Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 50 of 3293

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3293 reviews from guests, of which 107% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


Jay & Kay
Reviewed Ardrannach on 22/07/2019
And awarded it
Sam Cowlen
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 22/07/2019
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

This is the second consecutive summer we have stayed at Cedar Cottage and it was just as amazing as the first time. The cottage is always so clean and fresh, the treats we received are always so lovely and are always throughly enjoyed. We especially loved waking up to the birds and squirrels and a couple of times driving back to the cottage we managed to spot some deer too. We look forward to returning again.

Dr Don
Reviewed River Cottage on 22/07/2019
And awarded it

River Cottage

A delight. A cozy place for two and a dog. Great location for food and exploring. If you are looking in the area, regardless of price point, give this a look.

Chris & Meg
Reviewed Cameron's Cottage on 21/07/2019
And awarded it

Cameron's Cottage

Cameron's Cottage was a brilliant place for our week. Very comfortable and full of character. It was surprisingly large with almost a French gite feel to the master bedroom. Morag and Ali were great hosts, available when we needed them, but anonymous when not. Even though the house is on a working farm, we were able to walk the dog off lead within 5minutes walk of the house. We would recommend Morag's Tearoom too, across the field - some excellent food and drink on offer.

Chris & Meg
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 20/07/2019
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

Fon Tobar is a good but expensive property. Clearly it has been located for the view across Loch Pooltiel which is exceptional, but there was nothing else special about the house. It is missing a lot of items in the kitchen such as a draining rack, sieve, foil, tea-towel, kitchen roll. There was no clothes horse to dry clothes (I'd prefer not to use the tumble dryer if possible) and it was raining. Although the garden is fenced, there is a gap under the gate through which our dog (spaniel) managed to escape. Apart from those grumbles, we did enjoy our stay at Fon Tobar and would recommend it for people who have not been to Skye before.

Paul & Gail
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 20/07/2019
And awarded it

Pipers Lodge

We had the most fantastic week at Piper's Lodge. The lodge is fantastic with the kitchen having everything that you could possibly need. The rest of the lodge is equally fab with a huge bed and great shower. The hot tub was also great after a day of sightseeing. The lodge is quite remote (which we were looking for when we booked) and the surrounding views are wonderful. WiFi signal was also great. Cath and Chris were lovely and really helpful but not obtrusive and gave us good tips where to see deers and other wildlife. If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing break in wonderful accommodation and surroundings then look no further.

Steve & Sue Martin
Reviewed Lilybank on 19/07/2019
And awarded it

Lilybank

Excellent place to stay, warm cosy and very comfortable, beautiful location for exploring the Highlands.Plenty of wildlife about including a slow worm on the lawn!

Keith & Anne
Reviewed River Cottage on 19/07/2019
And awarded it

River Cottage

What can you say...cottage was absolutely perfect, clean, comfortable & cosy & very well equipped. It was in an excellent location for exploring the Loch Ness area & beyond. We had a wonderful holiday staying at River Cottage and would highly recommend it to anyone. ps..our little dog agrees. He was made to feel welcome & loved his walks in the massive garden.

Richard & Carole
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 19/07/2019
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

This is the second year we have stayed at this location, albeit last year we stayed in the adjoining property Taffs Barn, which we thought was brilliant, however in our opinion this one is even better especially in terms of views from the balcony kitchen patio doors. The setting is so tranquil and peaceful, yet is within close proximity to amenities and attractions including the beautiful dolphins. Owner Pat is very welcoming and helpful and her scones are mouth wateringly good!! We will definitely be back again next year!!

Michael & Judy
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 18/07/2019
And awarded it

Pipers Lodge

An amazing week spent in a wonderful location. Piper's Lodge was a beautiful place for our holiday, perfect, spotlessly clean and very handy for 'The Three Chimneys'!

Len Collard
Reviewed Station Cottage on 18/07/2019
And awarded it

Station Cottage

Lovely cottage great location and a beautiful area 2 nd visit . All you need .

