Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 51 to 100 of 3005


Steve Sargent
Reviewed The Granary on 12/06/2018
And awarded it

The Granary

Lovely cottage in a great location for exploring the highlands. Owners, Colin and Yvonne gave us a very warm welcome and were full of great local information enabling us to get the most out of our stay and very helpful. For an exciting stay in the highlands this is definitely the place to stay. I would recommend The Granary to all,we'll be seeing them again on our next trip to Scotland. Thanks for making it so memorable. Best wishes for the future.

Alan Robertson
Reviewed South Lodge on 06/06/2018
And awarded it

South Lodge

South Lodge cottage is the perfect getaway if you're looking to escape the hustle and bustle of modern life . The cottage itself is very well equipped and the view is spectacular . If you arrive with all your supplies for the week, you won't even have to have to move your car, why would you when you're surrounded by so many beautiful walks from your doorstep. The cottage is also much more spacious than it looks in the website photographs . The wood-burning fire was lovely for a cosy evening and we especially loved the bathroom . Finally, the cherry on the cake was NO mobile reception !!!

R & S
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 04/06/2018
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

An excellent property which had all.you needed for a relaxing stay. The view from the property is stunning and has lots of wildlife to enjoy

A Jones
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 04/06/2018
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

this is the best accommodation we have ever stayed in and we have had lot the views and facilities are first class we will definitely be booking again the only downfall is the pot holes in the road.

RHallam
Reviewed Timber House on 04/06/2018
And awarded it

Timber House

The cottage was excellent with spectacular views of Skye and very well equipped. It was lovely to sit at the picture window and watch the changing view including the lambs, birds and seals.

Jane T
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 04/06/2018
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Excellent cottage in lovely surroundings with easy access to some great hill walking. A bonus was the wildlife, including red squirrels, in the garden.

Andi G.
Reviewed Shepherd's Cottage on 04/06/2018
And awarded it

Shepherd's Cottage

First time at the cottages. Great rural location, excellent house, very well equiped. Not many of this type!

Rachel Hayes
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 04/06/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Plodda Falls Lodge is one of the most stunning houses I have ever stayed in; the place is simply magical. Set in the most stunning location (literally in the pine forest), the wildlife is wonderful and the sense of peace overwhelming. Jenny the owner has sympathetically restored this beautiful house, and it is a warm and inviting with an understated luxurious feel. It was also absolutely immaculate and the attention to detail was wonderful. Lovely Jenny greeted us on our arrival with a divine homemade cake, and there were fresh flowers from the garden in the house. The house is roomy and peaceful, and the kitchen has everything you could possibly need. I doubt i will ever sleep as well as i did at Plodda Falls Lodge, the beautiful bed in the master bedroom has THE most comfortable mattress! There are so many amazing walks right on your doorstep and wandering through the forest in the morning with the dog really was good living! I would highly recommend this property to anyone who appreciates nature and peace and quiet, and to anyone who needs to recharge their batteries. Well done to Jenny, the love and care that she puts into this property is so apparent and was so very much appreciated by us. It was a perfect spot for our honeymoon, and we will treasure the memories forever. We certainly hope to return one day. Rache, Drew & Dexy x

HelenN
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 03/06/2018
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Wonderful holiday in beautiful and relaxing surroundings. Hill Head Croft was a home from home with everything you could need or want to hand. Fantastic dog (and people) friendly garden. Great walks close by and further afield in this stunning area of Scotland. Did not want to leave!

Carol Morris
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 03/06/2018
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

A beautiful place to stay on Harris with stunning views across the bay. We had mixed weather but even when it was cold and wet outside the cottage was very cosy and a great place to relax. The log-burner had been lit for our arrival which was very welcome. peace and quiet but very well placed for visiting Harris and Lewis.

Myrajo
Reviewed Ardbeg on 02/06/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

This was an exceptional house. Everything that we required. Very clean and well maintained. The views were stunning from the decking. We shall certainly recommend to others.

Kath Hooper
Reviewed Pier Head on 02/06/2018
And awarded it

Pier Head

An extremely comfortable and clean cottage in an excellent position. The views to Sheildaig Island are fantastic and we were lucky enough to have some stunning sunsets whilst we were there.

