Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 50 of 2902

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 2902 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


Ann & Murphy
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 01/10/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Plodda Falls Lodge is beautiful and an immense amount of time and effort has been done to restore it to the feel of a Scottish highland lodge. It is well maintained and extremely cosy, well equipped and a lovely comfortable double bed which after a day's walking is definitely required. The surrounding area is stunning and there are amazing walks right on the door step to Plodda Falls and the track to Glenmoriston had great views back down to Tomich and across to Glen Affric estate. The walks at Glen Affric estate are well worth it and particularly the Loch Affric circuit. Once you walked to the top end of the Loch you felt in another world surrounded by glorious mountains. My Labrador had a ball and the park today just didn't seem adequate!! Jenny was there to meet me and had made a scrumptious lemon drizzle cake and I probably wouldn't have explored as much without her suggestions and knowledge of the area. I will definitely be booking to go back as so much more to explore.

Jon Clarkson
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 01/10/2017
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

A lovely cottage with great views across the valley and a good location for exploring. The cottage is well equipped and maintained. Red squirrels come to the window demanding food, so take lots of and bird food and peanuts!

Wendy & Stewart Bithell
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 29/09/2017
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Our 10th year at Poulary (13th Visit) and 2nd visit this year! We love this gem of a cottage, everything you could wish for a lovely relaxing holiday. The views from the dining room are spectacular, you can watch the ever changing landscape as the mist and sun rise and fall on the mountains. The wildlife that can be seen in the garden and the Glen is awesome, the majestic stags, buzzards, eagles, we spotted deer in the garden every day this visit. The pine marten visited most nights and sometimes at dawn.We never tire of watching the birds on the bird table. Poulary is located centrally in the Highlands and so great for exploring and sightseeing. A truly secluded cottage with breathtaking scenery, we're not even bothered by midges now i've discovered Smidge! Back in a few weeks to see Poulary and the Glen in its Autumn Glory,Stags rutting and home from home comforts in such a cosy cottage, cant wait!

Nicholas
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 29/09/2017
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Absolutely fabulous location and the owner was most welcoming and caring. Swallow Byre offers a a very cosy location for exploring Western Sutherland , Good O2 Signal there and all the Free View channels.

Kerrie Chinn
Reviewed South Lodge on 28/09/2017
And awarded it

South Lodge

South Lodge is a wonderful, thoughtful location which exceeded our expectations. Such a beautiful, comfortable and quiet little place, surrounded by enough to do for a month or just to look at the view outside and enjoy local walks, with no one around. The cottage provided everything we needed and more. There was so much local info provided that we wanted to book another week! We cannot wait to return, didn't want to leave. Our pups loved it too and though small, the cottage accommodated them easily and that's not easy with wet weather !

Sandra
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 28/09/2017
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

The cottage was fantastic and lived up to expectations.

Debby & Marc
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 28/09/2017
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

What an absolutely peaceful and beautiful cottage. Our 2nd visit and many more to come. If you want to explore the highlands and have a welcoming well equipped base then owl cottage would be prefect for you.

Matt & Tim
Reviewed Christies on 28/09/2017
And awarded it

Christies

Christies is an excellent cottage with everything you could wish for. Very comfortable and well equipped. The view is spectacular whatever the weather. As a base for exploring parts of the NC500 it is hard to beat.

G MACMILLAN
Reviewed Sunnyhill Croft on 28/09/2017
And awarded it

Sunnyhill Croft

A great place to relax and get away from it all. The view from the main window in the sitting room is awesome. House is warm, spacious and has all you need. The garden is well fenced and secure. The area has many location to explore and the local shops have a good supply. Excellant all round holiday location

Jacqueline & Christian
Reviewed Sixgeary on 26/09/2017
And awarded it

Sixgeary

We had a wonderful week in Sixgeary . The cottage is a fabulous renovation with spectacular sea views from most windows . Such a cosy and comfortable place to come back to after a days walking to the many beautiful locations nearby . We loved the attention to detail , egyptian cotton sheets , log fire , nice art work .... Great food about 6km from the cottage at the Stein pub and Lochbay restaurant . The perfect cottage in the perfect place ! We highly recommend Sixgeary and hope to be back soon !

Kids & Dogs!
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 26/09/2017
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

If you're lucky enough to find this cottage free - BOOK IT! What a perfect place! We feel so lucky to have found Fon Tobar, it was just right for our slightly chaotic bundle of 6 adults, 2 toddlers and 2 dogs! The views were phenomenal, the house was brilliantly appointed and lovely and clean. We had a fantastic week of walking, exploring, whale - dolphin - seal - otter - spotting and then brilliant meals in the evening rounded off with some wine by the fire. I'm not quite sure why we left. We really hope to be back again soon. Thanks so much.

