Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 50 of 2651

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 2651 reviews from guests, of which 104% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


A Newton
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 20/08/2017
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

We really enjoyed our week in the Coltsfoot. It is in a beautiful setting and the lodge was wonderful. Plenty to do in the surrounding area. Would highly recommend this to anyone.

Astrid & Graham
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 18/08/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Seascape cottage was truly a home from home and Chas and Jane have thought of everything in making it so. The setting was superb and the wildlife around the cottage lived up to all the descriptions. Rain, Sun and wind, no matter the weather the scenery is dramatic and ever changing. A delightful 'get away from it all' holiday and we can't wait to return.

Hannah & David
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 18/08/2017
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

A wonderful two weeks in a fantastic cottage - beautifully furnished and very well equipped. Enclosed garden very dog friendly. Lovely location, with excellent village shop at the bottom of the lane. An ideal base for exploring much of Skye.

Jonny
Reviewed Log House on 18/08/2017
And awarded it

Log House

For many years, since the distinctive and charming Log House jumped out from the pages of an old Wilderness Cottages brochure, I have dreamed about staying at this quirky retreat. My dreams came true in August 2017 when my wife and I, and our two boys aged thirteen and one, drove up to Fort Augustus with a couple of mountain bikes atop the car for a week of Highland living. We didn't have great weather but this presented a fine excuse to light the cosy fire each evening. The cabin really is very comfortable and inviting. The warm glow from the lamps, the roaring fire, the traditional log walls and the impressive greenery out of every window, not to mention the decorative antique winter sports equipment, all conspire to convince you that you're in a bygone era, a hundred miles from civilisation. All the kitchen appliances are high quality and in good condition. The kitchen floor is very creaky so if you're the type who tries to sneak into the biscuit jar in the dead of night for forty custards while your partner sleeps, be warned. I was very impressed by the bathroom. You would not expect such a clean, modern, fully-functional bathroom suite in such a cabin, but there it is; a taste of 5 star hotel life in the Great Glen. The bedrooms are wonderful but, at 6'3", I prefer a bed in which I can hang my feet out of the bottom. Not a major problem, it just meant I slept diagonally and my wife curled up and slept on her pillow. Woodland surrounds the cabin and pretty paths and trails can be explored in every direction. We rode our bikes every day and enjoyed the nearby River Oich Trail and the climb up to the magnificent (but dangerous!) viewpoint at Torr Dhuin. Another good ride goes from Fort Augustus to Invermoriston on the Great Glen Way. I would recommend taking the High Route on the outbound trip and then returning on the easier and slightly shorter Low Route. The views of Loch Ness from high above are fantastic, almost as good as the beer at Glenmoriston Arms Hotel. The Log House was everything I wanted it to be, and more. True, we could have done better for wildlife and weather but this was made up for with excellent WiFi, Freesat TV and a secure bike shed.

A Desmond
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 18/08/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

This is a beautiful cottage renovated to an extremely high standard and set in stunning Scottish countryside. Cottage had everything we needed and was extremely cosy and comfortable. The owners have put a lot of thought into what visitors might need making us feel very welcome. It is an ideal base for walking and hill climbing in the area and with a railway station just 4 miles away you can even visit Glasgow and further afield. We are already planning a second visit.

Carole Marks
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 18/08/2017
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We have stayed at Hill Head Croft several times now. We love the cottage for the space and quality of accommodation. The cottage is modern, well equipped and comfortable. A real home from home. It is in a lovely location, with beautiful scenery in the surrounding area.

Martina Heisele, Germany
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 17/08/2017
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Well equipped, clean, warm and pretty cottage. Didn't miss much except for a shower curtain and flowers in the hanging baskets. If the garden was in better shape (furniture, parasol, plants), it would be perfect. Anyway we felt at home and appreciated wine and milk.

Helen L
Reviewed Achbeag on 16/08/2017
And awarded it

Achbeag

Achbeag is a very well equipped cottage in a beautiful part of the country. There is no TV, internet or mobile reception but that added to the holiday. The washing machine is small and there is just a clothes horse, no tumble dryer or clothes line so families might find it difficult. Otherwise we had absolutely no complaints and would highly recommend.

