Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 50 of 3077

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3077 reviews from guests, of which 109% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


Shirley Winchetsr
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 16/01/2019
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Our second time at this cottage. A lovely restful week.We saw an Eagle hovering directly over the cottage 50 ft up, several deer walking past the cottage in the evenings, a seal, a Heron every day. A lovely clean and warm cottage, beautifully presented with lots to see and do. Highly recommended.

Edward Ewart
Reviewed Moat House 10 - Abbey on 16/01/2019
And awarded it

Moat House 10 - Abbey

We had a superb time at the highland resort. The accommodation was good but the only reservations we had were that Sky TV was included in the package which was not the case and the soundproofing between the two houses were poor due to noisy neighbors. This somewhat was a disappointment on the break in general.

Julie Mcdiarmid
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 16/01/2019
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

Fon Tobar is a wonderful property in a great location with fantastic sea views. The wildlife in the area is amazing; sea eagles, golden eagles and red deer to name a few - all seen from the property. I have been visiting Skye for over 20 years and this is the best property I have stayed in. Returning later this year. Highly recommend.

Zoe Green
Reviewed Callakille on 16/01/2019
And awarded it

Callakille

It is getting harder and harder to leave this wonderful place on the Applecross peninsular. Staying at Burnside is the highlight of our year. Thank you for sharing.

Ruth S.
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 16/01/2019
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

First time booking with Wilderness Cottages. Extremely helpful and efficient. Cottage was delightful. Perfect location, beautifully furnished and equipped, and immaculately clean. Just ideal for a restful break in Scotland and close to so many great places to visit. Warm, cosy and welcoming.

Tara O
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 16/01/2019
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Absolutely beautiful barn, literally couldn't of asked for anything more. I suggest reading some of the comments in the Vistors Book for tips on things to do and see in the area, really helpful. The views of the loch and mountains from the barn are breathtaking and hosts were super helpful throughout our trip.

What's Not To Love
Reviewed The Bothy on 16/01/2019
And awarded it

The Bothy

What a fantastic place to welcome the New Year - truly getting away from it all, tucked away in a little piece of Scottish heaven. Just WOW! Fabulous cottage with everything you could need. Beautifully appointed - a real home from home. Cosy log fires at night. Peace and tranquility. The comfiest beds. Breathtaking scenery, with amazing walks, literally on the doorstep. Loved everything about our week at The Bothy. Simply magical.

Emily M & Friends
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 16/01/2019
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

We stayed at The Mill for New Year 2018-2019 and could not have wished for a more lovely way to start 2019. We were greeted with the warmest welcome and a spotless house. The views over to the central Cairngorms are fantastic and we roamed around the Glenlivet Estate and nearby hills from the door. The house had everything we needed for cooking, finding our way around (lots of maps and guidebooks) and relaxing (lots of great books, games, very comfortable beds and a warm fire). We loved staying here, have already recommended it to family and friends and are trying to figure out when we can come back!

Joanna Love
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 16/01/2019
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

A most enjoyable new year break in a delightful, cosy, well-equipped cottage with the seashore not far from the door. Owners Chas and Jane gave a great welcome and I then had all the privacy desired. Great location for exploring Galloway.

Alan + Joan
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 06/01/2019
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

With all daughters now n mid twenties, a first - away for a week from the madness that is Christmas. Could not have wished for a more friendly, peaceful + relaxing location. Jane is fabulous, Byre very warm and well kitted out. Favourite memory among many will be star watching in the early hours of Christmas morning - clear skies and a couple of shooting stars !! Highly recommend and we will definitely return for another week of relaxation. Many thanks !!!

Alexandra
Reviewed The Beach House at Garrachan on 06/01/2019
And awarded it

The Beach House at Garrachan

Pros: Beautiful & spotlessly clean house with stunning views from all windows. Contemporary Scandinavian style interiors. Garden runs directly down to the Loch with a seal colony playing close by. Only a couple of miles to Dunvegan with petrol station & shops. Cons: Nearest mobile phone signal is 1.5 miles drive around the headland. Limited WiFi (10Gb per week) negates use of the smart TV for streaming. Not a suitable property if you need to be online for work. No bath. No upstairs heating.

Dave Bennett
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 04/01/2019
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Best cottage ever. We loved every single second at Cedar Cottage and were very sad to leave. It is a special place. So much thought has been put into the cottage and we loved the kitchen, so well-equipped. Perfect for our dog as garden is enclosed. Loved watching the birds. Such a peaceful retreat. Very much appreciate the impeccable cleanliness, attention to detail and the welcome chocs and milk etc. We will be back.

