Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 50 of 3232

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3232 reviews from guests, of which 107% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


Jan & David
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 21/05/2019
And awarded it

Pipers Lodge

Highly recommend Pipers Lodge for a quiet stay overlooking beautiful Loch Dunvegan. Cosy, clean and well equipped. Many thanks Chris and Cath, for making us feel so welcome.

Mrs Pascale Jones
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 21/05/2019
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

One of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed (2018, 2019 and we will return in 2020). It was everything we expected and more. This place calls for reflection and relaxation and the location (in the South and more mountainous part of Skye) simply breathtaking !

Alison Storey
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 21/05/2019
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

This is the most amazing house in a fantastic location. We had a wonderful week here so peaceful and tranquil. The house has everything you could wish for well equipped and well furnished to a high standard The house is not the easiest to find and roads are narrow but well worth it once you get there We hope to return next year.

Chris Smith
Reviewed Ardbeg on 21/05/2019
And awarded it

Ardbeg

On arriving at Ardbeg, I was very pleasantly surprised, as this is the best self-catering accommodation I have ever stayed in, The welcome package of bread, eggs and chocolate useful, and a nice touch, The quality of the bedding and furnishings was first class; cleanliness was top notch, and it was apparent that attention to detail was paramount. All the appliances in the kitchen were spotless, and in working order. The two living rooms would be a bonus to families, save a lot of arguing over programmes versus games! Lots of things to see and do, all within acceptable time frames for travel. Last but not least, the view, unparalled.

Gordon Ross
Reviewed Ardbeg on 21/05/2019
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Excellent accommodation and a wonderful setting. The house is finished to an extremely high standard with incredible views from the deck. I would highly recommend this as a holiday destination.

Mark & Fiona
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 21/05/2019
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Fantastic compact cottage with stunning sea and mountain views. Visited by the resident pine Martin on 3 occasions. We were there for one week and the place is stunning. The owner greeted us on arrival and was very pleasant. We would love to go back at some point in the future. No complaints.

Frosts
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 21/05/2019
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

What a peaceful relaxing place to stay! Plodda Falls Lodge was an ideal start to our holiday - a choice of walks from the door with our dog (and a large safe enclosed garden as well); a very comfortable bed (we both had the best week's sleep for a long time); dark dark skies; wildlife galore; wood burner for the colder evenings. We arrived late but were still met by the lovely owner who had baked us a very nice cake as a welcome gift and who gave us a quick run down of what we might need to know. This old house is full of charm and character - don't expect sophistication on this holiday just fresh air, walks through ancient forests on your door, absolute peace, constant birds on the feeders, wildlife watching, and a real chance to unwind and destress. We will be back!

Vee & Bear
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 20/05/2019
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Wonderful crofters cottage in a beautiful setting a stones throw from its own secluded beach. Fantastic sunsets, views out on the horizon of the islands, Torridon Mountains to the front with diverse wildlife all around. The cottage was cosy, spacious and the perfect base to explore from.

J Mitch
Reviewed The Orchids on 20/05/2019
And awarded it

The Orchids

Spent a week on the Isle of skye and have fallen in love with the place. Breathtaking scenery and landscape, friendly people and lots of interesting places to visit. The Orchids had everything we needed, perched in a spot where there is an abundance of wildlife to watch and picturesque views over the Loch. The house is spotless and offers home from home comforts with plenty reading materials/games /puzzles. That's if you get time to drag yourself from the views! Throughout the week we travelled around the island but looked forward to getting back to the Orchids to enjoy and make the most of the lovely weather we had, and to take full advantage of this perfect holiday home.

Margaret Stewart
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 20/05/2019
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

Spent a lovely week in Torvaig Cottage, weather was beautiful, cottage was well equipped and very comfortable. Lovely walks just minutes from the door. The cottage is bright and spacious, the garden us enclosed and has a bench to allow visitors to relax and enjoy nature. We stayed at Ardrannach last year and enjoyed our visit there too. The owners were welcoming and friendly. Only a short walk or drive to Portree, would definitely return.

Thomas Luessi
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 20/05/2019
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

We spent a beautiful two weeks at Hill Cottage at Fanagmore, Sco. As we know the owner from another stay in the Heart of Scotland, we got what we expected! A perfect place, remote to busier parts of the world. Just silent as we were looking for. Together with our dog we enjoyed every Minute of our Holidays!

