Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 51 to 100 of 3350


Carol Barker
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 19/05/2019
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

We very much enjoyed our stay at Katie's Cottage. We liked the fact that it was on a very quiet lane in the north west of Skye, with lots of local walks and beaches. The shop in nearby Glendale was excellent, too! The cottage was very cosy and we liked the underfloor heating which kept the temperature even, and the option of the log burner if needed. The lounge was very comfortable and we loved the open plan layout, joining on to the kitchen/dining area, which made it very spacious. The bathroom was also very spacious, and although the two bedrooms were a little on the small side due to the low roof, it was fine for us for a week's stay. Generally the cottage was fairly clean, however I felt as though it needed a really good vacuuming to get rid of hairs left by previous guests, in the lounge and bedrooms, and the bathroom floor needed wiping round the edges, as it was rather sticky and dusty there. Otherwise, it was just wonderful, and we would have loved to have stayed longer.

Sally-Anne
Reviewed Lilybank on 10/05/2019
And awarded it

Lilybank

Lovely cottage in ideal location. Really warm and welcoming. Very comfy beds. Well equipped with everything we needed for a great stay. We've had a wonderful week. Thank you.

BRIAN & VI
Reviewed Fhaireag on 10/05/2019
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Great cottage in amazing setting, Bird song truly out of this world, walks from door, spent week there car never moved. WILDERNESS COTTAGES promptly got heating fixed, would return if we could get a free week.

Mats & Family
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 04/05/2019
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

We had a warm welcome at the Mill. Very comfortable cottage, with all you can think of. Light, pleasant and thoughtfully restored building, with plenty of place for the five of us. Great collection of books, something interesting and enjoyable there for everyone. Board games same story. Only noticed the lack of mobile coverage during the champions league semi finals, but halfway the hill also that annoyance disappeared. Great base for walking the Glenlivet Estate, with numerous marked routes starting nearby. Moors, hills, streams, woods and whiskey makers in all directions. We'd love to be back some day.

Stephen Moore & Nicola Walker
Reviewed The Granary on 02/05/2019
And awarded it

The Granary

We recently stayed at The Granary for six nights and received a very warm welcome from the owners, fresh flowers and biscuits greeted us on arrival. The property is absolutely lovely and very well equipped, We could not fault it at all, The perfect place for a couple or family with two lovely bedrooms and two bathrooms, If you are looking for an isolated cottage in the middle of nowhere then this is probably not for you as it is in the back garden of the owners property, but it is quiet, private and perfectly located for walking to the local pubs and shops in the village. The scenery around the local area is stunning and the town of Inverness is just a twenty minute drive away. We would recommend this property and would certainly stay there again.

S&I Edmiston
Reviewed Upper Folds on 30/04/2019
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We stayed a week at upper folds and the pictures do not do it justice. Beautiful, clean and tidy and fantastic local walks. The hosts have thought of everything even tea, coffee, cleaning materials, and a bowl of chocolate mints on arrival!

Ann & Murphy
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 30/04/2019
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Fabulous week at Cedar Cottage. Lots of walks right on your doorstep or short drive to woods on the coast. Clean, homely, well equipped and cosy. Great place to get away from it all.

Sophie
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 29/04/2019
And awarded it

Pipers Lodge

We had the most fabulous week at Piper's Lodge and would recommend it to anyone. We stayed over the Easter week and had such a relaxing time - the photos don't do this place justice. The lodge is beautifully decorated and very well equipped (the kitchen had everything you could possibly need), and waking up to the gorgeous view every day is so special. Cath and Chris were really helpful and friendly, and we found that the location was perfect - it's not as central as other points on the island, but the peace and quiet more than made up for it, and there are some real beauty spots nearby. If you're looking for somewhere to relax and truly switch off, Piper's Lodge is perfect.

Janice Wilson
Reviewed River Cottage on 29/04/2019
And awarded it

River Cottage

We found this cottage just perfect as a base for walks with our Springer Spaniel. Everything you could need was catered for and a superb location too. Ideal if you have a dog or not, lots of interesting things to see and do, The cottage was immaculate, very tranquil setting by the river.

