Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 51 to 100 of 2734


Rosie Bennett
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 12/07/2017
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

We stayed at Stoer Lodge last week and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location is wonderful, there is a gate from the garden straight down to beach so perfect for kids. The lodge is lovely, characterful, clean and tastefully decorated. Very comfortable beds and nice bedding. There is only one bathroom/loo so with a full house this was a downside. The area around Stoer is lovely, beautiful beaches and scenery. Will definitely return and would love to stay in Stoer Lodge again. Highly recommend.

Amanda Wallace, Methlick
Reviewed Sealight on 12/07/2017
And awarded it

Sealight

Had the most fantastic time week at Sealight, house and location was more perfect than we thought it could be, was truly a home from home, beds super comfy! We thoroughly enjoyed the nightly visits from the pine martin and filming the otters just minutes from the house, we had such a great time we have already booked again for next summer!

Claire Roberts
Reviewed Upper Folds on 12/07/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Fabulous cottage. Very peaceful.

Nicola Ventress
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 12/07/2017
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

This is no doubt one of the most beautiful cottages we have stayed in - peace, tranquillity and fabulous views - uncluttered, clean with a home away from home ambience (comfy beds, throws and a welcome pack of milk, biscuits and treats for the dog provided - most thoughtful. The garden is perfect for dogs, as it is fully enclosed, which is perfect for our pooch as she likes to explore! Also, there is a large Utility Room, perfect for dogs, wet boots and coats - there are also two dog crates, which made our dog feel right at home straightaway. There are walks from the cottage (although remember to take a land ranger map if staying here as there wasn't one in the cottage), plenty of forestry walks and around the loch at the bottom of the hill on the road going towards Farr - there is a great walk to the wind farm where you can stand under the turbines, great fun - this could be a long circular walk, or just up and down the forest track. If you like secluded, this cottage is for you, even though there are a few properties within 500m you cannot see them and the Supermarkets are 20mins drive away in Inverness. Ideal location for a completely relaxing holiday and again the views are spectacular whatever the time of day.

Hester
Reviewed Wee Dram on 11/07/2017
And awarded it

Wee Dram

Absolutely lovely cottage! Very beautifully made by the owner. Everything you need is there. The stove provides hot water, heating and cosyness. The location is great, especially if you like whisky as it's in the middle of Speyside. At walking distance from Aberlour using the footbridge. Lots of things to do and see in the area.

Sandra & Harold
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 11/07/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Our stay at Seascape was perfect more than we expected, warm comfortable and well equipped. Brilliant sea views and marvelous sunsets have a walk to the top of the hill and watch the sun go down over the horizon a walk back down to the cottage and maybe a glass off wine to finish your day. We were fortunate in in having two roe deer visit us outside the door seals in the bay most nights. Chas was there to greet us very informative but never intrusive if you want to know anything just ask Plenty of gardens which are well worth a visit also Port Patrick. Kirkcolm post office for bits and pieces or a short drive to Stranraer for anything else. Don,t often return to the same place but will be returning to Seascape Many thanks for the use of your lovely cottage

McAlees-Cook Family
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 09/07/2017
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

We stayed in mid-June and were only the fourth couple to stay at the house. Fantastic dog friendly accommodation on Harris with views over to Scalpay and Skye. House had everything we needed , very well equipped and Ruth and John were on hand to help with any queries. Around 30 minutes drive to the West Harris beached and close to Tarbert with walks nearby. Can't recommend this house highly enough.

Jane Walter
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 09/07/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Our second stay at Plodda Falls Lodge. We had a wonderful week .The house is beautiful, very comfortable and in such a special setting. We walked to the falls in "daylight " at 22.00hrs through the woods - it was an amazing experience. Great to see Jenny, the owner, again and her home made cake and garden flowers were a lovely welcome when we arrived. Hope to visit again.

Peter Hagen
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 08/07/2017
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

Wonderful Place to stay unique just a few yards to the beach. Stay very well organised just a little bit of paint would be necessary here and there. We are looking forward to coming back again.