Patrick
Reviewed An Sealladh on 17/07/2019
And awarded it

An Sealladh

An Sealladh is a very pleasant house, well equipped with everything you need for a good holiday, clean and with everything in working order - the kitchen is excellent in particular. There's plenty of space for a comfortable week - there were only two of us and the dog so we didn't even use the third bedroom! Located in Lochinver village, you have easy access on foot to local facilities - sadly the pub seems to have closed since we were last there - but this isn't a remote getaway as such as a result, but that hardly matters as a ten minute drive puts you in glorious surroundings. The only issue with the property is the front - I'm not sure who decided to tarmac over such a large area, perhaps it was used for parking a few vehicles at some point in its history, but it's not great to look at and rather precludes you from sitting outside and enjoying the view to Suilven and Canisp for too long of an evening after a long day's walking. It is at odds with the beautiful country surrounding Lochinver but if you're out and about all day as we were, you can just about ignore it! A pleasant stay, all in all.

Jane Reed
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 16/07/2019
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

Excellent cottage. Everything supplied to make our stay a home from home. A lovely back garden and view from the front garden over Lochcarron.

Wim Kroner
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 16/07/2019
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

An excellent address in the middle of nature and beautifull enviroment. We had a perfect stay during our fishing holiday. The cottage is complete and clean with a friendly hosts to help us if necessary. A reason to come back another moment.

Jo Taylor
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 16/07/2019
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

LouPLou
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 16/07/2019
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

Tor Cottage was a 5* accommodation with a fabulous view from most windows. The location was good with Tarbert being only a 10 minute drive and Stornaway just an hour away. The owners are close at hand and really friendly and helpful with any questions and knowledge of the Isles.

Philip
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 16/07/2019
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Done nothing Went nowhere Saw no one PERFECT

Louise Goodison
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 16/07/2019
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

An exceptional house in a remarkable position. We will return.

Richard
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 16/07/2019
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

We stayed in Ryflat Barn this year after stay at the same location last year but in Taffs Barn. Both places are excellent and deceptively spacious, and are set in attractive very quiet location but are within reach of many amenities and attractions including the beautiful Moray Firth dolphins. A beautiful place to stay and we would highly recommend it and will being going back again next year.

Mrs TM
Reviewed Ardbeg on 16/07/2019
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Had an amazing time at this cottage. Every bit and more as good as the website. Well worth our journey (8hours drive) . Fantastic views from the cottage, which is luxury itself. Local area has lots to offer, restaurants, shops, taxis. Lots of friendly locals

David
Reviewed Log House on 16/07/2019
And awarded it

Log House

Had a lovely time at the log house. The weather was very mixed for July but the location makes up for the rain. The forest track is amazing and I recommend it for anyone who stays at the cabin to walk it (or run it), especially at sunrise. Simply awesome. As for the log house, very nice indeed, my only gripe was the broadband wasn't working, apart from that, highly recommended.

Lorna Baird
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 16/07/2019
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Fantastic cottage and fantastic area for a quiet and relaxing holiday. Views and wildlife spectacular. Would definitely recommend and hope sometime to go back again.

Kim & Simon
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 11/07/2019
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Absolutely beautiful cottage, didn't want to leave! A perfect location for exploring, so many fabulous places to visit on your doorstep. Perfect.

Cuthbertson, Crieff
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 05/07/2019
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

Easily accessed, well appointed, comfortable and impressive holiday house. Fantastic area with Inverness a short drive away.

EvertK
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 03/07/2019
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Viv & Alan Shilton With Max & Bess The Dovs
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 01/07/2019
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Another lovely holiday in this beautiful cottage. Spotlessly clean with such beautiful views. This time we had the privilege of close up encounters with the pine martens, a fox and a badger. Sadly we won't be back next year as planned, but hope to return one day.

Maggie
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 01/07/2019
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

We enjoyed a great stay at Torvaig Cottage. Very comfortable, clean and had all we needed. Would definitely recommend to others and stay again ourselves. Thank you!

Sheila & Pete
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 01/07/2019
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Beautiful cottage, great location to be away from it all but near enough not to have to drive miles to see the sights. Spacious inside and out. Plenty of bird life surrounding the cottage yellow hammers, cookoos, warblers anyone staying could not help but love the place. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

Jenkins Family
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 30/06/2019
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Lovely warm welcome with homemade cake from Jenny and nice to meet Paul and Kevin too. Cottage was beautiful and very comfortable (especially the bed) with everything we needed and nice remote location with easy access to the falls and Glen Affric. Interesting history of the estate and nice to have secure gardens for the dogs to run in. Saw a red squirrel several mornings in the garden and the badger on the trail camera out the kitchen window.

