Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 501 to 550 of 2986


Francis Leach, & 4 Others &Batney.
Reviewed Moll House on 30/09/2016
And awarded it

Moll House

I can say that all of us had a really enjoyable time at Moll House. The accomadatation was really excellent, well equipped and warm. No need for fire etc, despite weather not being warm. It was at times wet and windy, but even this merely made the views across the lock more interesting. Lots of interesting wild life to be seen nearby and further afield. 50 years since last I was on Skye and despite more houses and people, the island retains its charm and beauty. Can recommend Moll house and the Island to any one looking for interesting place to visit. Frank Leach.

James Colin Ashton
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 3 - Riverside - Abbey on 30/09/2016
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 3 - Riverside - Abbey

The cottage was excellent in most respects. However it needs a wardrobe in the downstairs bedroom as there is no other hanging space. Also we had no broadband all week and for anyone relying on this it could be a problem. There were one or two other minor irritations but these did not spoil the overall experience.

Jane Parfitt
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 30/09/2016
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

A perfect place to stay, off the beaten track and within an area of stunning beauty and interest. Great for walkers and lovers of wildlife and the outdoors. The cottage is well equipped and warm, in fact this is the second time we've stayed here and hope to return next year. it has a Rayburn- we are converted!

Bryan Duchart
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 30/09/2016
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

What an absolute delight. Everything needed was there and was first class. Clean, comfortable, homely, cosy, dog friendly - we will be back for sure.

Jean Studd
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

What a lovely little cottage this is really close to the seaside which, whatever the weather, is beautiful and rugged. The cottage was very welcoming and warm as were the hosts. The wheelchair accessiblity in the cottage was very good although the shower not particularly built for a wheelchair. Our dogs were made most welcome and we were able to park our little trailer right outside the house which doubled up as a dog kennel (for our muddy alsation) when we weren't using it to transport my husbands electric scooter around. The lanes and local tracks were great for exploring by mobility scooter and we could even get it on to the beach - great!

Robert
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Cottage is in a brilliant location, with walks from the front door, although could do with more information about walks from the cottage ( rights to roam). Twin beds in main bedroom very comfortable. Could do with a visitors book to learn what others have done, places they found to walk, shop, eat etc, and places to avoid. One week not enough to do the things we wanted. Hope to return again one day.

Dorothy
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

This was the sixth time we've stayed here, so we know and love it well. Great location on the shore, I could (and do) happily pass the time sitting in the little porch reading and watching the tides. Lovely walks from the cottage, which is cosy and comfortable. But Applecross is getting busier, and losing some of it's charm.

Lululo
Reviewed Moll House on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Moll House

Moll House is in the most perfect position on the shore and only one other cottage in view. Stunning views from all the rooms.

Carole
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

A great cosy cottage and we loved the access to the loch side. It felt like our own private bay. Good base for visiting Skye, Plockton etc. My only minor criticisms are the track leading to the cottage is a bit over grown and scratched the side of the car and a few more basics in the kitchen would be good. There was a rolling pin which seemed impractical in a holiday let yet no plastic containers for packed lunches. We loved the holiday, big comfy beds, great location and the best view from a shower I have ever had ! Hope to return soon.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Miss Smith, thank you for your review and for the feedback on the cottage, the owner has confirmed that the bushes on the access road have been cut back this Autumn, and so there should no issues with access.
D Smith,
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it
Pauline
Reviewed Cuilfail on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Cuilfail

We really enjoyed staying at Cuilfail but the time went far too quickly, the house was well equipped, comfortable and ideally situated for travelling around. We certainly would like to return in the future but would like to make a longer booking. The dogs certainly enjoyed their visit and came home very tired but happy.

Mr G. Podnieks
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mr Podnieks, thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at Cluny Croft. We are not aware of any problems with the wifi at the house, unfortunately this as you state, may have been down to a BT problem. In the circumstances we have refunded the £17.50 to you.
Janet Cooper
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

We were very pleased with our stay at Tor Fionn The tea oatcakes etc left as a welcome was appreciated. The cottage is very well equipped and we had everything we needed including a lovely view.

Alan & Sarah
Reviewed Fhaireag on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Fhaireag was an amazing house in a stunning location! It truly was a relaxing fortnight and we will be back!

Fiona Howarth
Reviewed Kilmaluag Bay Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Kilmaluag Bay Cottage

Kilmaluag Cottage was everything we could have hoped for - beautifully positioned by the water's edge, comfortable furniture and bedding, high standard of fittings and owners who were extremely helpful. Overall, a great experience and would highly recommend.

David Mair
Reviewed Macrae Croft on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Macrae Croft

Nigel Kendall
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

This was our 4th visit to shore cottage since 2011 all I can say is its a real gem of a find beautiful quiet location our two elderly dogs love it and so do we. Not sure when but we will be back again one day if not then its a place we will never forget.

