Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 21 to 40 of 2775


Alison Roots
Reviewed Cattle Shed on 01/07/2017
And awarded it

Cattle Shed

This is a real escape holiday. The views and the quiet are amazing. The cottage was spotless and the welcome pack really generous. We didn't even have to worry about finding food shops as Tesco will deliver there, although we did use the post office in Tomintoul for milk and bread. A perfect holiday - thank you

Bob,Janet,Paul Midge,Rob,Elaiine.
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 29/06/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Peaceful, quiet, spacious, clean. Just what the doctor ordered ! Jenny was an informative & helpful host. Excellent little cafe in Tomich with homemade cake.

Helen & Martin
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 29/06/2017
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Rating of "Very Good" as there are many positives with this location and property, but a few improvements are needed for "Excellent". Having said that, we would definitely visit again, but we would shop knowing that there is only a small fridge with a very small freezer section. Not a "pro" or a "con", just handy to know when planning shopping! Pros: Excellent, secluded location, with no neighbours except the sheep; Beautiful views from the garden room and excellent for watching the birds and other wildlife, the garden room is a great addition to this property and we spent the majority of our time in here and did not even use the lounge; The kitchen is a nice size and is very well stocked for a holiday rental and everything works properly; Beautiful walks within the area without having to get into the car. Cons: The bathroom needs updating. There is no shower, only a stand alone bath, with taps that are too wide to fit a shower attachment. They do provide a double hose shower attachment, but it will only fit onto the hand basin taps - although this does reach over to the bath; The cleaning leaves a lot to be desired, particularly in the bathroom; The cottage could do with some TLC and requires decorating; The curtains in the bedroom are a bit too flimsy and let in too much light, particularly an issue in summer as it's daylight for so much longer; The beds are a bit on the hard side;

Nadine Marshalsea
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 29/06/2017
And awarded it

Seabank Cottage

Lovely cottage, everything provided, warm and comfortable. The view from the kitchen window over the loch, especially when the tide was right up, was fantastic, watched a lot of different types of weather coming across over the mountains.

Anne Holroyd
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 28/06/2017
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Swallow Byre. Jane gave us a warm welcome and left delicious scones for us to enjoy after our long journey. The cottage is extremely comfortable and homely. It has everything one could wish for. Jane ordered some prawns for us from a local fisherman and provided a large pan in which to cook them. They were very tasty. The absence of wifi was not a problem as emails could be picked up at local cafes and pubs. It is well worth the long drive to explore this wonderful area, there are plenty of local walks, so you don't have to drive once you are settled. My husband and I hope to return to renew our acquaintance with Jane and further explore Sutherland.

Alex Ramsay
Reviewed Glenara on 24/06/2017
And awarded it

Glenara

Spent a week here, great Cottage and Garden, perfect for our Dog Rambo. As some previous reviews mentioned the Shower was a bit tight but easily manageable once you got used to it (I'm 6 foot and had no problem). The Cottage was an ideal base for travelling to the many places of attraction, Glenfinnann, Morar, Arisaig were just a few of the places we visited plus of course the Castle on the Loch. The town was quite busy even tho' the weather was horrendous, but we were well prepared for that knowing what Summers like in Scotland, and it certainly did not stop us having a great time. Will certainly return and have already recommended a Wilderness Holiday to our Friends.

Iris R
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 24/06/2017
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

The house is very nicely decorated and the kitchen fully equipped with everything you need, actually the whole house is filled with handy things like: handsoap, cleaning stuff, kitchen paper, bin bags, toiletpaper etc. The surroundings are very nice and quiet: saw a lot of Dear and pheasants on the morning walk with the dogs. The garden is superb for exercising your dog, only the fences are quite low and the chicken of the neigbours kept escaping; So, I had to check If the chicken was in his cage before I let the dogs in the garden. Cawdor castle is less than 10mins by car, but always busy...make sure you are there a bit earlie in the morning. Cawdor Tavern is a Nice place to eat (rest/pub). If you like a rough beach walk, Rosemarkie beach is nice ..and Nice views also. When we arrived there was a welcoming basket and card, with a nice wish for our holiday, a bottle of wine and some chocolates and cookies. This was very much appreciated by us. The key collection through the little safe is also very handy. We will defenitely stay here again If we return to this area of Scotland!!!

JULIE AND STEVE
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 23/06/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

What a beautiful, comfy cottage everything we needed including bed /bowls and towels for Stella and Scampy. Sofa's were so comfy to crash out on after long walks!, Jane and Chas have thought of everything, they were excellent hosts nothing was too much trouble and very informative, close by but not intrusive. Fantastic views, plenty of wild life, great walks, and the beach only minutes walk away. If you want isolation peace and tranquillty this is the place for you. Shopping only 9 miles away so not too far.