Richard & Carol Ivett With Brodie & Georgie
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 07/07/2017
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

Red Kite is ideally situated for exploring the Black Isle and surrounding area. The cabin was clean and comfortable with lovely views of the surrounding countryside from the garden. The garden itself is ideal for dogs with Brodie and Georgie having the time of their lives in a capacious, closed and safe environment. The owners are very welcoming and had no problem helping us when we wanted to arrive slightly earlier. The nice welcome pack was appreciated. The kitchen is very well equipped; the shower is good; and the beds are comfortable. It is a testament to this property that it has many return bookings, so if you are thinking of going to it booking early is recommended. Perhaps the only downside is the proximity of the property to the A9 and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who is very sensitive to road noise. However, to be fair you only really notice this when sitting out in the garden. I would recommend this lovely cabin to anyone.

Jim, Dianne & Jessica Solonyna
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 07/07/2017
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

The Mill at Glenlivet seems like a distant memory now but it will be a Holiday cottage that will remain in our thoughts forever. Bill & Marjorie were such a lovely couple and excellent hosts and the cottage was just what we were looking for in such a beautiful setting. The cottage was all prepared for us and the gift hamper was an excellent little surprise left by Marjorie. The hosts left us to our own thing but they were always on call if we needed them. Marjorie had thought of everything in the cottage down to the smallest detail so we did not have to go out looking for anything as you usually do in a holiday cottage. The cottage made the holiday and was so welcoming to come back to every evening and the deer, buzzards and other wildlife was an added little extra. Well done to Marjorie and Bill and thanks again for making our holiday a memorable one.

Nancy Little
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 06/07/2017
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

This was our second visit to Taffs Barn & it was as good as the first time, from the welcome pack of scones with butter jam & cream, milk tea bags coffee & sugar just enough for a couple of days its greatly appreciated if you've had a long drive. The barn is in immaculate condition in a lovely country location lovely scenery & the local village a five minute drive perfect for recharging the batteries. Pat puts in an appearance to ensure you have all you need & is just at the end of the phone but you shouldn't need. Again loved our stay weather not too bad & we will be back

David Sheffield
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 06/07/2017
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

We booked the cottage through Wilderness Cottages after being let down twice through VRBO. The transaction was easy and smooth and professional. The cottage was "as advertised" and on our arrival I realized it was exactly what I had booked. The stunning location meant that we spent most of our time in and around the cottage. Our 2 girls played on the rocks and explored caves and rock pools etc and were perfectly content-as were my wife and I. Everything in the cottage worked and was very comfortable. We had heard about the nightmare of midges but only encountered them one day at the fairy pools away from the cottage. We encountered all types of weather and whatever was thrown at us we didn't mind. The only thing that folks from the U.S would miss is a dryer. We had laundry from a previous leg of our trip and were lucky that we had a dry day with wind to get the clothes dry. The cottage is set in a beautiful location. We utilized the village shop on many occasions to keep the money local. We took Misty Isles boat trip to Loch Coruisk which was delightful and friendly. Our family had a delightful stay at the cottage with no issues. We plan to return.

Caroline Stroud
Reviewed South Lodge on 06/07/2017
And awarded it

South Lodge

A beautiful, well equipped cottage, in a stunning location. My partner and I, and our dogs, had a blissful week. We hope to return.

Pattie Family
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 04/07/2017
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

We very much enjoyed our stay at Carn Loch Cottage. The house is lovely and spacious and was spotlessly clean. The views are amazing. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle, then this is an excellent choice, yet it is only about 20 minutes from Inverness. We look forward to returning.

Ian & Julie From Kent
Reviewed Moll House on 03/07/2017
And awarded it

Moll House

Comfortable & spacious house, ideal loch side position. Thoughtful fittings; large freezer, bath as well as a shower, very comfortable new bed, lots of storage space, utility room ideal for drying walking gear. Perfect base to tour Skye. Would book again.

