Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 51 to 100 of 2775


Neil McFarlane
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 11/10/2017
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

A lovely lodge with stunning views, keep an eye out for the Goshawk that perches in the garden. My family and I had a relaxing and enjoyable week will book again.

Daren Und Carmen
Reviewed Glenara on 09/10/2017
And awarded it

Glenara

Lovely cottage. Very quiet. The houseowner was very friendly. Fantastic view. Very clean. We enjoyed our stay. Thank you!

Johanna
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 09/10/2017
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

We had an absolutely fantastic stay at Tigh-na-Craobh! The house is beautiful, well appointed, very comfortable, and so handy for everything on the island. Considering the quality of the accommodation, this represents truly excellent value for money. We couldn't recommend it highly enough; we'll definitely be back!

Parker Family
Reviewed Don Cottage on 08/10/2017
And awarded it

Don Cottage

We enjoyed a week's holiday at Don Cottage in August. Don Cottage is not far from Drumnadrochit - a five-minute drive (too far to walk), and also convenient for Glen Afric. We also toured from here down to Fort William, up to Inverness, the Black Isle and to Ullapool. The cottage is located at the foot of hills, looking down to the main road and across to more hills. It is a traditional Scottish cottage - two main rooms downstairs and two upstairs, with small windows. There was a pretty hill garden to the front of the cottage, and good parking. To the rear, very steep hill. Getting there was simpler than it looked on the instructions or SatNav - one has to wiggle through some narrow lanes, but it is not too hilly. The village is small and takes about 5 minutes to walk through. The cottage kitchen was modern and well appointed - and there was a nice selection of welcome food and milk (many thanks) including some wine and whisky. The sitting room was comfy - the three of us fitted on one sofa - the far end of the room is a bit dark. Good selection of children's and grown up videos to watch, and some local books and maps; also CDs. Brightly decorated and pleasant bathroom downstairs. Also, a cupboard to hang coats. Upstairs, the bedrooms were spacious, the beds comfy and there was plenty of cupboard space. The whole house was well decorated, with tasteful local pictures.

Stephen Massey
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 07/10/2017
And awarded it

Shellach Cottage

Shellac is a very well equipped and well presented cottage - it was very clean when we arrived. There is plenty of information in the cottage about the Highlands and a number of maps which was very helpful. A very comfortable holiday cottage and Lochcarron is a great base from which to explore this beautiful and breathtaking area.

PAULINE Currie
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 06/10/2017
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

We had a great relaxing week at the cottage with our Dally Missy. The cottage was spotlessly clean and very well equipped if a bit dated. The garden and surroundings were fantastic and it wasn't far from Plodda Falls. The walks in the surrounding areas were excellent. Didn't see too much wildlife but the birds were amazing. There is no phone signal which is great and internet was very intermittant so if you have a very busy social network requirement this isn't the place for you.

Gary From Bolton
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 06/10/2017
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Beautiful little cottage on the shore of lochalsh. Great wildlife saw a couple of red deer within five minutes of arriving.Great views of the loch mountians and Eileen Donan castle, very comfortable and cosy all the comforts of home and a great base for days out to Skye, Plockton, Kyle and gairloch. Would recommend and would love to visit again.Thanks for a great week

Gary From Bolton
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 06/10/2017
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

Beautifull little cottage great location very clean and comfortable. Arrived to find a gift of a bottle of wine and some fresh free range eggs. The cottage is in a dark skies area in Glendale and the sky at night was stunning, would recommend and would love to visit again. Thanks for a great week :)

Martin Hodgson
Reviewed Christies on 06/10/2017
And awarded it

Christies

We had a superb week at Christie's this September. It is a beautiful place to get away from it all and relax. The kitchen is very easy to live with and includes a decent dishwasher and tumble dryer. The garden actually runs down to the sea. It is great for dogs. The village has a couple of shops and a filling station. We will probably book to return next year we liked it so much.

Marieke De Vries
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 05/10/2017
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

We had a lovely stay in this delightful former train house, it is well equipped and beautifully situated. If you like peace and tranquility, this is the perfect place. The occasional train passing by was no problem at all, it always happens on a set time and during the day. For nature lovers this is an ideally located cottage, with many sheep, deer, song birds and birds of prey, most of these literally on the doorstep.

Jim & Linda Armstrong
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 05/10/2017
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Had a very nice week in this lovely spacious comfortable lodge, the weather was not so good but the log burner keep things cosy. We found plenty of things to nearby even with the rain.

Taylor
Reviewed River Cottage on 05/10/2017
And awarded it

River Cottage

Lovely cottage in lovely peaceful setting. This was our 4th visit to River Cottage which speaks for itself! Friendly, obliging owners. Great place for dogs. Central for many beautiful places.

