Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 50 of 2798

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 2798 reviews from guests, of which 102% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


Marjon Sijmons
Reviewed Upper Folds on 19/10/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We stayED for the second time in Upper Folds but now for 2 weeks. The house is fantastic. We get a warm welcome with wine, biscuits, milk and flowers. The views from the house are spectaculair and inside it is warm and cosy, you feel very at home. The big garden is very nice for the dog. We hear the grouses and see phasants and rabbits. We will certainly come back. Thank you for your hospitality!

Will Jeffels
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 19/10/2017
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

What a fabulous property. Superb position. Watched seals from the comfort of a well built architect designed timber house. Well furnished with great log burner. Lovely part of Skye with plenty of places to explore on foot or by car in the immediate vicinity. Can't wait to return...if we are allowed.

Mazdafife
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 18/10/2017
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Pooltiel House is an immaculate and well equipped holiday home. Fabulous views and great walking straight from the door. The porch / utility area is perfect for muddy boots and as the boiler is located there, this is always really warm so good for drying of damp coats (much needed in Skye).

Annette & Paul Tierney
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 18/10/2017
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

What a fabulous cottage for the ultimate away from it all holiday. Stunning views with seals and an otter popping by most days!! Can highly recommend this cottage!

Richard
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 17/10/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Just returned from a fantastic week at Seascape, despite its isolated setting we found it easy enough from the directions (though wouldn't want to find it in the dark!). Perfect hosts in Chas and Jane who were very welcoming but very unobtrusive and thoughtful. Amazing views form the cottage and only a minute down to the stunning beachy cove. Fantastic week relaxing in the stunning countryside and then curling up in the cosy warm cottage to watch films! Can't wait for the next visit!

May From Fife.
Reviewed River Cottage on 16/10/2017
And awarded it

River Cottage

During our stay at Riverside Cottage we found it to be very well equipped and thoughtfully laid out lending to a comfortable place to stay while on holiday. Will not comment on Scotland as I am sure that by now everybody knows it is a wonderful country. Only critique is the toaster has seen better days, but this will not stop us from returning.

Ian Sorrell
Reviewed Rowan Lodge - Roshven on 15/10/2017
And awarded it

Rowan Lodge - Roshven

Excellent holiday - Rowan Lodge was an excellent place to stay and done so nicely! Please let the owners know how lovely Rowan Lodge is and thank them very much!

Nick & Jill
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 15/10/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We had a wonderful weeks holiday. The Cottage was very well appointed. Very warm with all possible amenities and lovely decor. The views were gorgeous even though we had a very rainy windy time there. We are looking forward to our next visit.

R. Dutz
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 15/10/2017
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

The house was so cosy, very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the open fire place, there was enough wood and coal. There was enough storing place. All the rooms were very spacious and tastefully decorated, especially with pictures. And we loved the garden with all the birds even in October and the wonderful views to the loch and castle and Skye.

Ruth B
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 14/10/2017
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

A lovely spot just across from the shore. Cottage is warm, comfortable and well equipped. It has a sheltered secure garden at the back, ideal for our lurcher. Loch Carron works well as a launch point for Wester Ross.

Stephen Humphreys
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 14/10/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We stayed in White-Tail Croft for two weeks in September. From the moment of our arrival we were impressed by the care and forethought that has gone into the property. Everything has been finished to high standard with everything you need to have a relaxing stay. It is a very comfortable place to spend two weeks. It is set overlooking the glen and the view and regular stream of wildlife held us entranced. So much so that we did not leave the property nearly as much as we had planned. This cannot be guaranteed, but on only two days during our stay did we not see Golden Eagles including at close quarters, and White Tailed Eagles were also often seen. A truly lovely property to which I hope we shall return.

Eric & R�nate
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 13/10/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

What a lovely cottage!! The most comfortable we ever stayed in. The cottage was renovated with an eye on detail, lovely decorated and a high level finishing. Fresh flowers, a bottle of wine and a warm welcome from Jacqui and Jeff who made us feel very welcome, thank you so much! The location is perfect with lots of fabulous walks and beautiful scenery in the surrounding area. We very much enjoyed our drive through Glen Orchy and Glen Etive as well as our daytrip to the isle of Mull. The Artisan Cafe in Tyndrum is a must for a nice cup of coffee with delicious home-made cakes. And after a day exploring Arrivain cottage is a perfect peaceful place to relax and have a good nights sleep. We really enjoyed our week and will definitely recommend this beautiful cottage to others. We would love to stay again!!