Heinz Georg Koch
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 22/06/2017
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

We stayed two weeks and would have loved to stay on, but unfortunately we had to leave. The lodge had everything you could hope for and more. We were greeted by a lovely bottle of red wine and a full bag of wood for the fireplace. The mornings were whiled away by counting the seals on the rocks and watching the little lambs frolick. The photo views from the front porch don't do it justice as it is far more stunning than any photo can show you. Don't bother with driving to Portree to do your shopping, because Nancy the wee general store owner at Glendale has everything you will ever need. Make sure to try the bakery in Dunvegan. To of the best restaurants on Skye are only located within a 20 minute drive from the lodge. Will we want to come back...you bet we will :-)

Christopher Keil
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 22/06/2017
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We had a lovely weeks stay at Stablemans Cottage, we found it an excellent location to explore the local area - lots of local amenities. We very much enjoyed spotting red squirrels and deer in the nearby Anagach Woods.

Julie Harrison
Reviewed Sealight on 21/06/2017
And awarded it

Sealight

I struggle to find the words to describe Sealight, it is a beautiful house in a stunning location with everything you could possibly need. It wraps itself around you as soon as you step inside. The weather was not kind to us but the Pine Martin visited every night for his nuts and Bread and Jam and we had a wonderful week enjoying the peace and quiet and the enjoyed the local hide and walks, along with visits to Oban and Inverness and other places.

Phil & Sylvia
Reviewed Upper Folds on 21/06/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

There is not much which has not been said already about this fantastic remote cottage. This was our third stay in eighteen months. Faultless in every way, impeccably clean, lovely welcome gifts. Scenery outstanding. It really is the perfect rural retreat. We like it so much we don't want to look elsewhere anymore. Has to be seen to be believed. Another mention to Brian and the team at Wilderness Cottages - excellent personal, friendly service - faultless every time. They have been a fantastic booking agent. We have been delighted with all aspects of our dealings. Upper Folds - 100% perfect.

May McLeod
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 21/06/2017
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful cottage. Very well equipped and views to Raasay as sun sets. We have spent the whole week exploring Skye and can't wait to come back! Gorgeous spot and Moll Cottage itself is just perfect.

C DUTKOWSKI
Reviewed Ardrannach on 19/06/2017
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Lovely cottage, very peaceful with great views, 5 minute drive into Portree, so very convenient for getting around the island and into town, but once in the cottage, felt beautifully isolated. Glad to have truly secure garden for the dog. Cottage comfortable and had all we needed, although could have done with a few more mugs and teaspoons.

Hilda Findlay
Reviewed Aros Beag on 19/06/2017
And awarded it

Aros Beag

Aros Beag is a lovely little cottage, an old building very tastefully renovated. It may be a bit near the A82, but it still retains a feeling of peacefulness, tucked away by the river and surrounded by trees. Jim was very welcoming and helpful. His wife runs the cafe next door in the old church, offering delicious food if you don't want to cook yourself. All in all, we were very happy with our stay.

Melanie Fowles
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 16/06/2017
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Fabulous cottage, really remote so very quiet and peaceful. Very comfortably furnished and dog friendly. Enjoyed all the wildlife - fed the birds including a family of woodpeckers, had a visiting hare as well as a small deer! Fabulous walks, great local pubs! Will definitely return soon!

Michael Corish
Reviewed Callakille on 16/06/2017
And awarded it

Callakille

When God was creating the world he took his time when he came to creating the Applecross Peninsula and Callakille Cottage. This place is just heaven. A week watching glorious sunsets in quiet, isolated splendour - the perfect antidote to a fast moving, high tech world. The Cottage is kitted out perfectly. A cosy log fire, comfy chairs, a cosy kitchen, a fantastic bath, and beds you want to stay in. Of course, you don't, as just outside are walks, bike rides and views that must be seen and explored. The only downside is...finding the time to go back (which I will, somehow).

Gary Dorling
Reviewed An Airidh on 15/06/2017
And awarded it

An Airidh

A wonderful Oasis of Calm and a true home from home.

Joanne Clemmit
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 15/06/2017
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

A lovely cottage. Well equipped, modern and great for dogs given the stone floors. fantastic views from front garden.

Jessica
Reviewed Charleston on 15/06/2017
And awarded it

Charleston

Absolutely stunning house and views, felt like paradise all week, the decor was lovely, all the little extras, books, cd"s, little boxes of bath items and everything you would have in your own home and more, I'm going back as soon as I can best holiday we have had in years, waking up to stunning views, wildlife and seeing birds of prey daily, a photographers heaven.