Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 50 of 2775

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 2775 reviews from guests, of which 100% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


Michael
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 18/09/2017
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

We've been in Pooltiel House the second time (last time in August 2016). This house is a jewel! Plenty of space, well equipped kitchen and an awesome view, two walks starting from the doorstep and a lot of others reachable. Having a house like this in Germany ... that wood be a dream.

Rob Manger- Hamshire
Reviewed Cnoc Ard on 18/09/2017
And awarded it

Cnoc Ard

Had a great week at Cnoc Ard Everything you need for a comfy and cosy stay in this wonderful park of the UK. All the appliances/TV etc. are all modern and easy to use. Kitchen all fully kitted out. Great shower and hot water on demand(unlike many other cottages) but still keeps the traditional feel of a 'croft' dwelling. Easy transaction and instructions made booking and arrival/departure a breeze. Some amazing sights, Sandwood bay, Old man of Stoer. Easy walk to the campsite bar and hotel if you want to eat and drink out. To get away from it all in comfort and character I give Cnoc Ard 5*

Jon Bagnall
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 18/09/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Arrivain is a beautifully restored cottage, set in glorious surroundings. It provides comfortable, high quality accommodation, with everything you need, whilst retaining all the charm of the original Croft. Jacqui & Jeff made us feel really welcome and were on hand if there were any issues, not that we had any during our stay. In terms of location, Arrivain is only five minutes from Tyndrum and the surrounding hills and being on the main road makes places further afield such as Oban and Callander esily accessible. If 'big' hills aren't your thing, or just for something different, a trip to the island of Kerrera, or a circuit of Loch Awe, are perfect alternatives. We had a great week (despite the mixed weather), leaving with plenty of ideas for what we need to do the next time we are here. Now, where is my diary...........

Anthony & Wendy Smith
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 14/09/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

We chose Arrivain Cottage as it looked perfect for our Honeymoon, we adore this part of Scotland and couldn't think of staying anywhere else to mark this special occasion. Our hosts Jeff & Jacqui were lovely, Jacqui welcomed us when we arrived and showed us around their beautiful cottage. As we were their first Honeymooners Jeff & Jacqui left us a bottle of Champange, truffles, hand cut crisps, fresh flowers and a card which was such a nice surprise, we both greatly appreciated these thoughtful touches which helped make this occasion special. Arrivan is perfectly placed for anyone wanting to explore the west of Scotland or if you just want a beautiful warm and inviting cottage to lock yourself away from the outside world Arrivain is perfect, with its log burner, under floor heating, comfy bed, amazing shower or just sitting by the burn looking up at the mountains that surround you. Arrivain sits in beautiful and stunning surroundings, in our eyes Arrivain is a little piece of heaven. Thank you Jeff & Jacqui for making us so welcome and everything you did for us, you helped make our Honeymoon perfect.

Cyriel Pluimakers
Reviewed Holly Cottage on 08/09/2017
And awarded it

Holly Cottage

Nice cottage, comfortable, best shower ever. Good restaurant and supermarket just around the corner. Nice walks. Reasonable price.

Isobel Stuart & Family
Reviewed Easter Drumine Cottage on 08/09/2017
And awarded it

Easter Drumine Cottage

Beautiful, well equipped cottage in quiet, peaceful location, didn't want to leave!! Very thoughtful owners, everything we needed was there and nice gifts on arrival made us feel very welcome. We had a great holiday and hope to return to Easter Drumine.

Clare, Nigel, Ewan & Lucas Hinze
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 06/09/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We had an amazing week here. The Croft is designed to fit into the vast surrounding landscape with so much thought and the modern interior compliments it perfectly. Welcoming wine, goodies and quality touches around the croft really made you feel special. It was so well equipped and spotless. We saw eagles almost each day flying by and waking up to that view, whatever the weather was spectacular. The sauna is a brilliant touch after a day's exploring. A definite return for us in the future.

Catriona Follows
Reviewed Cnoc Ard on 03/09/2017
And awarded it

Cnoc Ard

We had a great week at Cnoc Ard. The location was perfect with easy access to the beautiful beaches and walks of Sutherland. The cottage was cosy and comfortable with lovely views and a log burning stove for chillier nights. Would highly recommend.

Sarah
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 30/08/2017
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

A beautiful clean & well equipped Lodge. A single Lodge situated at the bottom of a drive tucked away in the trees. Perfect location to get away from it all. Our children loved paddling in the small steam just a few metres from the Lodge. Just don't forget the midgey spray! Short walk to Fort Augustus (approx 5-10 mins away). Would recommend this Lodge to family & friends. I would gladly return tomorrow for another holiday.