Brian Thomson
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

This immaculate cottage is in the perfect location on Skye for various outdoor pursuits or just chillin'. Would gladly recommend this cottage to all.

Tracy Birchall
Reviewed Station Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Station Cottage

We had a lovely stay at Station Cottage, Nethy Bridge, accommodation was welcoming, cosy and well equipped - garden was ideal for our dogs. The area is stunning and we are planning to return next year as we could not fit everything in and we will have no hesitation stopping at Station Cottage again. Thank you for a fab time!

Graham & Rachel
Reviewed Rowan Lodge - Roshven on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Rowan Lodge - Roshven

Perfect hideaway in a beautiful part of Scotland. Quiet, peaceful, a short walk to the beach. A visit from the Pine Martin every night was a delight too. The Lodge had everything we needed, comfy beds, cozy living area and a dinning room where you can watch the pine martin every night. He really likes Peanut Butter sandwiches.

Adrian & Sue T.
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

Well equipped property in great secluded location. Some great walking nearby and lots of opportunities to view wildlife.

Angela & Alfie
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 28/09/2016
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

Absolutely amazing, lovely house, fantastic views, warm and cosy. House fully equipped with everything that you need. Large garden for dogs all fully secure. Great location for art and crafts shops. If you are looking for peace and quite this is perfect. Loved it so much we booked again and can't wait to go back.

Dave, Sandra & Barley
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 25/09/2016
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We've stayed in many cottages in Scotland and we reckon this is perhaps the best we've stayed at. This was our home for two weeks and from the moment you drop your bags and shut the door you're immersed in the atmosphere and history of this beautiful house. Immaculately furnished, spacious yet cosy and filled with a sense of calm and tranquillity that could only arise from owners who love the place. And Jenny makes it all seem effortless, the house is maintained to the highest standards totally in keeping with the history and tradition of the old laundry house. It's a brilliant place to explore Glen Affric and beyond. You can walk, or cycle, or go for a run on silent, fragrant forest paths that draw you on past eerie, broken mansions and waterfalls, watch the clouds slowly envelope the massive fir trees, count the bats flitting silently around the house on moonlit nights, take midnight walks up the many forest trails looking for nocturnal wildlife, or swim in crystal clear lochs. We loved this house! We loved the area! Thanks to the lovely Jenny for cakes, veg and local information.

Steve & Sue
Reviewed The Orchids on 24/09/2016
And awarded it

The Orchids

The Orchids is a beautiful house with stunning views on to Loch Dunvegan where you can watch otters and seals fishing. We had a great time exploring Skye, very peaceful location in which to stay. Would recommend staying at the Orchids would love to return sometime.

Catherine Mitchell
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 22/09/2016
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

We enjoyed our stay in this quirky cottage in a lovely part of the world. We loved the beech (especially the dogs)!

Sazzyj
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 22/09/2016
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

The house is clean, modern and comfortable with uninterrupted views over Loch Pooltiel and is a welcome sanctuary. Top tips - the main access road does have lots of deep potholes so drive carefully. The upstairs bedrooms have noisy radiators (even when switched off!) so take earplugs. Also handy when it's stormy/rainy as the bedroom velux does not provide much sound proofing.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Thank you for your review, we will check with the owner regarding the radiators as nobody has mentioned this before. Unfortunately when it does rain hard, the positioning of velux windows are not ideal and can be noisy when the rain hits the glass.
Virginie M.
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 15/09/2016
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

This cottage is a pearl! We just spent a week there and only dreamed of staying here again. Its location is exceptional, in absolute calm and especially in an environment of any beauty. The house is very well equiped and especially decorated with taste and simplicity. Everything we expected. A house in keeping with the landscape.

Sadie Kidd
Reviewed Charleston on 15/09/2016
And awarded it

Charleston

Having fallen in love with Scotland many years ago, we decided it would be nice to visit again. We planned a relaxed holiday, with two teenagers, my Dad and our 2 dogs! The cottage was absolutely fantastic!! The best we have EVER stayed in whilst away. It is equipped with everything you would need.... and more! The decor is beautiful, cleanliness is 100% and it really is a 'home from home'. The location is equally beautiful and despite been a little concerned that the nearest shop was 16 miles away.... we did in fact find one just over 2 miles away. The views from Charleston were breathtaking and the peace and tranquility of it, was both needed and very much appreciated. As dog owners, we've previously found it difficult to find somewhere that is still 'nice', with plenty of secure garden where they can exercise freely....this exceeded our expectations all round! We have never returned to the same holiday cottage twice, however I think that's about to change. Without a doubt, we will be returning in the future..... we didn't want to go home!! Thank you!!