Robert Gray
Reviewed Drumfad Cottage on 27/12/2018
And awarded it

Drumfad Cottage

Well to start off we got upgraded to the barn and it was excellent me and my wife were over the moon it was huge, had everything in it that you could need. Both bedrooms have their own bathroom, kitchen was huge and everything in it, all rooms done to a high standard and the garden very big as well, very peaceful just what me and the Mrs wanted. Claire and David the owners are very friendly and nice people left us a nice hamper and milk and things very nice of them, thank you so much for our stay we will definitely be back and our dog had a lovely time too loved all his nice walks around the fields.

Mr & Mrs Coleman
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 19/12/2018
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

The cottage location is beautiful, facilities provided are ample, however, the cleanliness of the cottage really let it down and this is the first time we were told to strip the beds on leaving, a bit of a cheek when we had to clean it upon arrival. We would not recommend this property. Given two stars purely for location

Linzi C
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 18/12/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

What a stunning place! The property was absolutely gorgeous and the surroundings were incredible. We stayed a week and had such a lovely relaxing time. There were plenty of walks straight from the door and Plodda Falls were only a 10 min walk away. I can't describe how amazing and tranquill this place and the setting is, you have to see it to believe it. The owners were there to greet us and had baked us a delicious cake! I have never met hosts so friendly and welcoming before! so thank you for sharing this amazing corner of the world with us and opening your arms to us.

Mr & Mrs Coleman
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 15/12/2018
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Our third stay at this cottage, never disappoints, it is like home from home. Excellent facilities and the property is clean and well presented, will be back again. Managed to see Doc Marten (pine Marten) for the first time, hungry chap!!!! Lovely area for walks and cycling, not far to Fort Augustus either.

A McLeod
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 11/12/2018
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Thanks very much for a wonderful stay at the Tree House. We found it to be very comfortable and cosy. The kitchen was well equipped and both bathrooms were great - big rain shower and a huge bath! Everywhere is decorated to a high standard and the place is very well situated for exploring the island. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if we are ever lucky enough to return to Skye we wouldn't hesitate in coming back to the Tree House

Visser
Reviewed Log House on 07/12/2018
And awarded it

Log House

The house is very nice and is situated in one of the most beautiful regions in Scotland. In summer it is an absolute stunner. In winter however, it would be nice if the cottage would have been pre-heated before arrival. It takes a few days to get all the cold out. The equipment - kitchen, bathroom, wood stove, wood - all very complete! We would certainly return, but not at this time of year. And, a personal welcome would be very much appreciated.

Richard
Reviewed River Cottage on 06/12/2018
And awarded it

River Cottage

Stayed at the River Cottage for 5 nights, in December, What can I say... What a lovely place, amazing location for getting around the Highlands, (hikes and places to visit) very peaceful and great for your four legged friend (gated) John and family where very nice and very very helpful. The cottage was well equipped and very comfortable. Will definitely be back again. Thank you.

Jennifer Harrid
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 05/12/2018
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Beautiful cosy house with amazing views. A great place to unwind. Would definitely recommend.

Vicky Wall
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 05/12/2018
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Wonderful stay in this uniquely placed remote cottage where one can get so close to nature, and take in the fabulous vistas. Saw red deer, eagles, numerous other birds but our favourite is the pine marten who visits the bird table every night. Put out fat balls and scone drizzled with honey. He cleared the lot! We will return. In fact have already booked for next year. Highly recommended.

Lawson
Reviewed Station Cottage on 28/11/2018
And awarded it

Station Cottage

This was my second trip to Station Cottage with the first being before the additional en suite bedroom was added. This is a great addition to the cottage. As it was November it was nice to be welcomed with the heaters on and table lamps lit so that it was very cosy on arrival. I had a good few days and hope to return when the days are a bit longer and bit less chilly outside.

Caroline Pennington
Reviewed Upper Folds on 28/11/2018
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We have stayed at Upperfolds twice now and will do again. The house is warm, inviting and utterly gorgeous. Walks from the door in every direction and wonderful peace, just the sound of the birds. The place could not be better in any respect

Jim Dhaliwal
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 28/11/2018
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

Fabulous cottage with all the necessary amenities. Amazing views to wake up to . We were lucky enough to see a stag in the garden on two separate mornings . I would have given the cottage an excellent but no wood to burn and very little kindling left on site .

Sarah Cook
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 26/11/2018
And awarded it

Eilean Mor Cottage

Eilean Mor is in an idilyc location. It has splendid views of Dunvegan Loch, and it's conveniently located close to Dunvegan where there's a great shop and some lovely cafes, such as Loch View. The cottage is really well appointed, and it was lovely and clean when we arrived. The Wi-Fi worked perfectly all week and we used the wood burning stove every evening, there was plenty of wood left for us. The cottage is within easy travelling distance of some of the most beautiful locations on Skye such as Neist Point and the coral beaches. It's also metres from one of the best restaurants in the country, let alone the Isle! We really enjoying going to Bog Murtle cafe and book shop in Struan and Cafe Lephin in Glendale. We will definitely return to Eilean Mor, and would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Skye.