David Mitchell
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 16/08/2017
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

A beautiful place to stay accommodation excellent setting stunning and will be using again in future

Stephen Dembry
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 16/08/2017
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

We stayed at Carn Loch Cottage for a week, wow, what else can we say. Stunning scenery and beautiful location. Excellent service from Wilderness Cottages, thank you. We would definitely recommend.

J.m.Risbey
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 16/08/2017
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Marines Croft. Delightful cottage in.spectacular location. Everything needed was provided, the cottage was clean and warm: unbelievable view over Loch and Urquhart Castle. Books, games, DVD's, all provided if needed. Would definitely book again. Only minus(slight), was road up to cottage, which was steep and bumpy.

Rhona Leighton
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 16/08/2017
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

Absolutely wonderful cottage......I wish it was my home :). A lot of thought has gone into this beautiful cottage. The owners left a very detailed brochure and the location is fantastic for exploring the area. We visited Culloden, Cawdor Castle, Brodie Castle, Fort George, Nairn beach, Findhorn and much much more.

Helen R
Reviewed Station Cottage on 16/08/2017
And awarded it

Station Cottage

We absolutely loved Nethy Bridge and can't wait to return. We loved Station Cottage, too; it has everything you need and we particularly liked the master bedroom with the beautiful en suite and French windows out onto the decking. The only thing that would put us off returning is unfortunately completely out of the owners' control, and that's the bunk house next door. We were lucky and only had one really disturbed night, when a large group of men (stag do) returned to the bunk house at about midnight and sang loudly until 3.30am on our first night. Fortunately they left next morning, but if they had been there for the whole week it would have ruined the holiday. This is a shame as we haven't managed to find another property in Nethy that we like as much as Station Cottage. I'm still giving the cottage full marks as, accommodation-wise and location-wise, it's excellent. Just pack earplugs, just in case, or choose a mid-week break.

Suzanne & Kevin Carr +Lucy & Rosie (Samoyeds)
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 16/08/2017
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

An amazing gem of a find. What can we say- Cottage was well equipped , everything you needed, loved the welcome pack. Excellent views. We intended to use cottage as a base and visit other places but that didn't happen as we relaxed and chilled all week. Lots of walks along the beach, saw seals and deer's and plenty of exploring in rock pools. Yes we had no mobile phone or internet signals but that just added to the whole experience. The dogs had the time of their lives. We didn't want to tear ourselves away back to reality so much so we have already booked for next year. We have found our tiny bit of heaven and will continue to return .

Marc - Belgium
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 15/08/2017
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

Nice and cosy cottage with stunning views!

Shona Anderson
Reviewed An Sealladh on 15/08/2017
And awarded it

An Sealladh

This is a warm well equipped cottage. Fantastic bath to soak away the aching muscles after hiking the majestic hills. Comfy bed with top grade bed linen to sleep restfully, renewing your energy for the next adventure. Excellent location to stop and take in the sights you might miss travelling along the wonderful NC 500. My only criticism would be the very small bath towels.

David Gibson
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 14/08/2017
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

One of the best places we've stayed anywhere. Fantastic views, great location, friendly owners (they live close by). The view out the big windows at the front of the house was spectacular, and the house generally had a great, open feel. Loads of things to do in the area and locally, without without a car - the local walks started just 100 meters up the hill.

David Gibson
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 14/08/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Cottage was really well furnished, the owners stayed nearby and were friendly & helpful. Location was good for short drives to get to places in the surrounding area, but nothing right on your doorstep. Downside was the midges, which ruled out sitting outside or opening windows. So, great if you like indoors & driving is your thing, not for you if you prefer being outside & walking to local places.

Ian Wright
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 14/08/2017
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

We found Poulary Cottage absolutely perfect. it was lovely inside and out, the cottage was clean and and secure so the you could let the dogs out without and concerns. The were plenty of walks within the estate which allowed us to run the dogs off lead. We will defiantly be going back, I would mention that the single track road has some issues like rocks protruding from the side of the road which will burst your tyres. Drive carefully.

Lindsay
Reviewed Loch Cottage on 13/08/2017
And awarded it

Loch Cottage

A great location , close to the Cairngorms. Lovely to sit outside in the evening in the sun with a drink and enjoy the view of the loch and the mountains. Cottage clean, comfortable and well equipped. Situated on a quiet road and yet within easy reach of Aviemore.