Ronnie McBride
Reviewed Ardrannach on 20/05/2019
And awarded it

Ardrannach

This cottage is in an excellent location on Skye, just outside Portree, with magnificent views from the lounge window. The woodland walk into the capital was about 20 mins, mostly downhill, so allow a bit longer going back. The cottage had everything we needed and was very spacious, so ideal for a young family or 2 couples. Andrew welcomed us on arrival and said to contact him at any time if we had a problem. He did not seem too concerned when our little Yorkie, Jodie, escaped from the garden while we were talking and unloading, and decided to chase one of the chickens all the way back to the farmyard. Our roast chicken dinner on the Sunday was delicious. (only kidding!) Our only criticism would be that the mattresses were too soft and springy and probably need replaced. This however did not spoil our time here. The location was ideal for visiting all parts of the island, and will definitely recommend to family and friends.

Vanessa Mayall
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 20/05/2019
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Just had a weeks stay at The Coltsfoot, could not have been more pleased with our choice. Superb location to access the surrounding area. Would highly recommend.

Carol Barker
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 19/05/2019
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

We very much enjoyed our stay at Katie's Cottage. We liked the fact that it was on a very quiet lane in the north west of Skye, with lots of local walks and beaches. The shop in nearby Glendale was excellent, too! The cottage was very cosy and we liked the underfloor heating which kept the temperature even, and the option of the log burner if needed. The lounge was very comfortable and we loved the open plan layout, joining on to the kitchen/dining area, which made it very spacious. The bathroom was also very spacious, and although the two bedrooms were a little on the small side due to the low roof, it was fine for us for a week's stay. Generally the cottage was fairly clean, however I felt as though it needed a really good vacuuming to get rid of hairs left by previous guests, in the lounge and bedrooms, and the bathroom floor needed wiping round the edges, as it was rather sticky and dusty there. Otherwise, it was just wonderful, and we would have loved to have stayed longer.

Sally-Anne
Reviewed Lilybank on 10/05/2019
And awarded it

Lilybank

Lovely cottage in ideal location. Really warm and welcoming. Very comfy beds. Well equipped with everything we needed for a great stay. We've had a wonderful week. Thank you.

BRIAN & VI
Reviewed Fhaireag on 10/05/2019
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Great cottage in amazing setting, Bird song truly out of this world, walks from door, spent week there car never moved. WILDERNESS COTTAGES promptly got heating fixed, would return if we could get a free week.

Mats & Family
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 04/05/2019
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

We had a warm welcome at the Mill. Very comfortable cottage, with all you can think of. Light, pleasant and thoughtfully restored building, with plenty of place for the five of us. Great collection of books, something interesting and enjoyable there for everyone. Board games same story. Only noticed the lack of mobile coverage during the champions league semi finals, but halfway the hill also that annoyance disappeared. Great base for walking the Glenlivet Estate, with numerous marked routes starting nearby. Moors, hills, streams, woods and whiskey makers in all directions. We'd love to be back some day.

Stephen Moore & Nicola Walker
Reviewed The Granary on 02/05/2019
And awarded it

The Granary

We recently stayed at The Granary for six nights and received a very warm welcome from the owners, fresh flowers and biscuits greeted us on arrival. The property is absolutely lovely and very well equipped, We could not fault it at all, The perfect place for a couple or family with two lovely bedrooms and two bathrooms, If you are looking for an isolated cottage in the middle of nowhere then this is probably not for you as it is in the back garden of the owners property, but it is quiet, private and perfectly located for walking to the local pubs and shops in the village. The scenery around the local area is stunning and the town of Inverness is just a twenty minute drive away. We would recommend this property and would certainly stay there again.

S&I Edmiston
Reviewed Upper Folds on 30/04/2019
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We stayed a week at upper folds and the pictures do not do it justice. Beautiful, clean and tidy and fantastic local walks. The hosts have thought of everything even tea, coffee, cleaning materials, and a bowl of chocolate mints on arrival!

Ann & Murphy
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 30/04/2019
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Fabulous week at Cedar Cottage. Lots of walks right on your doorstep or short drive to woods on the coast. Clean, homely, well equipped and cosy. Great place to get away from it all.

Sophie
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 29/04/2019
And awarded it

Pipers Lodge

We had the most fabulous week at Piper's Lodge and would recommend it to anyone. We stayed over the Easter week and had such a relaxing time - the photos don't do this place justice. The lodge is beautifully decorated and very well equipped (the kitchen had everything you could possibly need), and waking up to the gorgeous view every day is so special. Cath and Chris were really helpful and friendly, and we found that the location was perfect - it's not as central as other points on the island, but the peace and quiet more than made up for it, and there are some real beauty spots nearby. If you're looking for somewhere to relax and truly switch off, Piper's Lodge is perfect.