TC Mimi
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 01/06/2018
And awarded it

Pipers Lodge

So much to say and so little time. First getting to Borreraig is rough..... Especially for those uninitiated to Scotland rural areas. I am sure it is no different than anywhere else in the Isle of Skye but the drive is brutal! If you have the chance to stop in Broadford or even before you get on the island for groceries and supplies - do so! The Co-Op in Portree was awful but better then Dunvegan. On the way home we saw the Co-Op in Broadford and it looked much nicer and better stocked. Once you get to Piper's Lodge you will think you are in heaven. Chris and Cath are your hosts and they are delightful. They are working hard to make this cabin a true respite away from the rest of the world and they are doing a great job. Right now they are still working on the landscaping but it had absolutely no impact on our stay. The cabin itself is constructed of high end materials and very comfortable. The water pressure is incredible, the shower has a temperature gauge on it so you don't have to guess if the temp is right or not (very cool). Towels are top end and very comfortable. The bed is a true king sized bed and very comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked with kitchen ware and a few essentials (olive oil, salt, pepper, etc). The hot tub outside is a wonderful respite after a day of hiking. Chris and Cath supplied robes and really nice towels for the hot tub. Sitting outside on the deck for meals was so pleasant. All you can hear are the birds and sheep. Very restful and peaceful. We will would enthusiastically encourage anyone to stay at Pipers Lodge and be smart - stay longer than the 3 days we did. We wish we had planned a full week.

Anne W
Reviewed Ardbeg on 01/06/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

What a fantastic place to stay, a real home from home. Everything you could need and so much more.

Stephanie
Reviewed The Granary on 01/06/2018
And awarded it

The Granary

We had an wonderful time at this absolutely beautiful cottage. It's perfectly equipped and very clean. The location is great to explore the Highlands. Thank you to our hosts Yvonne and Colin who made us feel very welcome!

Christopher & Julia
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 31/05/2018
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

We liked our stay at Oak Cottage. Nice cottage, with a great view on the surrounding wildlife right from the dining table. Thank you Chris and Alma for the nice gifts! Also we appreciated the good stock of maps and the folders with recommendations for hikes and walks in the area.

Christopher & Julia
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 31/05/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Seascape's just the right term for the amazing view you have from this cottage. Also, very nice build little house, clean with tasteful furniture and a pretty well and thoughtful equipped kitchen. If our path leads us back to Scotland some day, this cottage would be our number 1 choice, we had a great stay there!

Jane W
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 31/05/2018
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

Really lovely lodge. Had everything we could need. The owner is very friendly and on site to help with any queries. Great views over the Moray Firth from the lodge. For us the lodge was ideal - quiet location away from the crowds.

Niki & Will
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 31/05/2018
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

A stunning, spotless, contemporary, luxurious place to stay in what we feel is one of the most beautiful parts of the island. Wonderful informative and friendly hosts who just get everything so right. We've been twice and are booked to return next year. Its become our special place.

Anne Pollard
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 31/05/2018
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Carn loch cottage was just wonderful. It was spotlessly clean, furnished with high quality fixtures and fittings and very comfortable. Everything you could wish for. The views were beautiful and driving over the moors to the rear of the cottage you come to wonderful Strathdearn - a wildlife watchers paradise. It's not every day you see an aerial battle between a sea eagle and a golden eagle. Really hope to return. We didn't want to leave.

Celia Short
Reviewed Fhaireag on 29/05/2018
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Fhaireag is an excellent house for exploring this stunning part of Scotland. We loved the upside down aspect of the house as it enables you to really appreciate the views which are great from every window! It's well furnished and well equipped and is a comfortable base of the weather is inclement. Spotlessly clean too. We will undoubtedly return as we had a fantastic holiday.

Jeannette Fischer
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 29/05/2018
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

The Location and the Surroundings are great - Excellent views to the beach - close to street (a lot of Motorcyclist - new Route 500...) - that would everything be o.k. - but the Lodge/Cottage/ old Schoolhouse could be much cleaner - everything was quite muddy when we arrived and not clean at all. Very old everything incl. dirty sofa's, uncomfortable beds - we are sure, with a clean, refurnished house, we would have enjoyed our stay.

David Newby
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 29/05/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

This is a lovely well equipped cottage in a great location to have a relaxing holiday. The owners are very friendly. My only concern being the lane down to the cottage. It is very uneven and rough and could do with some attention.

Watso55
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 28/05/2018
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

Excellent, well appointed cottage. It has everything you need for a comfortable stay. The cottage has all mod cons, plenty of crockery and cutlery, fridge, freezer and good sized cooker. There are fabulous walks straight from the cottage or a short drive away. The library upstairs is fantastic and a definite bonus. The lack of TV and internet was NOT a disadvantage. It was a pleasure to stay at The Mill at Glenlivet.

Celia Randle
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 28/05/2018
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Excellent beautiful clean well kept cottage scenery stunning hope to return.

Robini
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 28/05/2018
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

We had a very enjoyable stay in Tigh-na -Craobh. The house was perfect: beautiful, comfortable, very near Portree. We were lucky enough to see red deer in the field opposite the house. We highly recommend this cottage, and hope to come back !