Adrian & Sue
Reviewed Achbeag on 25/09/2017
And awarded it

Achbeag

Achbeag is a well presented and really well equipped cottage in a good location for exploring the Applecross Peninsula. We would have no hesitaion in recommending Achbeag to our friends and family.

Alex M
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 25/09/2017
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

Port Elgol is a fantastic cottage in a beautiful location. If you like your holidays chilled, laid back and relaxing this is the place for you. One of the best locations I have ever stayed

Philip
Reviewed Loch Cottage on 25/09/2017
And awarded it

Loch Cottage

Great place to stay, very peaceful and we loved having an open fire! Bliss to see the moon reflected in the little loch at night.

Michael Catley
Reviewed Upper Folds on 25/09/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

A beautiful Cottage in a stunning Location; everything was just perfect; we would love to return. Michael and Helena

Mappin Family
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Lovely place, lovely cottage and lovely people who own it. Thank you Jenny & Paul for allowing us to stay in this beautiful location.

Stephen & Angelika
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Enjoyed a fortnight at Seal Skerry Lodge and felt very much at home in this beautifully appointed house. The panoramic views are stunning, whatever the weather, and the wood stove provides creature comfort on a chilly day. The ideal place to get away from it all.

Mark & Susanne DeKay
Reviewed Jura on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Jura

Our stay at Jura Cottage left a lasting impression on us both. Even though many days had rain, because of the location and comfort of the cottage, we were able to rest, relax and curl up with good books on rainy days. We did have some amazingly beautiful experiences there - and some sunny times, too! We really appreciated Katie, the neighbor/manager, who gave us a lovely tour of her garden and gave us ideas about places to visit. We stalked the trails and went down to the shore, photographed the rushing streams, ate fresh fish and steak from the mobile butcher and fish monger. We ate well, slept soundly and late (most mornings were rainy - unusually so, I heard) and enjoyed the many, many birds that came all around the sunroom overlooking the water and mountains beyond. It was heaven. What an extraordinary environment.

Elaine & Kenny Brown
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

This cottage is wonderful. Very welcoming with a super hamper and the log fire set ready to light. The views from every window were amazing. This was a very relaxing holiday and we will definitely be back.

Gwen & Ray
Reviewed Askival on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Askival

Our 3rd stay at Askival. The weather wasn't brilliant, but the marvellous changing views of the islands were still wonderful. We saw otters, eagles, peregrines, deer and much more (all from the cottage) so hoping to definitely return. The location of the cottage is still the best we've found so far. A lighter duvet (upstairs bedroom) would be welcome, but that's just a personal choice.

Peter Larter
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Stayed at pine lodge August 2017 for one fab week. It is everything you need for a relaxing break with gorgeous views and fantastic resident wildlife. We were thoroughly entertained by the local birds including a resident pheasant which we named Donald! The pine Martin popped down every night without fail and we obtained some great photos. The lodge is the perfect base for many activities including access to stunning scenery wherever you go even we found some new places to explore despite being regular visitors to the area.

Andrew
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

A cosy cottage full of character in a superb location for touring Skye.

R J Loveridge
Reviewed Drumfad Barn on 23/09/2017
And awarded it

Drumfad Barn

We enjoyed our stay, comfortable but needed log fire to be cosy in the evening. Cooking difficult with only one shelf. It is not totally flat as there is two steps from the lounge to the rest of the house

Mary Kelly
Reviewed Foiseil Cottage on 23/09/2017
And awarded it

Foiseil Cottage

Stylish, spacious and comfortable cottage. Well located for local shops and restaurants. Only used the kettle in the kitchen but it looked well equipped. Very good value for money. We stayed here while walking the Speyside Way so appreciated the bath and hot water at the end of each day's walk. Only 2 things lacking which would have made it perfect: 1. Somewhere to hang wet waterproofs by the door when we came in (it rained a lot)! 2. Somewhere to hang wet bath towels in the bathroom. The heated towel rail was only big enough for the hand towels and it was high up on the wall behind the loo. We improvised by using the clothes airer provided.

LIZ CAINES
Reviewed Sixgeary on 23/09/2017
And awarded it

Sixgeary

Fantastic cottage, very well equiped, everything you could possibly need for a enjoyable stay. Only one criticism, a bit lacking in colour, which would have made it more homely, but this is a minor criticism.

Helen Maxwell
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 23/09/2017
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

We had a wonderful week at the cottage the place is amazing and was a great central point to venture out to explore the beautiful place that is Skye. it is a real home from home and we can't wait to come back .