Emilie
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 30/08/2017
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Swallow Byre and its owner are both very lovely. Swallow Byre is clean and very cosy with a good kitchen (and a Raeburn!), a huge and very comfortable double bed, a cosy livingroom, a large bathroom with a shower and a huge garden. The cottage has all you need. We had a week of nice weather and went for lots of long walks. There's plenty to see and do in this beautiful part of Scotland.

Louise & Neil
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 29/08/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Just returned from a lovely week at Seascape. So quiet and peaceful, did a few fabulous walks from the cottage. The cottage itself was immaculate, cosy and very well equipped. Chas & Jane were really helpful if you had any questions. Definitely recommend fro those who want to get away from it and appreciate beautiful scenery.

Keith Delworth
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 25/08/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Our last day in this beautiful little cottage, It is the best equipped cottage we have ever stayed in, Lovely and clean, with a stunning view, what more can you want, we will definitely be coming back again

Peter & Sue
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 25/08/2017
And awarded it

Shellach Cottage

Lovely little cottage. On a quiet road on the edge of Lochcarron village. The village has two useful shops, a cafe with takeaway and a petrol garage. Cottage has all mod cons and the real fire is a bonus. (Don't book it for the garden). Loads of good walks in the area. We'll stay again!

Rosemary
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 22/08/2017
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

A lovely quiet spot with view of the sea and across to the outer Hebrides when weather permits! We enjoyed a couple of fabulous sunsets whilst sitting at the dining table and it is an easy walk up to the castle to view from there. The cottage is very warm, spacious, clean and well equipped. We didn't use the upstairs but it was much bigger than we expected when we popped up to take a look. We explored other parts of Skye but we liked this top end the best for the variation in coastal scenery. There are many interesting walks to do from very nearby. Highly recommend.

Lucinda & Paul Anderton
Reviewed Christies on 22/08/2017
And awarded it

Christies

Yet another wonderful week spent in this cosy cottage! :) We've spent many happy hours gazing contentedly over Scourie Bay as well as enjoying scenic walks. It was great to catch up with James (very helpful neighbour) and Tizzy, his dog. We're already planning a return visit in 2019 :)

Madeleine
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 22/08/2017
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

This is a really special cottage. The location is just stunning and the light streaming into every room is amazing. The kitchen is very well equipped and spacious, and includes a good sized table and chairs. Having a separate sitting room as well is a plus - so many holiday cottages are open plan. The Aga meant the cottage was always warm and cosy. We would definitely return.

Hays Family
Reviewed Log House on 21/08/2017
And awarded it

Log House

We stayed in this property 12 years ago before children and decided to return with children aged 9 and 7. The Log House is comfy and well equipped and has everything you may need and appears to have been recently updated and was spotlessly clean. Our daughters enjoyed going out in the early evening to watch the bats flying from the property. The property is a decent walk (about 30 minutes) from the centre of Fort Augustus or you can drive into the centre with ease. We arranged for Tesco to deliver shopping to the Log House to stop us needing to take this with us and they found it with ease. It was lovely to go back and we will go back in the future again.

Fiona Mossman
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 20/08/2017
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

A relaxing and peaceful place to say. The cottage has breathtaking views and is decorated and kitted out to a high standard. Perfect getaway that is both secluded but not too far away from tourist attractions. Skye itself is becoming very busy so it was lovely to have this sea side retreat to return to after our sightseeing and days out. Midges were the only downside as it meant sitting outside in the evening and enjoying the amazing view and wildlife wasn't possible. We will definitely come back, out with midge season!

A Newton
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 20/08/2017
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

We really enjoyed our week in the Coltsfoot. It is in a beautiful setting and the lodge was wonderful. Plenty to do in the surrounding area. Would highly recommend this to anyone.

Astrid & Graham
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 18/08/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Seascape cottage was truly a home from home and Chas and Jane have thought of everything in making it so. The setting was superb and the wildlife around the cottage lived up to all the descriptions. Rain, Sun and wind, no matter the weather the scenery is dramatic and ever changing. A delightful 'get away from it all' holiday and we can't wait to return.

Hannah & David
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 18/08/2017
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

A wonderful two weeks in a fantastic cottage - beautifully furnished and very well equipped. Enclosed garden very dog friendly. Lovely location, with excellent village shop at the bottom of the lane. An ideal base for exploring much of Skye.