Tom & Liz Robertson With Hamish & Bramble Mini S
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 02/07/2017
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Not being able to fly due to kidney problems we came upon this website and found Cedar Cottage, we had never took the dogs away before and I was worried about their safety but I should not of worried the garden was fully enclosed and we could just relax and enjoy the wonderful wildlife that visited daily, red squirrel, Jay, woodpecker to name a few. The cottage itself is comfy and well equipped right down to chocolates,wine,biscuits and milk awaiting our arrival. We were lucky enough to watch Osprey fishing at Spey Bay and also at Loch Garton. All in all it was the best holiday we have had and we can't wait to return to our cottage in the woods

Alison Roots
Reviewed Cattle Shed on 01/07/2017
And awarded it

Cattle Shed

This is a real escape holiday. The views and the quiet are amazing. The cottage was spotless and the welcome pack really generous. We didn't even have to worry about finding food shops as Tesco will deliver there, although we did use the post office in Tomintoul for milk and bread. A perfect holiday - thank you

Bob,Janet,Paul Midge,Rob,Elaiine.
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 29/06/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Peaceful, quiet, spacious, clean. Just what the doctor ordered ! Jenny was an informative & helpful host. Excellent little cafe in Tomich with homemade cake.

Helen & Martin
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 29/06/2017
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Rating of "Very Good" as there are many positives with this location and property, but a few improvements are needed for "Excellent". Having said that, we would definitely visit again, but we would shop knowing that there is only a small fridge with a very small freezer section. Not a "pro" or a "con", just handy to know when planning shopping! Pros: Excellent, secluded location, with no neighbours except the sheep; Beautiful views from the garden room and excellent for watching the birds and other wildlife, the garden room is a great addition to this property and we spent the majority of our time in here and did not even use the lounge; The kitchen is a nice size and is very well stocked for a holiday rental and everything works properly; Beautiful walks within the area without having to get into the car. Cons: The bathroom needs updating. There is no shower, only a stand alone bath, with taps that are too wide to fit a shower attachment. They do provide a double hose shower attachment, but it will only fit onto the hand basin taps - although this does reach over to the bath; The cleaning leaves a lot to be desired, particularly in the bathroom; The cottage could do with some TLC and requires decorating; The curtains in the bedroom are a bit too flimsy and let in too much light, particularly an issue in summer as it's daylight for so much longer; The beds are a bit on the hard side;

Nadine Marshalsea
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 29/06/2017
And awarded it

Seabank Cottage

Lovely cottage, everything provided, warm and comfortable. The view from the kitchen window over the loch, especially when the tide was right up, was fantastic, watched a lot of different types of weather coming across over the mountains.

Anne Holroyd
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 28/06/2017
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Swallow Byre. Jane gave us a warm welcome and left delicious scones for us to enjoy after our long journey. The cottage is extremely comfortable and homely. It has everything one could wish for. Jane ordered some prawns for us from a local fisherman and provided a large pan in which to cook them. They were very tasty. The absence of wifi was not a problem as emails could be picked up at local cafes and pubs. It is well worth the long drive to explore this wonderful area, there are plenty of local walks, so you don't have to drive once you are settled. My husband and I hope to return to renew our acquaintance with Jane and further explore Sutherland.

Alex Ramsay
Reviewed Glenara on 24/06/2017
And awarded it

Glenara

Spent a week here, great Cottage and Garden, perfect for our Dog Rambo. As some previous reviews mentioned the Shower was a bit tight but easily manageable once you got used to it (I'm 6 foot and had no problem). The Cottage was an ideal base for travelling to the many places of attraction, Glenfinnann, Morar, Arisaig were just a few of the places we visited plus of course the Castle on the Loch. The town was quite busy even tho' the weather was horrendous, but we were well prepared for that knowing what Summers like in Scotland, and it certainly did not stop us having a great time. Will certainly return and have already recommended a Wilderness Holiday to our Friends.

Iris R
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 24/06/2017
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

The house is very nicely decorated and the kitchen fully equipped with everything you need, actually the whole house is filled with handy things like: handsoap, cleaning stuff, kitchen paper, bin bags, toiletpaper etc. The surroundings are very nice and quiet: saw a lot of Dear and pheasants on the morning walk with the dogs. The garden is superb for exercising your dog, only the fences are quite low and the chicken of the neigbours kept escaping; So, I had to check If the chicken was in his cage before I let the dogs in the garden. Cawdor castle is less than 10mins by car, but always busy...make sure you are there a bit earlie in the morning. Cawdor Tavern is a Nice place to eat (rest/pub). If you like a rough beach walk, Rosemarkie beach is nice ..and Nice views also. When we arrived there was a welcoming basket and card, with a nice wish for our holiday, a bottle of wine and some chocolates and cookies. This was very much appreciated by us. The key collection through the little safe is also very handy. We will defenitely stay here again If we return to this area of Scotland!!!

