and because of the total lack of light pollution we could observe the night sky in it’s true glory. The cottage was clean and warm. Five Stars!

Sarah Bedwell
Reviewed Ard Carden Lodge on 16/11/2009
And awarded it

Ard Carden Lodge

Babs
Reviewed Rowan Tree Cottage on 14/11/2009
And awarded it

Rowan Tree Cottage

Martin Walker
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 13/11/2009
And awarded it

Bothan Beag