Jonny
Reviewed Log House on 18/08/2017
And awarded it

Log House

For many years, since the distinctive and charming Log House jumped out from the pages of an old Wilderness Cottages brochure, I have dreamed about staying at this quirky retreat. My dreams came true in August 2017 when my wife and I, and our two boys aged thirteen and one, drove up to Fort Augustus with a couple of mountain bikes atop the car for a week of Highland living. We didn't have great weather but this presented a fine excuse to light the cosy fire each evening. The cabin really is very comfortable and inviting. The warm glow from the lamps, the roaring fire, the traditional log walls and the impressive greenery out of every window, not to mention the decorative antique winter sports equipment, all conspire to convince you that you're in a bygone era, a hundred miles from civilisation. All the kitchen appliances are high quality and in good condition. The kitchen floor is very creaky so if you're the type who tries to sneak into the biscuit jar in the dead of night for forty custards while your partner sleeps, be warned. I was very impressed by the bathroom. You would not expect such a clean, modern, fully-functional bathroom suite in such a cabin, but there it is; a taste of 5 star hotel life in the Great Glen. The bedrooms are wonderful but, at 6'3", I prefer a bed in which I can hang my feet out of the bottom. Not a major problem, it just meant I slept diagonally and my wife curled up and slept on her pillow. Woodland surrounds the cabin and pretty paths and trails can be explored in every direction. We rode our bikes every day and enjoyed the nearby River Oich Trail and the climb up to the magnificent (but dangerous!) viewpoint at Torr Dhuin. Another good ride goes from Fort Augustus to Invermoriston on the Great Glen Way. I would recommend taking the High Route on the outbound trip and then returning on the easier and slightly shorter Low Route. The views of Loch Ness from high above are fantastic, almost as good as the beer at Glenmoriston Arms Hotel. The Log House was everything I wanted it to be, and more. True, we could have done better for wildlife and weather but this was made up for with excellent WiFi, Freesat TV and a secure bike shed.

Holiday
Reviewed Foiseil Cottage on 18/08/2017
And awarded it

Foiseil Cottage

A mixed review: Pros: comfortable bed High end technology Top spec kitchen appliances Quality bathroom Efficient, easy to use heating Close to Grantown amenities Cons: Difficult to find down tight alley Shared parking- not designated solely for cottage- first come first served Very dirty on arrival- we vacuumed and cleaned dining table & chairs, bathroom and kitchen area before unpacking Overgrown weed strewn gravel garden- no furniture out, plus overturned broken tool store Shared entry - two other front doors are immediately outside your bedroom window- we had blind permanently down for privacy

A Desmond
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 18/08/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

This is a beautiful cottage renovated to an extremely high standard and set in stunning Scottish countryside. Cottage had everything we needed and was extremely cosy and comfortable. The owners have put a lot of thought into what visitors might need making us feel very welcome. It is an ideal base for walking and hill climbing in the area and with a railway station just 4 miles away you can even visit Glasgow and further afield. We are already planning a second visit.

Carole Marks
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 18/08/2017
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We have stayed at Hill Head Croft several times now. We love the cottage for the space and quality of accommodation. The cottage is modern, well equipped and comfortable. A real home from home. It is in a lovely location, with beautiful scenery in the surrounding area.

Martina Heisele, Germany
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 17/08/2017
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Well equipped, clean, warm and pretty cottage. Didn't miss much except for a shower curtain and flowers in the hanging baskets. If the garden was in better shape (furniture, parasol, plants), it would be perfect. Anyway we felt at home and appreciated wine and milk.

Tracey
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 16/08/2017
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

Beech Lodge is comfortable, well equipped and presented, as well as being in a brilliant location. The host, Donnie, is a lovely man - who also provides delicious scones and homemade jam! The sunrise over Beauly Firth was lovely to behold. It was possible to walk from the cottage to the nearby ancient woodland, as well as seeing deer and red squirrels. Nearby Beauly is a well-equipped village and nothing seems too far away. An excellent base to explore The Highlands.

Helen L
Reviewed Achbeag on 16/08/2017
And awarded it

Achbeag

Achbeag is a very well equipped cottage in a beautiful part of the country. There is no TV, internet or mobile reception but that added to the holiday. The washing machine is small and there is just a clothes horse, no tumble dryer or clothes line so families might find it difficult. Otherwise we had absolutely no complaints and would highly recommend.