James Clarke & Party
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 29/06/2019
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

Thanks for an excellent holiday! The cottage was perfect for our party (3 couples, 1 adult, and a dog) as a location for walking during the day and as a space to cook, eat and relax in the evenings. Rooms were very comfortable. The overall feel of the place was lovely. Easy to get to and very easy access to Ballater. In terms of logistics could not have been easier when showing up, and things like recycling, cooking, etc all obvious. In terms of walking some great walks out the back of the property (we followed the Tullich Burn) and 20 min drive to Lochnagar and Loch Muick. Highly recommend!

Robin S
Reviewed An Sealladh on 27/06/2019
And awarded it

An Sealladh

Quiet location. Inside, comfortable and warm for a June holiday in variable weather. Excellent wifi. Some exterior work required on the property, but not affecting the interior. Prompt response to issues via e-mail to Wilderness Cottages, mobile phone signal at cottage is often non-existent (though payphone is available inside). Limited food storage space beyond fridge/freezer.

Jill Black
Reviewed Gracie's Cottage on 26/06/2019
And awarded it

Gracie's Cottage

We really enjoyed our holiday at Gracie's Cottage it was so peaceful and relaxing. The view from the cottage was magnificent. The cottage was very well equipped cosy and comfortable. Highly recommended.

Margaret
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 26/06/2019
And awarded it

Eilean Mor Cottage

The cottage was absolutely lovely, very comfortable and well equipped. The view from the conservatory is wonderful and we never tired of sitting in there watching the loch and the changing light.

Dawn Thurlby
Reviewed Askival on 25/06/2019
And awarded it

Askival

We had a really good time at Askival cottage. It is warm & comfortable and adequately stocked with necessities. Would like to stay again.

Evelyn
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 25/06/2019
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

Just the most perfect location, the best views we've ever enjoyed! We tried to go out more but spent many days just looking at the view. It's a good base for touring, the north side of the loch is busy. The cottage was super comfortable, spotless and restful. The access road was magical (and steep!) The only quibble is low level of saucepans and baking dishes, enough for two but a stretch for six. We would return.

EN & CP
Reviewed Sgarbh Lodge on 23/06/2019
And awarded it

Sgarbh Lodge

The cottage itself was beautiful and spotless, had a wonderful view, and was fun with the sheep and other local animals all around to watch. It was nice and quiet, the kitchen was huge, the bedrooms were spacious, and multiple en suites was very convenient. Not having instructions for the clothes washer was a bit tricky since we never used that model of machine before, but with some google searching information was found. Having another, non-glass, cutting board would have been nice, and a way to sharpen the kitchen knives which were rather dull. These were our only complaints the entire week, however. All in all the experience was fantastic, relaxing, and very fun! We've already been recommending this cottage to friends and family.

Ute Udo & Paul
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 22/06/2019
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

We had a very warm welcome at this peaceful and quiet cottage. Bill and Marjory were so kind that we felt at home immediately. Because of the breathtaking view together with lots of books and maps we didn't miss Wifi or TV at all. We could just start walking around and enjoy the surrounding. If you want to go for a longer trip by car it's a perfect place to start and return into the quietness after an exciting visit around. We really fell in love with that place and will definitely return because our stay was much too short! Thank you so much again Bill and Marjory!!!!

Ulrike
Reviewed Cala on 21/06/2019
And awarded it

Cala

We had the most wonderful time at Cala. Getting there already is an experience of its own, on the winding narrow road from Kylesku. The location and view are simply amazing, you can look out of the window the whole day and just watch the changing scenery. The interior is tastefully put together with all you need. Cooking is a pleasure, the bed really comfortable, bathrooms are equipped with showers to spend a day under.... I wouldn't recommend it for 4 people though, as there is little space to store clothing etc. Being only 2 we used the second bedroom for this. We fell in love with the Assynt and definitely want to come again!