Gary Sharp
Reviewed Fhaireag on 05/10/2017
And awarded it

Fhaireag

F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S

Jeannette Vernon & Lola
Reviewed River Cottage on 05/10/2017
And awarded it

River Cottage

A truly wonderful cottage in a lovely location, central for touring the Highlands. Long Garden and river for the dog to stretch her legs in, comfy bed, comfy sofa, Big TV and large Shower, one of the very best Dog Friendly Cottages we have stayed in. Very helpful owners Catherine and John only too happy to help and advise, spot on ! Highly Recommended.

Colin MacDonald
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 05/10/2017
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

I had wanted to stay at Taigh Druim for 2 or 3 years, having seen the excellent reviews on the Wilderness Cottages website, it looked fantastic. So when we arrived in September 2017 I was slightly concerned that it may not live up to my expectations. Well it certainly did and more so, because nothing can prepare you for the sheer magnificence of the scenery, no photograph can ever quite capture the grandeur of actually being there - just stunning. On top of that, the house itself is superb and very well equipped. 5 star recommended without hesitation.

David Main
Reviewed Loch Cottage on 05/10/2017
And awarded it

Loch Cottage

I loved my stay in the Loch Cottage, its in such a beautiful spot and is so quiet. The dog loved it too. Although your near Aviemore you get that wilderness feeling and the loch almost belongs to you. I was so sad to leave here. The cottage was comfortable and clean and had all I needed. Def be back.

Angela Ward
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 05/10/2017
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

Beautiful cottage which was well proportioned with a large master bedroom. Matress was very firm so if you like a soft sleep it's not for you. The two living areas had a wood burner in one and an open fire in the other. Well equipped kitchen with all you would need for cooking if that's not you thing you are a short drive to Portree or a 30min walk but bring a torch for walking home very dark. The cottage had chickens that liked to visit and the occasional cow if bringing dog beware chickens can come in the garden but mostly they didn't and our two spaniels got to play in the extensive back garden

Mrs M Allen
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 04/10/2017
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We had a brilliant time at The Old Keepers Cottage

Larry B
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 04/10/2017
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

Had a lovely week. Even the weather was (mostly) good. Ideal location & perfect for the dog. We would certainly go back again.

Alice G
Reviewed Balachladdich on 03/10/2017
And awarded it

Balachladdich

We had a lovely stay at Balachladdich from 18-25 September 2017. With 2 children aged 6 & 7 as well as a baby, it was a suitable house for us. We were grateful for a highchair & portable cot being provided. The bedrooms are all lovely & it is such a treat having modern bathrooms in the Highlands! The house is cosy & quiet. The location is very convenient to drive anywhere around the Highlands - we were able to do day trips to Skye, Loch Ness, Plockton & Balintore to name a few. We would love to stay there again in future. If I had to fault anything, it took 3 months to get a reply on whether cot linen could be arranged for us. It would be great if cot linen could be provided in future.

Richard Newlove
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 03/10/2017
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

A fabulous house in fabulous surroundings! We were blessed by the weather but never the less a simply superb place to stay. My only criticism is that the matress in the master bedroom is probably in need of a change, apart from that all fab!

Elaine Elkin
Reviewed Sixgeary on 03/10/2017
And awarded it

Sixgeary

We have just returned home after spending a week at Sixgeary. We found the property to be spotless, immaculate and very well equipped. It has been modernised without losing its charm and the location is spectacular. It is 4 miles from The Stein Inn and Loch Bay Restaurant and is also convenient for accessing all of North Skye. We had very good weather and the night skies were stunning. We plan to return!

Ann & Murphy
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 01/10/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Plodda Falls Lodge is beautiful and an immense amount of time and effort has been done to restore it to the feel of a Scottish highland lodge. It is well maintained and extremely cosy, well equipped and a lovely comfortable double bed which after a day's walking is definitely required. The surrounding area is stunning and there are amazing walks right on the door step to Plodda Falls and the track to Glenmoriston had great views back down to Tomich and across to Glen Affric estate. The walks at Glen Affric estate are well worth it and particularly the Loch Affric circuit. Once you walked to the top end of the Loch you felt in another world surrounded by glorious mountains. My Labrador had a ball and the park today just didn't seem adequate!! Jenny was there to meet me and had made a scrumptious lemon drizzle cake and I probably wouldn't have explored as much without her suggestions and knowledge of the area. I will definitely be booking to go back as so much more to explore.

Jon Clarkson
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 01/10/2017
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

A lovely cottage with great views across the valley and a good location for exploring. The cottage is well equipped and maintained. Red squirrels come to the window demanding food, so take lots of and bird food and peanuts!