Sam Mawby
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 13/08/2017
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

A lovely, cosy, well equipped high quality cottage. The weather was a bit mixed so it was great to have somewhere welcoming to come back to. During our stay we visited Loch Ness, Elgin, the Black Isle, Cairngorm Mountain, all of which are within an hour's drive through stunning countryside. We look forward to our next visit!

Victoria Thomson
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 11/08/2017
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Home from home in the most idyllic setting on the planet, I love Bayside! Enjoyed reading in the porch with the spectacular veiw of Rassay right in front of me, loved the deck and cannot wait to book Bayside again

Alison Blasdale
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 11/08/2017
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

The barn is a wonderful place if you are looking to get away from it all. It is beautifully situated and very comfortable and well appointed. We spent hours watching the weather outside through the huge picture windows. Our dogs loved it too. It is great for wildlife lovers. We saw otters, porpoise and seals every day! Bring your binoculars. Lots to see and do in the area and local pubs, restaurants are excellent! Two things would make it even better.... A claw foot bath in the main bedroom by the window! A canoe to explore the loch

Family Hughes
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 10/08/2017
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

We had a wonderful week at The Mill, a spacious and excellently equipped cottage, enjoying the views come rain and shine. I would definitely rebook if in the area again.

Stephen Downes
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 10/08/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Beautiful house nestled among the wild forests surrounding Plodda Falls. We had an action packed week, hiking & mountain-climbing, out on Loch Ness, visiting Inverness, swimming at the foot of the falls, white-water rafting and a spot of fishing. House is fully equipped with all the necessities and Jenny is always on hand, if required, with local knowledge and tips. She also makes a mean rhubarb cake! No mobile signal & Internet speed is not great, understandably so given the remote location, but enough to keep in contact. All in all, the perfect spot to get away from it all. We'll be back.

The Spencers
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 08/08/2017
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

We found owl cottage perfect for our week exploring the highlands. It is situated in a quiet location but only a 5 minute walk to the local shops and pubs. The cottage is a good size for a family of four and very well equipped with a secluded garden, perfect for enjoying the evening sunshine. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

Kate S
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 07/08/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Plodda Falls Lodge was a perfect secluded hideaway in the highlands. Walks around the village and surrounding glens were lovely and picturesque. We also enjoyed the special feeling of being able to walk to Plodda Falls after everyone had gone home as it was so close. We enjoyed the historic feel and quirkiness to the house. Jenny was very friendly and checked in on us during the holiday and was flexible for when we wanted to arrive ad leave and made sure she was there to meet us. Would definitely return for another visit!

Petra Maes
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 06/08/2017
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Wonderfull cottage. The view is amazing . And such a quiet place. Also perfect to explore the north west coast. I loved it

Helen E
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 05/08/2017
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Wow! What a stunning setting for a house. We were lucky with the weather and enjoyed sitting on the bench outside, gazing at all the pine trees. It was equally lovely sitting indoors watching the sunset. Loch Farr is just half a mile from the house and we enjoyed our walk down there. The cottage is remote, and yet only around 8 miles from Inverness, so not too far to go if you want civilisation. The journey to Inverness does feel longer though on account of the long, narrow roads in parts. As for the house, it was lovely. Warm as we entered, a nice smell, and very clean. Milk and scrummy biscuits had been left for us. Great laundry facilities - if that is of interest. It's not often I say I'll go back somewhere, but I would return to Carn Loch Cottage. We didn't want to leave. We were quite happy staying close to the house, but we did venture to Fort Augustus, and also to the Falls of Foyers. There is a nice cafe/farm shop in Foyers called Cameron's tearoom and farm shop, where they do lovely food and you can take your dog inside too. From a dog point of view, Carn Loch Cottage is good. There are dog beds/crates left for you to use if you wish, treats, a toy, and some poo bags. Dogs have to be kept on a lead outside though, as there is no enclosed garden, and because of wildlife. One night there was a power cut and because of the poor mobile phone signal, I did feel a bit too isolated. The fact the light remains up there until quite late in the summer helped, and the power returned within a couple of hours, so it was okay. I'm not sure that I'd feel as happy there in the winter though. There is a good WiFi connection. I highly recommend Carn Loch Cottage.

Frank & Tracey Clarkson
Reviewed Wee Dram on 04/08/2017
And awarded it

Wee Dram

The Wee Dram was absolutely perfect for our stay in Aberlour. We were so comfortable there and felt totally at home. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

Laorans
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 03/08/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Very nice house, very nice view and very nice weather. Very beautiful walks. This region is magnificent.

