Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 50 of 2798

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 2798 reviews from guests, of which 111% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


Bernadette
Reviewed Cuilfail on 11/07/2018
And awarded it

Cuilfail

The setting of Cuilfail is beautiful, with a large garden, view on the mountain behind, and a quiet road in front. We were with 6 persons. The 5 garden chairs are weak, one is deficient. The house has enough room for six persons. There are 2 bathrooms, but only the one downstairs has a shower. So all the six habitants came to use that one shower. This wasn't the intention of the 2 persons that slept downstairs. We couldn't deprive 4 persons of a shower, but had wished to have our private bathroom. It would be easy to add a shower upstairs, above the bathtub. The bed downstairs is large enough, but is very hard. We could feel the iron spirals in our body. The kitchen is sufficient, but we missed a orange press, which can be a simple one. The washing machine and dish washer are good. The electric stove has been cleaned so often, that all the digits are invisible, so we had to guess how is works. It would be convenient to have a one-page manual. For the rest it is a splendid house, near the beautiful falls of Foyers and near Loch Ness. Plenty of opportunities to make beautiful walks.

John & Heather Wilkinson
Reviewed River Cottage on 11/07/2018
And awarded it

River Cottage

The cottage is excellent: clean and well-appointed with everything you could need in a superb location handy for so many holiday destinations. Very comfortable as well, seat and bed-wise: we were especially taken with the large shower room with bench seat! We would have classed it as (5) excellent but for three minor quibbles. I. We weren't sure which cottage it was and went to the next one along by mistake. It should maybe be stressed that it is in the grounds of the first big house, second turn to the left off the road. 2. Wifi is poor to occasionally non-existent: this didn't affect us as we're used to it here, but others should perhaps be warned. 3. We couldn't get the TV and DVD to link up despite the instructions in the folder. Apart from these wee niggles (and the cloudy weather!) we thoroughly enjoyed our stay... and no midges!

Cuthbertson, Crieff
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 07/07/2018
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Magical haven aptly describes this cottage. Sitting out looking over the crofts. Sun, sun, sun, beautifully clean award winning beaches, excellent bookshop 2-3 miles south of Lochinver, pie shop well worth a couple of visits.A landscape and roads that you have got to be there to appreciate.

M.H.&V.H.
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 05/07/2018
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

A delightful, comfortable little cottage. In a wonderful isolated location, yet within easy reach of all parts of Skye. Lack of food prep surface in the kitchen area is awkward if you want to eat in, and we sometimes found the random noise of the water pump irritating. Most days the distant hum of salmon farm machinery could be heard, but generally it was a blissful place to be. We enjoyed watching the birds, particularly the oystercatchers. If returning to Skye, we would probably choose to stay at Moll Cottage again.

John & Pam
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 05/07/2018
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

Oak Cottage is a lovely comfortable cottage and very well equipped and is the perfect place for a peaceful relaxing holiday with stunning scenery and fantastic wildlife from the windows. It is a good base for exploring this beautiful area of Scotland.

Lynda B
Reviewed Easter Drumine Cottage on 04/07/2018
And awarded it

Easter Drumine Cottage

Easter Drumine Cottage was in a lovely location, very peaceful and quiet. The cottage and facilities were excellent. Would certainly visit again.

Brenda Davies
Reviewed Moll House on 04/07/2018
And awarded it

Moll House

A very comfortable home at the end of a loch next to the fish farm, accessed by a long rough road but worth it.

Dawn Netley
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 04/07/2018
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

We had a great time staying in Katie's Cottage on the Isle of Skye. The cottage was surprisingly spacious for a 2 bed. Our dogs loved the garden and were happy to make the utility room their own. The cottage was in a superb location with beautiful countryside and a lovely crofters restaurant next door to the cottage, who served delicious home grown food. We shall miss walking out the gate to the sheep roaming freely.