Wendy & Stewart Bithell
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 29/09/2017
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Our 10th year at Poulary (13th Visit) and 2nd visit this year! We love this gem of a cottage, everything you could wish for a lovely relaxing holiday. The views from the dining room are spectacular, you can watch the ever changing landscape as the mist and sun rise and fall on the mountains. The wildlife that can be seen in the garden and the Glen is awesome, the majestic stags, buzzards, eagles, we spotted deer in the garden every day this visit. The pine marten visited most nights and sometimes at dawn.We never tire of watching the birds on the bird table. Poulary is located centrally in the Highlands and so great for exploring and sightseeing. A truly secluded cottage with breathtaking scenery, we're not even bothered by midges now i've discovered Smidge! Back in a few weeks to see Poulary and the Glen in its Autumn Glory,Stags rutting and home from home comforts in such a cosy cottage, cant wait!

Nicholas
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 29/09/2017
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Absolutely fabulous location and the owner was most welcoming and caring. Swallow Byre offers a a very cosy location for exploring Western Sutherland , Good O2 Signal there and all the Free View channels.

Kerrie Chinn
Reviewed South Lodge on 28/09/2017
And awarded it

South Lodge

South Lodge is a wonderful, thoughtful location which exceeded our expectations. Such a beautiful, comfortable and quiet little place, surrounded by enough to do for a month or just to look at the view outside and enjoy local walks, with no one around. The cottage provided everything we needed and more. There was so much local info provided that we wanted to book another week! We cannot wait to return, didn't want to leave. Our pups loved it too and though small, the cottage accommodated them easily and that's not easy with wet weather !

Sandra
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 28/09/2017
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

The cottage was fantastic and lived up to expectations.

Debby & Marc
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 28/09/2017
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

What an absolutely peaceful and beautiful cottage. Our 2nd visit and many more to come. If you want to explore the highlands and have a welcoming well equipped base then owl cottage would be prefect for you.

Matt & Tim
Reviewed Christies on 28/09/2017
And awarded it

Christies

Christies is an excellent cottage with everything you could wish for. Very comfortable and well equipped. The view is spectacular whatever the weather. As a base for exploring parts of the NC500 it is hard to beat.

G MACMILLAN
Reviewed Sunnyhill Croft on 28/09/2017
And awarded it

Sunnyhill Croft

A great place to relax and get away from it all. The view from the main window in the sitting room is awesome. House is warm, spacious and has all you need. The garden is well fenced and secure. The area has many location to explore and the local shops have a good supply. Excellant all round holiday location

Jacqueline & Christian
Reviewed Sixgeary on 26/09/2017
And awarded it

Sixgeary

We had a wonderful week in Sixgeary . The cottage is a fabulous renovation with spectacular sea views from most windows . Such a cosy and comfortable place to come back to after a days walking to the many beautiful locations nearby . We loved the attention to detail , egyptian cotton sheets , log fire , nice art work .... Great food about 6km from the cottage at the Stein pub and Lochbay restaurant . The perfect cottage in the perfect place ! We highly recommend Sixgeary and hope to be back soon !

Kids & Dogs!
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 26/09/2017
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

If you're lucky enough to find this cottage free - BOOK IT! What a perfect place! We feel so lucky to have found Fon Tobar, it was just right for our slightly chaotic bundle of 6 adults, 2 toddlers and 2 dogs! The views were phenomenal, the house was brilliantly appointed and lovely and clean. We had a fantastic week of walking, exploring, whale - dolphin - seal - otter - spotting and then brilliant meals in the evening rounded off with some wine by the fire. I'm not quite sure why we left. We really hope to be back again soon. Thanks so much.

Adrian & Sue
Reviewed Achbeag on 25/09/2017
And awarded it

Achbeag

Achbeag is a well presented and really well equipped cottage in a good location for exploring the Applecross Peninsula. We would have no hesitaion in recommending Achbeag to our friends and family.

Alex M
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 25/09/2017
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

Port Elgol is a fantastic cottage in a beautiful location. If you like your holidays chilled, laid back and relaxing this is the place for you. One of the best locations I have ever stayed

Philip
Reviewed Loch Cottage on 25/09/2017
And awarded it

Loch Cottage

Great place to stay, very peaceful and we loved having an open fire! Bliss to see the moon reflected in the little loch at night.

Michael Catley
Reviewed Upper Folds on 25/09/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

A beautiful Cottage in a stunning Location; everything was just perfect; we would love to return. Michael and Helena

Mappin Family
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Lovely place, lovely cottage and lovely people who own it. Thank you Jenny & Paul for allowing us to stay in this beautiful location.