JULIE AND STEVE
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 23/06/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

What a beautiful, comfy cottage everything we needed including bed /bowls and towels for Stella and Scampy. Sofa's were so comfy to crash out on after long walks!, Jane and Chas have thought of everything, they were excellent hosts nothing was too much trouble and very informative, close by but not intrusive. Fantastic views, plenty of wild life, great walks, and the beach only minutes walk away. If you want isolation peace and tranquillty this is the place for you. Shopping only 9 miles away so not too far.

Heinz Georg Koch
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 22/06/2017
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

We stayed two weeks and would have loved to stay on, but unfortunately we had to leave. The lodge had everything you could hope for and more. We were greeted by a lovely bottle of red wine and a full bag of wood for the fireplace. The mornings were whiled away by counting the seals on the rocks and watching the little lambs frolick. The photo views from the front porch don't do it justice as it is far more stunning than any photo can show you. Don't bother with driving to Portree to do your shopping, because Nancy the wee general store owner at Glendale has everything you will ever need. Make sure to try the bakery in Dunvegan. To of the best restaurants on Skye are only located within a 20 minute drive from the lodge. Will we want to come back...you bet we will :-)

Christopher Keil
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 22/06/2017
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We had a lovely weeks stay at Stablemans Cottage, we found it an excellent location to explore the local area - lots of local amenities. We very much enjoyed spotting red squirrels and deer in the nearby Anagach Woods.

Julie Harrison
Reviewed Sealight on 21/06/2017
And awarded it

Sealight

I struggle to find the words to describe Sealight, it is a beautiful house in a stunning location with everything you could possibly need. It wraps itself around you as soon as you step inside. The weather was not kind to us but the Pine Martin visited every night for his nuts and Bread and Jam and we had a wonderful week enjoying the peace and quiet and the enjoyed the local hide and walks, along with visits to Oban and Inverness and other places.

Phil & Sylvia
Reviewed Upper Folds on 21/06/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

There is not much which has not been said already about this fantastic remote cottage. This was our third stay in eighteen months. Faultless in every way, impeccably clean, lovely welcome gifts. Scenery outstanding. It really is the perfect rural retreat. We like it so much we don't want to look elsewhere anymore. Has to be seen to be believed. Another mention to Brian and the team at Wilderness Cottages - excellent personal, friendly service - faultless every time. They have been a fantastic booking agent. We have been delighted with all aspects of our dealings. Upper Folds - 100% perfect.

May McLeod
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 21/06/2017
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful cottage. Very well equipped and views to Raasay as sun sets. We have spent the whole week exploring Skye and can't wait to come back! Gorgeous spot and Moll Cottage itself is just perfect.

C DUTKOWSKI
Reviewed Ardrannach on 19/06/2017
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Lovely cottage, very peaceful with great views, 5 minute drive into Portree, so very convenient for getting around the island and into town, but once in the cottage, felt beautifully isolated. Glad to have truly secure garden for the dog. Cottage comfortable and had all we needed, although could have done with a few more mugs and teaspoons.

Hilda Findlay
Reviewed Aros Beag on 19/06/2017
And awarded it

Aros Beag

Aros Beag is a lovely little cottage, an old building very tastefully renovated. It may be a bit near the A82, but it still retains a feeling of peacefulness, tucked away by the river and surrounded by trees. Jim was very welcoming and helpful. His wife runs the cafe next door in the old church, offering delicious food if you don't want to cook yourself. All in all, we were very happy with our stay.

Melanie Fowles
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 16/06/2017
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Fabulous cottage, really remote so very quiet and peaceful. Very comfortably furnished and dog friendly. Enjoyed all the wildlife - fed the birds including a family of woodpeckers, had a visiting hare as well as a small deer! Fabulous walks, great local pubs! Will definitely return soon!

Michael Corish
Reviewed Callakille on 16/06/2017
And awarded it

Callakille

When God was creating the world he took his time when he came to creating the Applecross Peninsula and Callakille Cottage. This place is just heaven. A week watching glorious sunsets in quiet, isolated splendour - the perfect antidote to a fast moving, high tech world. The Cottage is kitted out perfectly. A cosy log fire, comfy chairs, a cosy kitchen, a fantastic bath, and beds you want to stay in. Of course, you don't, as just outside are walks, bike rides and views that must be seen and explored. The only downside is...finding the time to go back (which I will, somehow).