Pauline Pausch
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 03/07/2018
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

Tor Cottage is so perfect, it is difficult to know where to start. Firstly, a lovely welcome from Ruth and John who were perfect hosts. The views are absolutely stunning - we were so lucky with the weather and had brilliant sunshine all week, but I think even in poor weather, it will have a different charm. To be honest, it does not feel like a holiday house at all, rather you are staying in a lovely home. The location is great - a perfect base for exploring Harris, with lovely beaches within 30 minutes and close to Tarbert. Also lots of excellent walks within easy reach. Ruth and John have lots of information in the house and are only too happy to help out with tips and advice if you want them. Tor Cottage is definitely 5* - a very high specification on finishes in the house along with top of the range appliances, a properly equipped kitchen and thoughtful attention to detail (lovely soaps, dishwasher and laundry tabs, treats and toys for the dogs and more). It is a real home from home (or better!). There is a lovely deck area to sit out on and enjoy the sun going down. It is also totally peaceful. A fantastic week. We would highly recommend this property.

Dawn Birch
Reviewed Rhundunan on 03/07/2018
And awarded it

Rhundunan

A very well equipped and comfortable cottage with beautiful views in a peaceful location. I would love to return!

Martin Swingler
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 03/07/2018
And awarded it

Shellach Cottage

Lovely cottage with everything you would need lovely views over Lochcarron would recommend to all...

Judy C
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 03/07/2018
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

We spent a lovely week in this house which is situated in a stunning part of the West coast with spectacular views. It was lovely having direct access to the beach and walked to Clachtoll Broch and Beach. The weather couldn't have been better. Would love to come back some time.

Brenda Davies
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 03/07/2018
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

We were absolutely delighted with the cottage, both for its comfort but especially for its location.

Carol Price-Thomas
Reviewed Sgarbh Lodge on 02/07/2018
And awarded it

Sgarbh Lodge

Sgarbh Lodge was a wonderful place to stay, the location was stunning and very peaceful. The amenities in the house were excellent and the beds very comfortable. It is a short 5 minute walk down to the small harbour to watch the sunset, where we saw seals playing and the Isles of Harris & Lewis in the distance. At breakfast we saw a pod of dolphins fishing, it is a truly magical place. The shops are quite some distance from the property so I would advise to bring plenty of supplies with you. There is a large freezer so you can bring meat and bread etc and pop it in the freezer for later on in the week. We also took our own BBQ as the weather was really good and we used it a lot.

UK Tourist
Reviewed Campbell House on 28/06/2018
And awarded it

Campbell House

Traditionally furnished and spacious accommodation in excellent position overlooking the loch. It's got everything you need and was spotless. We didn't have the best weather for June so didn't make use of the large garden but the house was warm and comfortable to return to after the day's activities!

M.a. De Wolff
Reviewed Fhaireag on 28/06/2018
And awarded it

Fhaireag

We enjoyed our stay in fhaireag very much and will come back in the near future. Love Schotland.

Martin Swingler
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 27/06/2018
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

Cluny cottage was fantastic it is so roomy and has everything you need. The location is idea for visiting the surrounding area.. I would highly recommend this place to all.

Jan & Craig
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 26/06/2018
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

This is one of the most beautiful cottages we have stayed in. A stunning place to recharge your batteries while soaking in the beautiful panorama. Truly peaceful.

William Lee
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 26/06/2018
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

What an absolutely fantastic place, good location and extremely well equipped.

Andrew Gardiner
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 26/06/2018
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

Lovely cottage, everything of high quality and tastefully done. Dog friendly is much appreciated. Interesting books to read too. Garden steeply sloping but secure. The cottage is walkable from Portree (quite steep in places) but makes a very nice walk.

Ian & Chris
Reviewed The Orchids on 26/06/2018
And awarded it

The Orchids

This was our second stay at The Orchids, the property is excellent, like home from home, it is also in a wonderful location. The views of the Loch are amazing, seals are at play at the nearby Jetty 24/7. The Orchids is well presented, the photos and views are perhaps better than shown on the online advert. Duirinish Peninsula is also an excellent base from which to explore Skye.

