Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 51 to 100 of 3175


Mr & Mrs S
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 15/10/2018
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

Cluny Croft is far more than it appears from the description. The cottage is well appointed, and has everything you could possibly need. The kitchen is well stocked and very user friendly. We spent a wet week here, and appreciated the excellent heating, the draft free windows, as well as the several feet thick cottage walls which meant we slept through the raging storm outside. The real fire is delightful once darkness falls, and there is plenty of fuel provided. We will definitely be back in the spring, this cottage fulfilled every need we had, is well positioned for exploring but not too remote. The view from the front windows is delightfully ever changing.

EKSJAB
Reviewed The Orchids on 14/10/2018
And awarded it

The Orchids

Wonderful, large, cosy house. Very quiet environment. Superb views from the living room to the bay. Comfortable relax. Good description how to arrive there. Plenty of useful information (f.ex. maps) available.

Alan & Viv Shilton, Bess & Max (dogs)
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 13/10/2018
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

A clean and comfortable cottage in the most stunning setting. We loved the starry nights, the sound of the stags roaring, the hinds grazing in the field next door, the nightly pine marten visits, the drive to Kinloch Hourn. The weather wasn't great, but the utter beauty of your surroundings more than made up for it. We loved it so much we have already booked for next year!

Jo Bate
Reviewed Callakille on 11/10/2018
And awarded it

Callakille

Lovely cosy cottage with great views through every window, and so peaceful wonderful.

Janice Wilson
Reviewed The Beach House at Garrachan on 10/10/2018
And awarded it

The Beach House at Garrachan

We had stayed at The Beach House before and knew it was a fabulous cottage. Unfortunate we had problems with the heating and hot water from the start. I contacted Fiona the caretaker who was very efficient, first of all calling a heating engineer who fixed the problem only for it to fail again two days later. However a call to Fiona was all that was needed. Fiona arranged for us to move to an other cottage which was equally as good. Packing up and moving was an inconvenience but it resulted in us having a two venue stay which we enjoyed very much. I can't praise Fiona enough for her quick response to our problems, we will be returning next year.

Peter Williams
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 09/10/2018
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We stayed for three nights at Stablemans Lodge and would like to return. The area is wonderful and the Lodge is all you could ask for (unless you wanted a lodge in a remote truly wilderness part of the Cairngorms!). The kitchen is well equipped for most types of food preparation and cooking. The dining/living room area is spacious and comfortable with a cosy wood burning stove (easy to use and logs provided). A good sized shower-room with an effective electric shower. The sleeping area is unusual (although accurately described on the website) in being dormitory style so you would have to be satisfied that you are all happy with that. The beds are very comfortable and the sleeping area is spacious, airy and comfortable - hot water bottles provided. The owners live next door so are available if you have any queries. They are not at all intrusive - we saw them briefly shortly after we moved in and then just once in passing. A really lovely, peaceful place to stay.

Victoria
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 09/10/2018
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

We had such a fantastic time in this cottage just last week. It was so cosy and beautifully set up inside. It was very comfortable clean, warm and had a well equipped kitchen and all the mod-cons you need for a perfect relaxing stay (dishwasher too!). The bathroom felt very luxurious in particular. The location is really lovely - perfect rural views from the windows (though not completely off the beaten track). It is perfect to review the Trotternish peninsula from but we also did day trips most days to the rest of the island. Portree is not too far away to go to the shops or to eat at night. We'd recommend making the drive to the Cullins and the Elgol peninsula - Skye is just so beautiful! We would highly recommend the cottage and would love to come back.

Ian Reid
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 09/10/2018
And awarded it

Pipers Lodge

Had a great week at the pipers lodge in skye. The lodge is very comfortable with all we needed. Amazing hot tub with fantastic views. A brilliant shower and bath, super king size bed, very comfortable. Also has a tassimo coffee machine, dishwasher, washing machine, even great wifi signal for the smart tv so after a dip in hot tub great to have range of films etc on netflix etc. The owner's have have done a fantastic job here and are in the next door b&b should you need them, but really just leave you to enjoy the fantastic lodge in this brilliant island. Ideal place in quiet surroundings. Excellent!

Mrs T Freeman
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 09/10/2018
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

Katie's Cottage was very well equipped and extremely comfortable and my partner and I had exactly what we had hoped for from our stay there.