Nicki Clatworthy
Reviewed The Granary on 29/04/2019
And awarded it

The Granary

The Granary is so lovely and a real home from home - very well equipped and comfortable. We had a warm greeting on arrival from the owners and some lovely biscuits! The house is very functional and well located for exploring Loch Ness, Glen Affric, Inverness etc. The kitchen is practical and has everything you need for a self catering holiday. The decor and comfort is excellent - thoroughly recommend staying here.

Angela
Reviewed Taigh Fiodha on 27/04/2019
And awarded it

Taigh Fiodha

Excellent cottage and views were incredible. I will book this again!

John & Cherry Loch
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 27/04/2019
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

We had a superb week at Seal Skerry Lodge. Location is wonderful, and the lodge well equipped, clean & warm. A name on the gate would have been an advantage when we arrived, and we did have no internet for the week we were there although owners did kindly contact BT but unfortunately it couldn't be sorted before we left. A couple of observations: it would be really useful to have a radiator in the utility room for drying coats / boots etc, a note to explain absence of door on dishwasher would be nice, a mirror somewhere near to an electricity socket for hair drying would be useful, and we did think that the logs for wood burner could have been provided free of charge, considering the price of the stay. But overall small niggles and we had a really good week there, great to have enclosed garden for the dog, and the night skies were just amazing, a great place to really get away from it all and chill. We would definitely return!

Melanie
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 27/04/2019
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

We booked Oak Cottage for a week at Easter and could not have been happier. We were already familiar with the area having stayed in Killin many times before, but were delighted with the peaceful setting and lovely feel of the cottage. The view from the window across the garden to the small lochan (with its resident ducks) is lovely and we were regularly visited by the three red squirrels and countless birds. The cottage was modern but cosy, spotlessly clean and instantly felt like a 'home from home'. The owners were extremely helpful and friendly; the children were over the moon when they found an Easter egg each in the fridge! We will definitely be returning!

John Hebenton
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 26/04/2019
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Our stay was 5 star in every way. We could not have wished for better facilities or helpful hosts!

Rachael Baker
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 26/04/2019
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

What a view!!! The cottage is clean, warm and homely. The views from the windows, decking are stunning. The wildlife that can be seen from the cottage, and that visit the cottage are amazing. The large garden is great for the dogs to explore, and fully enclosed. Thank you

Annie Morgan
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 25/04/2019
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at Port Elgol Cottage, I cannot imagine a more beautiful location in the whole world. The view of the many islands out to sea then the Cullins and honeycomb rock from the front garden is absolutely spectacular. The cottage itself is just lovely, the moment you walk in it feels like a home not a rental. There is everything you need for your stay, it is very well equipped and comfortable but also has lots of books, games and maps to use too. The 'Bothy Books' where previous guests have written about their stay is lovely to read and gives lots of tips on the local wildlife and places to see. We were lucky that during our stay we had glorious weather but I would not have been disappointed if a storm had of come in as the cottage was so cosy with its log burning fire. We will definitely be back, it was an absolute privilege to stay here.

Katy H
Reviewed Gracie's Cottage on 24/04/2019
And awarded it

Gracie's Cottage

Gracie's cottage is in a lovely setting and we had a wonderful week there. The beds are comfy, the house was well equipped, and there was a lot of practical space for a family of four. The WiFi was much appreciated by our kids!

Olly Knowles
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 24/04/2019
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Beautiful home in a wonderful location. Thanks for a great holiday!

Michelle Laing
Reviewed Ardbeg on 24/04/2019
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Ardbeg cottage is absolutely amazing. Such a gorgeous location & the property has been furnished to a high standard with everything you could possibly need. Lovely welcome pack left by the owners too. Would highly recommend this property for a relaxing vacation.

Jo & Glyn
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 24/04/2019
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

We booked Moll cottage for the location, wildlife, seclusion and quality of the overall cottage. We were delighted that we got everything we wished for and will be booked soon for next year which says it all.