Andy Day
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 13/10/2017
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Lovey place in the wild. A little remote during the winter so four wheel drive advised if icy or snowing due to the distance off the main road. Comfortable and warm though, lighting a little dim during the evening.

Potts Family
Reviewed Sealight on 11/10/2017
And awarded it

Sealight

Stunning house, so very comfortable with everything you may need. Location is perfect for exploring Ardnamurchan. Shame about the weather but it didn't stop us from enjoying our week and doing some of the shorter walks. Wildlife especially the Pine marten was unbelievable. Will definitely be back to Sealight but unfortunately 2018 is already fully booked for our dates!!

Palmers
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 11/10/2017
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

The cottage has everthing you would need, for an away from it holiday. The underfloor heating is wonderful. The owners are at hand if needed and nothing is too much trouble. A very warm welcome. Unfortunatly the sharpe uneven service of the gravel drive was not liked by my arthritic dog and husband. Beautiful place though.

Neil McFarlane
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 11/10/2017
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

A lovely lodge with stunning views, keep an eye out for the Goshawk that perches in the garden. My family and I had a relaxing and enjoyable week will book again.

Daren Und Carmen
Reviewed Glenara on 09/10/2017
And awarded it

Glenara

Lovely cottage. Very quiet. The houseowner was very friendly. Fantastic view. Very clean. We enjoyed our stay. Thank you!

Johanna
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 09/10/2017
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

We had an absolutely fantastic stay at Tigh-na-Craobh! The house is beautiful, well appointed, very comfortable, and so handy for everything on the island. Considering the quality of the accommodation, this represents truly excellent value for money. We couldn't recommend it highly enough; we'll definitely be back!

Stephen Massey
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 07/10/2017
And awarded it

Shellach Cottage

Shellac is a very well equipped and well presented cottage - it was very clean when we arrived. There is plenty of information in the cottage about the Highlands and a number of maps which was very helpful. A very comfortable holiday cottage and Lochcarron is a great base from which to explore this beautiful and breathtaking area.

Gary From Bolton
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 06/10/2017
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Beautiful little cottage on the shore of lochalsh. Great wildlife saw a couple of red deer within five minutes of arriving.Great views of the loch mountians and Eileen Donan castle, very comfortable and cosy all the comforts of home and a great base for days out to Skye, Plockton, Kyle and gairloch. Would recommend and would love to visit again.Thanks for a great week

Gary From Bolton
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 06/10/2017
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

Beautifull little cottage great location very clean and comfortable. Arrived to find a gift of a bottle of wine and some fresh free range eggs. The cottage is in a dark skies area in Glendale and the sky at night was stunning, would recommend and would love to visit again. Thanks for a great week :)

Elaine Elkin
Reviewed Sixgeary on 03/10/2017
And awarded it

Sixgeary

We have just returned home after spending a week at Sixgeary. We found the property to be spotless, immaculate and very well equipped. It has been modernised without losing its charm and the location is spectacular. It is 4 miles from The Stein Inn and Loch Bay Restaurant and is also convenient for accessing all of North Skye. We had very good weather and the night skies were stunning. We plan to return!

Ann & Murphy
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 01/10/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Plodda Falls Lodge is beautiful and an immense amount of time and effort has been done to restore it to the feel of a Scottish highland lodge. It is well maintained and extremely cosy, well equipped and a lovely comfortable double bed which after a day's walking is definitely required. The surrounding area is stunning and there are amazing walks right on the door step to Plodda Falls and the track to Glenmoriston had great views back down to Tomich and across to Glen Affric estate. The walks at Glen Affric estate are well worth it and particularly the Loch Affric circuit. Once you walked to the top end of the Loch you felt in another world surrounded by glorious mountains. My Labrador had a ball and the park today just didn't seem adequate!! Jenny was there to meet me and had made a scrumptious lemon drizzle cake and I probably wouldn't have explored as much without her suggestions and knowledge of the area. I will definitely be booking to go back as so much more to explore.

Jon Clarkson
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 01/10/2017
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

A lovely cottage with great views across the valley and a good location for exploring. The cottage is well equipped and maintained. Red squirrels come to the window demanding food, so take lots of and bird food and peanuts!

