Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 50 of 3350

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3350 reviews from guests, of which 104% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


Goldsbrough
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 15/06/2019
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Lovely house with the most amazing views of Loch Ness. Set in a very private and peaceful setting, the house is very well equipped with everything you could possibly need. Beds were extremely comfortable. Lots to do in the area, can walk from the house into the woods behind or down to the lake and Drumnadrochit. Foyers and Plodders falls with their woodland walks were amazing. We spent an afternoon at Culloden Battlefield which is definitely worth visiting. We had coffee on the terrace most mornings (listening to a cuckoo) and lit the wood burner on an evening and watched the deer in the field in front (including a tiny young fawn). Just loved it and already planning to go back. The house felt like a home not a holiday let. Really special .

Patricia
Reviewed An Airidh on 13/06/2019
And awarded it

An Airidh

Excellent accommodation making our holiday on Skye a joy...

Rose, George, Harry & Rosie
Reviewed Askival on 13/06/2019
And awarded it

Askival

First time staying in this property but not the first time in portuairk and we had just the best time. Thank god for the log burner as we had rather a soggy week but that didn't stop us enjoying ourselves. We had other family staying in the area also so it was a perfect place for us all to get together. Really well equipped and spacious rooms so it didn't feel cramped with 11 people over for dinner! - We even had enough plates!! The views from the front are beautiful looking across towards the islands, and we even saw deer on the beach late one night, which we later found out is because they come to eat seaweed. Cannot wait to come back next year!

Shelly Fargo & Brett Dodgson
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 12/06/2019
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

This mountain-side cottage is truly one-of-a-kind, with no neighbors except the owners' lovely house just up a drive. The mountain views are exceptional, a mountain stream runs alongside the cottage-which is wonderful-well-supplied, modernized, very comfortable, great bathroom and walk-in shower-dual heads:)) Could not take enough photos and video while staying there for 1 week-just a stunning setting, cottage, grounds-rain or shine, it's worth every penny!

Patrick Griffin & Sue Rose
Reviewed Earth House on 12/06/2019
And awarded it

Earth House

A very special house in a very special place.

Dave & Judy
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 11/06/2019
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

A warm and welcoming cottage in a wonderful location well off the beaten track. We had a lovely holiday, a real retreat! Highly recommended for peace and quiet. Wildlife and birdwatching from the cottage windows was amazing. Our thanks to Chas and Jane for their hospitality!

Diane
Reviewed Number 16 on 11/06/2019
And awarded it

Number 16

No 16 skinidin is in a truly stunning location.As the light and the weather changes so do the stunning views. The bedrooms are big and spacious. The kitchen has all equipment needed into order to self cater. The lounge also offers exceptional views and light. Compared to other holiday homes we have stayed in we found the lounge furniture functional rather than homely and the second living space had only two small chairs in and a coat rack. It would have been nice for this space to be more comfortable...perhaps housing some games, card, books etc and a pair of binoculars to watch the seals on the rocks in the distance.

Bill Easter What Abeautiful
Reviewed Lilybank on 11/06/2019
And awarded it

Lilybank

What a beautiful setting for such a lovely house. The house was very well presented with everything you could ask for, even Wellington boots if needed. Nearby facilities are in easy walking distance and will satisfy most needs. Only problem was Nessie didn't say hello!

Julian & Caroline Furnell
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 10/06/2019
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Still a great isolated spot to get away from it all whatever the weather. Go prepared with a few days worth of food and you really don't need to do anything other than walk out of the front door. Moll Road is now getting quite bad with potholes so take care driving down to the gate.

Ann & Murphy
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 10/06/2019
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Another fabulous holiday at Plodda Lodge. The peace and quiet is wonderful and it has the comfiest bed which is needed after a day of walking in such a beautiful location. BIG Thank you to Jenny for taking myself and Murphy (dog) on our second Munro and this time I didn't moan or complain! Counting the days till my next holiday here.

Carol Morris
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 08/06/2019
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

This was our third stay at White-Tail Croft and I'm sure we'll visit again. The croft is conveniently placed for visiting all areas on Skye but its situation in a quiet valley means peace is guaranteed. The Croft has everything you could possibly need and the views are wonderful. Perfect!

Michael Barnard
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 06/06/2019
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

I highly recommend Taffs Barn. It's extremely clean and tidy with everything you need for a comfortable stay. It also enjoys lovely countryside views particularly from the upstairs lounge and veranda.

A Carter
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 06/06/2019
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Lovely cottage with great views. Visited each day by the pine marten and woodpecker. Everything you need for a relaxing holiday.