Bev & Nigel Tivey
Reviewed Charleston on 14/09/2016
And awarded it

Charleston

Wow! This place is just amazing, so relaxing and fantastic views. It's great for bird watching. We saw Golden Eagles soaring overhead for 4 days in a row, so close on one day that we could hear their calls quite clearly. How lucky were we! We also saw lots of Red Kites and Deer. The bungalow is very spacious and spotless, really well equipped and was nice and relaxing. A real home from home feel about it. There's a large fenced garden that was ideal for our dog to run around in. There was a lovely welcome pack waiting for us and we really didn't want to come home. We go to Scotland every year, usually touring in a motorhome but we loved Charleston so much that we've already booked another stay for next year and can't wait to return.

Rachel P
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 14/09/2016
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

This house is absolutely perfect!! My husband and I stayed there for our honeymoon and never wanted to leave! It is in a great location too, close to Broadford and Portree. We can't wait to visit Scotland again soon and would definitely stay here again!

The Robertsons
Reviewed Fhaireag on 13/09/2016
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Had the most fantastic stay at Fhaireag (wish I knew the correct t pronunciation!). The house itself is amazing, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Stunning views from every window. Fantastic walks in every direction and our two dogs had a great time. Will definitely be back. Loved it! :)

Alex, Janet & Bruce The Pooch
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 12/09/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Just spent a thoroughly enjoyable week relaxing in the home comforts that Seascape Cottage provided. Believe all the previous 5 star reviews about this cottage, they are true. Beautifully maintained, with great sea views. Welcoming bottle of wine and pot of wonderful homemade jam, provided by our hosts, Jane and Chas, got us off to a great start. Fabulous week, good weather was a bonus.

M Rees
Reviewed Callakille on 11/09/2016
And awarded it

Callakille

Charming cottage, loved the wood burning stove. Comfy beds, well equipped kitchen, warm throughout and good size for our family of 4. Amazing spot and views, very peaceful. We loved the whole area. As we flew to Inverness, we didn't have any food supplies with us. We happened to stop at the big Tesco near the airport to buy a few supplies but if we hadn't we would have been without milk / bread for over a day as there are virtually no shops and none open on Sundays. Not a reflection of the cottage but would have been useful to have on the general information as we didn't appreciate just how remote the peninsula is until we got there! That said, we loved the remoteness of Applecross and the nearby pub and restaurant are excellent.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback, we always recommend that guests do stock us with any provisions prior to driving to Callakille as the area is remote. We are sorry if these details were not included, with the information that we provided.
Suzanne Penny
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 11/09/2016
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

There were five adults in our group, each one of us was totally blown away by the beauty of this house and it's setting. Taigh Druim has been renovated to a high standard: oak floors, simple furnishings, white walls, wood burners, well equipped kitchen, very comfortable beds, great showers! We arrived at night in total darkness so as I walked downstairs in the morning the views from each window rendered me speechless and quite emotional! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone who seeks a peaceful, stunningly beautiful retreat in a remote location (though part of me would like to keep it our secret!)

Lulu777
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 09/09/2016
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Lovely cottage very well equipped. Lovely and clean. Lovely quiet location. Fantastic walks nearby for dogs. Unfortunately had to cut our holiday short will definately return. *****

Amanda Mcintyre
Reviewed River Cottage on 08/09/2016
And awarded it

River Cottage

Beautiful, well equipped cottage. Dogs loved it so near to the river, we loved it, so peaceful. Would certainly recommend it to anyone.

Jackie & Jim Milne
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 08/09/2016
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Had a great stay at pine lodge. Accommodation was very cosy and well equipped ideal size for me, my husband and the dog. Greatly entertained by the daily/nightly wildlife visits including the pine Martin. Scenery was fantastic and the lodge was in a good central location for getting out and about.

Pasha Habib
Reviewed Dunollie on 08/09/2016
And awarded it

Dunollie

Steve W
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 08/09/2016
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

Nice, comfortable, spacious cottage on the seafront in the village of Lochcarron. It looked like it had been recently refurbished. It suited our needs - as a base for walking the hills to the north and south of Strathcarron - perfectly. Everything was as we wished.

Simon Haine
Reviewed Station Cottage on 08/09/2016
And awarded it

Station Cottage

This cottage is a lovely place to stay. Myself and my family found the location perfect to unwind and get away from the world. Within easy reach of some of the areas's great spots, including some beautiful lochs, and of course Landmark theme park just down the road. Was a shame to have to leave, but would recommend and would definitely like to return.

Paul Kirkwood
Reviewed Moll House on 08/09/2016
And awarded it

Moll House

Probably the best holiday cottage we've ever stayed in. Very large, modern, fresh, light, comfortable, well appointed and peaceful. Great central location for visiting Skye's attractions. There are very few other cottages on Skye that offer such access together with a shore location but away from the main roads. So if that's what you're after book this one!