Janice Wilson
Reviewed River Cottage on 29/04/2019
And awarded it

River Cottage

We found this cottage just perfect as a base for walks with our Springer Spaniel. Everything you could need was catered for and a superb location too. Ideal if you have a dog or not, lots of interesting things to see and do, The cottage was immaculate, very tranquil setting by the river.

Nicki Clatworthy
Reviewed The Granary on 29/04/2019
And awarded it

The Granary

The Granary is so lovely and a real home from home - very well equipped and comfortable. We had a warm greeting on arrival from the owners and some lovely biscuits! The house is very functional and well located for exploring Loch Ness, Glen Affric, Inverness etc. The kitchen is practical and has everything you need for a self catering holiday. The decor and comfort is excellent - thoroughly recommend staying here.

Angela
Reviewed Taigh Fiodha on 27/04/2019
And awarded it

Taigh Fiodha

Excellent cottage and views were incredible. I will book this again!

John & Cherry Loch
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 27/04/2019
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

We had a superb week at Seal Skerry Lodge. Location is wonderful, and the lodge well equipped, clean & warm. A name on the gate would have been an advantage when we arrived, and we did have no internet for the week we were there although owners did kindly contact BT but unfortunately it couldn't be sorted before we left. A couple of observations: it would be really useful to have a radiator in the utility room for drying coats / boots etc, a note to explain absence of door on dishwasher would be nice, a mirror somewhere near to an electricity socket for hair drying would be useful, and we did think that the logs for wood burner could have been provided free of charge, considering the price of the stay. But overall small niggles and we had a really good week there, great to have enclosed garden for the dog, and the night skies were just amazing, a great place to really get away from it all and chill. We would definitely return!

Melanie
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 27/04/2019
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

We booked Oak Cottage for a week at Easter and could not have been happier. We were already familiar with the area having stayed in Killin many times before, but were delighted with the peaceful setting and lovely feel of the cottage. The view from the window across the garden to the small lochan (with its resident ducks) is lovely and we were regularly visited by the three red squirrels and countless birds. The cottage was modern but cosy, spotlessly clean and instantly felt like a 'home from home'. The owners were extremely helpful and friendly; the children were over the moon when they found an Easter egg each in the fridge! We will definitely be returning!

John Hebenton
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 26/04/2019
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Our stay was 5 star in every way. We could not have wished for better facilities or helpful hosts!

Rachael Baker
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 26/04/2019
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

What a view!!! The cottage is clean, warm and homely. The views from the windows, decking are stunning. The wildlife that can be seen from the cottage, and that visit the cottage are amazing. The large garden is great for the dogs to explore, and fully enclosed. Thank you

Annie Morgan
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 25/04/2019
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at Port Elgol Cottage, I cannot imagine a more beautiful location in the whole world. The view of the many islands out to sea then the Cullins and honeycomb rock from the front garden is absolutely spectacular. The cottage itself is just lovely, the moment you walk in it feels like a home not a rental. There is everything you need for your stay, it is very well equipped and comfortable but also has lots of books, games and maps to use too. The 'Bothy Books' where previous guests have written about their stay is lovely to read and gives lots of tips on the local wildlife and places to see. We were lucky that during our stay we had glorious weather but I would not have been disappointed if a storm had of come in as the cottage was so cosy with its log burning fire. We will definitely be back, it was an absolute privilege to stay here.

Katy H
Reviewed Gracie's Cottage on 24/04/2019
And awarded it

Gracie's Cottage

Gracie's cottage is in a lovely setting and we had a wonderful week there. The beds are comfy, the house was well equipped, and there was a lot of practical space for a family of four. The WiFi was much appreciated by our kids!

Olly Knowles
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 24/04/2019
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Beautiful home in a wonderful location. Thanks for a great holiday!

Michelle Laing
Reviewed Ardbeg on 24/04/2019
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Ardbeg cottage is absolutely amazing. Such a gorgeous location & the property has been furnished to a high standard with everything you could possibly need. Lovely welcome pack left by the owners too. Would highly recommend this property for a relaxing vacation.

Jo & Glyn
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 24/04/2019
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

We booked Moll cottage for the location, wildlife, seclusion and quality of the overall cottage. We were delighted that we got everything we wished for and will be booked soon for next year which says it all.