Anthony
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 24/04/2019
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

What a wonderful holiday cottage! We will definitely return. Clean, comfortable, homely and in a fantastic location with the shore below the house. Thank you Widerness Cottages

Martyn Cowen
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 23/04/2019
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Nice cottage right off the beaten track, needs a little TLC but must say very well equipped, loads of walks on the doorstep and a real novelty seeing trains on the line right next to the property about 6 trains a day

Stuart Brown
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 23/04/2019
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

Fantastic views from this property. Lots of room for our family of five in the house and huge amounts of parking outside. Short drive to Neist Point from the house and an easy walk down to the pier to see the seals in Loch Pooltiel. We saw the Sea Eagles outside almost every day along with several NATO warships on exercise in the area. Will miss the views and hope to return one day.

Holly Wright
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 20/04/2019
And awarded it

Pipers Lodge

Pipers Lodge is just fabulous! The photos don't do it justice - especially the lovely view, which changed constantly with the light and weather. The lodge is beautifully decorated - huge comfy bed, excellent shower, very well equipped kitchen and the hot tub was wonderful. Cath and Chris were brilliant hosts - very friendly but unobtrusive. The location is on the furthest tip of the island but as long as you don't mind a couple of longer days driving (around 1 hour to get to the Old Man of Storr or the Cuillins) the remoteness makes it well worth it. Also there's a lot of other great stuff to see nearby, e.g. Neist Point Lighthouse, Three Chimneys restaurant (book well in advance!), Dunvegan Castle, Coral beach etc. And we really recommend the walk from Orbost to Macleods Maidens (10 mile return trip). We brought most supplies with us but the larger Coop at Portree was excellent and the shops in Glendale and Dunvegan had most things anyway. Thank you for a BRILLIANT week Cath and Chris!

Graeme
Reviewed Heatherbank on 17/04/2019
And awarded it

Heatherbank

Heatherbank is a wonderful location to explore Sutherland from, and if the weather turns bad also a delightful location to sit out the storm. The lounge area is comfortable and well equipped, and the log burner with endless supply of wood makes the coldest of nights feel warm. The kitchen is well well equipped and ideal for cooking the amazing local produce after a visit to the butcher and fish van in Lochinver. With very comfortable bedrooms, a great selection of books, the really cool games table, and huge amounts of outdoor space it really has a bit of everything. We will definitely be back again.

Fox Family
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 16/04/2019
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We had a fantastic week at Plodda Falls Lodge. Our host Jenny had thought of every little detail to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. We were welcomed with a delicious cake and cosy fire. The lodge is set in a beautiful, peaceful location where only the sound of birds and a river can be heard. It is truly a specatular place to relax and unwind. Our two boys had fun cycling to the local village cafe whilst our dog thought he had arrived in heaven with all the amazing walks straight from the front door of the lodge. We often walked to Plodda Falls in the evening without seeing anyone else which felt very special.The kitchen was well equipped to cook for a family of four and convieniently has a dishwasher, freezer and washing machine. The beds were super comfortable and the shower always had hot water available. Thank you Jenny for a fantastic week - we will be back.

Michael C Bryson
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 16/04/2019
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

We had a really lovely time at Torvaig cottage. It's in a marvellous position, with outstanding views just yards away. It was a little cold when we first arrived but soon warmed up. Our hosts were very friendly and accommodating. Extra supplies of coal and fresh cut peat were offered but we didn't need it, due to very good weather. The house was very clean, no frills, but had everything you need for a family holiday, and just 15 mins walk away from Portree.

David & Corinne
Reviewed Ardbeg on 15/04/2019
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Just back from a wonderful week at Ardbeg Cottage. The minute you walk in and see the stunning views and appreciate the quality of the finishing in the cottage, you can be sure you are going to have a fabulous holiday. The location is perfect and it is an easy walk down to the local shops, the harbour and to lovely spots for a coffee or a meal. The deck however makes this cottage even extra special and we were blessed with faboulous weather and managed to enjoy meals out on the deck - even in April! This is the first holiday cottage that we would definitely return to - the owners have really created a wonderful holiday home.

Marshall
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 15/04/2019
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

A beautiful cottage in a nice remote location. Beautifully warm thanks to the Rayburn, and well equipped including a very large bed. A warm welcome, including scones, from the charming landlady who lives nearby. Highly recommended for a couple.

M. Holden
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 15/04/2019
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

We had an amazing week at Moll Cottage, we saw the first seal within 30 minutes of our arrival. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you need. The road down to the cottage is pretty bumpy with potholes but take it slowly and it is fine. If you want a secluded getaway this is the perfect place.