Laorans
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 03/08/2017
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

It's a very nice place. The view is splendid, much more so than the pictures and a warm welcome. The house is very pleasant.

Eve Hopper
Reviewed Callakille on 03/08/2017
And awarded it

Callakille

Callakille was everything we thought it would be. Set up high on a windswept hill overlooking the sea. Beautiful views from the front and back of the cottage, and we were lucky that we had good weather so we were able to get out each day and explore. The interior was tastefully decorated and furnished with a fully equipped kitchen. Most of all we really enjoyed the peace, quiet and seclusion of the cottage. We will return.

Leah Ross
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 02/08/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We had a fantastic week at Seascape. The cottage itself is brilliant. Everything you could possibly need has been provided for. Jane and Chas (the owners) were incredibly welcoming, thank you for the jam and the wine! The location is sublime, I think I must have spent most of the week gazing at the sea! We had been there for less than an hour when we saw roe deer and a fox on the beach, and of course the seals were in the bay most days. I can't recommend highly enough, everything was perfect.

Emanuela Scanziani
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 02/08/2017
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

The house is wonderful!!! Great landscape, great furniture, great place....perhaps the best holiday house ever seen!!!! And sea eagles in the sky and red deer in our garden! Thank you very much.

Martin Boyle
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 02/08/2017
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Fourth visit and another fantastic week spent at Bayside cottage. Well equipped with stunning views of both the bay and Skye from the decking. Nice touch with biscuits, milk and bottle of wine chilling in the fridge.

Ann Ballard
Reviewed River Cottage on 02/08/2017
And awarded it

River Cottage

River Cottage was wonderful and friendly and a very nice welcome pack. The garden was brilliant for Charlie our cocker spaniel and we were lucky with weather. It is a brilliant location to explore Scotland.

Phil Smith
Reviewed Don Cottage on 02/08/2017
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Had a lovely stay at Don Cottage near Loch Ness, cottage was beautiful and had everything we needed.A real home from home in a gorgeous part of the world.

Paul Drinkwater
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 02/08/2017
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

What a wonderful place, so peaceful and ideal site for exploring this part of Scotland. We enjoyed it so much we are sure to go back. Everything is in the cottage from books, films and all modern appliances a really fantastic place to stay and such friendly people too.

J & D & Family
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 02/08/2017
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Amazing sunsets, looking right out at the Outer Hebrides. The location is superb with a field of sheep and a fairly quiet road between the cottage and the "jurassic beach"! The cottage itself is really well equipped with everything you could possibly want, and more spacious than the pictures might suggest. Thank you for such a wonderful relaxing break!

Rebecca& Cris
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 01/08/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We had the best ever time at White Tail Croft. It exceded our expectations in so many ways! Everything was perfect and clean and we love all the attention to details! As we were so lucky with the weather during our week on Skye, we were happy about a rainy day at last to have an excuse to stay in the Croft all day, looking out of the window, cooking, using the Sauna, reading...Just perfect to wind down from the busy life! We loved the secluded spot of the croft but still being in civilisation within 10- 15 Minutes, depending how many sheep were on the road :-)! We are already looking forward to come back!

Vivien Pickup
Reviewed Christies on 30/07/2017
And awarded it

Christies

A super holiday cottage. Everything you would need was there. The ability to dry stuff if it was wet was good. The kitchen as well equipped and there were plenty of maps, books and DVDs to use if you wanted to stay in. Fortunately for us the weather was generally great with just one drenching on Handa Island. It's location in Scourie was fabulous as the views of the bay and Handa Island were great and bird watching could take place out of the window!! We wondered if the Route 500 would make the roads busier but we didn't think so. Our dog enjoyed the stay too with walks down through the croft land to the bay for early morning walks. It would be quite nice to have a guest book there so other people can recommend walks, visits etc. We walked Suilven and Quinag during that week which were amazing on clear sunny days - always windy so keeping midges at bay. All in all a great place to stay and we hope to return sometime soon.