David Mitchell
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 16/08/2017
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

A beautiful place to stay accommodation excellent setting stunning and will be using again in future

Stephen Dembry
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 16/08/2017
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

We stayed at Carn Loch Cottage for a week, wow, what else can we say. Stunning scenery and beautiful location. Excellent service from Wilderness Cottages, thank you. We would definitely recommend.

J.m.Risbey
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 16/08/2017
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Marines Croft. Delightful cottage in.spectacular location. Everything needed was provided, the cottage was clean and warm: unbelievable view over Loch and Urquhart Castle. Books, games, DVD's, all provided if needed. Would definitely book again. Only minus(slight), was road up to cottage, which was steep and bumpy.

Rhona Leighton
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 16/08/2017
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

Absolutely wonderful cottage......I wish it was my home :). A lot of thought has gone into this beautiful cottage. The owners left a very detailed brochure and the location is fantastic for exploring the area. We visited Culloden, Cawdor Castle, Brodie Castle, Fort George, Nairn beach, Findhorn and much much more.

Helen R
Reviewed Station Cottage on 16/08/2017
And awarded it

Station Cottage

We absolutely loved Nethy Bridge and can't wait to return. We loved Station Cottage, too; it has everything you need and we particularly liked the master bedroom with the beautiful en suite and French windows out onto the decking. The only thing that would put us off returning is unfortunately completely out of the owners' control, and that's the bunk house next door. We were lucky and only had one really disturbed night, when a large group of men (stag do) returned to the bunk house at about midnight and sang loudly until 3.30am on our first night. Fortunately they left next morning, but if they had been there for the whole week it would have ruined the holiday. This is a shame as we haven't managed to find another property in Nethy that we like as much as Station Cottage. I'm still giving the cottage full marks as, accommodation-wise and location-wise, it's excellent. Just pack earplugs, just in case, or choose a mid-week break.

Suzanne & Kevin Carr +Lucy & Rosie (Samoyeds)
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 16/08/2017
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

An amazing gem of a find. What can we say- Cottage was well equipped , everything you needed, loved the welcome pack. Excellent views. We intended to use cottage as a base and visit other places but that didn't happen as we relaxed and chilled all week. Lots of walks along the beach, saw seals and deer's and plenty of exploring in rock pools. Yes we had no mobile phone or internet signals but that just added to the whole experience. The dogs had the time of their lives. We didn't want to tear ourselves away back to reality so much so we have already booked for next year. We have found our tiny bit of heaven and will continue to return .

Marc - Belgium
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 15/08/2017
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

Nice and cosy cottage with stunning views!

Shona Anderson
Reviewed An Sealladh on 15/08/2017
And awarded it

An Sealladh

This is a warm well equipped cottage. Fantastic bath to soak away the aching muscles after hiking the majestic hills. Comfy bed with top grade bed linen to sleep restfully, renewing your energy for the next adventure. Excellent location to stop and take in the sights you might miss travelling along the wonderful NC 500. My only criticism would be the very small bath towels.

David Gibson
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 14/08/2017
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

One of the best places we've stayed anywhere. Fantastic views, great location, friendly owners (they live close by). The view out the big windows at the front of the house was spectacular, and the house generally had a great, open feel. Loads of things to do in the area and locally, without without a car - the local walks started just 100 meters up the hill.

David Gibson
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 14/08/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Cottage was really well furnished, the owners stayed nearby and were friendly & helpful. Location was good for short drives to get to places in the surrounding area, but nothing right on your doorstep. Downside was the midges, which ruled out sitting outside or opening windows. So, great if you like indoors & driving is your thing, not for you if you prefer being outside & walking to local places.

Ian Wright
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 14/08/2017
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

We found Poulary Cottage absolutely perfect. it was lovely inside and out, the cottage was clean and and secure so the you could let the dogs out without and concerns. The were plenty of walks within the estate which allowed us to run the dogs off lead. We will defiantly be going back, I would mention that the single track road has some issues like rocks protruding from the side of the road which will burst your tyres. Drive carefully.

Lindsay
Reviewed Loch Cottage on 13/08/2017
And awarded it

Loch Cottage

A great location , close to the Cairngorms. Lovely to sit outside in the evening in the sun with a drink and enjoy the view of the loch and the mountains. Cottage clean, comfortable and well equipped. Situated on a quiet road and yet within easy reach of Aviemore.

