Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 201 to 220 of 2734


Fiona Mackenzie
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 01/11/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

We had a very relaxing break at shore cottage with our two labradors, cottage was very warm and homely and the beach at the end of the garden was fabulous. The only negatives were that the tv was very old and that the bathroom is in need of upgrading but that would not stop us from returning! Oh and the bush that obscures the view on the decking needs to go!

Lea, Silke, Tim & Holger
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 01/11/2016
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We had booked the hotel in the second half of October, after spending a week in the highlands. The weather was unusually beautiful for this season: 14 days without rain and almost always the sun was up to 16 degrees. With the cottage we also had big luck. The bedrooms on the first floor are very comfortable, the kitchen is excellently equipped, the open fireplace in the evening exactly the right, and the winter garden is pure luxury to relax. We were always on the way during the day and were very happy to return to the cottage. The location is very quiet, from the road you get nothing. We should also mention that the lock gate is supernett and has passed on the day before the departure to say goodbye. As a starting point for hiking and exploring the area, the location of the house is also optimal. Inverness and Fort William (we did not like it) are within easy reach, the Isle of Skye is not so far away, especially as the route is beautiful. Particularly attractive is Glen Strathfarrar, even if the access by car to a certain contingent is limited (meaningful). In the immediate vicinity of the house, one can also, for example, prima migrate, e.g. On the Ben tea. Overall a great week in a very excellent holiday home!

Gary & Bernie
Reviewed Ardrannach on 01/11/2016
And awarded it

Ardrannach

This property and location was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back. The property is ideally situated for walking and is in a very peaceful location with tremendous views of Skye.

Michelle Bennett
Reviewed Giusaichean on 29/10/2016
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Mr & Mrs Nicol
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 28/10/2016
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Moll Cottage was easy to find, very warm and in an incredibly private and scenic location. Use northern access road: southern approach in bad repair (30 mins to drive 3 miles) so access from further junction takes half the time! Comfy bed but needs new pillows. Nice to have liners. Lots of local info and some DVD's. Basic condiments provided, but only a tiny prep area if cooking. One of the two ceiling lights, the cooker hood light and under unit lights not working: should have been spotted before our arrival. No spare bulbs provided - we did not want to wait around for manager to call during our stay. As others have noted - suite is really uncomfortable because, bizarrely, all its rear cushions have been removed. The property does need quite a thorough cleaning: lots of mould - on window frames and surrounds, floor and wall at end of lounge & inside the shower. Lots of greasy, dirty pots, cutlery, utensils/dirty tea towels and apron. Grubby everywhere: chair backs, bedhead and end, picture glass and even the bottom of the wardrobe mirrors and their runner recesses. Toilet brush & holder awful. No bathroom mirror or shaver point. Bins have stickers stating "collection contract expired" so were not emptied. Lovely location but quality of cleaning/lack of attention reduced rating.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mr & Mrs Nicol, thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Moll Cottage, we do as a small company appreciate all the reviews we receive. We are disappointed that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations, we do provide in the event of any problems a contact number for the local caretaker and our office is open until 7pm during the week and until 6pm at the weekends, along with an out of hours answering service. We have checked with the caretaker and our own records and see that no problems were reported by you. Due to the location, the owner has provided a telephone in the cottage for emergency and local calls. The caretaker does live within a few miles and could easily have come and rectified any issues that you had. The first we became aware of any problems was when this review was received on the 28th October, which is late considering you stayed for the week 15th to the 22nd October. However in the circumstances we have, as a goodwill gesture made a partial refund to cover you for any inconvenience caused.
Lauren
Reviewed Timber House on 28/10/2016
And awarded it

Timber House

We really enjoyed our time at Timber House. The views from every room are amazing. We loved the wood burner and waking up to sheep in the front yard. The kitchen was well equipped. Highly recommended. Future guests may want to know that mobile service in the area comes and goes, though the internet worked well. The house is in a remote area and is therefore extremely quiet, though the wind and rain can be quite loud in the main bedroom, so bring ear plugs if that will keep you awake. We hope to come again!

Steve & Jacqui Johnstone
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 28/10/2016
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Had a wonderful relaxing week here in October. The resident pine martin did not disappoint and visited us every second night around 9pm. What a beautiful creature and one of the main reasons we booked. Got some great photographs. Pine lodge is compact yet comfortable and has everything you need. Wi-Fi is fantastic considering the location. The road up to the lodge is a bit steep and rough but this is quickly forgotten once you are there. Location is very quiet and peaceful and a great place to escape. The views over the loch and mountains are simply breathtaking. Would highly recommend pine lodge and hope to visit again very soon.