Anthony
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 24/04/2019
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

What a wonderful holiday cottage! We will definitely return. Clean, comfortable, homely and in a fantastic location with the shore below the house. Thank you Widerness Cottages

Stuart Brown
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 23/04/2019
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

Fantastic views from this property. Lots of room for our family of five in the house and huge amounts of parking outside. Short drive to Neist Point from the house and an easy walk down to the pier to see the seals in Loch Pooltiel. We saw the Sea Eagles outside almost every day along with several NATO warships on exercise in the area. Will miss the views and hope to return one day.

Holly Wright
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 20/04/2019
And awarded it

Pipers Lodge

Pipers Lodge is just fabulous! The photos don't do it justice - especially the lovely view, which changed constantly with the light and weather. The lodge is beautifully decorated - huge comfy bed, excellent shower, very well equipped kitchen and the hot tub was wonderful. Cath and Chris were brilliant hosts - very friendly but unobtrusive. The location is on the furthest tip of the island but as long as you don't mind a couple of longer days driving (around 1 hour to get to the Old Man of Storr or the Cuillins) the remoteness makes it well worth it. Also there's a lot of other great stuff to see nearby, e.g. Neist Point Lighthouse, Three Chimneys restaurant (book well in advance!), Dunvegan Castle, Coral beach etc. And we really recommend the walk from Orbost to Macleods Maidens (10 mile return trip). We brought most supplies with us but the larger Coop at Portree was excellent and the shops in Glendale and Dunvegan had most things anyway. Thank you for a BRILLIANT week Cath and Chris!

Graeme
Reviewed Heatherbank on 17/04/2019
And awarded it

Heatherbank

Heatherbank is a wonderful location to explore Sutherland from, and if the weather turns bad also a delightful location to sit out the storm. The lounge area is comfortable and well equipped, and the log burner with endless supply of wood makes the coldest of nights feel warm. The kitchen is well well equipped and ideal for cooking the amazing local produce after a visit to the butcher and fish van in Lochinver. With very comfortable bedrooms, a great selection of books, the really cool games table, and huge amounts of outdoor space it really has a bit of everything. We will definitely be back again.

Fox Family
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 16/04/2019
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We had a fantastic week at Plodda Falls Lodge. Our host Jenny had thought of every little detail to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. We were welcomed with a delicious cake and cosy fire. The lodge is set in a beautiful, peaceful location where only the sound of birds and a river can be heard. It is truly a specatular place to relax and unwind. Our two boys had fun cycling to the local village cafe whilst our dog thought he had arrived in heaven with all the amazing walks straight from the front door of the lodge. We often walked to Plodda Falls in the evening without seeing anyone else which felt very special.The kitchen was well equipped to cook for a family of four and convieniently has a dishwasher, freezer and washing machine. The beds were super comfortable and the shower always had hot water available. Thank you Jenny for a fantastic week - we will be back.

Michael C Bryson
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 16/04/2019
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

We had a really lovely time at Torvaig cottage. It's in a marvellous position, with outstanding views just yards away. It was a little cold when we first arrived but soon warmed up. Our hosts were very friendly and accommodating. Extra supplies of coal and fresh cut peat were offered but we didn't need it, due to very good weather. The house was very clean, no frills, but had everything you need for a family holiday, and just 15 mins walk away from Portree.

David & Corinne
Reviewed Ardbeg on 15/04/2019
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Just back from a wonderful week at Ardbeg Cottage. The minute you walk in and see the stunning views and appreciate the quality of the finishing in the cottage, you can be sure you are going to have a fabulous holiday. The location is perfect and it is an easy walk down to the local shops, the harbour and to lovely spots for a coffee or a meal. The deck however makes this cottage even extra special and we were blessed with faboulous weather and managed to enjoy meals out on the deck - even in April! This is the first holiday cottage that we would definitely return to - the owners have really created a wonderful holiday home.

Marshall
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 15/04/2019
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

A beautiful cottage in a nice remote location. Beautifully warm thanks to the Rayburn, and well equipped including a very large bed. A warm welcome, including scones, from the charming landlady who lives nearby. Highly recommended for a couple.

M. Holden
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 15/04/2019
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

We had an amazing week at Moll Cottage, we saw the first seal within 30 minutes of our arrival. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you need. The road down to the cottage is pretty bumpy with potholes but take it slowly and it is fine. If you want a secluded getaway this is the perfect place.