Lynda W
Reviewed Easter Drumine Cottage on 27/05/2018
And awarded it

Easter Drumine Cottage

The cottage was very clean and well maintained with everything in working order and I would not hesitate to recommend it to friends. We also hope to return ourselves in the future as it suited our needs perfectly. The cottage is at the end of a short forest track and has no passing traffic. As a result it is very quiet. There is a dog cage provided which might be useful if you were to bring a young dog and the owners even left our dog some treats. There is plenty of space and the extras in the way of wine, milk and shortbread were much appreciated after travelling up from Cumbria. The cottage is located very near the Dava Way and there are great walks nearby at Logie Steading. There are also fantastic beaches at Culbin Forest and Findhorn Bay.

David Blackburne
Reviewed Christies on 26/05/2018
And awarded it

Christies

Christies is well equipped with cooking equipment which is not always the case in self catering cottages. The books, maps, DVDs and other items made it very homely and a pleasure to stay in,

Paul & Janet Colton
Reviewed Sixgeary on 25/05/2018
And awarded it

Sixgeary

Beautiful cosy cottage, well equipment, lovely and clean, with stunning views. Highly recommended.

The Barbers
Reviewed Charleston on 25/05/2018
And awarded it

Charleston

We can highly recommend Charleston as a perfect home from home in the Highlands. Set in a delightful location, away from traffic noise, hustle and bustle. The silence is just wonderful. You could spend a whole day in the garden just watching the birds and wildlife, and the changing light on the mountains. To be able to look out of the windows and see Loch Mhor down the valley, with the clouds rising off the mountains was a privilege. The bungalow is extremely well appointed, with everything you will need for your stay. We spent two weeks here and were blessed with glorious sunny weather. Only a half hours drive down a lovely road, with spectacular views over Loch Ness, gets you to Inverness for shopping etc. Definitely love to return.

Thorsby
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 25/05/2018
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Excellent cottage, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Excellent base to explore the surrounding area. The owners were very helpful and available if you needed anything.

Sarah Strutton
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 25/05/2018
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

We had a wonderful time in Port Elgol cottage where we stayed when we visited Skye to get married. The location of the cottage is amazing, we saw otters from the garden and sat watching the sunset over the mountains every evening. It was perfectly equipped with everything we needed and we would highly recommend. We will be back!

Steven McGovern
Reviewed Fhaireag on 24/05/2018
And awarded it

Fhaireag

What a fantastic property! Set close to a loch the views are great yet only 30 minutes from Inverness. A herd of deer visited the garden and a pair of red kite hunted close to the house every day. More than we hoped for- book it!

Margaret Millar
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 24/05/2018
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

I have stayed in self catering accommodation throughout Scotland and also within the immediate Fort Augustus area. I found Coltsfoots to be very comfortable and equipped to a very high standard, any issues we had (tuning tv) was dealt with immediately. I would highly recommend this property, and hope to return in the near future.

Chris R
Reviewed Ardbeg on 24/05/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

The cottage certainly had the wow factor. It is set back from the road up a steep drive, we parked right beside the cottage (great for unloading). Inside the cottage was very tastefully decorated, quality fixtures and fittings all enhancing the fabulous balcony and views over Gairloch Bay. The owners have done a brilliant job in creating a fantastic space, we had a perfect holiday ( Spotted a Pine Martin on the drive one night ) five stars from us.

Gillian Thompson
Reviewed Sealight on 24/05/2018
And awarded it

Sealight

Our second stay at sealight, a beautiful house in a lovely setting overlooking loch sunart. Regular visits from pine martens. Otters on the loch. We will return.

Jane & Ian Fletcher
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 24/05/2018
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Shore Cottage does exactly what it says on the tin!! What a lovely spot for a complete break from real life.....no mobile signal, no WiFi just the sound of the waves & the birds. So long as you aren't afraid of driving off the beaten track it's fantastic; especially if you are accompanied by dogs. Our Westies loved it!

Tracey
Reviewed Don Cottage on 24/05/2018
And awarded it

Don Cottage

A fabulous cottage. Has everything you need. Also received a great welcome gift of whiskey and shortbread. Highly recommend this cottage. Definitely want to go back. :)

Dave Graffy
Reviewed Foiseil Cottage on 24/05/2018
And awarded it

Foiseil Cottage

Really nice place to stay, could have done with, somewhere to hang wet coats/shoes after walking. May be a coffee table for in front of the telly? But overall really pleased with the accommodation.

Glasgow
Reviewed Station Cottage on 24/05/2018
And awarded it

Station Cottage

We loved staying at Station Cottage. It was very comfortable and well equipped. The cottage is in an excellent location, ideal for the Speyside way and exploring Nethybridge. We would definitely hope to return in the future.