Carole
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 09/10/2018
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Fersit Log Cottage is a lovely warm and comfortable cottage situated in a small hamlet. We really enjoyed our 'get away from it all' holiday there. The weather was very wet at times so having a comfortable cottage in a beautiful location made our holiday. The cottage is reasonably well equipped and there were no issues. Roe deer visited the meadow in front of the cottage most mornings and we were thrilled to see a Golden Eagle soaring overhead when we were coming up the single track road one day. There are walks in the area to suit most people and we enjoyed a train trip from Fort William to Mallaig as well as trips to Glencoe, Glenfinnan and the Caledonian Canal.

Nicole Flinn
Reviewed The Orchids on 08/10/2018
And awarded it

The Orchids

The Orchids is absolutely beautiful! A great location with a stunning views, this cottage was so spacious and impeccably clean. It is bright, modern and has every amenity that you could need. We travel a lot and this place will always stand out to me. Check in was so easy with lots of information at the cottage. I would highly recommend this place to anyone!

Sue & Kevin Butler Smith
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 08/10/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

What a lovely cottage in a wonderful location. Owners met us after an incredibly long and roadwork besieged journey and welcomed us warmly. Lovely people and a great, well equipped cottage with gorgeous views. Will definitely be back and hopefully will be neighbours someday. Thanks for everything.

Julian & Caroline - Congleton, Cheshire
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 08/10/2018
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Second time here in 2 years and it does not disappoint whatever the weather may do. Isolated, so go prepared with a few days food and just enjoy your time at the cottage. Approach road best in a 4x4, but passable for all with care. Well organised and extremely well appointed, comfortable and cosy with a great sea view that is only feet away from the front door. Lots of wildlife to see including the odd grey seal passing by.

Louise Spencer
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 08/10/2018
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

Absolutely loved the cottage and the breathtaking situation. Had a truly lovely holiday. A little constructive criticism - instructions for the heating, cooker etc would have been useful and where to get more logs from. That was all it lacked - an information folder - I guess. Thanks for a great holiday though.

Imogen Hall
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 08/10/2018
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We had a superb holiday at this property. The location feels remote but is only 15 minutes from the supermarket on the outskirts of Portree. Very well appointed and comfortable. We had very mixed weather but even on our few days spent indoors, the views of the constantly changing sky and colours in the landscape from the floor to ceiling window in the lounge were a joy. We did see sea eagles and hawk harriers, magnificent starry skies and the occasional shooting stars.The satellite WiFi is perfectly functional for browsing but does not accommodate streaming which was fine for us. We took a couple of DVD box sets and there was Freeview TV available. If you are looking for total peace in beautiful surroundings with a view of the Cuillin mountains in the distance, do not hesitate to book this property. It is brilliant value for money and we hope to visit again.

Gary Hobson
Reviewed Charleston on 08/10/2018
And awarded it

Charleston

Couldn't ask for a better cottage, much bigger inside than we expected, plenty of room for all 5 of us, very comfortable and well appointed, didn't want for anything really.The cottage is off the beaten track (as we like them) but close enough to the road for easy access to Inverness and Fort Augustus, in fact we found it ideally situated for exploring the whole area, will definitely be going back again.

Babs Elliot
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 08/10/2018
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Just had a week in the old lock keepers cottage. Fantastic location and although the weather was truly scottish we were very comfortable in the house. Glad we had a 4x4 as the weir was quite high when we arrived. Great walking for the dogs in this area and the house has everything you need. Hope to return in the future.

Steve Skipsey
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 08/10/2018
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Lovely Cottage, great location. Our second visit. No hesitation in recommending to others!

Stewart
Reviewed Fhaireag on 04/10/2018
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Superb modern house in a fantastic area. Very cosy, well appointed, remote but a short drive to shops/pub. My wife and I (and dog :)) really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

Thomas
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 02/10/2018
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

We had a really lovely stay at the barn, We arrived in the dark so didn't get to appreciate the beautiful surroundings until the next morning. The barn was very comfortable, well equipped and really clean. If you have four legged friends with you the 'boot area' is really useful. Its a lovely place to unwind, relax and do a spot of wildlife and weather watching. Would highly recommend a stay here.

Trudie
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 01/10/2018
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Immaculate house with terrific views. Best cottage we have ever rented.

K Dalby
Reviewed Ardbeg on 01/10/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

This is a stunning house. It has everything you need with the bonus of outstanding views across to the Isle of Skye.

Bob Payne
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 01/10/2018
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

Gorgeous small property in a beautiful location with stunning views. We feel honoured that we were able to hire this property, the fixtures and fittings, the presentation and the atmosphere of the place show that the property is much loved by the owners. Thank you for making it available for hire.

J Taylor
Reviewed River Cottage on 01/10/2018
And awarded it

River Cottage

Lovely well-equipped cottage we have visited several times. Great location and great for dogs. Large garden area for both dogs and owners to explore! We don't mind intermittent wi-fi - this is the beautiful Scottish wilderness after all, which is why we visit!