Sam Mawby
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 13/08/2017
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

A lovely, cosy, well equipped high quality cottage. The weather was a bit mixed so it was great to have somewhere welcoming to come back to. During our stay we visited Loch Ness, Elgin, the Black Isle, Cairngorm Mountain, all of which are within an hour's drive through stunning countryside. We look forward to our next visit!

Victoria Thomson
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 11/08/2017
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Home from home in the most idyllic setting on the planet, I love Bayside! Enjoyed reading in the porch with the spectacular veiw of Rassay right in front of me, loved the deck and cannot wait to book Bayside again

Alison Blasdale
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 11/08/2017
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

The barn is a wonderful place if you are looking to get away from it all. It is beautifully situated and very comfortable and well appointed. We spent hours watching the weather outside through the huge picture windows. Our dogs loved it too. It is great for wildlife lovers. We saw otters, porpoise and seals every day! Bring your binoculars. Lots to see and do in the area and local pubs, restaurants are excellent! Two things would make it even better.... A claw foot bath in the main bedroom by the window! A canoe to explore the loch

Family Hughes
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 10/08/2017
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

We had a wonderful week at The Mill, a spacious and excellently equipped cottage, enjoying the views come rain and shine. I would definitely rebook if in the area again.

Stephen Downes
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 10/08/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Beautiful house nestled among the wild forests surrounding Plodda Falls. We had an action packed week, hiking & mountain-climbing, out on Loch Ness, visiting Inverness, swimming at the foot of the falls, white-water rafting and a spot of fishing. House is fully equipped with all the necessities and Jenny is always on hand, if required, with local knowledge and tips. She also makes a mean rhubarb cake! No mobile signal & Internet speed is not great, understandably so given the remote location, but enough to keep in contact. All in all, the perfect spot to get away from it all. We'll be back.

The Spencers
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 08/08/2017
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

We found owl cottage perfect for our week exploring the highlands. It is situated in a quiet location but only a 5 minute walk to the local shops and pubs. The cottage is a good size for a family of four and very well equipped with a secluded garden, perfect for enjoying the evening sunshine. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

Kate S
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 07/08/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Plodda Falls Lodge was a perfect secluded hideaway in the highlands. Walks around the village and surrounding glens were lovely and picturesque. We also enjoyed the special feeling of being able to walk to Plodda Falls after everyone had gone home as it was so close. We enjoyed the historic feel and quirkiness to the house. Jenny was very friendly and checked in on us during the holiday and was flexible for when we wanted to arrive ad leave and made sure she was there to meet us. Would definitely return for another visit!

Petra Maes
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 06/08/2017
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Wonderfull cottage. The view is amazing . And such a quiet place. Also perfect to explore the north west coast. I loved it

Helen E
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 05/08/2017
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Wow! What a stunning setting for a house. We were lucky with the weather and enjoyed sitting on the bench outside, gazing at all the pine trees. It was equally lovely sitting indoors watching the sunset. Loch Farr is just half a mile from the house and we enjoyed our walk down there. The cottage is remote, and yet only around 8 miles from Inverness, so not too far to go if you want civilisation. The journey to Inverness does feel longer though on account of the long, narrow roads in parts. As for the house, it was lovely. Warm as we entered, a nice smell, and very clean. Milk and scrummy biscuits had been left for us. Great laundry facilities - if that is of interest. It's not often I say I'll go back somewhere, but I would return to Carn Loch Cottage. We didn't want to leave. We were quite happy staying close to the house, but we did venture to Fort Augustus, and also to the Falls of Foyers. There is a nice cafe/farm shop in Foyers called Cameron's tearoom and farm shop, where they do lovely food and you can take your dog inside too. From a dog point of view, Carn Loch Cottage is good. There are dog beds/crates left for you to use if you wish, treats, a toy, and some poo bags. Dogs have to be kept on a lead outside though, as there is no enclosed garden, and because of wildlife. One night there was a power cut and because of the poor mobile phone signal, I did feel a bit too isolated. The fact the light remains up there until quite late in the summer helped, and the power returned within a couple of hours, so it was okay. I'm not sure that I'd feel as happy there in the winter though. There is a good WiFi connection. I highly recommend Carn Loch Cottage.

Frank & Tracey Clarkson
Reviewed Wee Dram on 04/08/2017
And awarded it

Wee Dram

The Wee Dram was absolutely perfect for our stay in Aberlour. We were so comfortable there and felt totally at home. We'd go back in a heartbeat.