Gary Dorling
Reviewed An Airidh on 15/06/2017
And awarded it

An Airidh

A wonderful Oasis of Calm and a true home from home.

Joanne Clemmit
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 15/06/2017
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

A lovely cottage. Well equipped, modern and great for dogs given the stone floors. fantastic views from front garden.

Jessica
Reviewed Charleston on 15/06/2017
And awarded it

Charleston

Absolutely stunning house and views, felt like paradise all week, the decor was lovely, all the little extras, books, cd"s, little boxes of bath items and everything you would have in your own home and more, I'm going back as soon as I can best holiday we have had in years, waking up to stunning views, wildlife and seeing birds of prey daily, a photographers heaven.

Denise
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 15/06/2017
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

Very comfortable and well equipped cottage. Fantastic view, friendly owner. Nice garden where we could let the dogs out. Only small problem was that one corner of the fence right at the back of the property was down and one of our dogs is a bit of a Houdini, but we just made sure we stayed out with him.

Wilfried + Gisela
Reviewed Holly Cottage on 14/06/2017
And awarded it

Holly Cottage

A really nice quiet house, well and practically furnished. The garden completes the positive impression. Very sympathetic owners (neighbours). Highly recommended.

Harald Koehler
Reviewed Sunnyhill Croft on 14/06/2017
And awarded it
Jon & Esme Wright
Reviewed South Lodge on 14/06/2017
And awarded it

South Lodge

We had an absolutely brilliant week, the South Lodge Cottage was really wonderful except for steps to get in, so big, only got short legs. It had everything you needed and more, the bathroom was lovely my husband wants the mirror lol. Would def come again and have already recommended to friends

Aimie & The Boys
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 14/06/2017
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

STUNNING! 2nd visit to Carn loch Cottage and it certainly wont be the last. A beautiful modern cottage with all the facillities you could want for and more. The surroundings are breathtaking and peaceful with a large enclosed garden (great for the dogs) to run about in and do their thing. Did not see a soul for the whole week which was bliss (apart from the odd 1 or 2 cheeky sheep) Can't wait to return in 2018

Sheila & Jim
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 13/06/2017
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

The moment we arrived we loved everything about Moll Cottage, fantastic scenery, great weather, and a cottage that is well restored and fully equipped for all of your needs. A highlight was watching an otter dive, catch and eat a fish just outside the cottage. We were very sad to leave but will return next year.

Rushton
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey on 12/06/2017
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey

Lovely cottage in a excellent setting close to village and shore of loch ness. Cottage modern and spacious. Some minor maintenance issues were quickly sorted. Would recommend.

Peter From Wirral
Reviewed Balmachree on 10/06/2017
And awarded it

Balmachree

Cannot praise the house and location enough the 3 dogs and both of us had an amazing time and were all sad to leave.

Mr & Mrs MONS
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 09/06/2017
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

We are totally satisfied with our Holiday at Tor Fionn, cottage very comfortable , nothing is missing. Well located with local shops. Splendid surroundings under the scottish sun. We recommend this place and agency Wilderness Cottages for the organization of our holidays, thank you.

Frank
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 09/06/2017
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Leachachan Barn was an absolute delight to stay in! We were so pleased with the layout, which was perfect for a family of four! It was charming and immaculate, and everything was in good order. The location is ideal for exploring the western Highlands and the Isle of Skye, out to Loch Ness. And everywhere we dined was sumptuous! A great holiday in a wonderfully cozy abode and a great rate! Perfection!

William Reid & Agnes Reid
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 08/06/2017
And awarded it

Shellach Cottage

The cottage was clean neat and tidy and everything was as it should be for a quiet peaceful holiday

Charlie
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 08/06/2017
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

We had an amazing week in Moll Cottage... it is in the most beautiful position, is well equipped and bigger than the photos make it look. A great spot for exploring Skye and a wonderful haven to come back to. Just beware the midges if you are taking a baby!

Jane & Steve
Reviewed Erchless Cottage on 08/06/2017
And awarded it

Erchless Cottage

Lovely spacious cottage in good location. Plenty of cycling and walking routes within a very short distance. The area abounds in wildlife.