Ann & Murphy
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 01/10/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

This is my second visit to Plodda Lodge and will most definitely not be the last as the lodge itself is idyllic, comfy, cosy and well equipped. The peace and tranquility of the woods right on your doorstep is wonderful. The walks from the lodge are endless and Glen Affric is stunning and beautiful. Jenny the owner was kind enough to take me on my first Munro walk and put up with a lot of moaning 'are we there yet?!' the view was stunning, changing weather was so Scottish, sun, wind, rain, sleet, snow, mist in a matter of minutes..unforgettable!

Mr VERNON YOUNG
Reviewed Charleston on 01/10/2018
And awarded it

Charleston

Excellent cottage, lovely views. Quiet with lots of wildlife. Will book again.

Jane Easton
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 01/10/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

If you enjoy peace and tranquillity, excellent accommodation, and great sea views, Seascape is the place to stay. And even more so if you have dogs with two sandy bays a short trek through an adjoining field. Chas and Jane, the owners, are engaging yet discreet. I have no hesitation in highly recommending Seascape as a base from which to explore the surrounding Galloway area.

Ceiriog
Reviewed Foiseil Cottage on 01/10/2018
And awarded it

Foiseil Cottage

Very nice property.

Isobel Hardy
Reviewed Cnoc Ard on 01/10/2018
And awarded it

Cnoc Ard

Very well equipped, and cosy cottage. Even though the wind roared we were warm and comfortable inside! Books, DVDs and jigsaws available, as well as Wifi and good mobile reception which we hadn't bargained for, being in a remote part of Scotland. Excellent fish and chip van operates twice a week and fish van calls once a week so we were able to enjoy really fresh fish and shellfish.

Gary Loftus
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 01/10/2018
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Really lost for words, I have never stayed in such a beautiful place , the owners have made a stunning job of renovating the Barn . But when you sit on the sofa with the log fire burning looking out over Loch Duich and the Five Sisters Of Kintail its the most relaxing place in the world. The barn as everything you need and more , 5 star does not do this place justice I would give our holiday experience 20 out of 10. Will definitely be back soon !!!! Thank you Wilderness Cottage's and the owners of Leachachan Barn for such a fantastic Holiday Experience.

Cathy Jones
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 01/10/2018
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Could not have been better, lovely clean cosy cottage, Jane the owner very helpful and enthusiastic. Superb part of Scotland.

Maciej
Reviewed Ardrannach on 29/09/2018
And awarded it

Ardrannach

We had absolutely great stay at Ardrannach. Perfect base to explore Skye. Cottage has everything you need to enjoy your holiday.

Steve
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 26/09/2018
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Great week at Hill Cottage. A chilled out getaway from it all. Miles from anywhere. Lovely scenery. Cottage is well stocked with everything you need for a peaceful break. Conservatory is lovely and every morning sat in there listening to radio 2 watching the sunrise, sheep coming down from the hills and fishing boats going out. Only downside is shower. Small and temperamental. Don't see point in having limited wifi... would rather there not be any. We went as a couple and it brought us even closer together. No life distractions. Wish we could live there full time. Amazing place.

Alison Billing
Reviewed Moll House on 26/09/2018
And awarded it

Moll House

Fiona Warner
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 25/09/2018
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Lovely cottage with lovely walks from the door. Enjoyed the boats going by, quite a busy place for walkers, cyclists and boaters. Beware there is a weir which floods and can prevent getting car to and from cottage. Flooded while we were there. Lovely large secure garden for dogs. Has everything you can need and cosy log fire with wood supplied. Hope to go again.

Lonneke
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 25/09/2018
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Matheson's Croft House was even better than expected after reading all the positive reviews. The house comes with everything you will need for a pleasant stay, even spare light bulbs. And those views! What a wonderful way to wake up in the morning after a good nights sleep in one of the comfy beds. Loved the Rayburn, which comes with a good manual, and the fireplace. Would love to go back!

Harald & Doris
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 25/09/2018
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

We read several stories about The Shed before and have seen many pictures, however, the reality is even better. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, all necessary items are available. The house is very spacious, has an excellent ground plan and spectecular views from almost all rooms. And an outdoor shower (with warm water) - not to be missed. We certainly will try to come back - even if its quite far from Austria.

Fiona Prichard & Mike Swift
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 25/09/2018
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

We had a wonderful week in this lovely cottage even though the weather was terrible! So cosy and welcoming to come home, lots of hot water for baths and showers and lots of space to dry out our walking gear! A very tastefully appointed Cottage - and really spacious for two. One very small point- maybe add two champagne glasses??! Oh, and a teapot and tea cosy! We loved it/ thank you wilderness cottages!