Stephen & Angelika
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Enjoyed a fortnight at Seal Skerry Lodge and felt very much at home in this beautifully appointed house. The panoramic views are stunning, whatever the weather, and the wood stove provides creature comfort on a chilly day. The ideal place to get away from it all.

Mark & Susanne DeKay
Reviewed Jura on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Jura

Our stay at Jura Cottage left a lasting impression on us both. Even though many days had rain, because of the location and comfort of the cottage, we were able to rest, relax and curl up with good books on rainy days. We did have some amazingly beautiful experiences there - and some sunny times, too! We really appreciated Katie, the neighbor/manager, who gave us a lovely tour of her garden and gave us ideas about places to visit. We stalked the trails and went down to the shore, photographed the rushing streams, ate fresh fish and steak from the mobile butcher and fish monger. We ate well, slept soundly and late (most mornings were rainy - unusually so, I heard) and enjoyed the many, many birds that came all around the sunroom overlooking the water and mountains beyond. It was heaven. What an extraordinary environment.

Elaine & Kenny Brown
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

This cottage is wonderful. Very welcoming with a super hamper and the log fire set ready to light. The views from every window were amazing. This was a very relaxing holiday and we will definitely be back.

Gwen & Ray
Reviewed Askival on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Askival

Our 3rd stay at Askival. The weather wasn't brilliant, but the marvellous changing views of the islands were still wonderful. We saw otters, eagles, peregrines, deer and much more (all from the cottage) so hoping to definitely return. The location of the cottage is still the best we've found so far. A lighter duvet (upstairs bedroom) would be welcome, but that's just a personal choice.

Peter Larter
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Stayed at pine lodge August 2017 for one fab week. It is everything you need for a relaxing break with gorgeous views and fantastic resident wildlife. We were thoroughly entertained by the local birds including a resident pheasant which we named Donald! The pine Martin popped down every night without fail and we obtained some great photos. The lodge is the perfect base for many activities including access to stunning scenery wherever you go even we found some new places to explore despite being regular visitors to the area.

Andrew
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

A cosy cottage full of character in a superb location for touring Skye.

R J Loveridge
Reviewed Drumfad Barn on 23/09/2017
And awarded it

Drumfad Barn

We enjoyed our stay, comfortable but needed log fire to be cosy in the evening. Cooking difficult with only one shelf. It is not totally flat as there is two steps from the lounge to the rest of the house

Mary Kelly
Reviewed Foiseil Cottage on 23/09/2017
And awarded it

Foiseil Cottage

Stylish, spacious and comfortable cottage. Well located for local shops and restaurants. Only used the kettle in the kitchen but it looked well equipped. Very good value for money. We stayed here while walking the Speyside Way so appreciated the bath and hot water at the end of each day's walk. Only 2 things lacking which would have made it perfect: 1. Somewhere to hang wet waterproofs by the door when we came in (it rained a lot)! 2. Somewhere to hang wet bath towels in the bathroom. The heated towel rail was only big enough for the hand towels and it was high up on the wall behind the loo. We improvised by using the clothes airer provided.

LIZ CAINES
Reviewed Sixgeary on 23/09/2017
And awarded it

Sixgeary

Fantastic cottage, very well equiped, everything you could possibly need for a enjoyable stay. Only one criticism, a bit lacking in colour, which would have made it more homely, but this is a minor criticism.

Helen Maxwell
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 23/09/2017
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

We had a wonderful week at the cottage the place is amazing and was a great central point to venture out to explore the beautiful place that is Skye. it is a real home from home and we can't wait to come back .

Robert Portlock
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 23/09/2017
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Highly recommended cottage, very comfortable bed's and brilliant en-suites, good selection of restaurants in the area of Fort Augustus, we where there in September and the weather was not kind to us, but at least there where no midges, even so had a good week, recommend to take some of the smaller b roads, you can slow down a bit and take in some of the fantastic views. Also if you want to use the steam train at Fort William you will need to book week's before your holiday.

Jack & Christine Jennings
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

A great friendly welcome from Pat. The scones, jam and cream were delicious. A vase of roses in the kitchen was a lovely gesture and made the welcome complete. The property had everything we wished for and the 180-degree views from the balcony were stunning and the bull and cows were friendly too. Many interesting trips around the Black Isle and over to the west coast. The bird life, the dolphins, seals and deer made for some exciting moments. The ferry from Cromarty over to Nigg was an experience we enjoyed and a visit to Nigg Old Church is a must visit. All very quiet and peaceful we hope to return again soon. Many thanks to all for helping us to enjoy our holiday in Scotland.