Nick Rimmer
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 15/04/2019
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

Wonderful cottage and location, it was great having a small shop and cafe nearby as well. Only a 5 minute walk! The cottage is not far from Neist Point (my favourite place in Skye). The cottage is immaculate and we had everything we needed, WiFi, Freesat TV, good range of kitchen utensils etc. for cooking. Would definitely book this cottage again.

Bob Crabb
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 15/04/2019
And awarded it

Eilean Mor Cottage

Eilean Mor is a great cottage. Very suitable for a family of four. Enclosed garden meant the children could roam freely. Fantastic view. Clean and tidy when we arrived. Thank you.

David Turner
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 14/04/2019
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Superb stay at this cottage. Very well equipped, fantastic location. Would not hesitate to recommend this. I mean it, this place is wonderful - I could go on about the dark skies, the wildlife, the garden, the remote but accessible location, the walks you can go almost from the doorstep. Loved it!

VickyR
Reviewed Log House on 11/04/2019
And awarded it

Log House

The Log House is extremely cosy and well equipped - just what I was looking for. It felt like a home from home! Idyllic walks nearby in the forest too. Good internet too, which was a nice surprise. Didn't need the log burner as weather was mild and central heating perfectly adequate. Did receive an extra delivery of logs though, which is a nice touch! The only issue I would say is the weather in Fort Augustus is extremely wet all the time and the gutters/down pipes desperately needed maintenance as they were leaking. The kitchen has pretty much everything you need except could do with an extractor fan to remove the cooking smells. Something that did stick in my mind was the squeaky kitchen floor which drove us mad. Overall, a lovely place in a great central location in the Great Glen.

John Atherton
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 10/04/2019
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

An excellent holiday home in an ideal situation with wonderful views. The accommodation far exceeded our expectations - a large lounge with ample seating for 6 people, spacious kitchen fitted with modern appliances and seating for 6, shower rooms and three good sized bedrooms. We did have a problem with the supply of hot water and underfloor heating but both were corrected in quick time; the supply of hot water very quickly and the heating far quicker than we anticipated since an engineer had to travel from Inverness in inclement weather conditions - 40 mph gales with rain, hail & snow . A sincere thank you to all concerned. These problems served to emphasise the "house insulation" is excellent!! During our week we visited the Coral Beach north of Dunvegan, the Dinosaur Beach at Staffin and the Quiraing on our way from Staffin to Uig, the Fairy Glen and Golden Cave above Uig, and Neist Point lighthouse. At the farm (Kelpie crafts) near the lighthouse we stopped to see the lambing. Linda, the farmer, encouraged our grandchildren to bottle feed the friendly lambs and showed us her large amount of craft work housed next door - a visit is a must. We managed a wet weather walk to the Fairy Pools on our way home - a good walk but not for the faint-hearted in bad weather conditions. At least the pools were full and this elderly couple had our children and active grandchildren to ferry us across the wide streams and over the large spacious stepping stones - an exciting visit! Overall - an excellent week (the weather wasn't too bad!) which we would like to experience again in the near future - in Pooltiel House Thank you.

Grace & Tony
Reviewed Sealight on 09/04/2019
And awarded it

Sealight

Sealight has the wow factor from the moment you open the front door. It is beautiful and very well equipped. The view from the decking is stunning. Pine marten visited every night. The area is so beautiful and the colour of loch Sunart changes by the hour, the view is never the same. The drive up from the South through Glencoe is one of the most breathtaking drives We have ever done. Before you leave stock up on a couple of days food as the nearest supermarket is a 15 mile drive and a trip on the Corran ferry away in Fort William. Saying that the local shop in Strontian is well stocked, just understandably more expensive. Go to Mull for the day, visit the Ncnnean distillery in Drimnin and have lunch at The Whitehouse in Lochaline. Sealight is the perfect house in the most perfect setting. A real get away from life holiday. A week is not enough.

Lesley & Chris
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 09/04/2019
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Our second visit to an outstanding home from home, which is fully equipped with everything and more that's needed for a great holiday. Log fire, wildlife, birds including the fly-by from the eagle, along with great restaurants & cafes and the many trips to be taken are the cherry on top for this property. We'll be back soon !