William Foy
Reviewed Don Cottage on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Cottage very well equiped and cosy would recommend it to friends and family!

Chris & Wendy Jennings
Reviewed Don Cottage on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Lovely cottage hideaway.

Lorna (Skye)
Reviewed Erchless Cottage on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Erchless Cottage

We loved Erchless Cottage. It was cosy and spacious and an ideal base for walking and exploring the beautiful surrounding countryside. Alison and Greg couldn't have been more helpful, welcoming and friendly.

Lynda James
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Poulary Cottage is extremely well equipped and in a lovely location. It's very warm and cosy and the double bed is one of the most comfortable we've slept in. It really is away from it all and it's quite a drive back up the valley if you want to get out and about sightseeing. One piece of advice I wish we'd had is that the nearest decent shop is in Fort Augustus at the filling station and there's a butcher there too. Take bird food if you want to see a busy bird table and the Pine Marten only came during the night when we were there but we had a camera trap so got footage on that? The Stanley range cooker takes a bit of getting used to.

Shona B
Reviewed Dunollie on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Dunollie

One of the best properties we have stayed at through Wilderness - the attention to detail was fabulous, e.g. local produce on arrival, toiletries provided. Everything in the kitchen was new, clean and of a high standard. Great location and very comfortable throughout. The only concern was the access road - very narrow with a drop to the stream which could be tricky for larger vehicles and in the dark.

Simpson's
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

We stayed at Beach Lodge for a week from 15th to 22nd October. It was perfect! A beautiful house tucked away in the bay with a huge expanse of sandy beach and not a soul in sight. We had a lovely sunny break taking in the sights of the Rhins and on the one day of rain were happy to sit indoors relaxing and only venturing as far as the beach for a walk with the dogs. A lovely restful week in a lovely location!

Carole Binns
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

We had a fabulous stay at Shore Cottage. It has an amazing location the garden and beach were perfect for our Staffy. The cottage was lovely and warm on arrival and very clean. We loved the conservatory with the log burner although the weather was exceptional and we even sat out on the decking and read in the sunshine! We have stayed in three Wilderness cottages so far and have never been disappointed, but I think this is our favourite. A big bonus was the lovely clean beach. Many thanks to whoever has cleaned it because we have stayed nearby before and the beach was littered with rubbish but this time it was lovely. Had a great time many thanks.

Julian Marriner
Reviewed Wildwood on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Wildwood

Excellent, fantastic, superb !!! A wonderful stay in a lovely property in the 'Wilderness', well almost. A short walk (1.5M) to Fort Augustus, beautiful surroundings and so many sights to go and see. Will definitely be returning again. The property is lovely and cozy with the wood burner, wildlife on the doorstep. An Excellent stay - Many Thanks A1++++

Anthony & Elizabeth
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 23/10/2016
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

Best place we have ever stayed at! Warm, clean, cosy, well equipped with an enormous comfortable bed. Best of all, great views across Loch Kishorn towards the Cullin of Skye.

Peter Sumpter
Reviewed Rhundunan on 23/10/2016
And awarded it

Rhundunan

Excellent property that is well equipped. Very highly recommended.

Ian Wilson
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 23/10/2016
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

Absolutely fantastic cottage plenty of room with views to kill for, Dog loved it and collapsed every night on her bed. I will be definitely be coming back, 1 slight negative I had to change bedding on arrival other than that 10/10.

Catriona & John
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 20/10/2016
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

The cottage was really lovely: very clean and very well-equipped. We really appreciated the little extras, like the shortbread,butter, milk, teabags and jam on arrival, and the washing up liquid, hand soap and toilet roll! It is well-located with lovely views over the loch and within an easy walk of the excellent local Spar shop. We had a lovely 3 nights there and just wish it could have been longer.

NBLucas
Reviewed The Mill on 20/10/2016
And awarded it

The Mill

A lovely stay. What a spectacular view! The Mill was a very easy place to stay with our 19 month old. She loved seeing the cows right outside the window. We thought the location was great and the amenities at the property made it a real home away from home. The wifi was patchy, but the setting made it worth it. I liked the additional touches like the shortbread biscuits and Tomintoul whiskey that was left for us to try. There were a few dog hairs around from the previous guest, but otherwise the property was left clean and tidy.