Margaret McFadden
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 24/11/2018
And awarded it

Seabank Cottage

Second time at this lovely wee cottage and we had a thoroughly relaxing week. Seabank is clean, comfy and cosy. George and Jenny have provided lots of good info on the local area. Lochcarron is a quiet village at this time of year which suited perfectly. Will definitely be back.

Gary Briggs
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 24/11/2018
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

The cottage was full of character overlooking the loch with snow capped mountain peaks directly behind. The village of Lochcarron has a good grocery store, petrol station and several good restaurants, so there was no need to travel far for supplies. It was a great location with a number of attractions close by. A secure enclosed garden was welcome as we took our Labrador who also thoroughly enjoyed swimming in the loch. We have stayed at another of your properties before and that too was also of an equally high standard. I would also add,as we did some extensive research,that Tor Fionn was very well priced considering it's amenities and location. We would thoroughly recommend a stay here as it was one of the most beautiful parts of Scotland we have stayed in.

Stephen Cassidy
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 23/11/2018
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

This is our 3rd visit to the lodge, we always go in November each year when it is most deserted, 4 adults and a dog. The house is large, very comfortable and cosy with all facilities required for a comfortable stay with the option of a web fire if required. There is a basic tv provided with freesat/Freeview if required and a basic BT broadband for emails etc. Just step outside and the beach, coastline and isaolation are there in abundance to enjoy each and every day as the wind and weather change from one extreme to another. It is a 20 minute drive to Stranraer for supplies but with a bit of planning and taking a weeks supply you can maintain isolation if that's what you want. A brilliant place to stay.

Harvey Cochrane
Reviewed Callakille on 23/11/2018
And awarded it

Callakille

Just amazing! Thank you for one of best stay we have every had.

Ann Leicestershire
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 20/11/2018
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

The cottage was clean and cosy, wonderful location, very isolated, good views. Beautiful area, need to be prepared to drive. Wood burner but hardly anything provided so would recommend logs etc - very few places to buy things so bring everything with you, would definitely visit again,

Kay & Tony
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 19/11/2018
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

We were so pleased we chose to stay in this lovely house which is privately situated with amazing views of the loch and Eilean Donan Castle. The house is warm, well equipped and very comfortable, the Rayburn was easy and enjoyable to use. There is a really nice feeling of hospitality and welcome which the owners have managed to instil. We felt at home from the moment we arrived. Wildlife abounds, herons and deer are in the garden and down the lane, other than the sounds of the loch and the wind blowing in the trees, it was so peaceful and relaxing. For us, it was perfectly situated, near enough to Skye so we could visit and do a few walks but away from any honeypots. Locally, the Balmacara Estate provided beautiful walks which we had to ourselves and a standout moment was watching an otter in a nearby sea loch, catch his lunch and swim to a private spot to eat it. A magical week in a great cottage.

Fiona
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 15/11/2018
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Had a nice stay in this lovely converted barn at a superb location! Slightly let down by its competitors in that there was no light left on for us arriving (in the pitch black!), a couple of bulbs were out in the house including the front door light, the TV is in one of the bedrooms on the mezzanine level so not very handy if sharing, having the microwave and toaster in the utility is not practical when cooking, and the shower needs a good scrub as the grout is very dirty. Overall nice stay though as the scenery of the 5 sisters is what sells the place.

Dorothy
Reviewed Ardbeg on 14/11/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Just returned from Ardbeg Cottage we had an absolutely wonderful time, the cottage was fabulous everything you could wish for & more. The views were stunning & couldn't have asked for better weather. Would highly recommend everyone should visit this wonderful part of Scotland will definitely return. Wilderness cottages are definitely a company I will use again

Brenda
Reviewed Stable Cottage on 13/11/2018
And awarded it

Stable Cottage

Cottage is more than adequate for 6 people. Has all the amenities you could think of. Kevin was exceptional so helpful. The grounds are great well maintained. Would definitely return.

Tracey Roughley
Reviewed Upper Folds on 13/11/2018
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Absolutely beautiful cottage in a lovely secluded setting, we had the most relaxing chilled break away from it all and will definately return. Thank you so much.

Catherine
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 11/11/2018
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

A lovely cottage, beautifully clean and well prepared. Plentiful logs to keep the fire blazing ensured the cottage was cosy and warm. Weir quite overflowing when we left so rather glad we had a suitable car. Description of the cottage was very accurate - right down to the steep stairs to the first floor!