Mrs Doherty
Reviewed Log House on 29/07/2017
And awarded it

Log House

I stayed at the log house for a week in July, with my hubby and 2 boys aged 8 and 2. We absolutely loved it, we knew by looking the pictures it looked great, but the pictures don't do it justice, it's even better. There's everything you need, for week of self catering, it's like home from home. We especially loved the log fire on a night time, so cosy and warm. My hubby and 8 year son loved walking down to river, surrounding are beautiful, you well truely feel like your in the Scottish Highlands. We were only 5 mins car journey away from Fort Augustus village, which is lovely to walk around, have spot of lunch or dinner. We did the Loch Ness evening cruise, it was great if we didn't believe in Nessy before, we sure as do now lol. You are only a 50 min drive to Inverness, which we visited one of the days with the boys, and visted the swimming pool, which I can highly recommend for kids, it a great wee pool with flumes and slides. Our only disappointment of the log house was having to leave, we will definitely be visiting again.

Flynns From Winchester
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 29/07/2017
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

We were absolutely delighted with Tigh-na-Crobh. The cottage setting is perfect in terms of its proximity to stunning coastal landscapes and to Portree for shopping. We loved the design of the building and the set up of the rooms to maximise comfort and relaxation. I needed to contact the owner for a couple of very minor things and response was speedy, friendly and helpful. We would most definitely return here and we very highly recommend this rather special house.

Michelle Braithwaite
Reviewed Log House on 28/07/2017
And awarded it

Log House

Just had a weeks holiday at this Log Cabin and had one of the best holidays in a very long time. The cabin is like something out of a fairy tale. Very Hansel and Gretel set in a forest just a few miles from Fort Augustus. Great location to visit Inverness, local distilleries, Fort William and Skye. If you're after a road trip with spectacular scenery go to Eilean Donan Castle on the way to Skye. Possibly the best scenery I've ever witnesses in my 44 years. As for the cabin its very cosy and quiet. No street lights or road noise. Only fly in the ointment ( literally) was was bitten to death by midgies but this hasn't put me off. This holiday was meant to be a cheaply as couldn't afford the normal trip for four to the med this year. I've asked the kids where they would rather go next year here or Spain and they said here. So we will be back. Thank you to the owners of this place.

Dunn & Stewart Family
Reviewed Easter Drumine Cottage on 25/07/2017
And awarded it

Easter Drumine Cottage

We stayed at Easter Drumine cottage from 17/06/17-24/06/17 it is of a very high standard in a lovely peaceful location with everything you need there was a lovely card and gift from the owners and some treats for our two dogs meg and poppy . The area is lovely with beautiful beaches walks castles and gardens all within a short drive . There is also a Lidl & Tesco about 10/15 mins away

Eric Paton
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 19/07/2017
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

A comfy, cosy and beautiful cottage in an idyllic location. The cottage was spotless and well equipped and was surrounded by wildlife and stunning views. We had a wonderful fortnight at Matheson's croft and would love to return very soon. Thank you so much for a great holiday.

Charles VI
Reviewed Easter Drumine Cottage on 19/07/2017
And awarded it

Easter Drumine Cottage

This is an all but brand new cottage in a isolated but very pleasant rural location. The building and its contents are all to a high standard. However, it is as well to be aware that access involves about 500 yards down a forestry track which could be a problem for low slung sports cars etc.

Peter & Eleanor Gallagher
Reviewed Christies on 13/07/2017
And awarded it

Christies

We have had a fantastic 2 week holiday in Scourie. The cottage has stunning views, absolute peace and quiet, sheep pottering round outside the front door and we walked down through the field below to the beach every day. It was super-clean, with kitchen machinery (dishwasher, fridge-freezer, washing machine etc ) looking brand new, and furnished practically for a dog-friendly house. The heating system kept the house feeling very cosy - I would suggest asking the owner to put it on in advance if it is chilly. There was plenty hot water, a good shower over the bath and a separate toilet. The village centre, with wifi access, phone box and a Spar is within walking distance-we were glad we had brought basic supplies with us, but got a few extras in the Spar each day. We had no problems that needed the owners attention but had quick friendly replies to texts and my impression was that she would be very helpful if needed.

Trudi Jackson
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 13/07/2017
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Owl Cottage is a good size, comfortable and really well equipped cottage. Situated in a lovely quiet lane 5 minute walk from main street, shops and amenities it was perfect for our base. We enjoyed a couple of bbq's in the garden which was secluded. The only thing you would change is I would put a proper shower in the bathroom which is big enough but we managed for a week.