Malcolm Ure
Reviewed The Old Meeting House on 20/06/2019
And awarded it

The Old Meeting House

Hi this was a lovely, well presented cottage, the owners could not be more helpful, the position let us watch wild red stags on the beach plus otters, I would highly recommend this cottage.

Eva Ts
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 20/06/2019
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

Very well equipped cottage in a cute quiet town at Loch Kishorn, only a 10-minute drive away from the bigger town Lochcarron (ATM, Spar, gas station, restaurants). We had a very pleasant (and way too short!) stay and would recommend Woodside Lodge to anyone. Important to know: bring plenty of DEET or something to protect against midgies and mosquitos. Especially the midgies were a real plague during our stay. Also good to know, the last part of the road to the cottage is pretty steep and off-road.

Shelly Fargo & Brett Dodgson
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 19/06/2019
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

This cottage was just perfect! No other homes, except the owner's within miles-the mountain at the back and across the front are stunning, great walks at the doorstep. Very well-equipped cottage with great walk-in shower, infloor heat at bath-loved that! Lovely garden as well. Just what we wanted. Thank you!

Gill Cummings
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 19/06/2019
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

A truly fantastic setting, privacy, seclusion, quiet, and often sole use of the beach. The track to the cottage and the television are honestly described on the website! I did contact Wilderness Cottages about several trades/handy person jobs that need completing at the property, and the need for additional kitchen equipment, and after speaking to the owners, they have confirmed these will be looked at speedily. Hopefully future visitors will benefit from these repairs and replacements, and when rectified this property would fully deserve a 5 star rating (but for now it gets 4 stars).

Kevin Brown
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 19/06/2019
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

Fantastic cottage and location. Excellent facilities. We have been staying in holiday cottages throughout scotland for almost 10 years now. This cottage is without doubt the best we have stayed in. Many thanks to the owners Alistair and Carol for a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. We will definitely return. Kevin and Michelle Brown

Lynda & Peter
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 19/06/2019
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Lovely cottage with beautiful views of the sea. A perfect location for getting away from it all. The cottage has everything you need. Chas and Jane the perfect hosts. Unobtrusive but there if you need them. We visited the Mull of Galloway, Logan botanical garden, the Galloway forest park and Portpatrick. All wonderful.

Axel & Heinke
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 18/06/2019
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

A very gorgeous place! It looked much more beautiful than on the pictures. We fell in love with the house and the bay. It is so comfortable and we didn't want to leave. We will not forget this week in Stoer.

Ceecee Short
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 18/06/2019
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

This is an outstanding property with exceptional views. The house is so comfortable, spotlessly clean, really well furnished and equipped with everything you need. It was like a home from home but with better views! We had a fantastic holiday on this stunning island. Thank you so much to the friendly hosts.

Sarah From Fife
Reviewed Ardrannach on 18/06/2019
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Comfortable, cosy, wonderful views. Ideally situated for walking into Portree, or exploring the rest of the island. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable time at Ardrannach.

Julie McDiarmid
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 17/06/2019
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

Excellent accommodation, everything has been thought of and works well: no problems at all. Lovely open fire - logs/coal/kindling supplied. Location is amazing with fantastic sea views, views to the Uists and Harris and a small harbour with seals nearby. Both Golden Eagles and White Tailed Eagles seen on our visit from the cottage - as well as red deer.

NigelB
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 17/06/2019
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

A fantastically located cottage, very warm and cosy with stunning views of loch and mountains. Everything has been provided to have a wonderful holiday but you will need to take some saucepans with you as the three provided are too small (one very large) to cook for more than 2 people. We hope to return very soon.

Kath & Andy
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 17/06/2019
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Fantastic cottage so clean and comfortable and the shower is amazing. Kitchen is well equipped and the living room is comfortable with plenty of DVDs to watch. Excellent base for hillwalking and after a hard day in the hills the shower is even more welcome. Also a great base for non Hill walkers with Glencoe on your doorstep and Oban a short drive away. Lovely to watch the red squirrels and the birds in the garden and we were lucky enough to see a pine marten as well. Would highly recommend staying here and will certainly be back ourselves. Jacqui & Jeff are on hand if you need anything.