Chris K
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 06/06/2019
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Lovely, homely cottage but also very modern. Stunning views with easy access to Inverness to get supplies. Loads to do in the area. Peaceful. Highly recommend. Looking to go again to Carn Loch next year.

Fultons
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 06/06/2019
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

Stunning cottage, wonderful location. Perfect.

Lauren
Reviewed Grain Store on 06/06/2019
And awarded it

Grain Store

We had a wonderful stay at the Grain Store. It was modern, big and airy with amazing, sweeping views. It was lovely and warm and very well equipped, which was so useful to us since we had our baby with us. The owners were very friendly and even gave us a baby bath to use. Such a peaceful place from which to explore the Cairngorms national park.

Peter Noke
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 06/06/2019
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

This was the first time we used Wilderness Cottages and we were very impressed with the property in which we stayed. Duncan was most welcoming and helpful and the cottage could not have been in a better location for views across the Loch. It is also very well appointed and cosy with the log burner. The kitchen has an excellent range of cooking utensils and more than enough crockery to support large parties. The master bedroom was beautifully furnished and spacious. Great walks from the door without a need to use the car and the abundance of wildlife was so refreshing to see. A great place from which to explore wonderful Glens such as Glen Affric and/or to chill and recharge one's batteries.

Michelle
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 06/06/2019
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

A great stay at the old smiddy. A lovely location and really nice accomodation. I will definitely be visiting again.

Andrew & Louise
Reviewed Earth House on 06/06/2019
And awarded it

Earth House

Our stay at Earth House was just fabulous...this is one of the best houses that we have stayed in, the view from the lounge of the sea and mountains was a view that just constantly took our breath away. The house was warm, welcoming and had absolutely everything that we needed. We will definitely be back.... Andrew & Louise

Philippa
Reviewed Ardrannach on 03/06/2019
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Ardrannach is a very comfortable well equipped cottage which is ideally located for touring Skye. The view from the sitting room window is amazing.

Steve & Sue
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 02/06/2019
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

The cottage is comfortable with everything we needed for a weeks holiday. The location is superb with a cafe, hotel/pub just down the road, an excellent bistro plus one of the best Spar shops around that also has a garage selling fuel. But the best bit - the awesome views from the front door ( and kitchen and lounge!) of the Loch. A lovely village with many walks on your doorstep. The people were so friendly and we would love to return.

Steve & Sue
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 02/06/2019
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

A cottage with a Wow factor. The location is outstanding and the cottage is very very comfortable and homely. Views from the garden of the Cuillens are magical and one that you never get bored of. Take a boat trip from the jetty to the hidden Loch Coruisk for a great walk. The 40 minute drive from Broadford to the cottage on single track road, the views, the lambs, sheep and cattle wandering across in front of you have been etched in my memory. A lovely friendly community and we feel privileged to have stayed in this lovely cottage that has absolutely everything you need.

Nick & Laura Rothery
Reviewed South Lodge on 02/06/2019
And awarded it

South Lodge

Fantastic cottage in an idyllic setting. Perfect for a stress-free, relaxing stay. Would definitely stay here again. Wildlife exceptional. Badgers in the garden (!)

Alan Jones
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 01/06/2019
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

This is our second visit to white tail Croft and it just gets better and better the owner has thought of everything you need I can't recommend it highly enough it is beautifully furnished and the views are amazing.

Travelbuddies
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 31/05/2019
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

We had a very enjoyable 2 week holiday at Matheson's Croft House which is quite well equipped with what is needed. It sits in a very quiet area right by Loch Alsh. We occasionally saw deer in the woods nearby and a sea eagle on one occasion.

Rayner
Reviewed An Airidh on 30/05/2019
And awarded it

An Airidh

Top class cottage with views one way to the Cuillins and the other way to MacLeod's Tables. The cottage is modern, well equipped and very comfortable. Really enjoyed our stay here. Generous welcome pack with very local eggs, shortbread, oatcakes and wine.

Dawn Bishop
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 29/05/2019
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

We loved our two-week stay at Kincardine cottage. The wildlife in the garden was fabulous - we were visited each evening by a badger, saw a pine marten, a hare hopped by the conservatory and deer were regular visitors, as well as all the wonderful birds. The cottage is remote enough that you feel away from it all, but access via car or bicycle to local villages is all very easy. You can mountain bike from the cottage to Loch Morlich and Glenmore without going on a road. The cottage was cosy and the conservatory was a lovely place to spend most of our time, particularly the evenings when much of the wildlife would emerge.