Wendy & Stewart Bithell
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 29/09/2017
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Our 10th year at Poulary (13th Visit) and 2nd visit this year! We love this gem of a cottage, everything you could wish for a lovely relaxing holiday. The views from the dining room are spectacular, you can watch the ever changing landscape as the mist and sun rise and fall on the mountains. The wildlife that can be seen in the garden and the Glen is awesome, the majestic stags, buzzards, eagles, we spotted deer in the garden every day this visit. The pine marten visited most nights and sometimes at dawn.We never tire of watching the birds on the bird table. Poulary is located centrally in the Highlands and so great for exploring and sightseeing. A truly secluded cottage with breathtaking scenery, we're not even bothered by midges now i've discovered Smidge! Back in a few weeks to see Poulary and the Glen in its Autumn Glory,Stags rutting and home from home comforts in such a cosy cottage, cant wait!

Nicholas
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 29/09/2017
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Absolutely fabulous location and the owner was most welcoming and caring. Swallow Byre offers a a very cosy location for exploring Western Sutherland , Good O2 Signal there and all the Free View channels.

Kerrie Chinn
Reviewed South Lodge on 28/09/2017
And awarded it

South Lodge

South Lodge is a wonderful, thoughtful location which exceeded our expectations. Such a beautiful, comfortable and quiet little place, surrounded by enough to do for a month or just to look at the view outside and enjoy local walks, with no one around. The cottage provided everything we needed and more. There was so much local info provided that we wanted to book another week! We cannot wait to return, didn't want to leave. Our pups loved it too and though small, the cottage accommodated them easily and that's not easy with wet weather !

Sandra
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 28/09/2017
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

The cottage was fantastic and lived up to expectations.

Debby & Marc
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 28/09/2017
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

What an absolutely peaceful and beautiful cottage. Our 2nd visit and many more to come. If you want to explore the highlands and have a welcoming well equipped base then owl cottage would be prefect for you.

Matt & Tim
Reviewed Christies on 28/09/2017
And awarded it

Christies

Christies is an excellent cottage with everything you could wish for. Very comfortable and well equipped. The view is spectacular whatever the weather. As a base for exploring parts of the NC500 it is hard to beat.

G MACMILLAN
Reviewed Sunnyhill Croft on 28/09/2017
And awarded it

Sunnyhill Croft

A great place to relax and get away from it all. The view from the main window in the sitting room is awesome. House is warm, spacious and has all you need. The garden is well fenced and secure. The area has many location to explore and the local shops have a good supply. Excellant all round holiday location

Jacqueline & Christian
Reviewed Sixgeary on 26/09/2017
And awarded it

Sixgeary

We had a wonderful week in Sixgeary . The cottage is a fabulous renovation with spectacular sea views from most windows . Such a cosy and comfortable place to come back to after a days walking to the many beautiful locations nearby . We loved the attention to detail , egyptian cotton sheets , log fire , nice art work .... Great food about 6km from the cottage at the Stein pub and Lochbay restaurant . The perfect cottage in the perfect place ! We highly recommend Sixgeary and hope to be back soon !

Kids & Dogs!
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 26/09/2017
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

If you're lucky enough to find this cottage free - BOOK IT! What a perfect place! We feel so lucky to have found Fon Tobar, it was just right for our slightly chaotic bundle of 6 adults, 2 toddlers and 2 dogs! The views were phenomenal, the house was brilliantly appointed and lovely and clean. We had a fantastic week of walking, exploring, whale - dolphin - seal - otter - spotting and then brilliant meals in the evening rounded off with some wine by the fire. I'm not quite sure why we left. We really hope to be back again soon. Thanks so much.

Adrian & Sue
Reviewed Achbeag on 25/09/2017
And awarded it

Achbeag

Achbeag is a well presented and really well equipped cottage in a good location for exploring the Applecross Peninsula. We would have no hesitaion in recommending Achbeag to our friends and family.

Alex M
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 25/09/2017
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

Port Elgol is a fantastic cottage in a beautiful location. If you like your holidays chilled, laid back and relaxing this is the place for you. One of the best locations I have ever stayed

Philip
Reviewed Loch Cottage on 25/09/2017
And awarded it

Loch Cottage

Great place to stay, very peaceful and we loved having an open fire! Bliss to see the moon reflected in the little loch at night.

Michael Catley
Reviewed Upper Folds on 25/09/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

A beautiful Cottage in a stunning Location; everything was just perfect; we would love to return. Michael and Helena

Mappin Family
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Lovely place, lovely cottage and lovely people who own it. Thank you Jenny & Paul for allowing us to stay in this beautiful location.