WENDY M
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 26/06/2018
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

Fabulous little cottage in a beautiful village. Tor Fionn has everything you could possibly need, coal fire, electric blankets, best equipped kitchen anywhere I have stayed, beautiful views, pretty little back garden with table and chairs and lots of maps and useful local information. We had a lovely few days here. Do visit Atterdale gardens locally and Armadale gardens on Skye. Local craft shops sell nice things you will want not tat. We ate at the Bistro, Carron restaurant and Lochcarron Hotel. All very nice, local venison is superb.

Marco De Lange
Reviewed Grain Store on 26/06/2018
And awarded it

Grain Store

A very beautifull cottage for a super relaxing holiday period! Perfect!

Elizabeth Forbes
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 26/06/2018
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

The Old Loch Keepers Cottage is in a great location, half a mile from the road, it is very peaceful but next to the lock so usually a bit of boating activity to watch during the day. The track to reach the cottage is wide and well surfaced so no problem to reach the cottage. The cottage is well equipped, we have never stayed in a cottage with a fish kettle! but it also had everything else we required. If there are eight of you may find the single four cup coffee pot a bit small but otherwise no lack. Our dog enjoyed the enclosed garden and seeing people go past and this makes the lock side location safe for children too. There are great walks nearby including walking towards Fort Augustus on the tow path or along Loch Oich on the Great Glen Way. Fort Augustus is always busy with coach tours but we had a good lunch at the Loch Inn. The Londis store at the petrol station is quite well stocked but Fort William now has a brand new Aldi and M&S Food to compliment its existing Morrisons. My main advice would be take lots of midge repellent and then relaxing will be easy.

Martin Williams
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 25/06/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

This was a fantastic cottage, the views were great watching the gannets diving in to sea most mornings and nights. Chas & Jane looked after us with info of what to see & do. This was well off the beaten track but well worth the stay.The owners have thought of everything for the cottage.

Ann Murdock
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 25/06/2018
And awarded it

Seabank Cottage

We spent a lovely week at this fabulous cottage. The location was superb and had everything we could wish for. We will definitely be back.

Darren Mclay
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 20/06/2018
And awarded it

Eilean Mor Cottage

Stayed at Eilean Mor cottage for a week at the start of June. Very clean, cosy and comfortable cottage. Everything you need. Spent most of our nights sitting in the conservatory relaxing with a glass of wine after a days walking in the hills of Skye. Only one small complaint was that the Wi-Fi did not work for the whole week we stayed. Called the caretaker who couldn't have been more apologetic. Informed me that BT had called the week before and the problem had supposedly been fixed. A new hub arrived while we were there so hopefully the problem has been fixed. One other small thing was the lack of any blind or frosted glass on the bathroom window. No privacy. All in all would not hesitate to book the cottage again. Thanks Darren McKay Stayed 9th June 2018

Guenter & Helga
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 20/06/2018
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Scare Bay Cottage is a nice cottage with all facilities we need. We stayed a week in June. We like the remote cottage and use it for a place to travel through the north of Skye to make walks. Also from the cottage we walked to Rubha Hunish, the most northern point of Skye. After a breezy and sometimes wet day it was wonderful to come to the cosy and warm cottage.

O'Shea's
Reviewed Aros Beag on 20/06/2018
And awarded it

Aros Beag

This is a lovely cottage situated right be the river and very quiet and private. The West Highland Way is literally 3 minutes walk away from your door and there are plenty of walks very nearby. Ideal location for visiting the surrounding areas. Ideally I would love a washing machine in the property but hey you can't have everything? the owners will do washing for you if needed. I would like to say for all the people who like their technology that there is Wi-fi but in this area it can be a little hit and miss. For us there had been very bad weather and the lightning had knocked it out but that was just nature doing it's thing! The owners are lovely and very helpful.