Robert Portlock
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 23/09/2017
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Highly recommended cottage, very comfortable bed's and brilliant en-suites, good selection of restaurants in the area of Fort Augustus, we where there in September and the weather was not kind to us, but at least there where no midges, even so had a good week, recommend to take some of the smaller b roads, you can slow down a bit and take in some of the fantastic views. Also if you want to use the steam train at Fort William you will need to book week's before your holiday.

Jack & Christine Jennings
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

A great friendly welcome from Pat. The scones, jam and cream were delicious. A vase of roses in the kitchen was a lovely gesture and made the welcome complete. The property had everything we wished for and the 180-degree views from the balcony were stunning and the bull and cows were friendly too. Many interesting trips around the Black Isle and over to the west coast. The bird life, the dolphins, seals and deer made for some exciting moments. The ferry from Cromarty over to Nigg was an experience we enjoyed and a visit to Nigg Old Church is a must visit. All very quiet and peaceful we hope to return again soon. Many thanks to all for helping us to enjoy our holiday in Scotland.

Joanna Oliver MBE
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 22/09/2017
And awarded it
Gareth
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Cuaig croft is a delightful and well equipped cottage in a stunning part of the world. The surroundings are remote and there is no wifi and only patchy phone signal but the area has great walks and is very lively considering its remoteness. good restaurants and pub at Applecross and wider afield. The only downside is that the AGA (a definite plus in itself) is constantly on and whilst this would be a boon in the colder months can be a bit much when the weather is warm. Fantastic eggs and marmalade from the next door croft!! highly recommended

Jan & Andrew Hewitt
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Charming cottage with all amenities you would expect for modern living. Peaceful surroundings on the less busy south side of Loch Ness

Martin
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

Lovely cottage in a beautiful, quiet location. Accomodation is clean and comfortable. Owners are very friendly and helpful.

Happy Camper
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

Spectacular - spectacular views, spectacularly private, spectacularly comfortable bed, spectacularly good shower. Perfect place to decompress.

K. Duinhoven
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

We stayed in Katie's Cottage for one week. It is a beautiful cottage in a stunning location. Everything we needed is in the house available. It is a good place to discover Isle of Skye from there.

P Whyatt
Reviewed Cuilfail on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Cuilfail

Nice cottage with good fenced garden which is great for dogs. All facilities were good, but mattresses were poor. Felt every spring so not much sleep. Great location, and the pub/hotel next door was very good. Local real ale and good quality food.

Julie McD
Reviewed Shepherd's Cottage on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Shepherd's Cottage

WOW, WOW, WOW! If you like remote, quiet, stunning scenery, excellent facilities, quality products, endless artwork and responsive owners then this is the place for you! Also fantastic for pets, with their every need catered for. An excellent property in a wonderful location. We hope to return to someday. Highly recommended.

Julie McD
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Fantastic cosy log cabin in its own grounds overlooking a field and properties on the far side. Well equipped, clean, spacious. We really enjoyed our stay here, especially the drive to Fersit!

LMM & RCC
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Very comfortable little cottage. Wonderfully remote with no-one around - the silence was gorgeous.

Farhat
Reviewed Ardshiel on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Ardshiel

This is a lovely cottage, suitable for a quiet getaway. I stayed there for 6 days with friends. We enjoyed our stay a lot. The cottage is well-furnished and well-equipped. The hosts were pleasant and helpful. One can find card games to play in free time and many guide books about the region and Scotland. All in all, our stay there was very pleasant. We will surely stay there again if we go back to the region.

Douglas & Emily
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

We had a great stay in Katie's Cottage on Skye. It's in a very remote and picturesque location, around 15 minutes beyond Dunvegan on single track road. We would advise stopping in Fort William on the way up to do a supermarket shop for food en route; it will avoid a detour to Portree which isn't really on the way to the cottage. Straightforward instruction was provided to access the cottage easily. The cottage had a modern interior design and was immaculate. A well-equipped kitchen, underfloor heating, and a wood-burning stove were among the highlights. A nice coral beach, Dunvegan Castle, and Neist Point lighthouse are nearby. Further afield on the Trotternish Peninsula, but worth seeing, are The Old Man of Storr and The Quiraing. Overall, we would highly recommend Katie's Cottage and were happy with the whole booking experience with Wilderness Cottages.

Mandy & Neil Holman
Reviewed Glenara on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Glenara

Lovely clean and comfortable cottage. Ideal location for village amenities and touring base. Garden views made this property extra special. Robin very welcoming. Would recommend.