Gary , Helena , Shaida & Alfie
Reviewed The Granary on 07/09/2016
And awarded it

The Granary

We stayed at " The Granary" for a week , its centrally located in the Highlands great for exploring the west and east coast, the Cottage is furnished to a very high standard and very comfortable . Its a 5 minute walk into the village of Drumnadrochit with great pubs and Restaurants and there are walks straight from you're door. There was a very welcoming bottle of wine and cake from the owner Kirsty left out for us on our arrival and we couldn't of picked a better place to stay. Thank you once again to Wilderness Cottages for a superb holiday. We will be back .

Michael + Gabriele
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 07/09/2016
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

A warmhearted welcome with fresh eggs, jelly and homemade(!) cookies. This is a jewel of a house with a breathtaking view, an absolute perfect equipped kitchen and plenty of space. We've spend the best holiday ever and we will return there soon as possible. I would die for a place like this nearer by in Germany!

Oana Candale
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 06/09/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Lovely stunning cottage , fantastic views and plenty walks. My two dogs enjoyed it as well. Highly recommended. Definitely coming back :)

Lisa Eaden
Reviewed Kimberley House on 06/09/2016
And awarded it

Kimberley House

Kimberley House was the most amazing space in the perfect location. Everything in the cottage was superb quality and the owner was very helpful. The views from the living room window across Findhorn Bay were stunning. We hope to return to Findhorn and to Kimberley House next year - it's a long journey from Yorkshire but so worth it!

Graham & Sarah Woodcock
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 06/09/2016
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

The perfect holiday cottage with a fantastic enclosed garden which our dogs loved exploring. A very welcome bottle of wine waiting for us after a long drive up from Essex. All mod cons provided, everything you could possibly need for a comfortable and relaxing holiday. Couldn't have asked for more, really didn't want to leave.

Sarah B
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 06/09/2016
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

We had a fantastic week at Creag nah Iolaire! The owner, Duncan, met us on arrival and gave a very friendly and thorough briefing on the facilities/locality. The cottage is absolutely gorgeous and the views are just wonderful - I could never tire of eating breakfast looking out over the Loch, whatever the weather. The decor & furniture were all lovely and we felt very much at home for our stay. We visited lots of local and not so local places and found that Drumnadrochit is a good base from which to explore much of the Highlands - in particular we love the drive around to Foyers to visit the Falls, The Lovat Arms in Fort Augustus for a fantastic meal and of course the Isle of Skye which is a fair journey but worth the drive as it's so beautiful. Previous reviews have mentioned the driveway to the cottage being steep - which it is - but it presented no problems for our cars (neither of which are 4x4) as long as we kept in 1st gear and took it slowly. Once you've done it once it becomes much easier! The only thing I think could be improved is the water pressure to the bath upstairs, which is currently very slow indeed and makes running a bath quite a long affair! Overall one of the best cottages we've ever stayed in, highly recommended.

Julie, Andy, Lizzi, Vicki & Elwood
Reviewed Sunnyhill Croft on 30/08/2016
And awarded it

Sunnyhill Croft

We stayed at Sunnyhill Croft from 13th to 20th August and had a wonderful week. We found the property to be extremely comfortable and the views from the large picture window in the lounge are truly breath-taking. Sunnyhill can be found a couple of miles down a lane past Gairloch, the drive down this road is beautiful with views of the sea and mountains. We have never been to Scotland and were overcome by the hospitality and friendliness. We found Sunnyhill Croft a good base to explore the Highlands, the nearby beaches at Big Sand and Gairloch are exceptional and very dog friendly. We liked everything about this property and its setting and will definitely be coming back next year.

James & Sylvaine Mackie
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 30/08/2016
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

We had a lovely stay in Tor Fionn. There was a warm welcome on arrival (oatcakes, jam, tea and milk) and all the arrangements (address, key etc.) were as agreed with Wilderness Cottages. The cottage is cosy, comfortable and well-equipped. The views from all the windows across Loch Carron are superb both during sunshine and when it rains. Shop/post office are in walking distance and Tor Fionn provides an excellent base for exploring Wester Ross. We did walking both in Loch Carron itself and munro walking (slightly further afield) and had a very nice visit to the Applecross peninsula. A great stay in a really nice cottage.

Julie, Andy, Lizzi, Vicki & Elwood
Reviewed Charleston on 30/08/2016
And awarded it

Charleston

We stayed at Charleston from 20th to 27th August and had the most wonderful and relaxing week. The house is beautiful and much bigger than we thought it would be, it has every amenity and the owners even left a welcome pack to help us settle in. The property is on top of a hill, at the end of a long track. The views are breath-taking and it is extremely peaceful and quiet. We managed to see lots of wildlife, including deer and several large birds of prey. The house is also surrounded by fields and the local cows seemed to fall in love with our Labrador, coming to the fence to see him. We cannot recommend this property highly enough, and will definitely be returning next year.