Adrian Roberts
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 29/05/2019
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Taigh Druim is in a wonderful place and has wonderful views out to the Cuillins and to The Small Isles. The house is very comfortable and well equipped.

Stephen Walker
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 29/05/2019
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

A beautifully converted barn in a stunning location. Plenty of piece and quiet with a great view of the five sisters of kintail right on the loch side. We were lucky enough to spot an otter on the Loch too. Would definitely recommend the barn.

Richard
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 29/05/2019
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Great location for both hill walking and for the wildlife that we could see from the comfort of our armchairs.

Mrs V Barber
Reviewed Charleston on 24/05/2019
And awarded it

Charleston

We've just had our second stay at Charleston, and it did not disappoint. A lovely home from home in the highlands. Everything you could possibly need is provided for your stay. A perfect location for spotting wildlife and birds, we saw black grouse on our first night, shy Roe deer near the garden, many nesting birds including wheatears, wagtails, cuckoos...at least three, plenty of red kites and a golden eagle to our delight. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. Cannot recommend this property highly enough.

Graham & Marie
Reviewed Gracie's Cottage on 24/05/2019
And awarded it

Gracie's Cottage

Why did we wait so long to discover Gracie's Cottage? It was an absolutely perfect escape to the country for us and the accomodation is wonderful, there was nothing else we needed, just so comfortable. Our hosts who visited us made us so welcome and we cannot thank them enough for all they provided and did for us. The views, and surrounding area are magnificent, so relaxing. A most enjoyable week. Thank you.

Mary Armstrong
Reviewed The Granary on 23/05/2019
And awarded it

The Granary

Very comfortable accommodation-the Granary had been sympathetically and tastefully restored. Owners were very helpful and very kindly invited us to share their barbecue on our last evening. Weather was fantastic and we found plenty to do in the area.

Martin Ogden
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 23/05/2019
And awarded it

Shellach Cottage

Fantastic location. Lovely cottage. Shellach Cottage is an ideal base for exploring this corner of the Scottish Highlands with the Isle of Skye less than an hour away by car. It was clean and airy and the perfect place to unwind and relax for our first holiday of the year. I would highly recommend it. Our two Cocker Spaniels thought they were in seventh heaven running and playing along the lochside which is just across the road from the cottage. Our 'only' criticism, and it is a very small one, was that the property was cold when we arrived. No heating had been set for when we took over the cottage at 4:00 pm. And although there were logs and coal for the fires no matches or lighter was available to light them. Despite the warm weather during the day, this part of the country cools down very quickly in the evenings in April.

Mike & Sue Smith
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 22/05/2019
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Lovely little spot, very welcoming. The photos & description understate the charm. Quiet & private. Barely notice the NC500. Has its own secluded sandy beach at low tide & another nearby at Sand. Scenery is stunning, we saw & heard lots of wildlife (lots of cuckoo antics). A little off-grid but that adds to the magic. Only grouse is that the Aga which provides oodles of hot water & heating is overpowering in warm weather, we didn't sleep well because the bedroom was 26deg. (Can't leave windows open at night as the wee beasties had started!).

Alan Sutherland
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 21/05/2019
And awarded it

Seabank Cottage

Seabank was a very welcoming cottage which we used as our home for our visit to Wester Ross. We found it very cosy with every facility we required, amazing setting on the loch, with kitchen view hard to beat. Very handy for local services including Spar and Waterside Cafe across the road. Highly recommend this property

Bunty Yendole
Reviewed The Bothy on 21/05/2019
And awarded it

The Bothy

Just a perfect holiday home, everything perfect from weather to our 'home' maybe our best holiday in Scotland. Looking to book another with Wilderness Cottages.

Jan & David
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 21/05/2019
And awarded it

Pipers Lodge

Highly recommend Pipers Lodge for a quiet stay overlooking beautiful Loch Dunvegan. Cosy, clean and well equipped. Many thanks Chris and Cath, for making us feel so welcome.

Mrs Pascale Jones
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 21/05/2019
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

One of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed (2018, 2019 and we will return in 2020). It was everything we expected and more. This place calls for reflection and relaxation and the location (in the South and more mountainous part of Skye) simply breathtaking !

Alison Storey
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 21/05/2019
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

This is the most amazing house in a fantastic location. We had a wonderful week here so peaceful and tranquil. The house has everything you could wish for well equipped and well furnished to a high standard The house is not the easiest to find and roads are narrow but well worth it once you get there. We hope to return next year.