Stephen & Angelika
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Enjoyed a fortnight at Seal Skerry Lodge and felt very much at home in this beautifully appointed house. The panoramic views are stunning, whatever the weather, and the wood stove provides creature comfort on a chilly day. The ideal place to get away from it all.

Mark & Susanne DeKay
Reviewed Jura on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Jura

Our stay at Jura Cottage left a lasting impression on us both. Even though many days had rain, because of the location and comfort of the cottage, we were able to rest, relax and curl up with good books on rainy days. We did have some amazingly beautiful experiences there - and some sunny times, too! We really appreciated Katie, the neighbor/manager, who gave us a lovely tour of her garden and gave us ideas about places to visit. We stalked the trails and went down to the shore, photographed the rushing streams, ate fresh fish and steak from the mobile butcher and fish monger. We ate well, slept soundly and late (most mornings were rainy - unusually so, I heard) and enjoyed the many, many birds that came all around the sunroom overlooking the water and mountains beyond. It was heaven. What an extraordinary environment.

Elaine & Kenny Brown
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

This cottage is wonderful. Very welcoming with a super hamper and the log fire set ready to light. The views from every window were amazing. This was a very relaxing holiday and we will definitely be back.

Gwen & Ray
Reviewed Askival on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Askival

Our 3rd stay at Askival. The weather wasn't brilliant, but the marvellous changing views of the islands were still wonderful. We saw otters, eagles, peregrines, deer and much more (all from the cottage) so hoping to definitely return. The location of the cottage is still the best we've found so far. A lighter duvet (upstairs bedroom) would be welcome, but that's just a personal choice.

Peter Larter
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Stayed at pine lodge August 2017 for one fab week. It is everything you need for a relaxing break with gorgeous views and fantastic resident wildlife. We were thoroughly entertained by the local birds including a resident pheasant which we named Donald! The pine Martin popped down every night without fail and we obtained some great photos. The lodge is the perfect base for many activities including access to stunning scenery wherever you go even we found some new places to explore despite being regular visitors to the area.

Andrew
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

A cosy cottage full of character in a superb location for touring Skye.

R J Loveridge
Reviewed Drumfad Barn on 23/09/2017
And awarded it

Drumfad Barn

We enjoyed our stay, comfortable but needed log fire to be cosy in the evening. Cooking difficult with only one shelf. It is not totally flat as there is two steps from the lounge to the rest of the house

Mary Kelly
Reviewed Foiseil Cottage on 23/09/2017
And awarded it

Foiseil Cottage

Stylish, spacious and comfortable cottage. Well located for local shops and restaurants. Only used the kettle in the kitchen but it looked well equipped. Very good value for money. We stayed here while walking the Speyside Way so appreciated the bath and hot water at the end of each day's walk. Only 2 things lacking which would have made it perfect: 1. Somewhere to hang wet waterproofs by the door when we came in (it rained a lot)! 2. Somewhere to hang wet bath towels in the bathroom. The heated towel rail was only big enough for the hand towels and it was high up on the wall behind the loo. We improvised by using the clothes airer provided.

LIZ CAINES
Reviewed Sixgeary on 23/09/2017
And awarded it

Sixgeary

Fantastic cottage, very well equiped, everything you could possibly need for a enjoyable stay. Only one criticism, a bit lacking in colour, which would have made it more homely, but this is a minor criticism.

Helen Maxwell
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 23/09/2017
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

We had a wonderful week at the cottage the place is amazing and was a great central point to venture out to explore the beautiful place that is Skye. it is a real home from home and we can't wait to come back .

Robert Portlock
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 23/09/2017
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Highly recommended cottage, very comfortable bed's and brilliant en-suites, good selection of restaurants in the area of Fort Augustus, we where there in September and the weather was not kind to us, but at least there where no midges, even so had a good week, recommend to take some of the smaller b roads, you can slow down a bit and take in some of the fantastic views. Also if you want to use the steam train at Fort William you will need to book week's before your holiday.

Jack & Christine Jennings
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

A great friendly welcome from Pat. The scones, jam and cream were delicious. A vase of roses in the kitchen was a lovely gesture and made the welcome complete. The property had everything we wished for and the 180-degree views from the balcony were stunning and the bull and cows were friendly too. Many interesting trips around the Black Isle and over to the west coast. The bird life, the dolphins, seals and deer made for some exciting moments. The ferry from Cromarty over to Nigg was an experience we enjoyed and a visit to Nigg Old Church is a must visit. All very quiet and peaceful we hope to return again soon. Many thanks to all for helping us to enjoy our holiday in Scotland.