Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1981 to 2000 of 2523

Kim & Carl
Reviewed Fuaran Cottage on 29/09/2009
And awarded it

Fuaran Cottage

Mick & Bridget Bodecott
Reviewed Laracks on 28/09/2009
And awarded it


Colin & Gill Hutchison
Reviewed Station Cottage on 28/09/2009
And awarded it

Station Cottage

Homely, packed with character and a fabulous base from which to explore Strathspey and Speyside. This Nethybridge hideaway is surely one of the highlands self-catering gems.
(Colin Hutchison is author of the Footprint Scotland Highlands and Islands, 2009 travel guide)

Maryrose Walmsley
Reviewed Cuilfail on 28/09/2009
And awarded it


We stayed in Cuilfail Cottage in September and were blessed with marvellous weather. Lovely location, wonderful scenery very nice cottage in a very dog friendly area and excellent food at The Whitebridge Hotel. What more could one ask for.
Many thanks to the cottage owners and special thanks to Gordon and Corinne for the efficient and hassle free booking procedures
Maryrose, Grant, Sarah, Rob, Kazba (GSD), Solly (Border Collie) and Boris (Lurcher).

Joanne Concannon
Reviewed Old Smiddy Kilfinan on 28/09/2009
And awarded it

Old Smiddy Kilfinan

Donna Lumsden
Reviewed Homewood on 28/09/2009
And awarded it


Rachel, John & Beth Little
Reviewed Moat House 1 - Abbey on 23/09/2009
And awarded it

Moat House 1 - Abbey

The Abbey is a stunning location for a holiday. WE particularly like the club lounge with it’s large selection of games. Moat House 1 was well equipped and made a lovely base to come ’home’ to after a busy day sightseeing. The welcome treats were very much appreciated.
We were a little disappointed that the 2 TVs in the bedrooms only seemed to work via the sky box upstairs in the living room (not mentioned in the ’blurb’ anywhere) or to watch DVDs. This caused some minor inconvenience as we were hoping to have a few lazy mornings while our 6 year watched TV in bed - this wasn’t achievable without first going upstairs and turning the sky box on (the box would automatically turn off after we went to bed) and setting it to CBBC! As I said a minor inconvenience.
Fort Augustus is lovely with a choice of great restaurants, it’s very pleasant on a good day to just sit and watch the boats going through the locks. You can also take boat trips on Loch Ness from Fort Augustus which give you a great view of the Abbey.
The area is beautiful with lots of great things to do on a day out. We didn’t have great weather but we weren’t lost for things to do and hope to return soon.

Mrs Anne Marson
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 22/09/2009
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Just got back from the most perfectly peaceful and lovely cottage imaginable!
The situation was stunning and the quiet was wonderful. Fersit Cottage is gorgeous. Having read earlier, that someone thought a 4 x 4 was needed we were a bit apprehensive, however, we managed to get two Mx5s ( one very low-slung!!) up the track, with no problem at all!!
Graham and Lynne both came to say hello, which made us feel welcome.
We highly recomend this beautiful cottage to everyone - as long there is a week or three left for us to go again!!

Julia Johnston
Reviewed Wildwood on 21/09/2009
And awarded it


A great location to stay with lovely forest walks. The cottage was nice, however the only downside was the utility room as it smells disgusting, obviously guests leave wet animals in there, even a good clean didn’t get rid of it. The cottage is well presented, but needed a good clean before we could relax for the week. However we had a lovely week and the weather was warm and sunny.

Helena Stevens
Reviewed Mealishal on 17/09/2009
And awarded it


Richard Moss
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 06/09/2009
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Reviewed Owl Cottage on 06/09/2009
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

A perfect place to stay - very quiet even though close to the town.
Beautifully equipped. The only fault was the poor condition of the sofas but i believe that these are due to be replaced soon (Wilderness Cottages can now confirm that the sofas have been replaced. 26th September 2009). Apart from this, would fully reccommend this cottage & would have no hesitation in staying here again if we were to have another holiday in this area. Overall, a fantastic holiday.

Fraser McNicol
Reviewed Curlew Croft on 03/09/2009
And awarded it

Curlew Croft

Mitchell Family
Reviewed Mealishal on 02/09/2009
And awarded it


Moira Malcolm
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 31/08/2009
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We had a great week in Applecross. The cottage was perfect, with really nice rooms and plenty of good facilities (not the usual bog-standard stuff).
My boyfriend (the self-appointed chef) loved the great kitchen complete with bread maker (plus flour, yeast and recipe books) and the wide range of herbs and spices to play with. We all loved the welcome tray of tea, biscuits, bottle of wine in the fridge and ready made fire in the grate, plus water and dog biscuits for our excitable puppy.
We had mostly good weather, but when not the fire and myriad of board games helped to while away the hours until we could justify going to the pub.
The views across the bay were stunning and a long time was spent just sitting on the bench at the front door or watching out of the windows.

Applecross was delightful: friendly with great food at the Inn and the Walled Garden, and we caught the Applecross Games which were excellent (the puppy won first prize in the dog show!). We took away very fond memories and will definitely return.
And the best thing: despite being mid July, not a midge all week!!!

Helen Prout
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 30/08/2009
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

This was our first visit as a family to this part of Scotland and what a fabulous cottage we stayed in. Clean and cosy - what more could we ask. Weather wasn’t great but that didn’t stop us enjoying ourselves. Hope to visit again next year.

Caroline Miller
Reviewed Old Schoolhouse on 28/08/2009
And awarded it

Old Schoolhouse

Mrs & Miss Helm
Reviewed Glenara on 28/08/2009
And awarded it


We had a wonderful time at Glenara, it was perfectly located in the village with the Caledonian canal out the front, with the rear garden leading down to the River Oich and only a 5 minute walk to Loch Ness.
The cottage was perfect for our needs and our 7 month old puppy really enjoyed running around the garden and swimming in the loch.
The whole process of booking the cottage was hassle free, I would definitely use this website and this cottage in particular.

Pete & Maxine
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 28/08/2009
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We have stayed at Ceol na Mara twice now and absolutely love this little cottage. The view over the loch changes everytime you look out the window - simpy wonderful. The cottage is well equipped and is a real home from home - we can highly recommend this cottage and will be returning.

Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 28/08/2009
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

8/8/09 until 22/8/09 Our second visit to this fabulous cosy remote cottage set in the mountains and lochs. Never seen such a busy bird table with so many different birds including the woodpecker (fascinating)and in the evening two pine martins visit,they steal the fat balls and nuts from the birdtable and even look through the patio window. They love date and walnut cake or a scone with jam on it.In October last year we had the Deer right outside but not in August this time.A great place to relax and get away from it all. Lots of great walks through the forest and to Loch Loyne. We did the walk along the road to nowhere and we conquered the mountain in front of the cottage 535ft what an achievement at our age. The games room with its football game and dart board is ideal on a rainy day when you just want to chill out with a wee dram and the shortbread. Went to Oban, Applecross, Lossiemouth, Fort William and Inverness all within easy reach.