Gillian
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 09/04/2019
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Lovely cosy cottage. Fabulous views and easy access to Skye, local shops. Some great walks nearby. Two close encounters with otters and deer in the garden..what a treat.

Marian Lister
Reviewed Charleston on 09/04/2019
And awarded it

Charleston

2nd visit to this beautiful house was just as enjoyable as the first. Comfy and cosy, beautiful views, lovely welcome pack from the owners was much appreciated. Have used Wilderness cottages for our last 6 holidays in Scotland, and they are by far the best!

Brian May
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 06/04/2019
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

This is my favourite cottage, I have visited three times so far. One of the many delights is to sit in the conservatory and watch the bird feeding station and wait for the occasional train to pass. The cottage is warm and cosy especially when the fire is alight. I could happily live here.

Steve Welch
Reviewed Loch Cottage on 02/04/2019
And awarded it

Loch Cottage

Wonderful stay for fourth consecutive year. The addition of double glazing and wood burning stove have been a revelation in the cold snowy weather that we experienced. Very peaceful with beautiful views to the loch and beyond.

Rebecca & Angus
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 02/04/2019
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We had a lovely week at White-Tail. Gorgeous, well-equipped cottage in a great location. The view was absolutely stunning - even on the cloudy days we had. Would definitely recommend!

BRIAN & VI
Reviewed Charleston on 01/04/2019
And awarded it

Charleston

fantastic holiday cottage great view from every window very clean and warm.

Colin
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 01/04/2019
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

A cosy cottage with everything you could need for a break away from it all. Fantastic sea views over to Ireland and great walks directly from the cottage. We were made very welcome by the owners Chas And Jane, who live nearby but are never intrusive. If it's a relaxing break away from it all you're after then this is the one.

Bryony Bond
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 27/03/2019
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

The lodge was super - have stayed before and enjoyed it again. Recommend.

Lynne
Reviewed Ardbeg on 25/03/2019
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Would highly recommend using wilderness cottages. Smooth easy transaction, details made very clear.... would definitely use again and recommend to friends an family. Until the next time ????

C Roberts
Reviewed Upper Folds on 20/03/2019
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Another great stay at Upper Folds. It is so homely and caters for your every need for a relaxing hoiday, we have stayed 3 times now and plan to stay again in the future once we have saved up! The garden and facilities are superb, and the fact we can take our four legged friend is another bonus. The only thing I would say was that the land line was not working, just in case of emergencies really as the mobile signal is not great (beauty of it though!), as we have no desire to use for anything else. Many thanks.

Caroline McGrath
Reviewed Charleston on 16/03/2019
And awarded it

Charleston

We stayed at Charleston February 15 - 23. Our second visit, & will not be the last A warm, cosy and spacious cottage standing in a remote, totally private setting. Although not isolated. Our Rottweiler loved the garden which is totally secure, and variety of walks (caution if you're dog doesn't tolerate sheep). My husband and I have travelled extensively over Scotland but Charleston remains our favourite cottage for an escape from it all. For a large shop Inverness is only about half hour drive. I would highly recommend Charleston

Happy Customer
Reviewed Upper Folds on 14/03/2019
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This is our 3rd stay, and the cottage is beautifully maintained and a joy to visit. The welcome pack of wine, shortbread, milk and flowers is a lovely touch. The cottage was spotless and it is lovely to have hand wash, spare bins bags and kitchen roll all provided. Lots of DVDs provided together with games. Location is perfect with easy access to walks locally and the good access to the coast at Culbin. Look forward to staying again ...

Nikk Phelps
Reviewed Sealight on 13/03/2019
And awarded it

Sealight

Another fabulous week spent at Sealight. This is our third year here for hubby and I and second year my parents have joined us. We love this place so much, it's like coming home. As always it was beautiful and clean and warm. The weather for our week was lovely with mild weather and sunshine. Fabulous day spent on Mull in almost summer weather. The pine martins came every night and this year we saw sea otters in the bay in front of the cottage plus roe deer in the front meadow. The birds were beautiful and we struggled to keep up with feeding them! We have already booked it again for next year.