Robert & Sylvia
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 19/06/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Wonderful great cottage in fantastic landscape. Nice contrast between the roughness of the terrain and the finesse and comfort of the interior. Everything you could possible need is available at this thoughtfully crafted home-away form home. Excellent located to visit the many beautiful gardens, castles, parks and great nature of the Peninsula of the Rhins of Galloway. We have seen many beautiful birds, seals, deer and other wildlife during our stay. Very nice tearooms and some good restaurants in Port Patrick and Stranraer. Very friendly owners which are helpful if wanted but are very aware to have you keep your privacy. We loved our two weeks here!

Emmie & (Skipper The Dog)
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 19/06/2018
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Absolutely fab time at Pine Lodge, a perfect base for exploring the Western Highlands. The cabin is comfy, well equipped and has plenty of space. There's a lovely view over Loch Kishorn and the garden is visited by many beautiful birds AND, of course, the famous Pine Marten. Would recommend Pine Lodge without hesitation and would definitely book it again in the future. A wonderful stay for both of us!

Lynne Walker
Reviewed Sixgeary on 19/06/2018
And awarded it

Sixgeary

A delightful cottage with stunning views. Very well equipped. A real hideaway in a beautiful and remote part of Skye. Thoroughly recommended.

Victoria
Reviewed Log House on 19/06/2018
And awarded it

Log House

Had a wonderful week long stay at the beautiful and tranquil Log House, Auchterawe. First holiday with our dog. We intend to return next year.

Alex & Janet Wright
Reviewed An Sealladh on 18/06/2018
And awarded it

An Sealladh

Cosy, well equipped cottage with ample space for guests to spread out! Beds were very comfortable, plenty of towels for really nice shower downstairs. Nice short walk to Lochinver and plenty of dog walking opportunities in the near vicinity. Lots of deer around too. Weather was brilliant, what more could you want? Loved it!

Peter From Herefordshire
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 17/06/2018
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

This is the first time we have stayed here and it was a pleasant surprise. Small but clean and very functional. It is next door to the starts of a number of Munro mountains to walk and I took full advantage of that. A dead end narrow lane to the property, it is really quiet with just a handful of houses nearby. Spean Bridge is 20 minutes away. Very few negatives, but we thought the log effect cladding was one.

Richard Henry
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 17/06/2018
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

1 word to describe our visit again.... Awesome ?

David & Mary Wilders
Reviewed Pier Head on 17/06/2018
And awarded it

Pier Head

We were so lucky to find Sheildaig, the perfect Scottish lochside village and of course to have Pier Head recommended by Wilderness Cottages - the ideal house with all comforts in a perfect situation. This accommodated our family of three adults and two children. Being close to the shop/pub and an excellent cafe was very convenient.

Annmarie
Reviewed Stable Cottage on 17/06/2018
And awarded it

Stable Cottage

Stable cottage is a beautiful accommodation in the most stunning setting. We stayed in May, and the woods were filled with blue bells, and so much wildlife, roe deer, red squirrels, woodpeckers, jays, owls to name a few. Our children had a great time riding bikes and fishing, although we struggled to catch anything. The only down side was the renovation works which, while they didn't interfere with our holiday as such, it did prevent the children playing in the courtyard as trucks came in and out during the day from about 8am. Having said that we would happily return again

Fran & Neil
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 16/06/2018
And awarded it

Pipers Lodge

Cath & Chris were very welcoming, very accommodating and helpful. If you want peace and quiet and want to be away from it all then this is perfect. We travelled by motorbike and had no trouble finding the lodge and the views on the way are lovely. The lodge is of a very high standard and very well equipped in all rooms and the hot tub is a lovely luxury. Bath robes are provided for inside the lodge and for the hot tub which was very nice and most welcomed. This is an Island so roads and amenities are not like the mainland, we picked up groceries at Broadford Co-op on our way which had a good selection of food, the one in Poretree is slightly smaller but still has most items you need. The post office in Glendale, 10mins away (by car) from the lodge has essentials should you need them, we enjoyed the walk there but it is a good 2-3 hours there and back. Overall we throughly enjoyed our stay at the lodge and will definitely visit the island again.