C McGhee
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 25/09/2018
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

If you want privacy, this is the place to go. The owners kindly provide as much wood as you need for the log burner, and we found plenty of bird food left for the many garden birds that feed just outside the kitchen window. There are loads of walks and things to do nearby. When we first arrived, the house is further away down both the single road and then the rough track than we thought, so we were anxious that we had missed it. You have to pass the log cabin and go down a steep hill to arrive.

Sue Luxford
Reviewed Charleston on 25/09/2018
And awarded it

Charleston

Once again a memorable stay at Charleston. Beautiful space and accommodation. Always a quiet corner to relax in with those fantastic views that you never tire of! Watch out for the herd of deer in the evenings and the resident hare. Always nice to have a chat with the cows or sheep in surrounding fields! I am afraid we cannot fault it hence our fifth visit.

Bianca & Ian (plus Amaya & Wile E. Coyote)
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 25/09/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We absolutely loved our stay at Plodda Falls Lodge. The only regret we had was that we only booked one week. We will definitely return again. The house is fully equipped with everything you need for cosy evenings in and its location makes it perfect for both walks in the local woods, the Plodda Falls were a very special experience, and for excursions to Loch Ness and Inverness. Jenny was an extremely nice host, her welcome cake was out of this world and we loved chatting about the area and dogs with her. It was an overall PERFECT holiday.

John Lawson
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 25/09/2018
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Lovely cottage in great location. Weather foul but that's Scotland. Wooden floors throughout are great for dog owners but very slippery for the less mobile as is the shower cubicle in downstairs en suite. A towel rail near the sink and shower would be helpful with a rubber mat for the shower. This said this is a quality cottage with all requirements for a great holiday.

Chris Knaggs
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 25/09/2018
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

We had a very enjoyable stay at Torvaig cottage. It is situated in a great spot right next to Portree and provides easy access to all of the main routes around the island, making it an ideal place to stay if you're wanting to explore the island.

Keith James
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 25/09/2018
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

We were lucky to have great weather while on Skye. The location of the cottage was superb for our requirements. Well equiped and comfortable. There was a problem with the AGA, but someone did come out, however it didnt resolve the amount of heat it gave out, not enough for cooking. Last day lock on front door went and the bathroom lights kept shorting, owner cntactable, amenable and helpful. Didnt use any of the outdoor items apart from the bench table and seat to watch the glorious sunsets and stars at nigh, great dark sky. Would book and recommend again without hesitation, even with the slight issues we had.

Val Smith
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 24/09/2018
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

Good value. Great views. Everything needed was supplied. Warning, there is an undercounter fridge/freeze so it is tiny.

Julie Lewis
Reviewed Moll House on 23/09/2018
And awarded it

Moll House

Craig D
Reviewed Sixgeary on 21/09/2018
And awarded it

Sixgeary

Wow, what a beautiful place to spend some time on the Isle of Skye! We had a fantastic weeks break at Sixgeary, the cottage is finished internally to a high standard with all the facilities you require. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable and warm, we enjoyed cosy evenings in front of the log burner, sitting outside stargazing at night and had some great weather whilst we were there. Fresh eggs and marmalade available from Fiona at the end of the road contributed to some great breakfasts!! There is no doubt the island is busier than when we were last there but Sixgeary is certainly a place where you can relax and escape from your normal routine!! We will definitely return!!

Elaine & Ron
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 19/09/2018
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

We were delighted with Oak Cottage. It was bright, clean, warm, cosy, well equipped and set in a lovely position to enjoy the numerous local wildlife. Daily we saw red squirrels and numerous other birds. Also in the evening a group of deer. We hopefully will be back before too long. The owners Alma and Chris are very friendly and helpful.

Vicky & Richard
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 19/09/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We had a wonderful week at this beautiful house, the setting is absolutely stunning. Being able to walk out of the garden straight into the forest was perfect. The house is secluded enough to enjoy peace and quiet but, also in a good location to explore the surrounding eastern highlands. The log burner made for nice cosy evenings after a day of walking and exploring. We saw lots of wildlife including red squirrels and managed to record a pine marten on the wildlife cam provided by the owners. Jenny is a lovely host and was helpful and on hand but not at all intrusive. Thank you for a great holiday!

Lottie
Reviewed Toberaie on 19/09/2018
And awarded it

Toberaie

A wonderful position with stunning views of the Cairngorms and good access for walks. Comfortable house with plenty of space for boots and coats. Compact but well equipped kitchen.