Juergen Von Wirth
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 07/11/2018
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Only one word: perfect

Alison Doig
Reviewed Station Cottage on 07/11/2018
And awarded it

Station Cottage

Loved the cottage. Everything you need so well thought out. Really relaxing, shops near by for your essentials, lots of walks, Speyside way just next to cottage, Aviemore 15 min drive away. Fantastic and will definitely re-book.

Sue & Mark
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 07/11/2018
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

What a gem of a cottage, beautiful, cosy, well equipped and in the most stunning location. Could quite happily stayed forever. Even our teenage daughter loved it especially laying on the bed star gazing on a night. Definitely will be visiting again.

Kev & Jane
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 06/11/2018
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

This is the most comfortable and cosy lodge we have ever stayed in. There is everything you could possibly need and more. The wood burner was the only heat we really needed even though it was the end of October. This Lodge really is a hidden gem in beautiful surroundings. So peaceful and quiet and we would love to come back. It made the 10hr journey from Lincolnshire worth it!

Mrs Cliff
Reviewed Heatherbank on 06/11/2018
And awarded it

Heatherbank

What a fabulous cottage in an awesome location. Fabulously equipped, immaculate condition and presentation and fully stocked with a cupboard of games and plenty of fuel for the fire should the Scottish weather make a day indoors a necessity. The surrounding area has some of the most spectacular views, beaches, wildlife and historic places of interest. Would highly recommend this property, only with the consideration that if a person is of large stature they may struggle with the WC as the smallest room in the house really is the smallest room!

Daryl Gregory
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 06/11/2018
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

Great selection of places to stay. Best holiday company for places you would not otherwise have thought to stay at.

Emily Nelson
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 04/11/2018
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Tranquil stay at the Barn listening to red deer roar across the loch in the evening while watching the stars come out. Perfect place to unwind with everything you need to stay warm and cosy. Thank you Linda!

Pauline
Reviewed Cuilfail on 03/11/2018
And awarded it

Cuilfail

This was our second stay at Cuilfail, the first time was a week and this time we stayed for 2 weeks which enabled us to travel the area a lot easier. We really enjoyed our stay on both occasions. The house is like home from home is really well equipped and although in an quiet position is fairly easy to go out for the day either North or South depending on where you wish to The dogs really loved being able to have a run in the garden before we left to visit places and meet with friends. As we have 3 English Setters it is really good to know we can take the dogs with us on holiday and they are safe playing in the garden.

Lynda & Bob Allis
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 03/11/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We had the warmest of greetings from Jenny on our arrival (plus a beautiful homemade Apple cake) we were delighted with the house, it was absolutely lovely, immaculately clean & very comfortable, we loved cosying up with the log burner at night ,Jenny even brought us fresh vegetables from her garden during the week ,what a lovely touch ,such a genuine lady who obviously had our comfort & enjoyment very much in mind.The peace & tranquillity of the area was wonderful ,we were lucky enough to be able to sit out in the garden a few times,& to be able to just walk to Plodda Falls was a bonus. I would highly recommend Plodda Falls Lodge ,if you want a peaceful away from it all break & yet it isn't too far to Inverness .Jenny is the sort of lady I would love living next door to me ,so warm & friendly ,but unobtrusive.

Cameron
Reviewed Ardbeg on 27/10/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Outstanding property with stunning views across Gairloch out to Skye. Thoroughly recommend it.

Janet Rimmer
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 25/10/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

If you have not experienced a Wilderness Cottage before this is the one you . An exceptional cottage in a stunning location. Jenny goes out of her way to ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable, even producing scrumptious cakes to welcome you. The surrounding wildlife is quite stunning and the sky at night is amazing. A fantastic time had by all. Thank you .

Anne Durnall
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 25/10/2018
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Tigh na Croaobh was a very lovely base for our first time on Skye. The house was warm and welcoming, well laid out and had had everything we needed. Absolutely fantastic to sit in front of that picture window with the stove lit - whatever the weather! Had reason to contact the owners, who were super friendly and dealt with our query.

Joi Sutherland
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 22/10/2018
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

We stayed in Cuaig Croft in October 2018. The cottage is lovely and had everything we needed. The Aga was really easy to use and meant that the kitchen was always warm. The bed was very comfortable, with soft bed linen and the bath was spacious. It wasn't at all cluttered and the decoration was pleasing. I particularly liked the hand made kitchen, which was well thought out. A very pleasant experience and I hope to return.

Adam & Fiona
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 22/10/2018
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Lovely, well equipped house in beautiful location. House was warm and inviting and we loved being able to look down on to the water and across to Loch Coruisk from the patio and the from the windows. Loved the wood burning fire and the easy access to walks.