Michaela & Jorg Lehmann
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 14/06/2018
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

A very cosy cottage, very tidy, and the heart of it is the AGA! Fine location, good views, a very friendly host Jane, who baked scones for us when leaving.

A D & B From Northumberland
Reviewed Upper Folds on 14/06/2018
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Our second of hopefully many more stays in Upper Folds. It is a beautiful place which provides the perfect location for a relaxing holiday. Thank you to the owners for their vision in creating the cottage.

Andrew & Louise
Reviewed Jura on 13/06/2018
And awarded it

Jura

Spent two fabulous weeks in this most idyllic spot. Sunshine everyday. Never get fed up of the view from the sunroom...definitely a place to escape from the madness of life.

Lorrain & Arthur Fenning & Gizmo The Dog
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 13/06/2018
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

Lovely cottage great to relax and enjoy the tranquility of the glen. The cottage has everthing you need and spacious bedrooms lovely and cosy for a great nights sleep, ready for the day of exploring the island. There is lots to see and do, plenty of sheep and chickens roaming round the garden which is great for the dog.

Wendy & Stewart Bithell
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 13/06/2018
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Our 15th visit to Poulary Cottage, The first time we have stayed during the May Bank Holiday and we were not disappointed! The weather was HOT! (mid 20's) a little snow remained on the mountain tops even with the hot weather and no rain all week. Very few midges. Its lovely to be able to visit the cottage in different seasons the landscape surrounding the cottage is always breathtaking and we never tire of the ever changing views from the dining room window or watching the wildlife. We were lucky to be able to film the Pine marten in daylight, a delight as always to watch. We love this place for its central location, with so many places to visit whether it be historical sites, beaches, Munros to bag or just ambling through a forest or alongside a loch or river. Or even just spending time relaxing at the wonderful cosy well equipped cottage. We will be back in the summer, the perfect place to holiday in the Highlands. Stunning views, the wildlife, peace and tranquility, Love it!

Caroline Pennington
Reviewed Upper Folds on 12/06/2018
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We had the best holiday we have ever had with Wilderness Cottages. The property was perfect in every way. The process of booking with Wilderness cottages was easy and clear and their description was honest and could not have been better. Quite simply it was all made for a perfect holiday experience. So so very impressed. The property was just everything we could have dreamed of and we had a holiday we will remember fondly forever...

A.Vickery
Reviewed Balmachree on 12/06/2018
And awarded it

Balmachree

We were a group of 7 walkers so the location was ideal for heading in any direction and within an hour's drive of lots of hills. Balmachree is a lovely, comfortable, well equipped house - plenty space for everyone and in a very peaceful spot. Some plumbing noise in the upstairs toilet is a minor maintenance issue but in no way spoiled our stay. We would all have been happy to have Balmachree as our home!

HelenT
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 12/06/2018
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We spent a wonderful week at Hill Head Croft. Beautiful home from home with everything we needed in spectacular surroundings. Lots to see and do locally and also very easy to relax. The lovely garden was a peaceful haven and being completely enclosed was perfect for our dog to explore. Thoroughly recommend this place!

Rob Whitworth
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 12/06/2018
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

From a family that lives in a metropolis, with constant noise and the usual daily goings on of the modern world, katies cottage was a haven of peace and tranquillity. It's location is remote, but absolutely perfect to unwind and forget about the world. The cottage is furnished well, with beautiful views over the glen towards mcleods tables. The weather on Skye was exceptionally warm, but the cottage would be great in all weather.

Alistair Cameron
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 12/06/2018
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

We spent a wonderful week at Pine Cottage which met and indeed exceeded our needs. It is situated in beautiful surroundings with good access to great walking, cycling and touring country. Negatives? - None.

Name: Art
Reviewed Log House on 12/06/2018
And awarded it

Log House

The Log House is a wonderfull place in the forestS near Loch Ness. The house is big, has everything you need and is clean. We enjoyed our stay very much. Thank you for sharing this place...