Nick Rimmer
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 15/04/2019
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

Wonderful cottage and location, it was great having a small shop and cafe nearby as well. Only a 5 minute walk! The cottage is not far from Neist Point (my favourite place in Skye). The cottage is immaculate and we had everything we needed, WiFi, Freesat TV, good range of kitchen utensils etc. for cooking. Would definitely book this cottage again.

Bob Crabb
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 15/04/2019
And awarded it

Eilean Mor Cottage

Eilean Mor is a great cottage. Very suitable for a family of four. Enclosed garden meant the children could roam freely. Fantastic view. Clean and tidy when we arrived. Thank you.

David Turner
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 14/04/2019
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Superb stay at this cottage. Very well equipped, fantastic location. Would not hesitate to recommend this. I mean it, this place is wonderful - I could go on about the dark skies, the wildlife, the garden, the remote but accessible location, the walks you can go almost from the doorstep. Loved it!

VickyR
Reviewed Log House on 11/04/2019
And awarded it

Log House

The Log House is extremely cosy and well equipped - just what I was looking for. It felt like a home from home! Idyllic walks nearby in the forest too. Good internet too, which was a nice surprise. Didn't need the log burner as weather was mild and central heating perfectly adequate. Did receive an extra delivery of logs though, which is a nice touch! The only issue I would say is the weather in Fort Augustus is extremely wet all the time and the gutters/down pipes desperately needed maintenance as they were leaking. The kitchen has pretty much everything you need except could do with an extractor fan to remove the cooking smells. Something that did stick in my mind was the squeaky kitchen floor which drove us mad. Overall, a lovely place in a great central location in the Great Glen.

John Atherton
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 10/04/2019
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

An excellent holiday home in an ideal situation with wonderful views. The accommodation far exceeded our expectations - a large lounge with ample seating for 6 people, spacious kitchen fitted with modern appliances and seating for 6, shower rooms and three good sized bedrooms. We did have a problem with the supply of hot water and underfloor heating but both were corrected in quick time; the supply of hot water very quickly and the heating far quicker than we anticipated since an engineer had to travel from Inverness in inclement weather conditions - 40 mph gales with rain, hail & snow . A sincere thank you to all concerned. These problems served to emphasise the "house insulation" is excellent!! During our week we visited the Coral Beach north of Dunvegan, the Dinosaur Beach at Staffin and the Quiraing on our way from Staffin to Uig, the Fairy Glen and Golden Cave above Uig, and Neist Point lighthouse. At the farm (Kelpie crafts) near the lighthouse we stopped to see the lambing. Linda, the farmer, encouraged our grandchildren to bottle feed the friendly lambs and showed us her large amount of craft work housed next door - a visit is a must. We managed a wet weather walk to the Fairy Pools on our way home - a good walk but not for the faint-hearted in bad weather conditions. At least the pools were full and this elderly couple had our children and active grandchildren to ferry us across the wide streams and over the large spacious stepping stones - an exciting visit! Overall - an excellent week (the weather wasn't too bad!) which we would like to experience again in the near future - in Pooltiel House Thank you.

Grace & Tony
Reviewed Sealight on 09/04/2019
And awarded it

Sealight

Sealight has the wow factor from the moment you open the front door. It is beautiful and very well equipped. The view from the decking is stunning. Pine marten visited every night. The area is so beautiful and the colour of loch Sunart changes by the hour, the view is never the same. The drive up from the South through Glencoe is one of the most breathtaking drives We have ever done. Before you leave stock up on a couple of days food as the nearest supermarket is a 15 mile drive and a trip on the Corran ferry away in Fort William. Saying that the local shop in Strontian is well stocked, just understandably more expensive. Go to Mull for the day, visit the Ncnnean distillery in Drimnin and have lunch at The Whitehouse in Lochaline. Sealight is the perfect house in the most perfect setting. A real get away from life holiday. A week is not enough.

Lesley & Chris
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 09/04/2019
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Our second visit to an outstanding home from home, which is fully equipped with everything and more that's needed for a great holiday. Log fire, wildlife, birds including the fly-by from the eagle, along with great restaurants & cafes and the many trips to be taken are the cherry on top for this property. We'll be back soon !

Gillian
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 09/04/2019
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Lovely cosy cottage. Fabulous views and easy access to Skye, local shops. Some great walks nearby. Two close encounters with otters and deer in the garden..what a treat.