Brenda Duthie
Reviewed Station Cottage on 21/05/2018
And awarded it

Station Cottage

Spent a lovely week in Station Cottage 21st to 28th April. The cottage is in a great location -a short walk to the local watering hole and the shop, and there is a very well stocked upmarket butchers/deli almost next door. The decor is charming and has a cosy feel - helped by the wood burning stove which contributed to the ambience. The cottage is extremely well equipped and coped well with a couple of the days when we had 6 adults and two babies. The fenced garden was great for the dog but also a boon if you have young children . It is well placed for walks and cycling direct from the cottage. We had some neighbours in the nearby bothy but things settled by about 11pm .I would definitely stay agai

Owen Davies
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 20/05/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Superb in every respect. Great position, fantastic facilities and friendly owners. probably the best holiday cottage we have stayed in.

Angie & Maurice
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 18/05/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

The cottage is off the beaten track in a quiet location, within minutes from the sea. A lovely outlook at breakfast. Owners near but unobtrusive - there if you need them. They welcomed us warmly. Cottage very well equipped and cosy.

Fiona Dudley
Reviewed Ardbeg on 16/05/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

What a lovely house and the view is spectacular! The house is furnished and decorated to a really high standard and takes advantage of the view with huge windows. There is also a large balcony to sit or eat outside (unfortunately there were very strong winds while we were there so we only managed to site out on 2 occasions. There's also a lovely big back garden with access to the hills which was great for our dog. I can't imagine there would be anything you would need in the kitchen that wasn't supplied- don't think I've ever seen such a well supplied holiday home! The area is also lovely - Gairloch beach is beautiful and there are lovely walks in the Flowerdale estate. Really good fish and chips and Chinese takeaway as well as shops stocked with local produce. We also really liked the Tuesday market in nearby Poolewe. I'd definitely recommend Ardbeg and thanks to the owners for making it such a lovely place to stay.

Robini
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 06/05/2018
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

We had a very enjoyable stay in Tigh-na-Craobh.The house was perfect: beautiful, comfortable, very near Portree. We were lucky enough to see red deer in the field opposite the house. We highly recommend this cottage, and hope to come back!

Spencer & Katherine
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 04/05/2018
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

Absolutely perfect! Our stay at the Mill was absolutely perfect. Hosts Bill and Marjory are lovely and didn't miss one detail in creating a relaxing escape. The Mill is cozy and comfortable while still being very roomy. The setting is beautiful and a great jumping point for the many walking trails on the Glenlivet Estate. We used the Mill as home base and day-tripped for hikes or to local sites including distilleries, a dolphin preserve, Loch Ness and Urquhart Castle. Coming back to the cottage to start a fire, make diner and read some of the many books in the Mill was a delightful and relaxing way to end our days. Marjory is full of fantastic recommendations for local things-to-do and for restaurants. She has also stocked the cottage with tourism leaflets to help you make the most of your visit. We were in Scotland for two weeks and this was our favourite part of the holiday. We will stay here again!

Gill, Yuri, Ash, Geoff & Dave
Reviewed The Bothy on 03/05/2018
And awarded it

The Bothy

The Bothy was a great place to stay. Fantastic location, big enough for 4 adults and a dog and very well equipped. Loved the coal fire as it was a cold Easter and it was great to light after a day out on the hills.

John G
Reviewed Moll House on 25/04/2018
And awarded it

Moll House

This is a great holiday house with plenty of space allowing the whole family and dog to relax. Big well equipped kitchen area and separate utility very practical. Bedrooms spacious and comfortable. Beautiful location by shore to watch wildlife. Well placed to explore whole of Skye. Some 3/4G signal was possible in kitchen window area if needed urgently but nice to disconnect and actually talk to your teenagers! Only gripes are the horrendous road conditions to get to Moll House, had to repair car tracking on return home!

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Thank you for your review and feedback, unfortunately the road that passes the property is the responsibility of the Highland Council to look after and repair, and therefore Wilderness Cottages and the owner of the property have no control over this.
Cathy T
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 22/04/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

It's all in the name and all about the location. We spent a week at Seascape Cottage and loved every minute. As soon as we saw the location, just a couple of minutes walk from the shoreline we were happy. We were warmly welcomed by Jane & Chaz, who live directly behind the cottage, but were never intrusive. The cottage had quality fixtures and fittings, comfortable sofas and beds and is warm (there is a brilliant heating system), the wonderful view out to sea changes with the weather. A major factor for us was how dog friendly the cottage is and without too many rules; throws, extra dog beds and bowls are provided. We had some wonderful walks just exploring the seashore in either direction. We saw deer and a hare from the cottage window and watched gannets diving in the sea with the binoculars provided. All in all a wonderful place for a very quiet, get away from it all, relaxing holiday.

KatieB
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 20/04/2018
And awarded it

Pipers Lodge

Just spent a fantastic week at Pipers Lodge. With beautiful views of Loch Dunvegan from the hot tub and the large floor to ceiling windows, the lodge is beautifully finished and is in a great position to explore so many of the beautiful sights on Skye. Chris and Cath have thought of everything you need for a fabulous and relaxed holiday.