John & Penny
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 19/09/2017
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

Having read the reviews about Reyflat we had high expectations and we were certainly not disappointed. Pat gave us a very warm welcome and then left us to unpack and settle in to the clean, spacious accommodation. The flowers in the kitchen were a nice touch and the cream tea was both a lovely surprise and excellent. Everything about this property is so well planned and the upstairs living room and balcony are perfect for relaxing, whilst watching the views and in particular the swallows and house martins swooping into the balcony. The abundance of plug sockets was very useful as was the two good bathrooms. The sunny kitchen is large with plenty of room for preparing and cooking. It has an excellent area for seating and table and chairs for meals. The kitchen also has superb countryside views. Although the weather was good enough to get out and about throughout our week's stay we would have had no problem staying in and enjoying all the comforts Reyflat has to offer. We've stayed in many self-catering properties and this has to be one of the best.

Michael
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 18/09/2017
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

We've been in Pooltiel House the second time (last time in August 2016). This house is a jewel! Plenty of space, well equipped kitchen and an awesome view, two walks starting from the doorstep and a lot of others reachable. Having a house like this in Germany ... that wood be a dream.

Rob Manger- Hamshire
Reviewed Cnoc Ard on 18/09/2017
And awarded it

Cnoc Ard

Had a great week at Cnoc Ard Everything you need for a comfy and cosy stay in this wonderful park of the UK. All the appliances/TV etc. are all modern and easy to use. Kitchen all fully kitted out. Great shower and hot water on demand(unlike many other cottages) but still keeps the traditional feel of a 'croft' dwelling. Easy transaction and instructions made booking and arrival/departure a breeze. Some amazing sights, Sandwood bay, Old man of Stoer. Easy walk to the campsite bar and hotel if you want to eat and drink out. To get away from it all in comfort and character I give Cnoc Ard 5*

Jon Bagnall
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 18/09/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Arrivain is a beautifully restored cottage, set in glorious surroundings. It provides comfortable, high quality accommodation, with everything you need, whilst retaining all the charm of the original Croft. Jacqui & Jeff made us feel really welcome and were on hand if there were any issues, not that we had any during our stay. In terms of location, Arrivain is only five minutes from Tyndrum and the surrounding hills and being on the main road makes places further afield such as Oban and Callander esily accessible. If 'big' hills aren't your thing, or just for something different, a trip to the island of Kerrera, or a circuit of Loch Awe, are perfect alternatives. We had a great week (despite the mixed weather), leaving with plenty of ideas for what we need to do the next time we are here. Now, where is my diary...........

Anthony & Wendy Smith
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 14/09/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

We chose Arrivain Cottage as it looked perfect for our Honeymoon, we adore this part of Scotland and couldn't think of staying anywhere else to mark this special occasion. Our hosts Jeff & Jacqui were lovely, Jacqui welcomed us when we arrived and showed us around their beautiful cottage. As we were their first Honeymooners Jeff & Jacqui left us a bottle of Champange, truffles, hand cut crisps, fresh flowers and a card which was such a nice surprise, we both greatly appreciated these thoughtful touches which helped make this occasion special. Arrivan is perfectly placed for anyone wanting to explore the west of Scotland or if you just want a beautiful warm and inviting cottage to lock yourself away from the outside world Arrivain is perfect, with its log burner, under floor heating, comfy bed, amazing shower or just sitting by the burn looking up at the mountains that surround you. Arrivain sits in beautiful and stunning surroundings, in our eyes Arrivain is a little piece of heaven. Thank you Jeff & Jacqui for making us so welcome and everything you did for us, you helped make our Honeymoon perfect.

Cyriel Pluimakers
Reviewed Holly Cottage on 08/09/2017
And awarded it

Holly Cottage

Nice cottage, comfortable, best shower ever. Good restaurant and supermarket just around the corner. Nice walks. Reasonable price.

Isobel Stuart & Family
Reviewed Easter Drumine Cottage on 08/09/2017
And awarded it

Easter Drumine Cottage

Beautiful, well equipped cottage in quiet, peaceful location, didn't want to leave!! Very thoughtful owners, everything we needed was there and nice gifts on arrival made us feel very welcome. We had a great holiday and hope to return to Easter Drumine.

Clare, Nigel, Ewan & Lucas Hinze
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 06/09/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We had an amazing week here. The Croft is designed to fit into the vast surrounding landscape with so much thought and the modern interior compliments it perfectly. Welcoming wine, goodies and quality touches around the croft really made you feel special. It was so well equipped and spotless. We saw eagles almost each day flying by and waking up to that view, whatever the weather was spectacular. The sauna is a brilliant touch after a day's exploring. A definite return for us in the future.

Catriona Follows
Reviewed Cnoc Ard on 03/09/2017
And awarded it

Cnoc Ard

We had a great week at Cnoc Ard. The location was perfect with easy access to the beautiful beaches and walks of Sutherland. The cottage was cosy and comfortable with lovely views and a log burning stove for chillier nights. Would highly recommend.