Chris Smith
Reviewed Ardbeg on 21/05/2019
And awarded it

Ardbeg

On arriving at Ardbeg, I was very pleasantly surprised, as this is the best self-catering accommodation I have ever stayed in, The welcome package of bread, eggs and chocolate useful, and a nice touch, The quality of the bedding and furnishings was first class; cleanliness was top notch, and it was apparent that attention to detail was paramount. All the appliances in the kitchen were spotless, and in working order. The two living rooms would be a bonus to families, save a lot of arguing over programmes versus games! Lots of things to see and do, all within acceptable time frames for travel. Last but not least, the view, unparalled.

Gordon Ross
Reviewed Ardbeg on 21/05/2019
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Excellent accommodation and a wonderful setting. The house is finished to an extremely high standard with incredible views from the deck. I would highly recommend this as a holiday destination.

Mark & Fiona
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 21/05/2019
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Fantastic compact cottage with stunning sea and mountain views. Visited by the resident pine Martin on 3 occasions. We were there for one week and the place is stunning. The owner greeted us on arrival and was very pleasant. We would love to go back at some point in the future. No complaints.

Frosts
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 21/05/2019
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

What a peaceful relaxing place to stay! Plodda Falls Lodge was an ideal start to our holiday - a choice of walks from the door with our dog (and a large safe enclosed garden as well); a very comfortable bed (we both had the best week's sleep for a long time); dark dark skies; wildlife galore; wood burner for the colder evenings. We arrived late but were still met by the lovely owner who had baked us a very nice cake as a welcome gift and who gave us a quick run down of what we might need to know. This old house is full of charm and character - don't expect sophistication on this holiday just fresh air, walks through ancient forests on your door, absolute peace, constant birds on the feeders, wildlife watching, and a real chance to unwind and destress. We will be back!

Vee & Bear
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 20/05/2019
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Wonderful crofters cottage in a beautiful setting a stones throw from its own secluded beach. Fantastic sunsets, views out on the horizon of the islands, Torridon Mountains to the front with diverse wildlife all around. The cottage was cosy, spacious and the perfect base to explore from.

J Mitch
Reviewed The Orchids on 20/05/2019
And awarded it

The Orchids

Spent a week on the Isle of skye and have fallen in love with the place. Breathtaking scenery and landscape, friendly people and lots of interesting places to visit. The Orchids had everything we needed, perched in a spot where there is an abundance of wildlife to watch and picturesque views over the Loch. The house is spotless and offers home from home comforts with plenty reading materials/games /puzzles. That's if you get time to drag yourself from the views! Throughout the week we travelled around the island but looked forward to getting back to the Orchids to enjoy and make the most of the lovely weather we had, and to take full advantage of this perfect holiday home.

Margaret Stewart
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 20/05/2019
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

Spent a lovely week in Torvaig Cottage, weather was beautiful, cottage was well equipped and very comfortable. Lovely walks just minutes from the door. The cottage is bright and spacious, the garden us enclosed and has a bench to allow visitors to relax and enjoy nature. We stayed at Ardrannach last year and enjoyed our visit there too. The owners were welcoming and friendly. Only a short walk or drive to Portree, would definitely return.

Thomas Luessi
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 20/05/2019
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

We spent a beautiful two weeks at Hill Cottage at Fanagmore, Sco. As we know the owner from another stay in the Heart of Scotland, we got what we expected! A perfect place, remote to busier parts of the world. Just silent as we were looking for. Together with our dog we enjoyed every Minute of our Holidays!

Ronnie McBride
Reviewed Ardrannach on 20/05/2019
And awarded it

Ardrannach

This cottage is in an excellent location on Skye, just outside Portree, with magnificent views from the lounge window. The woodland walk into the capital was about 20 mins, mostly downhill, so allow a bit longer going back. The cottage had everything we needed and was very spacious, so ideal for a young family or 2 couples. Andrew welcomed us on arrival and said to contact him at any time if we had a problem. He did not seem too concerned when our little Yorkie, Jodie, escaped from the garden while we were talking and unloading, and decided to chase one of the chickens all the way back to the farmyard. Our roast chicken dinner on the Sunday was delicious. (only kidding!) Our only criticism would be that the mattresses were too soft and springy and probably need replaced. This however did not spoil our time here. The location was ideal for visiting all parts of the island, and will definitely recommend to family and friends.

Vanessa Mayall
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 20/05/2019
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Just had a weeks stay at The Coltsfoot, could not have been more pleased with our choice. Superb location to access the surrounding area. Would highly recommend.